MAC • Eyeshadow in Mystery • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(102 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 4/19/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I usually do not like to spend money on MAC eyeshadows since now days it is so easy to find cheeper dupes of practically any color they have. However, I decided to splurge on Mystery just because I was looking for a deep, cool toned brown. I have a few brown eyeshadows in my makeup collection but non of them seem to come even close in the shade as Mystery. It's a really lovely color if you're looking for a natural every day look. I use it in combination with MAC's Bloom On pro-stay eyeshadow and it creates such a beautiful dusty pink/smoky brown look.
I am a fan!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emilyhannelx3 on 4/14/2013 5:26:00 PM more reviews by emilyhannelx3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love for my contour. :) I was recommended it by the makeup artist and was surprised since it was just an eyeshadow. But I love multi functional products, and this is definitely one. With a small angled contour brush (And lots of blending) it looks flawless. A gorgeous color on my eyes too and so velvety soft! It's tiny, but pigmented and easy to build, so I don't need a lot and I see it lasting a while!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KeepingItStepford on 3/24/2013 8:37:00 PM more reviews by KeepingItStepford

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love mystery its my go to everyday color. The color itself is more of a matte. It pairs nicely with satin taupe and vanilla pigment.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 12/19/2012 7:29:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Another one that looked nice in the pan and barely showed up on my skin. I am about as while as paper and this was barely noticable. Not a fan.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heroines on 10/16/2012 7:09:00 AM more reviews by heroines

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Very neutral dark brown with a satin finish, I am in love with it.
It was my first MAC eyeshadow and it didn't dissapoint.
As a liner, for brows, all over my lid, just the outer V... you can do anything with it. I highly recommend it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xtasteofimpact on 9/21/2012 3:15:00 AM more reviews by xtasteofimpact

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this daily for years. It was so versatile, I used it to fill my brows, as liner, as shadow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SAA2 on 7/9/2012 5:22:00 PM more reviews by SAA2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product!!!!
I use it to fill my eyebrows.
I have a VERY DARK brown hair and this eyeshadow is PERFECT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 no_way_to_say on 6/19/2012 6:10:00 AM more reviews by no_way_to_say

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

This is a great multi-purpose color. I use it as a lining color and crease color. I also use it a lot on the outer corner of my eyes to give more depth. The color is very versatile. Because it is not a warm brown, I can use it for both a warm look or cooler colors.
The only complaint I have with Mystery, is that it can be a little crumbly in the pan sometimes. Not as smooth as other MAC shadows, but I'm fine with it because it is quite easy to blend when it is on the lids.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Euphoria93 on 6/11/2012 5:39:00 PM more reviews by Euphoria93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I went into the mac store and told a pretty blonde girl with awesome eye makeup I wanted a cold, dark brown eyeshadow without the annoying red undertones in it. Her expertise mathed her flawless makeup application, because she soon showed mystery and swatched it on her hand for me, and it was love at first sight! I combine it with orb as a base colour and then just apply this on my lid and blend it into the crease to emphasize my eyes more. It's pigmented and doesn't fall out when I apply it, which is a huge plus. I hate it when eyeshadows Smulders and practically attacks my lower eyes and cheekbones. I don't know the staying power since I combine it with UDPP, which even holds onto the cheap stuff like superglue. But I guess it lasts longer than most eyeshadows without a primer too, judging from the views, but it would most likely crease and smudge on my super oily eyelids anyway, so I won't take the chance.


I also discovered that it was great for filling in patches on my eyebrows I'm growing out at the moment. The shade is a perfect match for my dark brown brows, but I can imagine it being a bit too much for a blonde or someone with naturally light brows.


This is definitely a basic must have for every mac eyeshadow palette no matter what kind of skin or haircolour you have.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melimouse on 5/24/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by melimouse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love using mystery for my eyebrows. It's the perfect shade. I have dark brown hair, nc25 skin. It goes well with mac spike eye brow pencil. I use to wear brun eyeshadow for my brows but mystery is lighter making it look more on the natural side compared to brun. It will last me a very long time since I only use it for my brows

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products