Artdeco Eyeshadow Base

4.2

122 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients:C11-13 Isoparaffin,talc,cera microcristallina(microcrystalline wax)Mica,PVP/hexacene copolymer(VP/hexadecene co-polymer),polyethylene,Tocopheryl acetate,Bisabolol Propylparaben,triclosan,propylene glycol,BHT,Ascorbyl palmitate,Citric acid,glyceryl distearate,glyceryl sterate,parfum(fragrance)benzyl benzoate,linalool,butylpheynlmethylpropional,Hexyl cinnamal,Benzyl salicylate,Hydroxycitronellal,CI77491(iron oxides)CI77492(iron oxides)CI77499(iron oxides) CI 77891(titanium oxide)


on 5/7/2013 7:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this from a gift basket. What I like about it is that is actually helps my shadow stay on a bit longer and makes the colours more vibrant. But then again: I use MAC eye shadows - they stay on well anyway.
.
What I don't like about this is that it's quite dry, and it's a little gritty because it has a little bit of shimmer in it. I like to wear matte and satin eye shadows and the shimmer in this is excessive - if I needed it, I would like to add it myself - when it's already in the primer, sometimes matte shadows don't apply smoothly, like they are supposed to.
.
The smell of this is like men's shaving cream o_O If I remember right, this has the exact smell of Gilette shaving cream for men.
.
Would I buy this again? I don't know, but I answered no. I'm just a little skeptical about the minor grittiness and dryness, but all in all, this is a good primer - I would recommend testing it out.



on 5/7/2013 3:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love love love this!! It is so smooth and creamy at first I was worried that it was actually to creamy!! But no it makes eyeshadow stay all day even in hot humid weather and you only need a tiny amount, I also think it is quite cheap considering in Australia you can get drugstore primers for $15 and I got this one of www.beautybay.com for $11.


on 4/23/2013 7:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have no idea what's wrong with this product but it's horrible. I don't know if mine is just out of date (which doesn't seem right because i bought it 1 month ago and i've been trying to use it every day since then) or i just don't use it properly but it literaly doesn't do anything. First of all the smell is very strong which annoys me a lot. The texture of it annoys me too - it is very dry, it can't be put on in any way, i have to rub it on my eyelid and it still won't go smoothly. It also has glitter in it, which i don't like because in the end i end up looking like a glitter ball. I would never re-purchase this product again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2012 6:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this!! Works great for me. I have already bought this product again several times. On regular days it never fails me.

The only negative thing is the packaging, I wish it didn't come in a jar. As of the fragrance, doesn't bother me at all.

I notice that this products works because it kind of gets 'hard and dry'. You have to let it dry a little bit. Therefor I notice when you just bought a new one it's a little less dry and works less, if you just bought this and it doesn't really work for you, try waiting a little bit longer so it gets a little harder and it works better for me.

On the other hand, when you almost run out it gets so hard it is almost impossible to use but this is only at the very end. In general, I love this and it costs me only 6 euros in Holland which I find nothing for this great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2012 10:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It does what primers are supposed to do: enhance eyeshadow colors, keep shadow and eyeliner in place (the longest I've had this on wast a little over 12 hours - no creasing, and very minimal fading). For the amount of product you get, it's very cheap! I don't mind the strong scent, it fades fast. The shimmers don't make any difference. My only complain about this product is it could be creamier. I have to dip 2-3 times in the tiny pot to cover an entire eyelid. I hope it won't dry out anytime soon or I'd consider this quite expensive.
It's quite hard to come across eyeshadow primers with this price range, so until I find something better with the same price, I'm sticking to this one.


on 11/10/2012 3:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like the texture, it's easy to apply. When I use it, I can apply the eye shadow really intensive and it stays the whole day, even cheap eyeshadow! And also very important for me, it fills the eye folds so the eyeshadow can't move into them.

Btw the base is a bit shimmery. Since I only use shimmery and glittery eye shadow, it's perfect for me but I think for matte eye shadow it could be too shimmery.


on 9/5/2012 5:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have already used 3 of these up and I love them!
Eye makeup stays glued to the eyelids as long as you want it to and it does justice to the colour of the shadows.
The only down side is the packaging. It allows the product to dry out before you manage to use it all up...


on 8/18/2012 10:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for an alternative for my UDPP when I came across Artdeco Eyeshadow base. It makes my eyeshadow looks vibrant while lengthening its staying power. I am so in love with this that I don't think I'll be getting myself a UDPP anymore. :)

Here's my full review of the product: http://jesroque.blogspot.com/2012/06/artdeco-eyeshadow-base.html


on 7/7/2012 9:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a cheap primer for travel and gave this a try. It was ok. At the beginning the cream went on smooth but as time went by the product got drier and drier. I think it has to do with the packaging not being so air tight. Mine is now about 3 months old and it goes on chalky. Overall though, it does do the job. Just not as good as TF Shadow Insurance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2012 7:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The best eye primer for me! At first i bought the fragranced one (i don't understand why it's frangranced) but then i got the frangrance free and since then use it every day! It lasts all day and night in my super super oily eyelids! But i haven't found the frangrance free again :(. A friend of mine had thestick form of that primer which was also frangrance free but haven't found that either! Non other eyelid primer worked for me and I have them almost all! But again my eyelids are super oily! Even waterproof mascara smudge after an hour! The only thing I dislike is that the packaging doesn't close that well! It doesn't stay open but it's not closed tightly!




Top Rated Artdeco Products

image

Eyeshadow Base

122 reviews
Back to Top