Maybelline • Designer Chocolates Quad • Eye Shadow

rated 3.5(88 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Pixiesweet on 1/2/2012 4:24:00 PM more reviews by Pixiesweet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

These eyeshadows are a great everyday, even fall look. They are esay to use because they tell you where to put them.The packaging is a slight problem because the case is big in the middle and thin on the ends so it rocks and slides in my makeup drawers. The only problem i have is that the lid color is not dark enough and I have pale skin, but I would still recomend this because they are great and I use it all the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kimberleylyra on 12/31/2011 2:29:00 AM more reviews by kimberleylyra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It's an ok eyeshadow palette for an everyday look. This palette would be ideal if you're not bothered much with makeup and want something easily affordable and mindless to apply in the morning. The eyeshadows are sheer but still give out an okay payout which makes it impossible to mess up. If you're starting out with makeup I would recommend this but for someone who has many eye shadow palettes then it's something you could go without. I expected the pink colour in the palette to be the main feature but it does come out a tad chalky. It was a little hard to blend out unfortunately.

Conclusion is that it's a palette you could go without and I'd honestly recommend spending your money elsewhere.. unless you can get it on a pretty good deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lorelore on 10/17/2011 5:55:00 PM more reviews by lorelore

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

OMG!!! i don't think I ever bought worse eye shadow!!!! its soooo chalky!!! and the payoff is NONE... this would make fine toy eyeshadow for my 9 year old niece if it didn`t sting my eyes like hell!!

the colors are nice, the concept of a very natural matte eye is awsome but this could not have been a bigger failure for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leslie0764 on 8/15/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by leslie0764

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is blah! It wouldn't be bad if the color payoff wasn't so bad. I mean you have to build and build and build up the color to get a light wash of the color and I have my UDPP on too. Supposively there are two MAC dupes in this quad, but no way they're a dupe if you can't even get the color payoff out of them. Won't buy again, too much work to get color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mimixx3 on 8/6/2011 1:10:00 AM more reviews by mimixx3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This quad is OKAY. Its not amazingly pigmented but if you dont mind building up color then it shouldnt be a problem. You will eventually get a nice color payoff. I tend to mix the lid and brow bone color together for my lids. And then very lighty define my crease with the brown color labeled 'outer corner'.
I dont find much use for the 'crease' color just because i dont know how to use the color on my eyes. But it is definetely a nice color. I once used it as my liner for my bottom lashes. I liked it but i still dont use it.
I would only buy this product if it came with just the 'lid' 'browbone' and 'outer corner'.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Janet72285 on 7/4/2011 7:52:00 PM more reviews by Janet72285

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

OK, so in general it is a very pretty quad. I have used it for several years and find it to go well with my skin tone and green/ hazel eyes. The best way I've found to use it is to use the crease (rose) as my lid shade and the brown in my crease. I find that the shade that is labeled for lid disappears on me and can look chalky. Be cautious of the highlight as it can "flash" brightly in pictures. These aren't the best quality but also not bad for being drugstore shadow. I have found that they work better with a good primer. Overall it is a good buy for the price and I will prob repurchase when I hit pan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahgorn on 4/18/2011 7:28:00 AM more reviews by sarahgorn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I normally hate Maybelline products, except their mascara, but I actually really like this. I can't remember buying this but I recently rediscovered it in my makeup collection and I've been playing around with it. I don't like the tan lid color. It's kind of chalky and I have other browns I like a lot better so I use those instead. I like the other 3 colors though---white, cranberry, and dark brown. I especially like the cranberry shade--I wish they sold it as a single. I like to put it in the crease with a light brown on my lid. It is a very flattering combination for my light gray eyes. The white is good for the inner corner of the eye and the brown works well in the crease or applied wet as a liner. I normally don't use eyeshadow primer on a daily basis but it is necessary with these shadows since they aren't super pigmented. They are fairly good quality for the drugstore, however, so I do recommend these if you are looking for no-brainer everyday eyeshadows. I've found myself using them quite often which is amazing considering I have 5 million other eyeshadows.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JamieMonroe on 2/23/2011 9:45:00 PM more reviews by JamieMonroe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE EYE SHADOWS!!! AND I BUY THIS OVER AND OVER AGAIN!!! I have repurchased this Quad over 7 times and im just in love with this!!! So i give this product 5 lippies!!! These colors look so nice all together my FAVORITE is the Grease color, it is like a PRETTY PRETTY ROSE brownish color depending on the light or how much you put on ect...I put some Primer on Hard Candy, Revlon, Covor Girl, Rimmel London, L'Oreal Studios my favorite primer and the Revlon:PThose are all the primers i have and no matter which one i use this Eye shadow looks great with any primer!!! This Eye shadow is very PIGMENTED AND I JUST LOVE LOVE IT!!! I always wear these colors all together the colors just look so nice with each other and the grease color is AMAZING!!! i have bought this over and over repurchased it over 7 times and will continue buying this over and over! When i buy this i always buy lots of extras so i can have this in hand it is like my everyday color:P When i put my makeup on and am getting ready to put on my Eye shadow i tell myself i am going to try my other shadows out and i never do i just keep using this!!! LOVE IT and if you like Neutrals you will LOVE this Quad!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 husveges on 1/12/2011 10:57:00 PM more reviews by husveges

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Meh. This just doesn't show up. Go get the L'Oreal HIP eyeshadows and pick out the browns and neutrals... way better product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lizzieloo on 1/12/2011 10:09:00 PM more reviews by lizzieloo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was surprised by the lack of pigmentation I found in the crease shade. It is a beautiful rosy brown, but it doesn't come off very strong. While the color it does show on my lids is a nice mauvey color, it's not what the quad is advertising. As with most of the Maybelline quads, the lid and outer corner shades are lovely and have fantastic pigmentation. I plan to wear these every day! The highlight color seems misplaced, as it's a pearly white. I would have prefered a shimmery cream or peach, but maybe they were trying to make it white chocolate? Either way, it doesn't blend well with the lovely browns. The packaging is fantastic, the hinge keeps the lid in position, and the compact is slim and sleek. A nice quad, but don't expect to wear it all at the same time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products