Jergens • Natural Glow • Self Tanners

rated 3.3(946 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Synfonia04 on 6/9/2014 10:56:00 PM more reviews by Synfonia04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okayy! So I'm sort of pale and when I go in the sun I don't tan, I simply burn. Its just terrible, I hate it! I started thinking about self tanner and I knew that this product was loved by soo many people because its so popular. I checked some reviews on many sites and decided I'd go buy it. They make 2 colors for this. Fair to Medium and Medium to Tan. I decided to go with the Medium to Tan even though that defiantly not my skin color but the darker one will make you tanner quicker and thats what I wanted. I bought it from Walmart for about $8-9. I went home, showered, shaved/exfoliated, and I put this all over my body including my face. I saw my skin change colors in a couple hours so I knew this stuff was working. A couple hours later I applied a little more and went to sleep. I woke up with a beautiful nice tan!! I was sooo impressed. Only downside is that it made my feet orange, but thats alright to deal with. I went to school and so many people came up to me and said I looked tanner. I was so happy! Now time for that "actual" product review. In the reviews I read some people were complaining about the smell but this stuff smells AMAZING! idk why its just so comforting to me. Another thing is that its soooooooo moisturizing! This stuff made my skin feel baby smooth! Some thing I dont like is the price. I know its considered cheap, but I'm gonna be applying this everyday or every other day so I want the tube to last long. This should be like $5. That would be so great if it was. Another thing is I wish it came in a bottle with a pump. That way I dont this all over the place and the tube won't get all "greasy". Thats all for my review. If you have never used self tanner before I suggest trying this out because I feel like its a classic and it does a really great job for first time users. I defiantly recommend this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Elektraza86 on 6/5/2014 12:06:00 PM more reviews by Elektraza86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have never ever in my life used a tanner, I've never been a tanner in general. I have lots of tattoos, and very fair skin, with a history of skin cancer and all that jazz that works against being a sun lover. I love the look though and I always wanted to try it but scared I would turn into a pumpkin. This basically speaks for everyone when it comes to tanning.

So I bought the Avon daily moisturizer that gives a color difference in as little as 4 days. The product smells like something geared towards our elderly folks, it's sparkly which I hate and did nothing for color and remained greasy all day.

Then my Avon rep randomly fell off the planet so I went to our trusted MUB and saw this product had decent reviews. So I bought it. It's got a nice fresh smell, no sparkle and after about a week I finally got some nice compliments. "Did you go away? You look all sunkissed" so that basically helped with my opinion. It dries nicely and doesn't stay greasy. It's very natural and adds the life my pale skin needed. It also helped my skin look better, it was hydrated and evened out any odd pigmentation. I got mine for $5 dollars at Walmart and I will go back and get more. I have the shade fair to medium and been using daily for 2 weeks. I might even try the darker one since it's warmer and I can get away with looking like I actually sun tanned.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 duffin on 5/28/2014 10:17:00 PM more reviews by duffin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The reviews are accurate. It's a very good product at a very fair price, especially if you buy it at Bed Bath & Beyond that is a couple of bucks cheaper than most drug stores. But I am partial to the aero/foam version which dries almost instantly, as opposed to the tube lotion.
Funny, I was never that aware of the smell so have to give it a good sniff next time I apply. Unless the foam doesn't smell as much or as bad as the lotion. But regardless, think of this as a light tanning agent and not as a replacement for a good moisturizer. Just don't use them back to back...meaning apply one at night and the other in the am for best results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mariselayoung on 5/3/2014 2:20:00 PM more reviews by mariselayoung

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Did they reformulate this product? Because damn, I am really in love!

I have tried Jergen's Natural Glow before and was far from impressed. Not so much because of the color pay off - it was there - but because of the smell. I really could not stand it. It was far too strong and had this slightly expired milk/musky thing going on.

I stopped using this and moved on to actual self tanners, like Faux Tan from Bare Escentuals, but I found them much harder to use and very easy to screw up with in terms of waking up the next morning and going, "Ah, what is this white patch on my forearm!"

Anyway, I was at CVS the other day, and something compelled me to repurchase this product. And what a good decision that was! Not only was the smell not unpleasant, it was straight up delicious! Well, maybe not delicious, it wasn't tropical or gourmand, but it smelled like a soft and powdery perfume. I really couldn't stop smelling myself. Again, the scent is a little strong for my taste, but I found that it went away the next morning.

And now on to the more important plus, I suppose - the color! I was really surprised by the pay-off from just one use. I definitely suggest buying the Medium/Tan shade if you are NW20 +. I'm an NW25 and I applied the product to just one leg and then woke up the next morning to see the results. You could definitely see the difference between my legs. And the color is really nice and bronze-y.

One warning, however. You need to be sure to work this product in well. I got a little lazy around my ankle and foot and just did a half-assed attempt at rubbing it in, and it did turn out a tiny bit patchy the next day. Word to the wise!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Loiskhuang on 4/17/2014 1:38:00 AM more reviews by Loiskhuang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Been using self tanners for over 6 years and I always come back to Jergens. Tried many higher end products including St Tropez, Vita Liberata, Million Dollar Tan, Glow Fusion, Fake Bake, and Lorac and results from Jergens are similar, if not better. Personally I prefer a non-instant tan as opposed to instant because it is easier to work with/am less likely to mess up. Jergens goes on transparent and within a couple hours you develop a slight glow. Within 5 days of use, I can build up a pretty dark tan that looks natural. The tan usually lasts me about 1-2 weeks depending on how often I reapply once I reach the level of darkness I like. The smell is hard to avoid with any self tanner because it's just the natural smell of the reaction happening against your skin to actually create the tan. Jergens also makes an "Express" version to get a darker tan faster but from personal experience it takes about the same time. You can apply twice daily with the normal one and build up a dark tan within 3 days. Overall, this is a good product for first timers or people that regularly fake-tan. Worth the $10!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Teenitinytina on 4/16/2014 10:45:00 PM more reviews by Teenitinytina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I think it is quiet subtle and apply easily without streaks but it just smells horrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoslshopaholic on 4/16/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by xoslshopaholic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I've used this product year after year and it's always been good to me. I'm super pale and I love how I can easily control how tan I get with this product. It's not orange at all, so it works well with my skin. With one application, I'm glowy, but with more, I'm left with a natural looking tan and I don't look over done or fake. I don't really have anything positive or negative to say about the scent, it does have a smell, but not one that bothers me. If anything, I've grown to like the smell because it reminds me of summer! I've tried tons of self tanners in my quest to get rid of my pale skin in the summer, and this one is simply the best. It's easy to find and cheap, so I'd definitely give it a try, especially for pale girls. I love how I can apply it for 3 days straight, ease off for a couple days, and then enhance it again with another application. It's easy to make sure I don't look fake, which is one of my biggest concerns with self tanners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Teen84 on 4/6/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Teen84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Ok girls... It works giving you some beautiful tan color! .. Just don't use it like your only moisturizing creme!!!.. Be sure to use another good body creme because this one does NOT moisture enough!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Katlynmoses15 on 4/2/2014 12:23:00 PM more reviews by Katlynmoses15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is perfect for during the summer over a natural tan. This lotion is light and not orangey! Its perfect for building color with out streaks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Paulawaulaa on 3/23/2014 10:36:00 PM more reviews by Paulawaulaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Best Tanner ever I have it in Fair to Medium ... No more me tanning outside in the sun for hours . With one application it gives me a nice sun kissed glow . In two days it gives me a really nice tan like if I spent hours at the beach . I apply it twice a day . it last 3 days and then goes away but if you apply every single day then it last a week ... I will buy this product for the rest of my life :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jergens products

More Self Tanners products