Revlon Rose Velvet

4.5

100 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

A color that means business and sexy at the same time. Glorious!

The hue is a browned warm pink with a creamy texture. I find it very flattering on medium and tanned skin tones, giving lips a seductive flush. It even worked on my olive complexion which makes most pinks look slightly off the mark.

I can see how this can look too brown on fairer complexions, perhaps even on the muddy side. I do recommend darker skinned women to give it a try.

Price range $6-8.



on 5/21/2013 7:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I wore this to my wedding! I usually just wear balm, but I wanted a MLBB for photographs and this fit the bill. Though I'm very fair with blue eyes, my lips are naturally a pretty dark pink. Lipsticks that are muted with light coloured creamy pigment look strange on top of a darker lip, so the slightly brownish shade looked most natural on me.


on 4/24/2013 5:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I initially bought this because I liked how it swatched on the back of my hand. However, when I actually used it on my lips, it's far too brown for my liking. I was pretty disappointed because the texture is lovely and it was such a promising shade. I decided to try it as a blush, and lo and behold: perfection!

On my light-medium skin with yellowish undertones, it is the perfect complexion pick me up. I swirl a bit on my ring finger, dot it along my cheeks and blend it out. Just one layer makes me look bright and awake no matter how tired I feel. It also has great lasting power and it doesn't feel greasy or drying which is fantastic for my dry skin.

If you're stuck with this product or would like to use it in another way, I'd really encourage you to try it as a blush!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2013 12:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the more pigmented version of Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle. Its wear time is better than PT. It's a pink-brown color. I used to use it and PT interchangeably until I got MAC Cosmo in a swap and realized I like Cosmo much, much better. This is still a great color and lipstick, but I want a pinkier pink-brown than this.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I saw a swatch for this on Youtube and it looked more pink on the person's lips than mine. The color in the tube looks different too! This is a great every day lipstick, but it can look a bit too dark on me and not make much of a difference. However, this is still hydrating and silky enough for me to continue using. I will try the Revlon Super Lustrous in Pink in the Afternoon next (:


on 2/11/2013 3:51:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As many have stated, Revlon S/L lipsticks are the best drugstore lipsticks you can buy. They certainly give department store brands a good run for the money. This color looks great on me (NW15), a bit pinker than my true lips color but that makes it more flattering. I spent big bucks on Laura Mercier's MLBB colors and almost bought Bobbi Brown's Moroccan Rose (for $24) and didn't like them nearly as much. This one cost me about $4.25.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2013 6:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't normally buy lipsticks since I prefer lip balms and lip glosses, but I adore this. It is a wonderful neutral shade of pink and brown (I'm horrible at describing lipstick shades, so bare with me). My lips are pigmented and this takes them to the next level without being harsh or unflattering. It really complements my skin tone. It has good staying power too which is a definite plus. Perfect for the daytime and I don't see this being inappropriate in an office setting. I look forward to trying the pink truffle lip butter next as I noticed some reviewers like that one also.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2012 7:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I can not agree with lucyrox more...it just skews way too brown on my fair skin.


on 12/2/2012 10:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Rose velvet is too brown for my fair skin. I love Revlon super lustrous lipsticks. But if you are fair skinned, this color will be too brown for you (unless you like brown lipstick). I won't buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/18/2012 10:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

In all honesty, I've been on a no harsh chemicals binge especially trying to cut certain things out like parabens and aluminum so I wanted to find alternatives to my Maybelline Colorsensational Lipsticks in Totally Toffee... And I have to say I wasn't successful yet. I purchased Sassy Mauve and Rose Velvet. Rose velvet is like a nude brown pink on my lips and appears darker than pictured here. It is very similar to the Revlon Lip butter in Pink Truffle except without the glossy finish. A darker version of what I would want but still pretty and I'd re-purchase if I ever run out or can't find a better MLBB lipstick.


Pros:
Nice pink brown nude
Doesn't settle in creases
Matte finish
Long lasting
Not too drying but still needs lip balm


Cons:
Not true to color (darker than what appears in the tube and online swatches)
Lasts on 3-4 hours

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
179 Reviews
provocalips
41 Reviews
Back to Top