Revlon • Rose Velvet • Lipstick

rated 4.5(82 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SweetMoonbeams on 9/12/2012 7:54:00 AM more reviews by SweetMoonbeams

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The Revlon Super Lustrous line is my absolute favorite lipstick line. It's a classic, iconic line that has been around for decades, and for good reason. I've tried high end (Dior, Chanel), mid range (MAC, Lancome), all the way down to Wet n' Wild Megashield (which are really good as well) and the SL line blows them out of the water. I especially like the creme shades. The texture is extremely creamy and is very pigmented. The staying power for me is great. The lipstick isn't dry, but it definitely has much less slip than a Lip Butter.

This color is very similar, if not a dead on dupe, to Revlon Colorburst l/s in Rosy Nude. The texture is different, as Rosy Nude is a bit glossier and more sheer. It is also similar to Pink Truffle Lip Butter. Rose Velvet is one of those colors that just "does it" for me. It's a little darker than most of my other lippies so I tend to wear this more during the cooler months but you can wear it any time of the year. It is my perfect neutral lip. It can be blotted to a matte finish without losing much of the color. This is my favorite way to wear this lip at the moment.

The color, on me (NC15/20 red hair, blue eyes) is a rich rose with hints of brown, but not enough to make the color muddy. The brown undertones make this lipstick perfect for me because a lot of pinks can look garish on me. I apply one thick-ish layer, blot, apply second layer, blot. The matte shade you get by applying this way looks similar to the matte lip that Kat Dennings wears on Two Broke Girls (which is Tarte LipSurgence matte lip tint in Envy). Rose Velvet isn't quite as dark as the Tarte one, but for me that makes it more wearable.

Even if you don't get this shade, I recommend at least trying the Super Lustrous line if you haven't already. The quality rivals high end, plus they have a great selection of shades and finishes. 5 lippies!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coffeecupcake on 8/29/2012 9:22:00 PM more reviews by coffeecupcake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

On my NC37-42 skin, this is the perfect natural lip color, and I've been wanting to get one like this for a long time.The color is a mauve pink with subtle brown hues and a warm tone. The color is pretty much my natural lip color but darker and better, and this is flattering on ANY skin tone, especially those with warm tones. The only downside is that I wish the color showed up slightly darker and more pigmented on my lips, but beyond that, it is a perfect, pretty, natural lip color that looks especially great in the fall time.
The formula is creamy and moisturizing enough so that you don't need to glob on chapstick.
The Revlon Super-lustrous is one of their best lipstick lines, with so many pretty colors like this to choose from. I recommend this to any girl looking for a pretty and natural mauve color.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gossijay on 8/25/2012 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Gossijay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick is the lipstick that I have always wanted! Ever since I started wearing lipsticks a year ago, all I wanted was perfectly pink lipstick that wouldn't sink down into the creases on my lips and was affordable. Rose Velvet fit that bill perfectly.
I've tried Pink In The Afternoon, but that pink didn't have any brown tones in it and it was a slightly too light for my pigmented lips. Rose Velvet is just perfect. This is the sort of colour that you could wear every day.
The colour is incredibly gorgeous, the lipstick just glides onto my lips and the formula is so creamy. I never thought I would find a more perfect pink lipstick then this.
The packaging is pretty basic but I like that you can see the colour through the top of the lid. The packaging closes with a very comforting click and doesn't feel like it's going to come loose any soon.
The price is great! Usually these lipsticks cost about $7CDN, but I got this one on sale for $5CDN. It was such a steal!
If Revlon ever discontinued this shade I would just about die. I cannot express in words how much I love this lipstick. This is my HG lipstick; the pretty pink I dreamed of wearing as a child. I will repurchase this lipstick as long as it is around! I would repurchase it forever!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparkle24 on 8/21/2012 5:33:00 AM more reviews by sparkle24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is one of my favorite lipsticks. I'm South Asian and on my lips it gives a nice peachy-pink color. Since it's not too dark, I can wear it anytime. It's very suitable for wearing to work and at the same time you can wear it at evening hangouts. It's very smooth and creamy and keeps the lips moist throughout. Revlon lipsticks are very affordable and extremely good value for money but the color of this one makes it my top Revlon lipstick. Will keep buying (hoping they won't discontinue it).

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 8/19/2012 8:45:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

On my NW20 skin w/almost black hair, brown eyes-naturally rosey lips this looks nothing like it does in the picture on me. On me it looks so much darker than in these pics. I even checked the lipstick label 3x to be sure I had the right one because it does not look like the soft pink in the picture when it is on my rosey lips. On me, it looks more like a rose with heavy brown undertones. It can suck some of the color from my face (not good). Perhaps my tune will change a bit when we are in the dead of winter. But right now, if I could find the receipt to return it/exchange it, I would.

UPDATE: Now in full Fall and with seasonally appropriate makeup/clothes on, it feels less off. But it still looks NOTHING like the pictures here on me...way more brown. (bumped up one more lippie)

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tearupyourphotos on 5/20/2012 2:07:00 AM more reviews by tearupyourphotos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first Revlon lipstick, and it went downhill from there... J/K. Anyways, this is a pink-y beige MLBB type of color. Opaque, creamy, smooth... it has the same qualities as the other Crème SLs. One day I complemented my best friend's lip color and asked her what it was only to find out we were both wearing Rose Velvet! (It looked way better on her though!) This is the only neutral color I've ever liked and will keep using it until I find my actual MLBB shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GoDawgs on 3/8/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by GoDawgs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a gorgeous lip color, and it goes on smooth and creamy. I highly recommend it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nicolegryne on 12/13/2011 4:17:00 AM more reviews by nicolegryne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick! It's perfect for everyday wear, and very moisturizing. I wear this when i do a smokey eye, or abasic eye. It's my go to lipstick that will not leave my purse. I hope they do not discontinue. I am an NC50 for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Idel15 on 11/15/2011 3:41:00 PM more reviews by Idel15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Loveeee this shade of lipstick. I'm a NC43 and this looks so lovely. I use this almost everyday cause its not overpowering. Like a previous poster said, it's best to apply with your fingers.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shasta49 on 10/27/2011 10:41:00 PM more reviews by Shasta49

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't bought this colour before, but I am going to check it out. Generally, you can't go wrong with Revlon products. There is a reason they have been around for almost 80 years.

I just wanted to note, since someone made reference to animal testing, that according to Paula Begoun, Revlon doesn't test on animals. I'm sure they did at one time, they all did, but I am confident that they no longer do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products