Revlon • Rose Velvet • Lipstick

rated 4.5(87 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 1/22/2013 6:49:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't normally buy lipsticks since I prefer lip balms and lip glosses, but I adore this. It is a wonderful neutral shade of pink and brown (I'm horrible at describing lipstick shades, so bare with me). My lips are pigmented and this takes them to the next level without being harsh or unflattering. It really complements my skin tone. It has good staying power too which is a definite plus. Perfect for the daytime and I don't see this being inappropriate in an office setting. I look forward to trying the pink truffle lip butter next as I noticed some reviewers like that one also.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chloeclover on 10/18/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by Chloeclover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

In all honesty, I've been on a no harsh chemicals binge especially trying to cut certain things out like parabens and aluminum so I wanted to find alternatives to my Maybelline Colorsensational Lipsticks in Totally Toffee... And I have to say I wasn't successful yet. I purchased Sassy Mauve and Rose Velvet. Rose velvet is like a nude brown pink on my lips and appears darker than pictured here. It is very similar to the Revlon Lip butter in Pink Truffle except without the glossy finish. A darker version of what I would want but still pretty and I'd re-purchase if I ever run out or can't find a better MLBB lipstick.


Pros:
Nice pink brown nude
Doesn't settle in creases
Matte finish
Long lasting
Not too drying but still needs lip balm


Cons:
Not true to color (darker than what appears in the tube and online swatches)
Lasts on 3-4 hours


EDIT: I used my Revlon ColorBurst Lipstick in Soft Nude over the Revlon Super Lustrous Rose Velvet and it makes it a lighter color!! More to what I really want :D

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NerdyLibrarianGirl on 9/29/2012 2:59:00 PM more reviews by NerdyLibrarianGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

"Rose Velvet" is probably my favourite Super Lustrous lipstick (and I have quite a few). It is very similar to the Colorburst "Rosy Nude". Rosy Nude is more brown. It is practically identical to the "Pink Truffle" Lip Butter, although the lip butter is more sheer. Yes, I have all three, and what I've realized is that I am always drawn to these pinky-brown nudes. They are just so flattering & wearable! With my fair skin, this is my "nude". It's warm, it doesn't wash me out, and it's a my-lips-only-better type of shade.

I really love Revlon Super Lustrous lipsticks and have several. By far the best drugstore brand lipstick. I have sensitive skin and some lip products can irritate my lips, but not these. They are completely scent/taste free. They are smooth, creamy, glossy,& long-wearing.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karenye on 9/26/2012 11:55:00 AM more reviews by karenye

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this lipstick. The colour is perfect for medium skin tone, it is similar to Rose Nude in the Revlon Colorburst line. The package is classic and the texture are creme. It is perfect for everyday look, have some color but not over done. For sure will re-purchase it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hamstershell on 9/12/2012 8:24:00 AM more reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Am NC25-30, Chinese, this lipstick is just the perfect natural lip color for office and casual days. However, the color is not exactly unique, MAC's Twig comes close and Catrice's Ultimate color 020 (Maroon) is almost spot on. Texture wise it really couldn't be more perfect for me. Creamy enough but still stay on for hours. Will def rebuy.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SweetMoonbeams on 9/12/2012 7:54:00 AM more reviews by SweetMoonbeams

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The Revlon Super Lustrous line is my absolute favorite lipstick line. It's a classic, iconic line that has been around for decades, and for good reason. I've tried high end (Dior, Chanel), mid range (MAC, Lancome), all the way down to Wet n' Wild Megashield (which are really good as well) and the SL line blows them out of the water. I especially like the creme shades. The texture is extremely creamy and is very pigmented. The staying power for me is great. The lipstick isn't dry, but it definitely has much less slip than a Lip Butter.

This color is very similar, if not a dead on dupe, to Revlon Colorburst l/s in Rosy Nude. The texture is different, as Rosy Nude is a bit glossier and more sheer. It is also similar to Pink Truffle Lip Butter. Rose Velvet is one of those colors that just "does it" for me. It's a little darker than most of my other lippies so I tend to wear this more during the cooler months but you can wear it any time of the year. It is my perfect neutral lip. It can be blotted to a matte finish without losing much of the color. This is my favorite way to wear this lip at the moment.

The color, on me (NC15/20 red hair, blue eyes) is a rich rose with hints of brown, but not enough to make the color muddy. The brown undertones make this lipstick perfect for me because a lot of pinks can look garish on me. I apply one thick-ish layer, blot, apply second layer, blot. The matte shade you get by applying this way looks similar to the matte lip that Kat Dennings wears on Two Broke Girls (which is Tarte LipSurgence matte lip tint in Envy). Rose Velvet isn't quite as dark as the Tarte one, but for me that makes it more wearable.

Even if you don't get this shade, I recommend at least trying the Super Lustrous line if you haven't already. The quality rivals high end, plus they have a great selection of shades and finishes. 5 lippies!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coffeecupcake on 8/29/2012 9:22:00 PM more reviews by coffeecupcake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

On my NC37-42 skin, this is the perfect natural lip color, and I've been wanting to get one like this for a long time.The color is a mauve pink with subtle brown hues and a warm tone. The color is pretty much my natural lip color but darker and better, and this is flattering on ANY skin tone, especially those with warm tones. The only downside is that I wish the color showed up slightly darker and more pigmented on my lips, but beyond that, it is a perfect, pretty, natural lip color that looks especially great in the fall time.
The formula is creamy and moisturizing enough so that you don't need to glob on chapstick.
The Revlon Super-lustrous is one of their best lipstick lines, with so many pretty colors like this to choose from. I recommend this to any girl looking for a pretty and natural mauve color.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gossijay on 8/25/2012 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Gossijay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick is the lipstick that I have always wanted! Ever since I started wearing lipsticks a year ago, all I wanted was perfectly pink lipstick that wouldn't sink down into the creases on my lips and was affordable. Rose Velvet fit that bill perfectly.
I've tried Pink In The Afternoon, but that pink didn't have any brown tones in it and it was a slightly too light for my pigmented lips. Rose Velvet is just perfect. This is the sort of colour that you could wear every day.
The colour is incredibly gorgeous, the lipstick just glides onto my lips and the formula is so creamy. I never thought I would find a more perfect pink lipstick then this.
The packaging is pretty basic but I like that you can see the colour through the top of the lid. The packaging closes with a very comforting click and doesn't feel like it's going to come loose any soon.
The price is great! Usually these lipsticks cost about $7CDN, but I got this one on sale for $5CDN. It was such a steal!
If Revlon ever discontinued this shade I would just about die. I cannot express in words how much I love this lipstick. This is my HG lipstick; the pretty pink I dreamed of wearing as a child. I will repurchase this lipstick as long as it is around! I would repurchase it forever!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparkle24 on 8/21/2012 5:33:00 AM more reviews by sparkle24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is one of my favorite lipsticks. I'm South Asian and on my lips it gives a nice peachy-pink color. Since it's not too dark, I can wear it anytime. It's very suitable for wearing to work and at the same time you can wear it at evening hangouts. It's very smooth and creamy and keeps the lips moist throughout. Revlon lipsticks are very affordable and extremely good value for money but the color of this one makes it my top Revlon lipstick. Will keep buying (hoping they won't discontinue it).

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 8/19/2012 8:45:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

On my NW20 skin w/almost black hair, brown eyes-naturally rosey lips this looks nothing like it does in the picture on me. On me it looks so much darker than in these pics. I even checked the lipstick label 3x to be sure I had the right one because it does not look like the soft pink in the picture when it is on my rosey lips. On me, it looks more like a rose with heavy brown undertones. It can suck some of the color from my face (not good). Perhaps my tune will change a bit when we are in the dead of winter. But right now, if I could find the receipt to return it/exchange it, I would.

UPDATE: Now in full Fall and with seasonally appropriate makeup/clothes on, it feels less off. But it still looks NOTHING like the pictures here on me...way more brown. (bumped up one more lippie)

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products