Almay • Almay Intense i Color for Hazel • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(80 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 gingersparkles on 3/30/2011 4:20:00 PM more reviews by gingersparkles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

The green and the other dark color where too dark for everyday use.
I did like the light color but there was a lot of fall out from it. What went on the eye was nice. But it was the only one I used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelbysahara on 3/28/2011 11:03:00 PM more reviews by shelbysahara

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually got this on sale, but I was surprised to find that it's absolutely wonderful!! It really makes my greenish gold eyes pop and it can be used for daytime or evening makeup. If you're looking for an eyeshadow for your pretty hazel eyes. you will love this product!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jilliterate on 2/25/2011 12:46:00 AM more reviews by Jilliterate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Almay has not made this line easy to decipher! I've seen multiple palettes of different (And sometimes very similar) shades sold under the same name, which had led to a mass of reviews for different combinations under this name. For clarification, this review is of "Trio for Hazels - #203" which consists of a slightly shimmery deep rose for the lid, a beautiful deep mauve for the crease, and a dark gold colour for the highlight (There's a very similar palette with a deep brown for the crease and a cream for the highlight, just to add to the confusion).


This packaging is decent -- it doesn't have a mirror, just a clear flip-top, but I've had this palette for a few years, and it's held up. As I recall, the back of the throw-away package used to have a diagram instructing where to apply each colour (lid, crease, highlight), which is a nice introduction to working with multiple colours for those who've only applied colour to their lid before. It comes with a small sponge-tipped applicator that's really too soft and blunt to do any sort of careful application, and sadly, only has a sponge on one end -- you may be careful to only use one side of the sponge for the lid colour, and the other side for the crease, but that highlight colour is gonna end up mixing with one of them. This is a shame, as I really admire this product for showing some basics to eyeshadow application, and then it fails to give the buyer the tools for the job. I'm not expecting quality brushes here, but even a second sponge-tip would help.


Ignoring that little issue, this is a surprisingly nice palette combination. The colours work well really well together, and are pretty creamy -- not amazing, but for drugstore cheap, decent. The pigmentation is pretty good -- not super bright, but these are vaguely shimmery shades, not solid matte ones. The staying power is average, neither amazing nor bad. And as for the manufacturer's claims? Does it bring out my hazel eyes? Not really, although I'm not going to discount the effect on others. Maybe my eyes have too much brown in them.


I really like this palette. It's the kind of thing that I'd expect to have low-quality product being sold under the gimmick of being tailor-made to your eye colour, but it's really quite good. The shades suit my warm skin colour, and I love the colours together. I'm definitely a repeat customer on this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Roxyroxx on 1/20/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by Roxyroxx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the first time I have hit pan on an eyeshadow. The texture is buttery and soft. It is so much nicer than the Smashbox eyeshadows which I find scratchy and tend to give a bit of fall out.

I don't use the pink and brown colors as much as the sandy top color, which is a staple for my neutral/daytime look. The quality is brilliant and I take my hat off to Almay for producing such a beautifully textured, long-wearing shadow set for peanuts price-wise. I would certainly buy again and now I know the gold standard for buttery texture in a shadow. L'chaim Almay!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kissjacksparrow on 12/27/2010 11:15:00 PM more reviews by kissjacksparrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a review for the original “Almay Intense I-color powder shadow trio for Hazels #103.” I am saying this because I think it’s really confusing how Almay’s has a bunch of different versions of these with almost the same names. I can tell by reading the reviews that it is confusing.

Color break down: all colors are shimmery.
-Highlight shade = sheer cream color, with a yellow-ish base
-Contour shade = neutral taupe/brown with out red (yay!)
-Lid shade = sheer light pink

I love this! It is my go to everyday colors. Yes, they are shimmery – so if you don’t like shimmer, you wont like this. Also, the pink and the cream are sheer, but I think they are supposed to be. This is not supposed to create a bright, colorful look – so I don’t understand why people rate it poorly for being soft and sheer. The textures of these are AMAZING. They are so soft and easy to blend. They never look blotchy. I like that the pink is sheer because it makes it work well with my skin tone, which usually won’t work with pinks. But don’t get me wrong- it is not like it has no pigmentation – I think it’s just the right amount.

As for wear – I almost always wear with some kind of primer or concealer, and it always lasts all day, I have work without, and it’s still fine, but primer really helps bring the pink out some more.

I like this because it doesn’t require a lot of time or neatness, but still really makes me look polishes and pretty. The only thing is, I usually like to pare it with a matte cream shadow to sandwich between the highlight and crease shade to cut down on the frost a bit. This is my go to shadow for everyday – so it must be good because I have 2 drawers full of eye shadow, from high end to low end.

I got this in the set that came with the black pencil eyeliner and black mascara. I like the whole set. This also looks nice with a brown eyeliner, or a maroon/plum eyeliner.

My eyes are brown, with flecks of gold and green and a rim of green – so, they aren’t really hazel, but I think that is what is the closest. I have the trios for green and brown as well, and I like this one the best – but really it would work with any eye color in my opinion.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deedrajean on 11/25/2010 10:34:00 PM more reviews by deedrajean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

i dont wear this all over my eyes. to tell you the truth the only color i use is the maroon. and i wear it on my lash line top and bottom. with black eye liner, its pretty much my everyday routine. and i have been doing this for like 2 years now. it makes the green in my eyes really stand out :) people alway tell me when i wear it my eye color looks great :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 deedeetaylor8 on 8/16/2010 12:20:00 AM more reviews by deedeetaylor8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, well, this product is not too bad, hence the rating of 3. I really like the colours it comes with, and I think those colours work well with hazel eyes. It conveniently has a highlight, crease, and lid colour, with a decent sponge applicator. My problem with this is that I have ivory skin, and this does not show up well at all on fair skin. As in, I have to put 3 layers on in order to see the pink colour slightly, and I'm mostly left with shimmer. If your skin is medium to dark, this would probably look lovely, but to all the other pasties out there, look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 auntie2000 on 6/6/2010 2:25:00 PM more reviews by auntie2000

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Other    

I have hazel eyes and that is why i bought this product. Tried the collection with silvery white, lilac and charcoal ............love the colors and really is very flattering. I use a regular brush though since I like the blending capability . Then tried the white, green and black trio. Those colors are a little hard for me but I do use the dark green in that assortment for a smokey eye effect. . the price is hard to beat and if you buy in store like CVS if it doesn't work for you they say you can return it within a few days (but you want to doublecheck to be on the safe side)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brigidmarie on 5/7/2010 2:37:00 AM more reviews by brigidmarie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have the trio with the smoky colors, and I really like it with my green eyes. It's been a great go-to for nighttime. I use the lightest shade (silvery white) all over the brow bone, the bottom shade (silvery gray) all over the lid, and the middle shade (darker gray) in the crease. I wore it to a wedding last November and was super impressed with its staying power. We took some pictures at the end of the night and my eyes still looked as smoky as when I walked in hours earlier.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chocogrrl05 on 4/19/2010 9:08:00 PM more reviews by chocogrrl05

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I REALLY GIVE THIS A 3.5 BUT THAT IS NOT AN OPTION. Ok I got Hazel, because at Target I was just going through buying what ever looked nice (i dont know what happened that day). Anyway the brown color is great as is the highlighter. However the pink one has a little less pigmentation then I would like, but with the other too colors this is well worth the money. I would like to try blue eyes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Eye Shadow products