Kiehl's • Lip Balm #1 • Lip Treatments

rated 3.3(1070 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Caish on 1/16/2014 9:07:00 AM more reviews by Caish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I probably wont buy this again because its expensive for a lip balm and i have a container full of cheaper lip balms that also works, but i was in a yolo moment when i bought it 7 months ago. I got coconut. It does the job well, its pretty sticky and shiny, the kind of lip balm that your hair sticks too. I like to use it after i use lush lip scrub, then pop this on before bed and my lips are soft and moisturised when i wake up. But yeah probably wont repurchase unless i get a pay rise and money isnt an issue

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hannahps on 1/14/2014 2:33:00 AM more reviews by hannahps

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Stumbled across this product while browsing at Kiehl's. Both my mom and I had heard good things about this lip balm and it lives up to its reputation! I got it in mint and my sister got it in mango. Although I find the fruity scents too strong, the mint one moisturizes my lips but looks like a gloss, which is perfect for me! This is one of my go-to lip products for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nesa76 on 1/2/2014 10:07:00 AM more reviews by Nesa76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought the mango version of #1 lip balm specifically for a summer sailing holiday in New Zealand, my purchase was based on a friends recommendation and the SPF of the product.

Unfortunately for my lips, this lip balm turned out to the most disastrous product I have ever purchased. It was worse than useless and I believe it actually caused severe burns to my lips.

I began using the product as soon as I arrived in New Zealand (from UK) because I have experience of the harsh NZ sun having lived there for half my life.

The lip balm smells nice, but the texture is greasy without moisturising and it doesn't last long on my lips.

After the first day out sailing, my lips became extremely sunburnt, despite liberally applying the product all day. At the end of the 4 day trip, I would say my lips were close to 3rd degree burns - split, bleeding, swollen with weeping blisters. I've been back in the UK for 5 days and the swelling & pain have reduced, though they are still split and slightly bleeding.
I believe the lip balm liquefied on my lips and acted as a "cooking oil" and caused the severe burns I experienced.
In all my time living in NZ and as a keen sailor, this is the worst sun burnt lips I've ever had! I had to take pain killers to get to sleep!

I didn't keep my receipt so I couldn't get a refund.

My advice is: do not buy this product, especially if you are going somewhere with harsh sun like NZ or Australia. It does nothing to protect lips from the sun or repair dry/chapped lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 qaeng3 on 12/1/2013 8:53:00 AM more reviews by qaeng3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Other    

A lip balm that moisturizes well when you first start to use it. Also feel like i am putting oil on my lips when i am applying it. Expensive, like 2-3 times the price of a drug store brand. It tastes really weird!
I would not repurchase it because of the price, not forgetting that it turns very yellowish after using for few times! I am sure there are cheaper alternatives out there that do a better job than this lip balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vanessamucho on 11/3/2013 4:52:00 PM more reviews by Vanessamucho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because of Demi Moore!!

Really didn't like this lip balm. It didn't feel great on my lips at all!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StephKatz1 on 11/3/2013 2:57:00 PM more reviews by StephKatz1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Acts well as a moisturizer

It really absorbs; it doesn't just sit on top of your lips. I wear it under my lipstick and sometimes over as a lip gloss because it is shiny. It's very soothing on dry or chapped lips. The smell reminds me of Vaseline and the texture reminds me of Neosporin as I can best describe but it's not unpleasant as a lip balm at all. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vivientoxo on 10/27/2013 1:04:00 PM more reviews by vivientoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product because of how professionals rave about this. It is disappointing as this does not last very long, is not moisturizing, and like a lot of other reviewers said, it was just Vaseline in a tube, but much more expensive. You have to apply it with a finger, which is a downside on the packaging. The good side is that it makes my lips pleasantly glossy. I completely agree with kochanie. I once applied a bit more on my lips and went to sleep, hoping I will wake up with soft moist lips. But they were frightfully dry and I was extremely disappointed!! A better alternative would be The Body Shop Vitamin E Lip Care SPF 15 or Burt's Bees Tinted Lip Balm for some color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kochanie on 10/21/2013 1:09:00 PM more reviews by kochanie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This lip balm is really nice, but it's more of a gloss than a balm. A nice, non-sticky, hydrating lip gloss. It's not thick or intensely moisturizing like aquaphor, but it does make your lips smooth, shiny, plump, and it has a silky texture. It also comes in different scents, I have the vanilla one and it's lovely. My two biggest issues with it are the packaging (you have to apply with your finger, like the aquaphor tubes), and that it doesn't last very long on the lips, but all in all I really like it and would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jonesse on 10/10/2013 1:36:00 AM more reviews by jonesse

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really want to stop eating petrolatum.

Lately I have been using a Jurlique balm that doesn't contain gross industrial lubricants. But somehow I can't shake this Kiehls habit. Yeah, I know it's essentially Vaseline in a $7 tube. But I discovered the eucalyptus version at the airport store at SFO (I think this line is airport-exclusive) and it smells so invigorating.....

This is the last tube. This time, I mean it....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clarissa90 on 9/24/2013 11:03:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this in rotation with Jack Black Lip Balm so my lips will not become accustomed to any particular lip balm. It gets the job done and is reasonably priced. I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Lip Treatments products