MAC • Fluidline Eye-Liner Gel in Blacktrack • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(2116 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 rosateh on 3/7/2014 12:14:00 PM more reviews by rosateh

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Sorry girls, this is going to be a negative review. Until now, I still do not understand the hype surrounding this gel liner. Even with an eye primer beneath it still smudges one hour later. Anyway, I have finally found my HG eyeliner, that is Stila eyeliner. It doesn't bulge even after 12 hours on and the application is so much easier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 subwaystitches on 3/7/2014 11:44:00 AM more reviews by subwaystitches

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    


I used to love this stuff, and I can't figure out if the formula changed or if I just realized that it's not that great. I've tried using a primer underneath and setting it with powder, but by mid-day, I have smudges from smiling and/or laughing too hard.

PROS:
- applies evenly
- smooth creamy consistency
- love the packaging

CONS:
- smudges (so it's not long wearing)
- doesn't stay super black throughout the day

Ultimately, I returned it - just couldn't justify keeping something that I wasn't pleased with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nicole112883 on 3/1/2014 7:49:00 AM more reviews by nicole112883

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get how some are saying that this smudges but I guess we all have different reactions. I use this on my upper lid for a cat eye effect and it's the only liner i have found that actually stays put the entire day. I was traveling overseas on a 35 hour long trip that didn't allow for me to retouch my makeup and this was the only thing on my face that stayed put as if i had applied it minutes beforehand. This is the only liner i will use. If you're looking for it to stay in the waterline, this doesn't exactly work but then again, what does?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ThatsNotMyRobot on 2/23/2014 2:40:00 AM more reviews by ThatsNotMyRobot

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this eyeliner. It is the only product that I can use to do nice eyeliner. Apply a base underneath and it's PERFECT. Lovely colour + amazing consistency.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lisaxjo on 2/9/2014 11:25:00 PM more reviews by lisaxjo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Poor staying power for my oily watery eyes. Began to run and flake after 45 minutes of usage. Its expensive and not worth the hype.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tirilsd on 2/8/2014 2:25:00 AM more reviews by Tirilsd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love how easy it is to make a beautiful eyeliner look with this, the consistence is good, not to fluid or gelly. The only downside is that it smudges in eye corners after just 3 hours. I really love the packaging! It's so sophisticated and easy to organize and store.
I use mac #266 brush to apply this.

And always keep the cap on! It will dry easily if not!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MakeupRealist on 1/29/2014 6:36:00 AM more reviews by MakeupRealist

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Did not care for this particular liner, it smears after 30 min, even with eyelid primer...yes goes on smooth but so what, if it smears and looks crappy later then not worth it lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Calincherie on 1/20/2014 1:35:00 AM more reviews by Calincherie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I normally don't like taking an additional step when it comes using a brush for eyeliner, but I make the exception for this gel liner. This jet black color goes on exactly as the color looks in the pot and stays black; doesn't fade to gray as the day wears on. It's long lasting without smudging and a little goes a long way so this tiny pot has lasted me years. It's perfect for doing a cat eye or a really thick line on top as I can't find any liquid eyeliners that work well enough to create both of those looks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NikkiBikki on 1/19/2014 6:26:00 PM more reviews by NikkiBikki

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Really good product but I tried the Maybelline version and for a quarter of the price found it to actually be better. I do prefer the mac brush that you can buy. This mac version also went dry fairly quickly which was pretty disappointing i.e after 2nd use so always had to wet the brush to make application easy. It did have good staying power as does the maybelline one. I usually prefer mac but on this occassion Maybelline's version is much cheaper and better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wixter on 1/16/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by wixter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after I have tried many other MAC Fluidlines. I only have funky colors, so I thought that I would try the black.

It goes on so fluid, as to why it has the name! I can get a much cleaner line with this product than I can with other gel liners. It wears really well on me. I don't have to touch this up during the day, which is really nice. It comes off easily with MAC's Pro Eye Makeup Remover, which is not an oil based remover.

Why I'm not re-purchasing this, and why I'm returning this, is because it looks gray in comparison to my other black gel liners. I applied this to one eye and then Maybelline's Gel Liner to the other, and the Maybelline one looked far more black!

Although I find the MAC gel liner to be a lot easier to apply than the Maybelline one, I am returning it. I wanted to buy a black liner, not a gray one! Hopefully MAC will add more pigment. I love the formula, just not the color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products