MAC • Fluidline Eye-Liner Gel in Blacktrack • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(2138 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 tvparty on 8/20/2014 5:57:00 PM more reviews by tvparty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

was recommended to buy this from a friend who always had flawless eyeliner.
at first, i must admit, i disliked it.it smudged, it wasn't as easy to apply as i thought it would be and during the first few months of usage i hated it.
however, after a few months of not touching it, i found myself in desperate need of a new eyeliner, and as a last resort, i found myself reaching my hand to the little glass pot and grabbing the nearest brush.this time, it was love.the formula had somewhat dried up and was much more manageable, it didn't smudge and it didn't budge, for well over 12 hours! i'm almost at the end of the pot and i will repurchase as i think it is a staple in my make-up bag!a must have!

Edit (Sep' 11/14)
Instead of picking up another jar of this i took a risk and bought the Bobbi Brown ink liner in Black and honestly?it's so much better.see the review on my page.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PlanetAmour on 8/10/2014 3:43:00 AM more reviews by PlanetAmour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The best gel eyeliner I have ever tried. It's so precise and easy to work with. I'm almost out and need another one. It does seem to dry out as you get to the bottom, but it still works. The jar is a large amount. One has lasted me about two years and I use it fairly regularly. There's no reason to try anything else when this exists at this price point!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 InParadiseIsland on 8/2/2014 1:08:00 PM more reviews by InParadiseIsland

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
-BLACK
-You get a ton of product so you won't need to buy one each month
-Easy to apply
-Creamy
Cons:
-Not waterproof (Doesn't claim to be)
-Dries out in a few months as most gel eyeliners do
-A bit on the pricey side but I personally don't mind that

Overall, it is a nice product and I've repurchased this a few times and I will continue to :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Saufi1991 on 7/31/2014 3:24:00 AM more reviews by Saufi1991

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The best eyeliner ever. what I hate about this eyeliner it's dry after couple month...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 littleshrimp94 on 7/21/2014 3:42:00 PM more reviews by littleshrimp94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i'am an asian typical girl, no oily eyelids but my eyes'corners are very wet.
intially, i love this product for the pigmentation and smooth texture ( i use thefaceshop eyeliner brush, same brush as the bubbi's)
BUT this thing dried out after few months and turned out a mess of crumbles when i tried to revive it with heat or glyxerin. such a mess with disgusting smell when it was heated
AND it smudges like crazy. meeting wind and it smudges under my lower eyelashes and eyes'corners. i'm a panda panda panda 1 hour after application OMG!!!!
and Nyx, Tonymoly gel eyeliner are also horribleeee to me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mimi2811 on 7/12/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by mimi2811

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

By far the best gel eyeliner I've used. I've used many different brands - NARS, Bobbi Brown, Shu Uemura, Smashbox and I always come back to this. It lasts a long time on my oily eyelids and I'd great for tightlining too! I also have it in dipdown but tend to reach for blacktrack more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lmnopaige on 6/21/2014 1:15:00 PM more reviews by lmnopaige

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily lids and even if I prime well, my wings slide down my face within a few hours of being outside in humidity or heat. It also gets clumpy way too easily and I never left it out for more than the time it took me doing my makeup. I never did understand the hype around this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ColourMeSomeMakeUp on 6/15/2014 3:52:00 PM more reviews by ColourMeSomeMakeUp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The best gel liner by far! I am on my 4th jar. Easy to apply (I use Make up Store eye liner brush 102), it's real black, not greyish black. It has the perfect consistency. Love this and will purchase over and over.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beppykins on 5/20/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by beppykins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have mixed feelings about this product. I want to love it because other people do, and I like MAC. However, I don't feel like it's the best eyeliner I could ever come across.

When I get black eyeliner, I want it to be as dark as the depths of the ocean--the areas that we haven't even reached yet. So damn black, you look at me and think "Wow she a bad bitch." With this, I have to layer it with another liner just to get a "Wow your liner is on point." If I ONLY use this liner (keeping in mind I have very fair skin), I may occasionally get a "Your liner looks nice." Not enough for me. Unless you heavily coat your brush, it often comes off kinda smoky looking. Sometimes I like that, but most work days when I don't have the energy to do my eyeshadow, I want a clean, crisp cat eye and it can be a pain to do with this alone.

Also, the product does stay on pretty well although I wouldn't say it doesn't smudge AT ALL throughout the day. Maybe if you prime super well, but if you're a basic chick like me and can't afford to get more primer until your next pay check, then you're gonna have to deal with some smudge.

The texture is nice and buttery if my MAC angle brush is completely clean and dry (still not dark enough though). If I have used my brush even once without cleaning it again (although I always brush the excess off my brush every day on a towel), the product feels pretty dry and it's hard to apply smoothly. Kinda sucks that I have to clean my brush with soap and water daily for this liner to apply like butter. Maybe I'm just asking for too much, though. I tend to do that.

My favorite way to use this liner thus far is by going over what I've done with my Stila liquid eyeliner pen. I have grandma hands that shake pretty badly, so I'm still trying to get my liquid eyeliner pen game down, and the MAC gel liner helps because if I mess up it generally doesn't show since the product doesn't stay on the brush for long. Also, layering them helps because I like the matte finish of the MAC gel and I also get that super dark black line that I love.

So overall, I'd say to just try it for yourself and see how you feel. It's not a bad product by any means, but if you're pale like me and want your liner super f'in black without having to layer, you likely won't be a huge fan. I definitely am going to buy it again though when I run out, so it's worth a rebuy from a picky eyeliner girl.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laiagmartin on 5/12/2014 1:00:00 AM more reviews by laiagmartin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

After some time I still go to this eyeliner frequently. Doesn´t smudge, stays all day and it has a very good pay-off color. I will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products