Tarte Cheek Stain in Dollface

3.8

109 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Propylene glycol, aqua, nonyl nonoxynol-150, glycerin, sodium stearate, laureth-23, lycium barbarum fruit extract, euterpe oleracea fruit extract, malpighia punicifolia (acerola) fruit extract, punica granatum extract/punica granatum, passiflora incarnata fruit extract, PVP, parfum/fragrance (natural). ( /-): Mica, bismuth oxychloride (CI 77163), titanium dioxide (CI 77891), iron oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), carmine (CI 75470), red 33 (CI 17200), red 40 (CI 16035), yellow 5 (CI 19140, blue 1 (CI 42090)


on 1/8/2011 1:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Dollface is a really pretty baby pink blush. I'm around NW10-15 and it gives me a pretty pink cheek that never looks overdone.

I held off on buying it for some time, since I figured I wouldn't get much use out of candy-colored blush. However, I've found it works well with a variety of colors--it's surprisingly versatile! Also, it has a creamy consistency (rather than gel, like most of the other Tarte cheek stains) which allows for easy blending.

While this may not work for all skintones (it is somewhat sheer and pale) it's worth a try if you're looking for a pretty dolly flush that still looks natural.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/6/2011 10:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Very pretty pink on my cool, fair complexion. Moist and dewy-looking. Seems moisturizing, which is a nice bonus in Winter. A little goes a long way, so this stuff will last forever. Goes on a little sticky. Slightly luminous, but not frosty. Pleasant fruity smell. A new obsession- I am collecting these like a madwoman :) Pretty on the lips, but tastes pretty nasty. My search for that elusive dewy cheek is over! I feel a little guilty taking a whole lippy off because it's not good for lips. Would give it a 4 1/2 if I could.


on 12/20/2010 7:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I won't have to repurchase, but I would if necessary. My favorite candy pink blush, its aptly named. Used this on my kid sis when she did a 'dolly' costume and she really did look just like a doll. :) A lovely vivid pink. :)


on 12/18/2010 5:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this is sticky, as others have said, but if you let it sit for a second and then pat it it isn't sticky anymore.
i am vampire pale so this does show up on me, and i can put too much on! but it looks very natural and makes me look alive, awake, and pretty.
the only problem is that is doesn't last as long as the other cheek stains. that is why i took off a lippy.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE Tarte Cheek Stains & I LOVE this product. This gives a nice natural glowy pink flush. I have medium-tan skintone, and I was looking for a candy pink blusher and this one worked out great. Tarte's cheek stains are so natural looking and easy to use. Highly recommend!


on 11/9/2010 7:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had previously purchased and returned dollface several years ago because the consistency was just unbearably sticky and difficult to apply. Recently on a whim I tried dollface again just because I love tarte cheek stains and this was basically the only colour left at Sephora I don't already own. I ended up going home with it and have not looked back. They've definitely changed the formula - it is now smooth and beautifully easy to apply. The colour is quite sheer, but it does show up beautifully on me as a pale, glowy baby pink (I'm super pale, NC15). It doesn't have any perceivable shimmer particles, but it does impart a shine and looks glossy. I think it looks lovely as a top coat to other tarte stain colours. It also looks really nice alone if you're going for a weekend minimalist look. This is not my personal favorite tarte cheek colour (that would be Blissful), but I do love it.

I wanted to write this review mostly to say that if you've had previous bad experience with this colour, it is worth revisiting as it is now a much better product, with easier application and better coverage. I would be sure to buy this from a source with credible "fresh" supplies though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2010 10:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

HG blush at present. Purchased along with Blushing Bride, which was the shade I was looking for (BB), and threw in Dollface to void shipping costs. Dollface turned out to be the winner of the two. I have a medium tone of skin, olivey undertones with very prominent surface redness/ruddiness (not just face but entire body). This shade is amazing. It's cool enough to temper my ruddiness, provides a soft pink without heating up my complexion further and has a slight shimmer that really defines my cheekbones without looking like I have on shimmer blush. I love the gel formula and was fearing I would break out (as even the Bobbi Brown PR's can make me break out if taken too close to my nose) but nothing, the gel almost has a cooling, nourishing feel. I love that this applies with a quick swipe and I'm done, barely even having to blend out the edges. I don't look like I have on blush but I just look finished, and not pasty. Also, this wears brighter/stronger initially, then sinks and fades into my cheeks and looks very natural. Would certainly repurchase. You know a product is awesome when you're no longer interested in looking at other ones of the same category. That's what this is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2010 3:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is basically my HG blush, it is uber-flattering, stays put, and brightens my skin, even if it's the only makeup I'm wearing. The applicator sucks, and it is hard for me to get an even application, even though I put it on before my foundation. I find it works best if you put it on after. Overall a lovely, if overpriced, product. Will repurchase.


on 6/3/2010 9:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Edit: This itches my cheeks like craaaaaaaaazy!!!! The itching mostly goes away but its really frustrating because I really love the product..not going to be able to use it anymore though :(
______________________

This is the first tarte I've purchased......in fact, the first cream/stain blush I've ever used. I knew going into this, that it can be a problem putting cream on top of powder (I wanted to try the cream look before but I am a devote loose mineral powder user and the MA at mac recommended against it). After reading a million reviews and deciding I wanted light pink cheeks, I purchased this on a 5 minute blast through Sephora ......I really wanted Flower Child but of course they were out. And will probably be discontinued by the time I am able to get more..lol. At first I was a little freaked out by the colour, but the more I use it, the more I love it. If I am putting it over my powder, I have to be careful to dab it on, not smudge it, and then kind of tap it into my cheek to blend. It really looks awesome...i put a little powder overtop to set it, but it does dry nicely.......takes forever to dry without powder......and if using powder, also just dab that on and use something light or translucent (tried setting it with a little mineral powder thats too dark for me and it looks amazing). The ONLY reason I took off a lippie is that I'm not a fan of the stickiness.......even though I can make it go away with powder. Another bonus is that it has a touch of sheen but doesnt make the pores look large, which tends to happen to me when I add sheen.

Def will buy again.......won't buy this colour again until I try a few others, but I'm fairly certain it suits me well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2010 10:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought, and fell in love with, Green Siren a few months ago. So, I thought I would add Dollface to my wishlist. My lovely Mum bought it for me, and recently gave it to me as a gift. My first impression wasn't so hot. I removed the little bubble cap (which my Green Siren didn't have) and found the stain a bit moist....I'm used to it being a little drier. When I tried to put it on, it just streaked then rubbed off...making me freak out just a little bit. I decided to leave the bubble cap off, and let the stain "dry" a bit before using it again. I tried it again after a few days, and it went on very well, giving me just the color I wanted in the amount I needed. So, all in all, I'm very pleased with this cheek stain, it was just the first couple of days that I was worried! Hopefully not everyone deals with this issue, but in my case it was annoying enough for me to now be granting only four lippies instead of five. Still in love with it though, and would definitely buy again.


Popular Blush Products


Contour Kit
90 Reviews
Orgasm Blush
5124 Reviews
Benetint
2029 Reviews
Back to Top