Clinique • Almost Lipstick - Black Honey • Lipstick

rated 4.1(1158 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Jackierose1987 on 5/11/2014 12:57:00 PM more reviews by Jackierose1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like this lipstick. It's sheer, but build able. It's a very pretty berry kind of color. Feels like butter on my lips, kind of glossy without being sticky. I like the sturdy packaging since it's a thin lipstick. Only thing is, I wish it'd last longer. I love this when I'm made up or made down to bring a bit of color to my face. Overall, I'd purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovepixie on 4/29/2014 5:35:00 AM more reviews by lovepixie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love love love this. Removing lippie due to lack of staying power. And I realize that it's not really meant to have staying power, but I mean this stuff really is gone in no time. That said, it's freaking beautiful and looks good on everyone. If I could find a stain or lipstick to exactly mimic the shade I get from applying this, it would be my HG. As is, I still love the product. It glides on smoothly and looks done without being too done and it's just beautiful. Have I mentioned how beautiful it is? Until I find THE ONE, I will be sticking with primarily this or just rose balm. I really do love this. Non drying and matches everything and every look. Just wish I could apply less often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rebeeka125 on 4/24/2014 4:22:00 PM more reviews by Rebeeka125

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love it. Looks like naturally flushed beautiful lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jccmz on 4/10/2014 12:59:00 PM more reviews by jccmz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I chose a deluxe sample size version of this from Sephora because there seemed to be universal agreement that it would look awesome on everyone. Sadly, I didn't like it because I like bold lip colors and this was like a tinted chapstick but in an ugly tint shade. I already have pretty pigmented lips so this shade didn't do anything at all for me. I didn't think it was moisturizing and it tasted not-good. It wasn't pretty at all. I don't like sheer lip color that shows the texture and lines on my lips. I would NEVER buy this. I can't imagine buying nude lipstick, let alone something called 'almost lipstick.' But if you love sheer & nude for your lips, I guess you might like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 darkangel13 on 3/15/2014 11:09:00 PM more reviews by darkangel13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

For whatever shortcomings this product has, the universally flattering color makes up for it. Yes it could be a little more long lasting and the packaging could be updated so that the top of the tube doesn't pop off but nothing changes the way I feel when I wear this baby. Clinique's cult classic Black Honey makes me feel sophisticated and dare I say quite French in the way that I can look instantly put together with minimal effort. Unlike a nude lipstick, I can wear Black Honey when the only other makeup I have on is my brows and mascara and I'll actually feel confident leaving the house. No other lip product I own has that effect. So I say just go for it and spend the $16 because the probability that this will become a staple in your makeup bag is 9/10. It's just that gorgeous and versatile!

Tip: L'Oreal's Colour Riche lip liner in Au Naturale ($6.99) is the exact same color as this and I do mean EXACT. So if you want to improve the wear and longevity of this lipstick use that lip liner in conjunction :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 catmarg on 3/15/2014 8:12:00 AM more reviews by catmarg

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this based on reviews that is was flattering for any skin. I was skeptical since it is so dark. I have medium complexion skin with olive undertones. This is NOT flattering. It does not seem very moisturizing or long lasting. The lid on the product also seems a bit loose. I won't repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 3/11/2014 12:19:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For reference: nc30, warm and yellow

This lipstick is a gorgeous sheer reddish berry color. Leaves a nice sheen to the lips. This product really does moisturize the lips. I think I paid around $15 for this at sephora.

I love wearing this when I have a neutral face and I need a pop of color. Love wearing this when I'm rocking a camel/orangey eye makeup.

Possible dupe could be the Nivea color of care lip balm in "sheer berry". Only difference is that "black honey" is a tad bit darker.

Definitely would repurchase!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 2/25/2014 10:31:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This color has been around for-eh-ver.
I tried it as a freebie in the '80's and it's still a nice, wearable shade - somewhat sheer - a bit moisturizing formula (not super long wearing - but not bad).

For free? No problem!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* galaxygoo on 2/18/2014 9:33:00 AM more reviews by galaxygoo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am 38 years old. I first tried Clinique Black Honey from a free gift set my mom got when I was a teenager. For years, all through my 20s, this was the only lipstick I would wear. I always think there is something better, but I always come back to it. The color is perfect for my neutral, pale skin. It is a warmer red, with brown tones. It can be applied very lightly for a natural flush, or darker for a more dramatic look. It also stains, so the color stays for quite a bit. It isn't too shiny, isn't too matte. Slightly moisturizing. The small, sleek tube allows me to be able to apply it anywhere, without a mirror. It is amazing to think this has been a mainstay in my purse for over 20 years, and I am sure it will be for next 20.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 diggitybomb on 2/17/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by diggitybomb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

i absolutly love this cult favourite!! my sisters and mom use this as well and it looks different in all of us! i love that it adapts to different situations, that way i dont need a thousand lip products, just one! o the downside, it doesnt have as much staying power, but i dont even care!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products