Clinique • Almost Lipstick - Black Honey • Lipstick

rated 4.1(1146 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msh9899 on 12/27/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by msh9899

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This 5 lippie review is probably more based on the formulation of Clinique's Barely There lipsticks than on the color, Black Honey, itself. Clinique originally offered many different colors of Barely There, along w/ Black Honey. Currently, Black Honey is the only color offered. Every so often, they re-release new colors of Barely There & I scoop up as many light, peachy pinks as I can because I know they will discontinue new colors and go back to only selling Black Honey again. All in all, I LOVE the formulation of this lipstick!!! I am not a big lipstick fan. I will wear it but never enjoy the obvious feeling of thick, or even worse, dry, cream on my lips. For daily use, I prefer lip liner used all over lips and a moisturizing lip balm and/or a sheer lipstick on top. As far as an undetectable-feeling lipstick that is sheer & light with no fragrance, Clinique's Barley There lipsticks really fit the bill. As for the color, Black Honey, it is such a sheer purplish-pink that I can see how it could work w/ most skin tones. I feel that am too light skinned (NC 25-pale, light skin leaning twd a warm neutral) to pull it off w/ minimal make-up. If I want a more dramatic look and am pairing it w/ darker eye-liner and more dramatic blush, it looks gorgeous. I prefer warmer corals & peachy-pinks for my every day make up so I don't reach for Black Honey often but when I do use it, I love it. I have to say, though, that I would not purchase the color Black Honey in any other lipstick formulation. For me, it's the perfect sheerness that Barely There lipstick offers that makes this color so universal and it's the only reason why I occasionally wear it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rockstar00 on 12/18/2013 10:10:00 PM more reviews by rockstar00

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

hated it! Does nothing for me. Makes my lips feel like I have some kind of cheapie chap balm. The color payoff is blotchy. I keep getting this in gift bags from Clinique. Ugh!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 12/18/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the color of this sheer lip stick especially during summer when I want color but not a heavy application. The consistency is smooth and the color on me is an amber/plum I have NW25 skin and my lips are fairly pigmented and will change colors of lipsticks to other than what they are said to be. This is a sheer and not opaque coverage similar to the lipstick Queen butterfly colors.

The one thing I hate about the Almost lipsticks and this has been a problem on everyone I've ever had. I like an edge on my lippys so I work them so they keep the angle as long as possible. This product eventually twists around so it's at the wrong angle to the tube and while doesn't make the product unusable is just plain old annoying to me.

Glad they kept this color along with a couple of others. Will definitely be part of my collection!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 12/9/2013 7:10:00 PM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love this colour for Winter on me it shows up a plummy berry. I'm very fair NW20-N1,36 Mufe Face & Body to give you an idea and this shade really is universally flattering. I also think it is very moisturizing and has not dried my lips out at all. It's such a good berry colour that looks great with Sin, or Blushing Bride and some mascara and my makeup is done. I love how you can layer the intensity of the shade as well. The packaging is nice and thin and the price is reasonable and the formula is good. I would repurchase this. Recommended!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gunc on 12/4/2013 12:25:00 PM more reviews by gunc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

It definitely looks different on everyone, so if the color is your concern, you should stop reading these reviews and go check it out in a store.
I love it, I love the sleek packaging, I love the color, the formula, everything. Contrary to many people here, I wouldn't say it is drying or that it wears off quickly. It is rather moisturizing. And it's not the most long lasting lipstick out there, but it's fine. It is greasy though, think of it in the consistency between a lipbalm and lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellomorning on 11/8/2013 3:17:00 AM more reviews by hellomorning

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Last time I'm having a very dry skin, even my lips were also dry (it seldom happen to me).Then I used eos to moisturized my lips, I reapply a couple times a day but seems my lips not getting better. Suddenly I remembered that I have black honey which was almost run out, OMG, my dry-lips problem solved! I'm amazed by how moisturized that lipstick. Definitely will repurchase!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ssavannah91 on 11/4/2013 9:34:00 PM more reviews by ssavannah91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This color definitely suits all skin types. I love how smooth it is! Don't let the dark color scare you, it's sheer and on me, it turns to a nice berry color. Love it! Glad it's been around forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lins69 on 11/4/2013 5:59:00 PM more reviews by lins69

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a lipstick person but I'll occasionally wear/buy cheap ones for occasions. When I saw the reviews for this product, I went to my nearest sephora and tested it out. When put on lightly, it gave my lips a light, sheer, berry color that livened it up a bit. When I go out, i put on a few more layers, and its a deeper berry. When I feel bold, i'll put on even more and have a beautiful, fancy, dark color that resembles the color in the tube itself. I'm fairly light skinned and I come back to this lipstick everyday because it provides me a good amount of options. The tube itself is beautiful and it doesn't break the bank. Doesn't fade too fast, doesn't set in my creases like some lipsticks, is thin and easy to apply, also very moisturizing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kbono23 on 11/4/2013 5:08:00 PM more reviews by kbono23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

nice lipstick by Clinique. gorgeous berry stained color, lasts beautifully, classic really! not my most favorite lipstick but the best by Clinique!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crayna on 10/29/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by crayna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love!! Nice subtle fall/winter color not to sheer & not to opaque. Very moisturizing. Slender package which is nice for carrying around in my purse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products