Clinique • Almost Lipstick - Black Honey • Lipstick

rated 4.1(1153 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 catmarg on 3/15/2014 8:12:00 AM more reviews by catmarg

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this based on reviews that is was flattering for any skin. I was skeptical since it is so dark. I have medium complexion skin with olive undertones. This is NOT flattering. It does not seem very moisturizing or long lasting. The lid on the product also seems a bit loose. I won't repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 3/11/2014 12:19:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For reference: nc30, warm and yellow

This lipstick is a gorgeous sheer reddish berry color. Leaves a nice sheen to the lips. This product really does moisturize the lips. I think I paid around $15 for this at sephora.

I love wearing this when I have a neutral face and I need a pop of color. Love wearing this when I'm rocking a camel/orangey eye makeup.

Possible dupe could be the Nivea color of care lip balm in "sheer berry". Only difference is that "black honey" is a tad bit darker.

Definitely would repurchase!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 2/25/2014 10:31:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This color has been around for-eh-ver.
I tried it as a freebie in the '80's and it's still a nice, wearable shade - somewhat sheer - a bit moisturizing formula (not super long wearing - but not bad).

For free? No problem!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* galaxygoo on 2/18/2014 9:33:00 AM more reviews by galaxygoo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am 38 years old. I first tried Clinique Black Honey from a free gift set my mom got when I was a teenager. For years, all through my 20s, this was the only lipstick I would wear. I always think there is something better, but I always come back to it. The color is perfect for my neutral, pale skin. It is a warmer red, with brown tones. It can be applied very lightly for a natural flush, or darker for a more dramatic look. It also stains, so the color stays for quite a bit. It isn't too shiny, isn't too matte. Slightly moisturizing. The small, sleek tube allows me to be able to apply it anywhere, without a mirror. It is amazing to think this has been a mainstay in my purse for over 20 years, and I am sure it will be for next 20.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 diggitybomb on 2/17/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by diggitybomb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

i absolutly love this cult favourite!! my sisters and mom use this as well and it looks different in all of us! i love that it adapts to different situations, that way i dont need a thousand lip products, just one! o the downside, it doesnt have as much staying power, but i dont even care!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Parvatis on 1/31/2014 11:43:00 PM more reviews by Parvatis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Was so excited to wear it, loved the idea, and read that Liv Tyler used it for The Lord of he Rings. Looked nice when if went on my lips, but within seconds left them dry and chapped. The colour would then fade into my suddenly dehydrated lips. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eastend_Snob on 1/7/2014 9:54:00 PM more reviews by Eastend_Snob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a traditional lipstick girl, but I wanted to try it out. I thought Almost Lipstick would be a great starter. Black Honey is a nice colour and different to my regular pinky peachy or nude glosses. The formula was nice but maybe because I'm used to wearing glosses and balms, I didn't feel this had enough slip for me and ultimately felt a little dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 12/28/2013 3:01:00 PM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Where have I been? I only tried Clinique's Almost Lipstick in the near-iconic shade Black Honey a few months ago, and it's now become my go-to lip product. This is one of those products where the shade will look different on everyone; with my fair skin and pink lips the result is a sheer plum/fig. It gives a rich colour without being a bold shade, and it goes nicely with all of my preferred eye looks.

My lips have been kept hydrated and flake free during cold weather and central heating, as the formula is buttery and light. Having a moisturizing formula means that this product isn't very long lasting, but the colour makes up for this downside for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msh9899 on 12/27/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by msh9899

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This 5 lippie review is probably more based on the formulation of Clinique's Barely There lipsticks than on the color, Black Honey, itself. Clinique originally offered many different colors of Barely There, along w/ Black Honey. Currently, Black Honey is the only color offered. Every so often, they re-release new colors of Barely There & I scoop up as many light, peachy pinks as I can because I know they will discontinue new colors and go back to only selling Black Honey again. All in all, I LOVE the formulation of this lipstick!!! I am not a big lipstick fan. I will wear it but never enjoy the obvious feeling of thick, or even worse, dry, cream on my lips. For daily use, I prefer lip liner used all over lips and a moisturizing lip balm and/or a sheer lipstick on top. As far as an undetectable-feeling lipstick that is sheer & light with no fragrance, Clinique's Barley There lipsticks really fit the bill. As for the color, Black Honey, it is such a sheer purplish-pink that I can see how it could work w/ most skin tones. I feel that am too light skinned (NC 25-pale, light skin leaning twd a warm neutral) to pull it off w/ minimal make-up. If I want a more dramatic look and am pairing it w/ darker eye-liner and more dramatic blush, it looks gorgeous. I prefer warmer corals & peachy-pinks for my every day make up so I don't reach for Black Honey often but when I do use it, I love it. I have to say, though, that I would not purchase the color Black Honey in any other lipstick formulation. For me, it's the perfect sheerness that Barely There lipstick offers that makes this color so universal and it's the only reason why I occasionally wear it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rockstar00 on 12/18/2013 10:10:00 PM more reviews by rockstar00

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

hated it! Does nothing for me. Makes my lips feel like I have some kind of cheapie chap balm. The color payoff is blotchy. I keep getting this in gift bags from Clinique. Ugh!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products