Neutrogena Rapid Clear Acne Defense Face Lotion

4.0

149 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Salicylic Acid (2%) (Acne Treatment) Inactive Ingredients: Water, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Dimethiconol Beeswax, Dimethicone, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG 100 Stearate, Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides, Capryloyl Glycine, Sarcosine, Cinnamomum Zeylanicum Bark Extract, Hexylene Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Cedrus Atlantica Bark Extract, Bisabolol, Allantoin, Propylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates C10 30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Hydroxide, Fragrance


on 12/3/2013 7:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

This product didn't cause me any more breakouts than I usually get, but it didn't significantly reduce my acne either. I used it at night after cleansing my face, and found that in the morning my face was a bit oilier than if I hadn't used it. Also, at some point, when I first squeeze some out, a oily residue comes first before the lotion, so I'm wondering if the product is separating inside of there or if it expired and I just don't know it. I find that Salicylic Acid is less effective for me than Benzoyl Peroxide, which I now greatly prefer.



on 10/26/2013 3:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Decent product but smells weird to me


on 10/4/2013 6:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I am pleasantly surprised. I have used some SA products with no luck and started giving up hope that they even worked. This has worked and showed improvement in my skin. It isn't a miracle product, but its not bad. The pH of the product is low enough so that it is effective. It kinda has a strange smell. It goes away quickly after application. It doesn't seem to give much glide on application and absorbs rather quickly. All in all I would buy this again as I have seen results and I was giving up on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this so much. Nothing has ever cleared up my acne so fast. At first when using this product I did have a "purge" but that went away in like a day. I use this all over my face morning and night. My face is beautifully clear, toned, and supple. I recommend this to everyone. HG for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2013 11:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The ONLY moisturizer that doesn't make my oily acne prone skin more oily. Doesn't clog my pores and even with the salicylic acid I thought it would be more drying than moisturizing but it moisturizers while keeping excess oil at bay.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2013 4:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

EDIT april 13: After reading the BEST review of this on beautypedia (paula begoun) I decided to try it again. of course bp looks at products from an ingredients perspective, it's not the end all be all true best products list. for instance, physicians formula BB cream got a best review but from a user's standpoint it sucks, the so-called light is actually a medium shade. anyways, this acne product has done well, it's the only inexpensive thing I can think of that's done consistently well. it's hard to reach an average rating of 4 on mua for an acne product, especially from this sold-everywhere brand. I tried it again, and my acne got better after one day. I did accidentally sleep in it though, so I wonder if that helped at all ? I'm going to be using this daily and will edit this review if need be.

I'm almost done with my first bottle. Lasted a long long time, yes, but I stopped because it seemed to be causing me to breakout in the end. :/ I got it because of the wonderful reviews, plus it had 2% salicylic acid and for a moisturizer to be on your face all day, that percentage was what I was looking for (I don't find my skin to be sensitive to SA). I've given my skin rest from it, and started up on a new blemish moisturizer. It's um Aveeno clear complexion something or other. It's even more expensive than this and also does that annoying shedding thing. But it hasn't broken me out at least. My acne issues stems from my TOTM. I'll get two zits, stubborn as all hell, no matter what I use they just don't go away. So I pop em. Everyone knows that leads to scarring, and more acne because of bacteria spreading, but those zits really piss me off. I'm still looking for a good skin discoloration remedy, but I think I might have found one in Garnier's Skin Renew Dark Spot Overnight Peel. I had this embarrassing zit inbetween my eyebrows (had to cover with my bangs so nobody'd see it but that also slowed progress in destroying it) that finally turned into an acne scar and 3 nights after using the Garnier product, there's a noticable difference in how well my concealer covers it, among other dark spots too. Maybe sometime I'll try the remainder of my rapid clear lotion again.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2013 7:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Great product for keeping pores unclogged. It moisturizes well as also. It has a PH of 3.6 so it definitely exfoliates the skin. Highly recommend!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2013 8:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

GREAT FOR WRINKLES ! I am 43 and I used this product specifically for the Salicylic Acid; I know that Salicylic Acid, like Retinol, can be used for aging skin to to minimize wrinkles

I put this cream on my face every other night, and when I wake up my face feels so smooth and tight...and the little wrinkles on my forehead almost disappear. This cream is basically a wonderful exfoliant !

Of course I don't suggest using this every day...I am lucky my face is not really sensitive. So this may irritate your skin a little. But to me, it's worth it. The effects don't lost very long.....but overall I LOVE this product, and would recommend this cream for diminishing fine wrinkles on aging skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2013 8:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This product has been with me for years, through middle school, high school, and currently college. It has never failed me and I LOVE this thing.
My forehead and chin are areas where I can easily break out, but when I started using this on those areas every morning and night everyday, pimples don't show up. It definitely defense my face! When I get the occasional pimple/zit on areas besides my forehead and chin, I put a small dollop of the lotion on it overnight and it's not as red and as big. It takes a couple of days, but eventually, the pimple/zit would disappear.
For me, it is a bit pricy for a small tube, but I don't need a large amount a product. It also does make my forehead oily when I use it and my forehead is oily as it is, so I can't use it under my makeup or I will break out later. BUT it is still great! I will keep on buying this unless there is a product that will kill a pimple overnight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2012 11:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I started using products with SA in it just recently for my cystic acne had staring forming again. After browsing across the skincare isle, I decided on this product. Haven't heard much, but I decided to give it a shot. After the first night of using this, my pimples decreased significantly. The smell is wonderful, very fresh. The consistency is gel-like, but the formula doesn't dry very quickly. I use a q-tip to spot treat my acne, and if there are large clusters of acne, then I smooth it on. It's a very tiny bottle, which is disappointing because it is about $7-10 depending on where you purchase the product. But, it works great! I will try out another treatment so that my skin doesn't get used to this spot treatment.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
522 Reviews
Lemon Juice
394 Reviews
Back to Top