Clinique Advanced Concealer

3.7

122 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/6/2012 10:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought it in Matte Light. I'm anywhere between NC15 and NC25 depending on the time of year. I have yellow undertones. This concealer is a bit too dark and too pink for me to wear without having to go over it with a powder or foundation that matches my skin perfectly. When I'm darker it'll match better, but still be a bit pink.

It just takes the tiniest smudge of product to cover blemishes, maybe a thin second layer for really large or dark ones. The best application method is to pat with your fingers lightly over the area needing concealing. Brushes don't do it justice.

I do use it under my eyes but it's a bit trickier as it dries matte, however it does not smudge and stays on ALL DAY. It does not highlight any dryness or lines.

Note: It works well on me as a lid primer. I have oily, creasy hooded eyelids and this makes eyeshadow last a long time. I use it when I want a more matte or down-played look.

Overall I love this concealer but if you have a hard-to-match skintone or very dry skin you may want to skip this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

First of all...this concealer only comes in two colors...wtf?!
I bought it in Matte Light...which is too light to be used on my face, but I tried to make it work.
I intended to use this around my nose and under my eyes, and this concealer was AWFUL for both. It made my pores look HUGE, which is normally never a problem for me. It creased under my eyes and settled into my fine lines, yuck.
It says it dries to a powder, which is true, but once the concealer sets it looks awful on my skin.
The packaging is sanitary though, which is a plus.
I have found a use for it...around my eyes to clean up after doing my eyeshadow. It works pretty well for that.
Everything else about this concealer sucks though.



on 9/21/2012 1:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like it. I use it for acne scars and existing pimples. Coverage is great and it seems to actually dry up the pimples I do have and make them go away faster than not using makeup. Good price and a tube lasts forever (have had this one for years). Only wish they made this in more colors. Will continue to buy this and only this for all my concealer-related (and eyebrow tinting) needs!!


on 7/2/2012 8:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really can't decide how I feel about this product. I really like how you only need to use a small amount, the matte finish and how it STAYS on. However this concealer has a horrible color range the 01 matte light I was matched with is super orange and atleast 3 shades darker than anything I use should be and while I cover it with my clinique superbalanced foundation and superpower double facemakeup which are the right color match so that fixes the color problem but it still bothers me since I can't use it alone. Also while the concealer covers acne scars and blackheads great it doesn't do the best job at covering zits it looks cakey and uneven.


on 6/29/2012 2:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Suffering from oily and acne-prone skin, I hesitate when trying out new products; I should have never tried with this one. Said to be one of the best concealers on the market, this concealer did anything BUT conceal, and instead, caked in the locations I barely dabbed, and made the slight scar I had a massive distraction. After taking this product back, the rep herself told me that she didn't care for the product for the same reasons, and offered me the acne-solutions concealer which I immediately turned down from the ratings it received here on MUA. I'm very upset with Clinique as I was making the switch from Neutrogena; but now that I cannot find a single concealer, I may just have to suck it up and apply a full coverage foundation to simple scars and blemishes--I don't like doing this as I have severely oily skin! Overall, if you have oily skin, you will NOT like this product: YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2012 9:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

More than I usually spend on a concealer, but worth every penny. I like the way it dries to a nice matte finish and the smallest amount really gave me excellent coverage. I got this to cover a very dark blemish and was sure I would still see it, but I didn't. No break outs so far, held up well throughout the day, and no smell. I give this product an Aplus.


on 2/2/2012 2:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the best long-wearing spot concealer I've found that stays put. I use a tiny amount on any small problem areas or discolorations. It covers them completely, and I don't have to worry about it fading away. My HG!!


on 1/11/2012 11:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

LOVE IT! Great coverage, dries to a powder.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Excellent coverage. Dries to a power. Very concentrated. I use on the occasional blemish. NOT FOR THE EYE AREA, SERIOUSLY, JUST DON'T DO IT. It is so concentrated, it would not do well on the thin eye skin. I do wish it had more color choices. I love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2011 8:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I use this over my acne scars and it would look fine until about the 4 hour mark. Then it looked dry and cakey. The color also seemed to oxidize to a dark pink color when I used it. It was very pigmented but the lasting power just wasn't enough for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top