Jason Natural Cosmetics • Natural Sea Kelp Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chikababy on 12/19/2010 8:06:00 PM more reviews by chikababy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first natural shampoo (something without the harsh detergent of sulfate laureth sodium). You can really feel the difference. It doesn't lather as much, to my disappointment, so it was harder to spread. It came out as a transparent brown gel. The smell is not very noticeable; it's clean and light. What I love is that this keeps your natural oils. Sometimes I overdo the shampoo part and it makes my hair squeaky clean-- which is terrible. My hair feels moisturized after-- I am tempted not to even use conditioner. But it does clean your hair; I do not see a difference between the cleaning of this and other shampoos. Also, I got this on sale on London Drugs for 6CAD at 500ml. The first two ingredients are aloe vera and a flower extract. My great-grandmother washed her hair with aloe vera (shampoo was expensive in her days) and her hair was rich and black until she was late into her 80s.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yeshailey on 10/26/2010 2:52:00 AM more reviews by yeshailey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Great shampoo. Nice smell. Thick, honey-like consistency. Cleans my thick hair well and leaves it naturally soft. A little difficult to use if your hair is very long, it doesn't move well through the hair or lather either, but I'm not complaining because I know it isn't supposed to, and that's a good thing. I will put up with the small fuss for the amazing results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ReggieJackson on 6/26/2010 1:15:00 PM more reviews by ReggieJackson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This works great along with the conditioner and no SLS! Awesome stuff and cheap cheap cheap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kate38 on 4/28/2010 8:33:00 AM more reviews by kate38

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great shampoo! It smells lovely, and is very good for thick hair that needs a bit of TLC. You get a big amount for the price, it is eco-friendly, and it really works. My hair is smoother, softer and in better condition thanks to this product. I couldn't recommend it more highly! Use it with the Sea Kelp Conditioner for the full effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sbksbj on 4/27/2010 3:41:00 PM more reviews by sbksbj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised by the negative reviews. It's true that this shampoo doesn't lather like what we've been accustomed and the texture is gooey. However, once you get over the texture, it does clean my oily hair thoroughly and leaves it very soft/shiny on the first pass. I usually need to shampoo twice with conventional shampoos. Lady Godiva from Lush was my HG shampoo for a while but I went through those shampoo cakes so quickly and it got expensive. One bottle of this will last me about 2 months where as the $9 shampoo cakes would only last me 2 weeks. I also find it gentle, for some reason the skin on my nose peels when I use harsh chemicals/shampoos that have SLS (I know gross) but with the Jason Sea Kelp my nose no longer peels. I've been using the Jason shampoos for a few months now and my hair is healthier, thicker and I seem to shed less. I also don't use a conditioner anymore just a little coconut oil at the ends does the trick. Overall a great SLS free gentle, 'natural' shampoo that does the job very well.



I order from iHerb where the prices are reasonable, $5off with code HEX237 and free shipping for orders over $40

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bella16 on 12/11/2009 1:22:00 PM more reviews by bella16

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Should've read the reviews for this product before wasting money on it. I bought it in an effort to be "healthy", (no laurlyl/laureth sulfates). But, call me old-fashioned, but I like a few soap suds with my soap. This doesn't so much lather up as sort of "slime on". Didn't leave my hair feeling clean, and the scent, while not as offensive to me as to some others here, was not a selling point either. I'd say I'd use it up and not purchase again, but don't think I can even stand to do that. It'll just take up space in my shower 'til I finally throw it out, so may as well do that right now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beachblond on 10/23/2009 7:57:00 PM more reviews by beachblond

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Holy cow does this stuff smell horrible. I love Jason Apricot s'poo but I wanted to try something different. The funny thing is that I think it does a good job. Lathers well, rinses out clean, and made my hair nice and soft. If it weren't for the nasty smell I would have kept it. I took it back the day I used it and got the Apricot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Hailey92 on 7/8/2009 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Hailey92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When i use this i find that you have to use a whole handful to get lather, which is a joke. Also every time i rinse it out i feel like my hair isn't even clean and i usually end up washing it with something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bklynbelle on 5/6/2009 10:06:00 AM more reviews by bklynbelle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am on a quest to replace all my products with more natural, non paraben ones. This shampoo and matching conditioner states that it moisturizes and prevents damage from styling. That said....The shampoo felt silky, and in rinsing out the conditioner, my hair felt so smooth. However, once dried and styled, my hair became like straw with no moisture in it whatsoever, not to mention it just never felt clean. The only good point of this product was the nice smell. Oh well, my quest continues.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 4/21/2009 8:08:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oh, how I used to love this and the matching conditioner. I love the smell and the way it left my hair soft and clean without stripping or over-hydrating. Unfortunately, it doesn't work as well with the water here, blame the chemical make up and now leaves my hair a bit dry. Oh, well, when I get back to the west coast, I'll be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jason Natural Cosmetics products

More Shampoo products