H & M • H&M Clothing (General) • Clothes

rated 3.7(166 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 byuri on 1/28/2014 10:14:00 PM more reviews by byuri

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I came here just to write a review not on a particular location but the company as a whole as I have experienced it. The sizes are inconsistent, which means you probably should try on a piece of clothing unless you're sure that you're visually sizing it to your body properly. Sizing also in general tends to run small. My experience shopping online: 2 different pairs of pants, same size (25); one fits but if I gained more than a pound or 2 it probably wouldn't; the other I couldn't even get to zip up and needed at least one size up. To return an item, you have to pay for shipping.

In terms of quality: I've found that some of the clothes stretch out in terms of fabric, but I'm not the best at following strict directions. Cold or warm water, throw it in the dryer (at whatever temperature that I deem the clothes will most hold up in). A lot of the jewelry is trinkety and will not hold up to the test of time if there is glue involved in my experience.

For the most part, lingerie is of average quality, socks are average but cute designs. Lace is pretty, but as is often the case, does not hold up well. However, they often if not always have deals on socks and underwear. I don't particularly like like loud or busy prints for the most part, but there is still a selection that caters to my taste.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 neha84jain on 1/16/2014 2:19:00 PM more reviews by neha84jain

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Worst online shopping experience ever. They do not accept exchanges in the store and for all online returns they charge a fee which has not been clearly mentioned anywhere except in small points in the terms and conditions. During thanksgiving I ordered a lot of stuff online, one top out of those initially showed shipped but never arrived. When I went back online to check again the order no longer featured in my orders...WEIRD...Later when I returned a top from amongst the ones that did come I receive one mail confirming the return one day and another mail for placing an order of the same top. DUDE I just returned this item and did not even place the new order. REALLY CRAPPY CUSTOMER SERVICE

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 justshairag on 8/22/2013 5:04:00 AM more reviews by justshairag

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know why people's reviews says clothes here are so cheap, it's so expensive for me =.= U guys might be rich... :/ I only bought one thing coz the top is just on final sale.. But i still don't get why people think the prices are so cheap >.<

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cheerhottiexoxo on 8/8/2013 12:51:00 AM more reviews by Cheerhottiexoxo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Always love !!!! Cheap & yet classy always will be my favorite store

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 7/25/2013 12:25:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I go back and forth with H&M. I don't have a store locally, so I am always excited to get to shop there when I go to Monterey or San Francisco. However, my anticipation is usually met with disappointment in the end. I've had some really great purchases there - a few bras, a black trench, jewelry - that I love and are staples for me. The prices are great, along the lines of Forever 21, but the clothing is higher quality and more mature in general than F21. However, the sizing is always sort of off for me. I am somewhere between a size 4 and a size 6 generally in junior's and most things don't fit me there in a flattering way. I swim in medium sized dresses or shirts but the smalls seem a little too small for my taste, because I don't like to wear things tight, but rather more figure skimming. I can never find pants in my size, either, I feel like the waistbands/rise are always so high. I've got one really cute dress from there but otherwise I rarely find actual clothing that fits properly and looks good on. I feel like the way things are put/sewn together is sort of haphazard and accounts for the poor fit; maybe it has to be that way because it's so inexpensive. So much of their clothing is just...shapeless. I still usually find it worth going in when I'm near a store but I don't expect to walk out with a whole lot.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* payjark on 7/25/2013 3:17:00 AM more reviews by payjark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I prefer H&M to F21 by far for trendy clothes that don't break a budget. H&M is just better quality and have better sizing and selections. I love their winter coats and summer tops and bikinis. I'm so glad one opened in the mall close to my house.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iLoveYoutwo on 6/27/2013 1:24:00 AM more reviews by iLoveYoutwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love H&M, especially their trend line, if you see a white-silverish tag on the clothing you know it is from TREND. The trend line is only available in bigger cities, but the quality is NOTICEABLY better, but more expensive, but will last you a while! The trend line from H&M is the same quality as other shopping mall stores (Guess, Express, Zara) but about 15% cheaper!!! That's what I found out!

I don't really care much for divided, or the other lines as the quality is poor (only slightly better than F21).

I love H&M.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 4/27/2013 2:00:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think H&M has a variety of items for a variety of people. What some reviewers are saying that each H&M is different and unique to their own locale is probably true. Every department store has buyers that purchase merchandise that they think will sell in their own local market. So it only makes sense that each H&M will follow the same marketing strategy.
With that in mind, it's unfortunate that H&M doesn't follow strict policies for their standards. In America, we don't have the luxury of shopping from their catalogs, and can only shop from their stores. The one store that is near me stocks decent merchandise and it basically flies out the door. What is good to stock up on are the tank tops in colors. I've had quite a few of them that I wear constantly, wash constantly and they've held their shape and color. I also own a few pairs of their jeans and they've also held up excellently. I've purchased a few of their unique type blazers/blouses/hats and also been happy with them. I guess my H&M is a good one. Like I said, if you like it, you'd better buy it, 'cos it won't be there next time you go in. I'm just waiting to see what happens if they ever go online here.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Colorlicious on 2/6/2013 1:55:00 PM more reviews by Colorlicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like H&M. I buy most of my clothes there and I had no problems with most of them. I know the quality isn't great usually, but you can find good items if you search well. I must disagree with the idea that it looks cheap; at least the clothes we have in Europe don't. I think that if you know how to search for the good stuff and accesorize it nicely, you can look stunning. A simple dress can change its appearance if you put a nice belt on and add a hair flower worn as a brooch. Or a statement necklace and a colorful bag. You can play with it, you don't have to wear the clothes exactly the way they are exposed in the store. To tell the truth, I saw people wearing expensive clothes who looked like they got out of the trash in spite of the quality and price.

However, traveling across the world, I saw the clothes were different from store to store, from city to city, from country to country, from continent to continent. I guess they base their decisions on the customers or the fashion of the place. In Paris the store has a more elegant and preppy-style, while in Barcelona it has an urban-style.

I bought a pair of pumps and they lasted forever, like 5 years or so. I bought bags, coats, accesories, underwear, clothes... I only had problems with a cotton dress: it lost its colours after 3 washings and it looked like it had been used for 10 years... The rest of the things I bought were ok. It's cheap, so I wouldn't mind if the clothes didn't last a lifetime; I mean, it's obvious they're meant to last a season, until new fashion trends arrive. This is why it's so affordable. But I have many things I bought years ago and they are still good, so I wouldn't say you get what you pay for, since my experience is positive. Just be careful what you chose, how you wash them and if you respect the label advice it should be fine.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ainoinkeri on 1/8/2013 7:03:00 AM more reviews by ainoinkeri

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wouldn't say that everything from H&M is bad quality, but most of it actually is. I wouldn't never buy any of their shoes, jackets, jeans or the worst of them all - cosmetics. I have some nice cardigans from H&M which I'm happy with, but many of their clothes have shrank in the first wash or the material has just gone bad in such a sort time. Nowadays I don't even go to their shops, I think the clothes are way too cheap and they also look very cheap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More H & M products

More Clothes products