Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1052 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 suzanneluc on 3/24/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by suzanneluc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Years ago I bought a Bare Minerals Starter Kit and was hooked on the stuff. I really believed it was good for my skin, but alas, I made the swtich to liquid foundation for better coverage, and my BM makeup was forgotten about.

Fast forward to a couple weeks ago, I was researching a new setting powder to try out, and I came across my old Mineral Veil in my makeup collection! Perfect, no need to buy a new setting powder. I've been using my clear Mineral Veil everyday for the past 2 weeks and realized why it was forgotten in the first place. I have a light complexion with some redness, and the mineral veil looks like cheap costume makeup on me. I DO NOT apply too much (light dusting over the face, always swirling in the cap and tapping off excess), but it leaves a white cast on my face that doesn't look natural at all.

As far as oil control, it leaves my face looking matte enough for the first hour, but more time than that, and my face is an oil slick again. I believe it's just my skin type, as most of you seem to really like the Mineral Veil, but it is just ok for me, and with this price point, I'll search for a better powder.

I will say that when applying this powder, it leaves a really refreshing "cool" feeling that I love, but that's not enough for me to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jocox88 on 2/19/2014 4:35:00 PM more reviews by jocox88

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The locking lid containers from BE usually have bottoms that can be removed when almost empty. I think when the last foundation I had with a sifter container was just about empty, I was able to unscrew the bottom to access the remainder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikkii18 on 2/19/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by nikkii18

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I do love this product, but it is a little pricy. Their old packaging was much better. The lock lid not doesn't come off so when you are down to just a few applications left in the jar it's hard to get out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShazboTastic on 1/5/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by ShazboTastic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is amazing but it's not the cheapest. A little does go a long long way. Feels silky and leaves skin looking radiant and glowy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/29/2013 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know why I never reviewed this product because I have had it for 10 years. This was my favorite setting powder for the longest time but since I have explored others. It does set foundation well, the only issue I have with it is pores. It seems to show mine more than any other powder and I don't know why.
Some of the newer Mineral Veils do not, so it might be the formula on the original. I love BE products, I think they are high quality and have great ingredients. This stuff can become cakey regardless of what the company says and needs to be buffed in some. It has never oxidized on me or become splotchy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Purplegal on 12/27/2013 11:26:00 PM more reviews by Purplegal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this because of the SPF and believing that Bare Minerals only sold good products. I was disappointed. The SPF worked fine, but the powder seemed to oxidize & turn into an oily mess. I tried it with a variety of foundations, primers & bare skin, but it just didn't do well with my skin. Also, I am not a fan of the packaging it seemed to release way to much powder and it was messy.

I know others love & swear by Bare Minerals, but this didn't work for me. For reference, my skin is oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StephKatz1 on 11/4/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by StephKatz1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great product for reducing how big your pores look.
This definitely gives me that finish.

It's light, clean-feeling and makes a noticeable difference. I'm on my second jar, so obviously I'd buy it again. Unfortunately the only way to buy this for me was QVC, with its outrageous shipping cost - but I found it on amazon for a good price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vanessamucho on 11/1/2013 10:16:00 PM more reviews by Vanessamucho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product. Well, they didn't quite do that, but I really think I look "finished" when I apply this. It's light, clean-feeling and makes a noticeable difference. I'm on my second jar, so obviously I'd buy it again. Unfortunately the only way to buy this for me was QVC, with its outrageous shipping cost

I found it online instead for a great deal

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 courtney16spicer on 10/29/2013 7:46:00 AM more reviews by courtney16spicer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG. I am absolutely in love with this powder. My friend bought it for me in the States and I've been using it everyday since. I wear this over everything- even on the days I can't be bothered to wear makeup I'll put on my moisturiser and this over the top (to control my shine of course!). The mineral veil is so sheer but it still manages to absorb shine and make my skin look and feel flawless. I love that this powder is relatively natural, as my skin is really sensitive and I don't like to use too many chemicals. This is a bit pricier than some other finishing powders but I've tried the cheaper ones and this is definitely the best of them all. I'm just about to finish my current box and I will definitely be buying this again. LOVE

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JLsunshine on 10/28/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by JLsunshine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Mineral Veil make my makeup routine complete. I couldn't live without it. Regardless if i am using bare minerals make up or not, i always use mineral veil to conceal and to finish my makeup routine. I of course, 'swirl', 'tap', and 'buff' a small amount and spread evenly onto my face (especially in areas such as my cheek bones and nose). It locks in my makeup and gives a complete after glow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products