Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(952 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 anpage on 1/17/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by anpage

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This has become my HG facial wash. I have dry, sensitive skin and this cleans my face perfectly without irritating it. It also gets my make-up (eye makeup included) off fine. Most facial washes tell you not to use around the eye area, so that's a bonus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 circusriddle on 1/1/2014 4:48:00 PM more reviews by circusriddle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My skin: oily, very sensitive, clog prone, acne prone

I was on the fence about trying this product because of the reviews here saying it was too harsh. I'd been looking for a basic, gentle cleanser and I had been using Trader Joe's Nourish Cleanser, which was working very well as my HG cleanser prior to this. It was so gentle, but my skin needed a little something more because I found it just wasn't doing anything for my clogged pores. So I took the plunge and purchased a huge size of this on sale for $10 and I haven't looked back since. It's been a year now and that huge container is just over half gone so I'd say I've given this a good long testing.

PROS:
-Cleanses my skin without stripping it dry
-Gentle
-Takes off leftover makeup my remover does not remove
-helped clear up my acne
-Doesn't break me out
-Packaging; its a pump so you can control how much product dispenses out and keep it all sanitary

CONS:
-Fragrance

Why must they ruin products with fragrance? Thankfully, the fragrance ingredients don't break me out, but I just wish they could make this go the extra mile towards being gentle by remove the fragrance. Its not a bad fragrance or anything, but I just don't like it as an ingredient in general when it comes to skincare.

All in all, this is my HG cleanser, and I will continue to repurchase this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 matt1syd on 11/29/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by matt1syd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I was having serious problems with acne, and after using benzoyl peroxide I needed a gentle but effective cleaner that wouldn't dry out my skin too much (I used to have oily skin but now it's pretty dry). I love this stuff! It takes off all my makeup and doesn't leave my skin feeling too tight. It lathers pretty well too. After adding this to my routine (along with a new moisturizer) my skin has completely cleared up! I'll never stop using this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 breanda19 on 11/26/2013 11:40:00 PM more reviews by breanda19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Sadly, this has happened to me a few times...
Using Purpose: OMG! My skin looks great! I should start washing with another cleanser to help combat aging/large pores/redness/something in a cuter package!
Using anything else: (skin massacre)
Using Purpose again: OMG! My skin looks great!
Repeat, ad nauseum.

For whatever reason, when I use this cleanser my extremely acne prone (cystic) and sensitive skin behaves. This cleanser does not make my skin perfect my any means but it is definitely the best I've found for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vanessamucho on 11/1/2013 10:05:00 PM more reviews by Vanessamucho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not a big fan. For a gentle cleanser I would prefer cetaphil or cerave. I didn't find this too effective but I gave it a three because a lot of people I know do really like it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennyWalsh1 on 10/28/2013 11:06:00 PM more reviews by JennyWalsh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Fantastic facial wash. I haven't had a breakout since I started using this about a month ago. It foams nicely, takes off every trace of makeup, and is pretty cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CamiWillians on 10/27/2013 9:22:00 PM more reviews by CamiWillians

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Excellent face wash, I found it at my dermatologist's office in a sample. It's really a lot better for me in the summer when I get all greasy during the day, but it's not too drying now that it's winter (at least, not yet). Looking at the ingredients I do like how I recognize everything I see, and that there aren't many...only rant about it is that Clean & Clear's Sensitive Skin Foaming Face Wash is identical and costs less.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maquin22 on 10/20/2013 1:05:00 PM more reviews by maquin22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have bounced around several cleansers but return to this one or clean & clear sensitive (same ingredients) all the time. I buy whichever one is on sale.

Basic no frills light foaming cleanser removes make up without stripping skin. Packaging is fine. I keep the large pump bottle in the shower and decant some into a foaming pump and keep it by the sink, so a little does go a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jilly914 on 10/2/2013 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Jilly914

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

The cleanser that I've used for years was discontinued. I picked out a new cleanser, and since I have breakouts once in a while - I decided to try one with drying ingredients for acne.

OMG...The skin on my face went crazy - it was a dry, flaky, burning, red mess. I normally don't have really sensitive skin...but this time I made my skin really mad.

I remembered that my Mum used to use Purpose for her sensitive skin for many years, so I picked this up. It is so gentle and easy on the skin - no dyes, scents etc. I love that it has a pump too. My skin settled down within a few days of using this. Even though my skin is oily, this is doing a good job at removing the oil without being as drying as my old cleanser.

I will repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Law1747 on 9/25/2013 12:08:00 AM more reviews by Law1747

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this product for the last 10 years. It was recommended to me by my dermatologist at the time, due to a heavy duty acne medication regimen I was starting. I've been using it ever since. Its great at removing makeup and for regular washing. Your skin feels soft and clean and never dried out. Highly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products