Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(966 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Khiandra on 6/30/2014 1:28:00 PM more reviews by Khiandra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I've tried many MANY different cleansers and this one by far is one of the best, as far as basics go. A no fail facial cleanser that removes everything without drying/ irritating the skin. I do prefer my good ol Dove Beauty Bar but Purpose is a great choice also, when I'm not using cleansing milk.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snrocinu on 6/11/2014 12:48:00 AM more reviews by snrocinu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My dermatologist recommended I use this because I have sensitive skin. Well... I've been using it for 15 years now. I've tried many other brands of face wash, towelettes, pads, etc and I have yet to find anything better. It's extremely gentle, yet very effective at removing makeup/oil and doesn't leave any residue. It's actually so gentle that I don't even notice when it gets in my eyes! I don't know why people complain about the scent. It's barely noticeable and doesn't linger at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fashionismybesty on 6/1/2014 1:57:00 PM more reviews by fashionismybesty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know why, but after every time I use this, my skin breaks out like crazy. I've given it a plethora of second chances, but it fails me every time. Half of it leaked the first week I bought it. Although it broke me out, it didn't dry my skin out, which almost every product does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MeliMelzxo on 5/21/2014 3:00:00 AM more reviews by MeliMelzxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Grey    

I don't know why I have gone so crazy for years battling my acne purchasing every acne product possibly available, even prescription acne medications. This face wash was given to me as a sample by my dermatologist and believe it or not, it actually cleared my skin even though it is not targeted towards acne at all, it's so gentle and scent free it didn't irritate my skin which is why I think I had acne in the first place from the other cleansers I was trying! This cleanser is so absolutely underrated and so amazing! It gets every bit of my makeup off and leaves my face feeling so fresh, toned and super clean! A holy grail product right here!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RNBill on 5/20/2014 6:19:00 AM more reviews by RNBill

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this face cleanser for years and I think it's probably the most gentle one on the market. I have used the scented and un-scented versions and I prefer the un-scented. I do notice sometimes my skin feels dry after using it, but I have attributed that dryness to over exposure to sun or just dehydration because my skin doesn't always feel dry after washing with this product. I also think that water quality might be a factor because I travel a lot and have lived in several different states with very different levels of water softness and quality. I usually use just one pump of the bottle to wash my face, ears, and neck so the bottle lasts about 3-4 weeks. I recently noticed a larger size bottle on the shelf for convenience. One thing I have noticed is that this bottle doesn't travel well, you have to pump it down and turn the nozzle to lock it or it will leak all over if not standing in an upright position. That is really my only complaint, so I have purchased a small travel bottle with a flip up cap that I fill with face cleanser for travel, problem solved.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessicapereira1691 on 4/29/2014 9:56:00 AM more reviews by jessicapereira1691

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this product!!! This is the best cleanser period for any skin type. I have acne and have always used acne formulated cleansers and decided to stop because they weren't helping my acne. I've had acne for about 10 years im 22 now and my face looks so much healthier since switching to this cleanser. This cleanses your skin without over drying and its so gentle on the skin. I have spent thousands of dollars on acne cleanser from high end brands to drugstore. This is def my Holy Grail Cleanser will not change. I def recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MakeupEllie on 4/2/2014 1:42:00 PM more reviews by MakeupEllie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I've tried this cleanser a few times over the years. It does remove makeup and get skin clean, but it's too thick, highly scented, leaves a film, and irritated my skin. After a few uses it made my skin feel too dry as well. Not good for sensitive skin at all. Skip this for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Catlove on 3/14/2014 2:31:00 AM more reviews by Catlove

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the same exact product as Clean and Clear sensitive skin foaming cleanser. Ingredients are the same and go figure they are both manufactured by Johnson&Johnson. I've used it on and off for years. Smells like baby Head to Toe wash which I think ingredients in that are also the same. Check it out. I don't have no negatives to say about this cleanser. If I wasn't so damn curious about new cleansers I
may still be using only this, but its in my medicine cabinet. One thing I do l love is that it doesn't break me out makes my skin feel simply clean, and does NOT burn my eyes. One concern is the Quanternium 15 which I did read somewhere was formaldehyde releasing. Paulas website lists the Clean and Clear to be one of the best buys at the drugstore. Last time I checked the Purpose clean and clear and head to toe baby wash all had the same ingredients in them and the same exact scent. If they haven't changed anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Paigems on 3/1/2014 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Paigems

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I used purpose for such a long time; probably about 10 years. I considered it my HG cleanser until recently when I discovered it's the culprit of the clogs on my cheeks. I have no complaints about Purpose cleans or makes my skin feel, but I can no longer use it because I'll get clogs. I still think this would be a great cleanser, though, for someone whose skin is not easily dried out or clog prone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KimMonroe on 2/17/2014 6:42:00 PM more reviews by KimMonroe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My first issue with this cleanser is the scent. I know its made by Johnson & Johnson, but I think that baby shampoo scent is way too strong for a facial cleanser. Secondly, I don’t see how this cleanser is “as gentle as water” as it is described. My face turned bright red and felt extremely tight and dry after use and that is the a big no no. It does lather good and it seemed like it cleaned well, it just completely stripped my face.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products