NARS • Edie • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(38 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Justify_my_Love on 12/22/2008 9:26:00 PM more reviews by Justify_my_Love

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was attracted to this shade for the name (being a fan of Edie Sedgwick). Edie is a nude buttercream with shimmer. Sounds like a lot of shades out there, but for me there is something about Edie. It's a perfect goes-with everything shade, a perfect base shade, a perfect nude without being too light or dull, and an awesome subtle shade for highlighting the browbone. Nothing but love for Nars Edie.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tried_em_all on 7/2/2008 7:32:00 PM more reviews by tried_em_all

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this and Abyssina at the same time and they are pretty similar in color. This is more cream and where the Abyssina is slightly peach and has more shimmer. I don't own a shimmery eyeshadow and these were the first I've tried in a very long time. I liked them both, but I liked the Abyssina more - it's just prettier. In most lighting, this looks matte on my skin, and I have a matte that is very similar to this in color (Clinique Buttermilk) so it didn't really make sense for me to get this. Plus, for some reason this one irritated my eyes, and the Abyssina was didn't. This lasted all day for me, but the Abyssina, disappeared within an hour or two, so I didn't buy either. For a lid color, I prefer Smashbox Sand. It lasts and I think it has a creamier application.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eternalstarangel on 5/25/2008 4:15:00 AM more reviews by eternalstarangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow. Even though there is nothing too special about this shadow, it makes an absolutely wonderful base shade, and has just the slightest hint of shimmer. The shadow blends amazingly well, and combined with bali, these two shadows make up my standard low maintenance look these days. would definitely buy this shadow again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keahi on 3/10/2008 2:40:00 PM more reviews by keahi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Eh--I'm torn. I DO love Edie--it's a sheer luminous light beige that really gives my lids a subtle glowy look--can be used with almost any other shadow color. A staple, if you will. The reason I'm torn is that this is awfully similar to MAC Ricepaper in terms of effect. If you hold the pans side by side Ricepaper comes out a little peachier looking, but there is no discernable difference on my eyes. Both shades make awesome highlighters and base shades. Go-with-everything-glow that lights up your eyes. When it comes down to it, I'll probably repurchase Ricepaper over this one 'cuz it's $8 cheaper. One good thing is the NARS single pans are huge so Edie will be enjoyed by me for a long time to come.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KiuKiu on 1/6/2008 4:07:00 PM more reviews by KiuKiu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

*Picture Included*

I love this eyeshadow! I always use it, no matter what other color I'm using as well! I am Asian with a crease, but it only gets as big as an Asian crease goes (which isn't that big). So if the only colors are showing are my eyeshadow colors and highlight (the base all covered), the look can easily become over-the-top with either the color applied too far up or the highlight to pronounced. I hope that made sense! If not, I have a few FOTDs as examples of what I mean. But anyways, so in the middle of my color and my highlight is where Edie comes in. It's a sheer, shimmery skin color that "perks" up my eyes. It does this even when itís worn alone! My eyes instantly look brighter and more awake. Edie does this better than any other "nude" eyeshadow I've tried, yet in the pan it looks totally plain and dupable! I don't know what it is, but Edie gives me the best affect out of all the seeming dupes. Love love love it!

I tried to take a picture of the swatch I did, but it would not show up! It is subtle but visible in real life, but the camera just would not pick it up!

***UPDATE***The more I look at old pictures, the more I find that highlighting my browbone looks really tacky. So, I've stopped doing that and instead just put a wash of this or Biarritz above the lid color.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laurentothemax on 11/4/2007 10:48:00 AM more reviews by laurentothemax

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Off the bat I will go ahead and admit that my attraction to some products is based purely on packaging and naming. Edie was no exception. I immediately started thinking, with one swipe of this shimmery eggshell colored shadow, I too, would be a factory girl. After a week or so of wearing it I'm not exceptionally more glamorous, or famous or rich but I am completely smitten with this colors ability to be sheer yet apparent, shimmery but not glittery and to show up on my otherwise pale pale pale complexion without looking chalky or stupid. I finally have a perfect color to highlight my brow-bone or to swipe all over my lid for a clean but dewy look that deceives people into thinking I wake up looking amazing. Ms. Sedgwick would be proud.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CraxFactor on 7/27/2007 11:07:00 PM more reviews by CraxFactor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is a lovely translucent, off-white eyeshadow with subtle glitter. Yes: glitter! But subtle. I bought it as a surrogate of that little princess All About Eve, which looked like crap on me and broke my heart. The rejection spun me off into the dark alleyways of overpriced neutrals, overpriced singles, retro throwbacks and actual glitter.


So Edie is beautiful as a highlighter for the brow bown or by itself over the whole eye. Translucent and glowy - never looks chalky or too white. My latest eye is a wash of Edie with coppered pink Mykonos on the lid, black liquid liner on the upper and a short cat's eye tail. And mascara. I call it: Bitch Mod. I'm rocking a Jane Birkin right now; it looks totally disdainful.


The midwesterner in me is filled with contempt and shame for myself at the price of this product. But I have firmly drunk (firmly drunk?) the NARS kool-aid, and can no longer be held to standards of objectivity or impartiality about anything.

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heaven07 on 5/17/2007 10:57:00 AM more reviews by heaven07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really like Nars eyeshadows. This is a lovely cream beige shade that works very well as a wash over the lid. It has a beautiful fine shimmer that looks like a glow. Great on its own for the day or as a base with other colours. A great shade with a lot of uses. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 5/16/2007 5:09:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a sheer ivory/off-white color with very fine silver sparkles in it (sparkles rather than shimmer because they are distinct rather than melting together). The base shadow itself is matte, though not chalky-looking due to the sheerness and fine texture of the powder. It requires a little layering (2-3 depending on how dark your lids are) to get it to show up, but it does brighten up eyes subtly, which is key if you don't have a cool-toned complexion but want to try a white-ish eyeshadow for brightening. This does remind me of NARS's "All About Eve" duo in terms of the texture, finish and faint brightening quality it has, except AAE is a bit more peach/beige-toned and lacks the sparkles.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilynne on 8/10/2006 12:10:00 AM more reviews by ilynne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I love Edie. I must agree with the reviewer who said that if you love AAE, you'll love Edie. It has that same indefineable glow. Edie is *very* sheer & subtle. If you are looking for an opaque shadow, you probably won't like it. I look for very subtle eye shadow for work these days, so I am very happy with it. I use it as a wash with Cairo or Blondie on my lids. Very polished but not at all frosty office look that won't have everyone distracted by your eye shadow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products