Eve Lom Rescue Mask


55 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$


kaolin, aqua (water), glycerin, alcohol denat., mel (honey), prunus amygdalus dulcis (almond meal and extract), camphor, magnesium aluminum silicate, sodium chloride, allantoin, aluminum chlorohydrate, propylene glycol, magnesium chloride, methylparaben, phenoxyethanol, butylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, calcium chloride.

on 11/8/2012 4:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love the Eve Lom morning and night cleansers...but this mask just felt like a basic clay mask...the camphor seems to make it extra drying. Its ok..but doesn't give my skin the radiance that the cleansers in the range do. Its nice, but I don't personally think its worth the money.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 10/26/2012 4:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this little gem of a mask in one of Eve Lom's awesome starter kits, along with the Cleansing Balm (100 ml size with muslin cloth) and her TLC rescue cream which is the most elegant, divinely smelling skin treat ever! Any way, this is a great mask for facial exfoliation. I agree with most users that this is a highly effective, albeit expensive mask. (It is a clay mask that dries hard, but read on and I'll explain how to remove it more gently than some reviewers are) but remember that in the eve Lom range she does NOT advocate the use of any acids, peels, etc, on the skin. You get gentle exfoliation from her line with daily use of her cleansing balm and her gentle, muslin cloth. This product can be looked at as the exfoliator in her line...used one or twice a week (and only on T zone for dry to very dry skins, who may, want to skip this mask altogether) it provides deep exfoliation due to the drawing action of the clay. It also contains honey, which softens. When I use this I find my skin tone refined, pores smaller, oil controlled, and skin just glows. ALSO here is a removal tip...for those of you complaining about how hard it dries and how it tugs on your skin to remove it, you are removing it wrong. Take a muslin cloth or soft cotton face cloth or shammy, wet it in warm to hot water, wring it out, then Press onto your face for a few seconds to steam to soften the mask for removal...THEN wipe off. See? Problem solved. Have I used clay masks that work just as well for less money? Of course. But do I feel lovely and pampered when I purchase high end products like this? Yes! I love this mask. I also love Eve lom and her "less is more" elegant skin care philosophy. This and her Cult classic cleansing balm have really made a difference in my sensitve, combo/oily skin.....Love!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

on 9/25/2012 9:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

The product that Eve Lom made its name on, of course, is the all-in-one cleanser that removes makeup, cleanses, and exfoliates. Since I already have a trusty cleanser from Suqqu (and, really, am in no mood to go through the whole nine yards of massaging and whatnot, per their instruction), I opted for the less ambitious Rescue Mask that is nevertheless impressive in its own design. This mask is an outstanding exfoliant that manages to get through to the more delicate parts of the face that even other good masks cannot, namely the triangular area between the eyes and the nose. I literally see whiteheads emerge from the skin in this area after each use. And it does wonders on the nose. Minimal extraction required, and sometimes none at all. But I need to be honest with the smell--it is almond-y and very strong. It stings the eyes too if you are not careful. For this reason, the mask doesn't feel as enjoyable, but I'd still call it a staple.

on 9/26/2011 9:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I always get samples of this when I shop at SpaceNK. Although it's a decent mask, I don't feel that it is especially... special. Smells potent and full of menthol, which sort of harkens to the experience of Clearasil and Noxema masks. To be honest, I think those drugstore ones work just about as well and for a fraction of the cost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/13/2011 4:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This review is for a good-sized sample I got.
This is a nice clay-based mask. I got a weird tingling on my skin when I put it on, and when I took it off my skin was BRIGHT red, and was still red the next morning. I have weird sensitive, oily yet dehydrated skin, and I must have been sensitive to this mask, because the reaction was bad.

However, if you have tones of money and don't have sensitive skin, then you might love this

on 8/27/2011 11:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was fortunate to receive a generous sample of this mask. I'd wanted to try it for some time, since it gets occasional but regular raves in magazines. So I applied a medium layer of this yellowish, camphor-smelling, slightly lumpy mask and left it over for 20 minutes, then gently rubbed it off as recommended. After rinsing off the residual, my skin was slightly red (not sure if that was from the camphor or the rubbing), looked smooth, and the pores around my nose looked a bit smaller. But given that I have dry skin and don't really need the oil-absorbing benefits of clay, I hated the smell, and I hated the mess this made around my sink when rubbing it off, I didn't feel that it did anything special for me. It's not a bad mask, just not for me. I would not purchase a full size.

on 8/25/2011 7:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My review for this Eve Lom mask is based on up using a 15ml travel size sample but I do intend to purchase the 50ml size soon. First of all it looks and feels just like any other clay based mask I have ever used in an attempt to suck up oil and keep my skin clear. It feels like a thicker version of the now-discontinued Origins Get Down clay cleanser. At the moment I am blemish free but still oily and still have not found anything to keep my open pores clear and minimised or even just to perk up my complexion.

This mask contains some questionable ingredients (alcohol, parabens galore etc) but it WORKS for me (that said some Dr Hauschka items contain plant alcohol too). My skin is left matt, pores are smaller on my nose (woohoo) and I love the scent (I love camphor, smells like it should work). It calms down any irritations my skin has and it just leaves it looking and feeling better-much smoother and softer and my lotions/potions sink in beautifully. I normally would not pay 30 for a 50ml tube of face mask but this is my only exception. I would only recommend people try this if they buy the travel tube 15ml or a sachet from ebay first as it is such a lot to pay for something that is essentially a glorified clay based mask.

It has a very thick consistency and contains crushed almond meal so has a mildly exfoliating action. You apply to dry,cleansed skin and leave on for 15mins. It will set and dry and can feel warm on the skin. Then you gently rub off the mask in an upward and circular motion to scrub. Apply a damp warm cloth to remove and splash with cold water to close those pores. I do not use any cream or serum after this (I do it at night) but I do disobey Eve's philosophy and use a toner. I will be using the Eve Lom Cleansing Balm as soon as my current cleanser runs out so I will probably skip the toner then. Try it you might like it.

INGS:kaolin, aqua (water), glycerin, alcohol denat., mel (honey), prunus amygdalus dulcis (almond meal and extract), camphor, magnesium aluminum silicate, sodium chloride, allantoin, aluminum chlorohydrate, propylene glycol, magnesium chloride, methylparaben, phenoxyethanol, butylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, calcium chloride.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 6/7/2011 2:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This clay mask has a seriously funky smell to it. Makes me think of dirt and spackle. It is a thick kaolin clay based mask with some bits of almond meal in it. Contains camphor which could irritate sensitive skin types. Overall, I liked this mask and think it could be a good addition to an acne prevention regimen if you have the extra money to burn. Paying $45 for 1.6 oz of products which wlll yield about 9 treatments seems crazy expensive when they are pretty decent clay basec acne masks available.

on 4/10/2011 11:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I am on my 2nd tub now. The mask smells like clay and it may tingle a bit because of the menthol. It feels heavy-duty because it dries up like a hard mud mask but once you rinse it off, your face is left glowing and smooth. I use it once a week to clear up unwanted residue. Unlike some other deep cleansing mask, this one does not leave your skin dry and tight after use.

However, my first tub got dried up when I had 1/3 in the tub. So I am trying to use my 2nd tub faster this time.

on 12/11/2010 7:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Eve Lom's Rescue Mask is an absolute life saver for oily blemishes and red blotchiness. Her Dynaspot works similarly, but is applied to specific blemishes. I don't use either product any more as my skin is dry, but when I used to suffer from oily skin, I found it fantastic. The Rescue Mask was also good at calming down the red patches on my face.

Packaging is slightly messy.

Back to Top