Eve Lom • Rescue Mask • Masks

rated 3.8(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miele2007 on 9/26/2011 9:51:00 PM more reviews by miele2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I always get samples of this when I shop at SpaceNK. Although it's a decent mask, I don't feel that it is especially... special. Smells potent and full of menthol, which sort of harkens to the experience of Clearasil and Noxema masks. To be honest, I think those drugstore ones work just about as well and for a fraction of the cost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ckn23 on 9/13/2011 4:52:00 AM more reviews by ckn23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for a good-sized sample I got.
This is a nice clay-based mask. I got a weird tingling on my skin when I put it on, and when I took it off my skin was BRIGHT red, and was still red the next morning. I have weird sensitive, oily yet dehydrated skin, and I must have been sensitive to this mask, because the reaction was bad.

However, if you have tones of money and don't have sensitive skin, then you might love this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 8/27/2011 11:26:00 PM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was fortunate to receive a generous sample of this mask. I'd wanted to try it for some time, since it gets occasional but regular raves in magazines. So I applied a medium layer of this yellowish, camphor-smelling, slightly lumpy mask and left it over for 20 minutes, then gently rubbed it off as recommended. After rinsing off the residual, my skin was slightly red (not sure if that was from the camphor or the rubbing), looked smooth, and the pores around my nose looked a bit smaller. But given that I have dry skin and don't really need the oil-absorbing benefits of clay, I hated the smell, and I hated the mess this made around my sink when rubbing it off, I didn't feel that it did anything special for me. It's not a bad mask, just not for me. I would not purchase a full size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cemjay on 8/25/2011 7:09:00 AM more reviews by cemjay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My review for this Eve Lom mask is based on up using a 15ml travel size sample but I do intend to purchase the 50ml size soon. First of all it looks and feels just like any other clay based mask I have ever used in an attempt to suck up oil and keep my skin clear. It feels like a thicker version of the now-discontinued Origins Get Down clay cleanser. At the moment I am blemish free but still oily and still have not found anything to keep my open pores clear and minimised or even just to perk up my complexion.



This mask contains some questionable ingredients (alcohol, parabens galore etc) but it WORKS for me (that said some Dr Hauschka items contain plant alcohol too). My skin is left matt, pores are smaller on my nose (woohoo) and I love the scent (I love camphor, smells like it should work). It calms down any irritations my skin has and it just leaves it looking and feeling better-much smoother and softer and my lotions/potions sink in beautifully. I normally would not pay 30 for a 50ml tube of face mask but this is my only exception. I would only recommend people try this if they buy the travel tube 15ml or a sachet from ebay first as it is such a lot to pay for something that is essentially a glorified clay based mask.


It has a very thick consistency and contains crushed almond meal so has a mildly exfoliating action. You apply to dry,cleansed skin and leave on for 15mins. It will set and dry and can feel warm on the skin. Then you gently rub off the mask in an upward and circular motion to scrub. Apply a damp warm cloth to remove and splash with cold water to close those pores. I do not use any cream or serum after this (I do it at night) but I do disobey Eve's philosophy and use a toner. I will be using the Eve Lom Cleansing Balm as soon as my current cleanser runs out so I will probably skip the toner then. Try it you might like it.

INGS:kaolin, aqua (water), glycerin, alcohol denat., mel (honey), prunus amygdalus dulcis (almond meal and extract), camphor, magnesium aluminum silicate, sodium chloride, allantoin, aluminum chlorohydrate, propylene glycol, magnesium chloride, methylparaben, phenoxyethanol, butylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, calcium chloride.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 6/7/2011 2:21:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This clay mask has a seriously funky smell to it. Makes me think of dirt and spackle. It is a thick kaolin clay based mask with some bits of almond meal in it. Contains camphor which could irritate sensitive skin types. Overall, I liked this mask and think it could be a good addition to an acne prevention regimen if you have the extra money to burn. Paying $45 for 1.6 oz of products which wlll yield about 9 treatments seems crazy expensive when they are pretty decent clay basec acne masks available.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yanyan712 on 4/10/2011 11:24:00 PM more reviews by yanyan712

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am on my 2nd tub now. The mask smells like clay and it may tingle a bit because of the menthol. It feels heavy-duty because it dries up like a hard mud mask but once you rinse it off, your face is left glowing and smooth. I use it once a week to clear up unwanted residue. Unlike some other deep cleansing mask, this one does not leave your skin dry and tight after use.

However, my first tub got dried up when I had 1/3 in the tub. So I am trying to use my 2nd tub faster this time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pendoline on 12/11/2010 7:56:00 AM more reviews by Pendoline

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Eve Lom's Rescue Mask is an absolute life saver for oily blemishes and red blotchiness. Her Dynaspot works similarly, but is applied to specific blemishes. I don't use either product any more as my skin is dry, but when I used to suffer from oily skin, I found it fantastic. The Rescue Mask was also good at calming down the red patches on my face.

Packaging is slightly messy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lyrics on 11/28/2010 6:36:00 PM more reviews by Lyrics

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am not sure what this is supposed to do???? The SA told me that this mask was excellent for deep cleansing my face, because I suffer from acne breakouts. I use it once a week (usually Sundays), leave it on for about 20 minutes, then rinse. I don't get the "scrub action" that the SA was talking about, so...
Anyway, this is glorified crap. I'll finish this tube (it did cost me 28) and will never repurchase. Honestly, the stuff companies claim just sell a tube of funky-smelling clay!! I can't wait to start using my beloved Instant Gratification (Prescriptives, unfortunately discontinued) which I purchased off eBay again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bonnerka on 6/14/2010 5:58:00 PM more reviews by Bonnerka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The best mask I ever tried and once I discovered it, I keep repurchasing. I have cmbination skin and I am prone to hormonal cystic acne in my T-zone. This mask is one of the few which really seems to make any difference. It really reduces spots and calms down breakouts and it seems to improve congested skin, too. It's very expensive, but worth the money in my opinion. The tingling sensation is quite strong and it may be too much for people with really sensitive skin. For me, it's a HG. I buy the 200 ml tub, which lasts forever, but it can dry out - the sales lady recommended to mix it with some water, it that occurs.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Happyfaced on 4/9/2010 4:45:00 PM more reviews by Happyfaced

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I quite like the way that the mask is pretty natural and fuss free, but I don't like the rubbing process: it gets in my eyes sometimes and feels like my skin is being man handled. I have to say that although my skin feels smoother after using it (it exfoliates), the product does very little for small spots, dry areas or adding radiance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Eve Lom products

More Masks products