Sebastian • Shaper Plus Hairspray • Styling Products

rated 3.8(156 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Honeybunns on 10/23/2011 10:37:00 PM more reviews by Honeybunns

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Sebastian-Shaper Plus Hairspray for many years and have always been extremely satisfied. I recently bought two cans and was extremely upset to find out that had changed. I find it to be a waste of my money. I have talked to several of my friends and they too are very upset in the change. PLEASE GO BACK TO THE OLD FORMULA. I have spent thousands of dollars on your product over the last 25 years and would love to continue using it. Thank you for your time.

Honey

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 muddy52 on 10/23/2011 9:24:00 PM more reviews by muddy52

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Green    

The new formula for Sebastian Shaper Plus is horrible. I've used this product for years and have loved it up until a few months ago when upon purchasing and using a new can, I noticed that it was not the same! What a shame that companies take a good thing and mess it up. My search for an equal product have thus far proven unsuccessful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 purrbox5 on 9/25/2011 10:35:00 PM more reviews by purrbox5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Well, I have to agree with deutsch100...I, too, used this for years & loved it. But it just isn't what it used to be. The scent is stronger & it doesn't hold well at all. It's almost like spraying water on your hair. Unfortunately, I won't purchase again. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deutsch100 on 9/20/2011 9:32:00 AM more reviews by deutsch100

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I SO wish P & G did not take over Sebastian (and Wella). Just like after 40 years of Downy April Fresh Fabric Softener (Allure magazine even voted April Fresh Downy one of the most iconic smells)...P & G changed it, and it is now disgusting (1000's of complaints on the Downy website)...but they do not care.

P & G RUINED Shaper and Shaper Plus hairspray as well. I've used Shaper Plus for like 15+ years, and now it does nothing. It's like spraying your hair with bug killer scented water. The smell is similar to the old formula, but now stronger and very offensive...and it has virtually no hold. I am very disappointed. I had to make the decision yesterday, to no longer buy it. I wear my hair in a messy (but cool:) white, bleached faux-hawk style...and it just fell within hours of using Shaper Plus!! Shame on Procter & Gamble!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 justcallmed on 9/3/2011 4:45:00 PM more reviews by justcallmed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It's not that it doesn't work because it does- this gives a dry and light hold and if you want decent texture it'll do that too. It's great for fine hair because it doesn't have a lot of weight to it. The reason why I rate it so low is the smell.

I usually am not too picky with hairsprays- they're all going to do the same in the end right? But this smells like straight up Robotussin and lingers all day. I tried to ignore it and not use a lot of it but it was just bad. I ended up giving it to someone else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rhondascheer on 8/24/2011 2:29:00 AM more reviews by rhondascheer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This was my one and only hairspray for years. They changed it, it doesn't even smell the same anymore. It's absolutely awful now. I still haven't found anything close to it. I've been using Aussie until I can find somewhere that I can get the old Sebastian hairspray from. Some sellers have it on Ebay for a ridiculous amount of money but looks like that's where were going to have to buy it if we want it that bad! What a shame, they messed it up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeachNGolfNut on 8/1/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by BeachNGolfNut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Totally disgusted with Sebastian and Proctor & Gamble about discontinuing the Shaper Plus Hairspray. That was THE best hairspray in the world that held your hair without being too firm and washed out easily. I just called and lodged a complaint to the P&G customer service number 800-935-5273 which everyone on this blog should do TODAY!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lrh68 on 1/27/2011 4:29:00 PM more reviews by lrh68

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have used Shaper Plus for over 20 years! I USED to love it. The only hairspray I would buy. Something is different now. I have no idea what is in this product now. I have purchased 5 different cans now, from 5 different salons and all of them are bad. I have read that they changed the formula?? This is awful. Does not hold, does absolutely nothing. I have tried unsuccesfully to find a hairspray that is like the OLD Shaper Plus. We want our OLD Shaper Plus back..please!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bootmunchie on 12/24/2010 1:05:00 PM more reviews by bootmunchie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Ulta has good deals on these if you can wait - 2 for $7.
LOVE these. I went a whole year trying MANY hair sprays, big sexy hair, aveda, sammys etc and this one still wins for the one I will always grab and rebuy. I am rather addicted to the smell for some reason. I am assuming they cost more without a deal because they last about a year, so you don't rebuy often, meaning a hiked price has to happen if the company is going to make any kind of profit to survive. Sebastian for the win!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristina5475 on 11/17/2010 6:52:00 PM more reviews by kristina5475

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love love love this hairspray. I have used it for many years and will continue to use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sebastian products

More Styling Products products