Sebastian Shaper Plus Hairspray

3.8

161 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love the Shaper plus! I use it when flat ironing my hair for a smooth, completely straight finish and it works amazing. I'm on my 4th bottle and will continue to repurchase. It is pricey - $18 CAD a bottle at Chatters but they recently had a sale for $9 each so of course I stocked up on 2 more! It keeps your hair super soft without the crunch of normal hairspray but if your hair doesn't hold curls well then I don't recommend it for curling. The smell is okay, kind of overpowering but other than that I recommend you try it out at least and I will continue to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/14/2013 10:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Have used Shaper Plus for years, but will not buy it again. The new formula just doesn't work. It has almost zero hold -- I might as well spray air on my hair. What a shame -- it was the best hairspray on the market. Now, I've got to try to find something that will do the job without weighing down my hair, leaving residue after brushing, or being sticky. Anyone have a recommendation?


on 12/24/2012 1:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

great hairspray, doesnt leave your hair hard and crusty. holds up and keeps hair looking soft.


on 2/25/2012 9:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Well I contacted Proctor & Gamble about changing the Shaper formula and this is what I got back: "The reason for the change was due to the VOC Law that was passed where all areosols had to be lowered down to 80%."

So it's for law reasons - they will not be going back to the old formula. Sorry ladies.


on 12/27/2011 7:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

BEST HAIRSPRAY IN THE WORLD. So sad to hear they've changed it. I'm still on an old bottle because it lasts me years, but will be very disappointed if I learn what everyone else is saying is true :(
EDIT - 03/01/13 - I finished my bottle and won't repurchase. It's not the same as it used to be :(


on 10/23/2011 10:37:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using Sebastian-Shaper Plus Hairspray for many years and have always been extremely satisfied. I recently bought two cans and was extremely upset to find out that had changed. I find it to be a waste of my money. I have talked to several of my friends and they too are very upset in the change. PLEASE GO BACK TO THE OLD FORMULA. I have spent thousands of dollars on your product over the last 25 years and would love to continue using it. Thank you for your time.

Honey


on 10/23/2011 9:24:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The new formula for Sebastian Shaper Plus is horrible. I've used this product for years and have loved it up until a few months ago when upon purchasing and using a new can, I noticed that it was not the same! What a shame that companies take a good thing and mess it up. My search for an equal product have thus far proven unsuccessful.


on 9/25/2011 10:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

Well, I have to agree with deutsch100...I, too, used this for years & loved it. But it just isn't what it used to be. The scent is stronger & it doesn't hold well at all. It's almost like spraying water on your hair. Unfortunately, I won't purchase again. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2011 9:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I SO wish P & G did not take over Sebastian (and Wella). Just like after 40 years of Downy April Fresh Fabric Softener (Allure magazine even voted April Fresh Downy one of the most iconic smells)...P & G changed it, and it is now disgusting (1000's of complaints on the Downy website)...but they do not care.

P & G RUINED Shaper and Shaper Plus hairspray as well. I've used Shaper Plus for like 15+ years, and now it does nothing. It's like spraying your hair with bug killer scented water. The smell is similar to the old formula, but now stronger and very offensive...and it has virtually no hold. I am very disappointed. I had to make the decision yesterday, to no longer buy it. I wear my hair in a messy (but cool:) white, bleached faux-hawk style...and it just fell within hours of using Shaper Plus!! Shame on Procter & Gamble!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2011 4:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

It's not that it doesn't work because it does- this gives a dry and light hold and if you want decent texture it'll do that too. It's great for fine hair because it doesn't have a lot of weight to it. The reason why I rate it so low is the smell.

I usually am not too picky with hairsprays- they're all going to do the same in the end right? But this smells like straight up Robotussin and lingers all day. I tried to ignore it and not use a lot of it but it was just bad. I ended up giving it to someone else.


Popular Styling Products


Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
47 Reviews


Top Rated Sebastian Products

image

Drench

34 reviews
image

Potion 9

437 reviews
Back to Top