Frapin 1270

4.1

75 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/11/2008 3:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Oh My! I adore this fragrance!! I bought a decant off ebay in a roll on and applied it the moment it arrived along with another fragrance I ordered. My initial impression was "blech!No!" It struck me as very masculine scent and so strong. But later that afternoon I was driving and I smelled a nice fragrance so I sniffed my arm and guess what?! It was my Frapin! Completely morphed into this heavenly complex and beautiful fragrance!! I waited for quite awhile before I ordered a full size but I did break down and get one. I own nothing like it and it really is a one of a kind (on me!)
I looked up the description on Lucky Scent:
"1270 is dry, rich, velvety and smooth. The flowers of the once-proud Folle Blanche (a grape nearly extinct from the region), the vineyard grass, the wine warehouse, the rich smell of damp earth in the cellars, the wood of new casks, the loamy smell of humus where the ancestral cognacs are stored– all these notes can be detected in 1270. Gorgeous is putting it mildly... this scent defies flowery prose. A true masterpiece."
The notes:
exotic woods, spice, raisin, vine flowers, pepper, candied orange, nut, hazelnut, prune, cocoa, coffee, leather, woods, white honey, vanilla

I often layer this with a sweet vanilla and find the mix perfect. =)
Definite repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 12/14/2007 1:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I wear Frapin 1270 I can't help but picture Lucille Ball stomping around in a vat of purple grapes. 1270 is definitely a boozy fragrance but it's a soft and sweet booziness like a blackberry cordial (not like you're drinking on the job). As it settles it still throws a mild alcoholic tang, and the grapes mellow into a delicious and somehow sophisticated slightly smokey dried-fruit note. Underneath it all is a crisp, fresh woodsiness which is quite unisex. The earthy base is complimented by roasted coffee, cocoa, and pepper which anchor the grapes and stop them from floating into a sugary bubble gum cloud. It's the only boozy fragrance that I've ever really enjoyed. It's a delightful fragrance for women, and I think a very dapper man like Terrence Howard could pull this off as well.

http://www.jaredjoslin.com/jared/awaken/AWAKEN14.jpg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2007 1:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It's masculine, it's woodsy, it's quite boozy in a overly sweet way. At first initial sniff, it reminded me a bit of Coco Madamoiselle, but quickly changed. It's not as feminine, and the brandy-like notes are too much IMO.


on 11/13/2007 1:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

What wonderful sounding notes, I thought I would love this. Unfortunately, all I smell is generic Christmas potpourri. Boozy spicy opening with lots of pine. The pine note is so prominent it just ruins this for me. I get no hazelnut, cocoa, coffee. Notes include: woods, dried fruits, honey, candied orange, vanilla, hazelnut, raisins, cocoa, coffee.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2007 11:59:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i loved this scent. but it fades away so quickly on me, that i cannot even describe it. thankfully, i only purchased a sample.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2007 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been reading about this scent here and on my favorite blogs so I was eager to try it, and I bought it unsniffed. Well, I wish I had waited. I love certain aspects of it, like how sweet and sexy this scent is, perfect for a dressy night out. I love the dark fruitiness and the boozy perfumey part makes it very formal-smelling. But the sharp woods take over the whole composition when I wear it. Why does it have to be so woody when the rest is so nice? It's a bit heavy and nauseating to tell the truth. Plus the pepper is so strong and sharp, it bothers my little boy when he hugs me. I'll wear it for my husband and when I go out but I won't buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2007 2:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

EDIT: HAD TO KNOCK IT DOWN A STAR. THE OPENING IS BEAUTIFUL, BUT IT JUST DRIES DOWN TOO SWEET ON MY SUGAR-MAGNIFYING SKIN. ONE OF MY STUDENTS TOLD ME I SMELLED LIKE GRAPE BUBBLEGUM. *SHUDDER* I'm just sampling this for the first time now, so I'll update after I've totally made up my mind. But this is so different from what I was expecting. From reading the notes, I thought this would be a hit-you-in-the-nose, thick, enveloping gourmand--heavy and sticky-sweet. Instead, it's an astonishing combination of dark and light. I'm smelling powdered wine grapes, soft cedar, faded mulling spices, and the faintest whiffs of leather, raisin and vanilla. My husband describes it as "sugary, wet wood," and that sounds about right, yet there's a sheerness that stops this from being cloying. It starts off smelling like lushly purple wine and dries down to an amber-colored skin scent. I'm not sure what I think of it yet, but I can't stop smelling my wrist.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

the first time I tried this and got the initial blast of cedar, I thought "oh no, not for me!" But oh, the drydown! Complex and beautiful, lovely silliage that is a shifting melange of enveloping warm notes, a bit woodsy, a bit gourmand and all around breathtaking! The wine/dried fruit notes add a unifying richness. This makes an excellent "sweater weather" scent.


on 7/25/2007 3:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

"Exotic woods, spice, raisin, vine flowers, pepper, candied orange, nut, hazelnut, prune, cocoa, coffee, leather, woods, white honey, vanilla." With all those fabulous notes, I was hoping for a richer experience. What I got was a strong, boozy beginning with fruity prunes and orange that dries down to a faint, woody soft base. I get no leather, mores’ the pity. Ambre Russe hit all the notes I was looking for with this and lasted much longer as well. Still a thumbs up, but needs more lasting power and I'd love to get more leather and a few more layers out of this.


on 6/6/2007 7:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Maliastyle 's review says exactly what i'd live to write.Such an accurate description.This perfume is a magical voyage to a rather fantastic cellar that brandy rests and matures to became a sensual drink for very rare tastebuds.The perfume starts with spiced wet raisins soaked in red wine and iit become exceptional buttery like a praline paste gourmand but not fake or cheap.This is gourmand for hard to pleased epicurians

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1375 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Back to Top