MAC • Veluxe - Beauty Marked • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(390 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ayalalaya on 9/4/2012 11:31:00 PM more reviews by ayalalaya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful eyeshadow! It appears really dark when applied alone so I like to blend this over Nocturnelle to bring out the color payoff. This combination, along with Crystal Avalanche in the inner corners, really makes my dark brown eyes pop! I experienced a bit of fall out but nothing too bad. Don't judge me, but I passed out with my makeup still on and woke up the next day with my makeup looking as perfect as when I first applied.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nina0306 on 7/2/2012 2:59:00 AM more reviews by nina0306

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I picked up Beauty Marked from my local MAC store on the weekend, and I'm absolutely in love with it!! It's great as a black for looks, and the purple glitter in the colour does shine through. You can use it as a liner and smoke it if you use it with mixing medium. I love it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 OCdiamond on 5/24/2012 2:04:00 PM more reviews by OCdiamond

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not a fan. This color was georg in the pan, but not on my lids. Texture is not smooth, almost gritty. Does not blend nicely and becomes muddy. Too bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spyral on 5/24/2012 8:06:00 AM more reviews by spyral

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very disappointing shade, and honestly, why is Mac still selling it? I'm sorry but if you have to foil it to get it to work then it's not worth buying. Even as a black shade, it looks a mess. Save your money.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 whigrose on 5/7/2012 11:07:00 PM more reviews by whigrose

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I seem to be new to the Beauty Marked disappointment party, but here I am nonetheless! The worst thing is, this was my very first MAC purchase ever, so it has left me with a very negative impression of the company and the quality of makeup they sell. I didn't know I had a MAC near me. I never had lived near one. But when I went to Macy's, I saw a MAC counter and looked around. Beauty Marked drew my eye like crazy. I've never seen anything like it. And though I don't normally do pink or peachy looks, I bought Girlie to go with BM and headed home. I put on a primer, put Girlie down as a base, used a Sephora shadow in a dark pink/mauve shade for my lid, and eagerly grabbed BM for the crease. How thoroughly disappointing! No purple. No pink. No shimmer. Just dusty black. Totally not worth the money. I've seen a few youtube reviews about 'making BM work for you,' but they all involve complicated steps or lots of other products. Mostly, you are supposed to put down color (purple or pink, depending on which you want to bring out) underneath BM. That should help it show up. No thanks! Urban Decay does shadows that look glittery and complex in the pan and, guess what, they show up glittery and complex on the eye! Wow! Imagine that! (I also got a black-green glittery shadow from Bare Minerals which applies like a dream, so I know it can be done). I've been researching Macy's MAC return policies and it seems you can take them back as long as you have the return sticker. Sorry. I'm not big on pink looks anyway, so this was a stretch for me as it was. I can't think of a use for Girlie outside of using it with BM, so it will probably go back too. I was thinking of getting Young Punk, but now I'm having doubts about that. I'll at least research it, and will probably order online instead of buying in store (if they give me hassles about the return). Maybe this was a fluke, but it just doesn't inspire me to give MAC another try. I just want my money back. That $40 will go a long way towards a nice palette or perfume set I've been wanting at Sephora too.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 4/12/2012 10:30:00 PM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This used to be my go-to e/s!! My first year in college I wore it all over my lid with a brush dipped in water to pack it on. WTF was I thinking lol I already have small eyes but that just made my eyes look like slits. Anyways, back to Beauty Marked. The texture is gritty, but the color is incredible!! I love the sparkles. On me it shows up as a black/purple with purple (?) sparkles. I think this shade is so unique. I only use it to do a smokey eye though. I have learned to save this for evenings. It's a great clubbing e/s!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Leannne on 3/15/2012 2:27:00 AM more reviews by Leannne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Super pigmented color. Probably too dark for me to use on my entire lid. I love using this as my crease color. It blends really nicely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hc2111 on 2/21/2012 8:18:00 PM more reviews by hc2111

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love using this as a crease colour when I use a purple on my lid. I like it. It compliments the purple eyeshadow and brings harmony to it. It also makes the glitter it in stand out more. It's not an intense black, more softer, it's like a carbon black, with a little bit of reflective red-purple glitter. The only thing is that I wish it had more glitter when it's on the lid. But if you use a black base, the glitter shows up way more.
I don't think it's misleading in the pan because It looks black in the pan! So, that's what I was expecting... to me, it shows up on the eyes like it would in the pan.
http://hooksandcrooks.blogspot.com/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xmakemeoverx on 2/14/2012 9:56:00 AM more reviews by xmakemeoverx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I was at my local MAC store, I was looking for a reddish purple eye shadow that was on the darker side because that's one of the colors that really made my eyes pop (I used Stila Poise, but was disappointed with the longevity. It fades within an hour on my eyes, even with primer). I also was looking for a black shadow because most of what I owned were brights and lighter neutrals. Beauty marked automatically stuck out to me because of the intense black with reddish purple sparkles. I swatched it and loved the color, so along with some of the other shadows I purchased, this one came home with me. It's also the one I was most excited to use and it doesn't disappoint. Does it come out as a black? Not on me, it didn't. It was more of darker gray or soft black, rather than a pure black. That doesn't bother me because it made it more versatile to use. I've used it as an overall eye shadow, an eyeliner, and in the v and crease of the eye to create more depth to my eyelids. I find it's very easy to apply and unlike some other brands, the sparkles don't end up on your face after application. At first, I wasn't so wild about the color, but now that I've learned different techniques as to how to apply it, it's probably the eye shadow I use most frequently. You can layer it on top of your eyeliner, which intensifies the color and also makes the reddish purple sparkles brighten up your eyes, without look garish. I've also used it with other eye shadows and seen success. For example, I've used it with BeneFit Get figgy cream shadow (a brownish purple) and was told that my eye makeup was applied perfectly and made my eyes look amazing. I've also used it with other MAC eye shadows, such as Crystal, Satellite Dreams, and Fig 1 (all three of these either have purple undertones or are purple shadows in themselves) and it only enhanced my eyes, rather than detract from them. You can also control the intensity of the shadow, so you can be more muted or more dramatic, depending on what you're going for. Originally, I wanted to buy the MAC indian ink shadow, but since it's a pro shade, I was unable to purchase it. Beauty marked is a great substitute and if anything, it's probably a lot better than Indian Ink, because for the most part, I like my shadows to have shimmer, rather than be matte. I bought a single shadow without a case, so it was pretty reasonable in terms of price for a department store brand. Overall, it's a great shadow and I'm glad I bought it. I think this could flatter almost any eye color and a fun way to punch up your makeup, without going over the top. Definitely great for smoky eyes. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone, whose looking for a darker shadow with a bit of flair to it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jeannamv on 2/13/2012 9:27:00 PM more reviews by jeannamv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so disappointed in this shadow. I just bought it the other day and it looked gorgeous in the pan and swatched. When I tried to apply it it became muddy and more black. It reminds me very much of how the colors in the UD Black Palette came out when applied. I'm going to attempt a return w/out receipt & box tomorrow :( :(.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products