Shu Uemura • UV Under Base DF • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(103 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ikoparisi on 1/16/2011 10:26:00 AM more reviews by ikoparisi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product many years ago. Didn't like it back then coz it made my skin look dark and didn't quite understand the mousse concept. However, I rediscovered this product just recently and have used it twice. I must say that I really LOVE it!

I love the very light & moisturising mousse texture. It gives a nice matte, smooth & brightening finish. It matches my skin tone very well and gives the most natural glowing finish with a light dusting of my Chanel loose powder.

I might repurchase this once i run out :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yu3mi on 12/30/2010 4:45:00 AM more reviews by yu3mi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Another love-hate relationship product.

I like the mouse texture on my skin, its easy to spread out. It smooths out on my skin and somewhat blurred my redness and post acne scars. Slightly brighten it up too. Controls oil real well.

But, after 2-3 days of usage, small bumps appear. So I stop for awhile and test it out a week later. Again small bumps appear =(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kdawne on 10/11/2010 1:59:00 AM more reviews by kdawne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I was really surprised that this product made my skin break out. Since purchasing, after each time I've used it, I break out the next day. It's unfortunate because otherwise I like the product. For people with normal skin, this product might work fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yoonez on 7/16/2010 11:43:00 PM more reviews by yoonez

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've generally had underwhelming experiences with make up base (Nars, Benefit, Make Up Forever, Pore Putty.) But this product is great. It made it seem like my natural skin was just better - not that I was wearing make-up to hide imperfections. I read that nozzle control may be difficult, so I was especially careful and I still squeezed out a bit more than I would have liked to. Concentrated on the areas that need the most help on my face - forehead between brows, nose and either side of my nose. Went over the area with the shu uemura powder foundation. It looked like I had better, more even, skin. I think this is the key concept with this product.

Held up my walk to work during summer time in Southern California and through most of a regular working day indoors without touch up. Though by time I was ready to leave work, it had pretty much run its course.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hikuto on 7/14/2010 12:55:00 PM more reviews by hikuto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Shu uemura is doing a promotion on this as a set (30g) with their advanced formula cleansing oil (50ml) so I took the opportunity to try the new formula of the UV under base mousse.


This came at a good time as I was skeptical about the new formula (+ packaging). I've used the previous generation of this base and while I think its ok, SPF wasn't high (around 17), but the main issue was I HATE the packaging as it was hard to control the amount of product you get (usually getting too much) and that when you are almost finished its all liquidy instead of a mousse. Funny thing is when I said to the sales that I didn't like the previous packaging and cringed he pointed it all out lol, guess they did know the problems. But anyways the new package is much better, no need to turn it upside down, but still need to be careful when getting product out (press gently & slowly :'D) Not sure about the liquid bit, would have to see when I'm almost done.


In terms of texture its still really light and nice to put on the skin, very breathable. The only thing is even through its summer and I do have an oily t-zone, this makes my skin a bit dry so moisturizing well before hand is important, but it will keep your face nice and matte for a good couple of hours. It might also be because I use a powder foundation over this, so the dry thing might not be much of a problem if you use liquid/cream (like the shu uemura face architect foundation). You can also wear this alone with concealer for a natural look. But I find that its a little white, most likely due to the sun screen in it so I don't really use this alone.


Price wise the full size (65g) is 320HKD which is pricey, but its double base + sunscreen and the fact it feels so light! I got the set as I mentioned previously for 200HKD (I got 3 sets - great gifts, and then added 80HKD for a full size bottle of the base). Its a good product, but my main consideration for repurchase would be how long it'll last and if by the end of the bottle I'll have that liquid problem too <.<

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 uberuninspired on 6/13/2010 5:31:00 AM more reviews by uberuninspired

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this when i bought my Shu Uemura foundation. It works well with any foundation. I've tried using foundation with and without the base, and feel the base keeps the make up on longer. Deffo a HG product for me. I tend to have oilier skin towards the end of the day, applying this helps manage the situation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ericialutte on 6/5/2010 1:13:00 AM more reviews by ericialutte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is definitely the 1 of best make up base that I had ever tried.
This UV under base mousse in pink is super lightweight make my make up stay long on my skin.
As the new formula comes together with spf 30 so I just wear it everyday even without applying foundation.
my skin looks natural glow and pinkish.
Love this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 frutips011 on 5/30/2010 1:11:00 AM more reviews by frutips011

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

LOVE this stuff. My HG primer :) Really lightweight, helps my foundation last all day long without feeling like another layer on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2westies on 3/9/2010 2:53:00 PM more reviews by 2westies

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't get the point of this product, and I have some major issues with it. First of all, I find it difficult to dispense a small enough amount, oftentimes a large blob of mousse comes exploding out of the can which is wasteful. Then the foam completely liquifies upon contact, which creates a problem if you have carefully layered on skincare and sunscreen first. Rather than creating a barrier between skincare and foundation, which is what I expect from a primer, this reconstitutes or melds the layers together, taking forever to dry, and it leaves a flat, weird finish behind. And the gratuitous SPF is so low it's not even in the ballpark, so other than to increase marketability I have no idea why they bothered. Since it garners rave reviews I'm glad I tried it, but will stick with my favorite Laura Mercier.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hazefree2002 on 2/22/2010 11:07:00 AM more reviews by hazefree2002

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Price: This is expensive, around SGD$70+ for 60g.

Packaging: This comes in an aerosal type of container, to create the mousse texture for it to be dispensed. Its quite difficult to control the amount dispensed and towards the end of the usage, the product comes out in a liquid texture which is weird imo.

This product is expensive as it gets used up really quickly, especially if u use it as recommended, with a sponge to even out over the entire face. As a primer, it doesn't cover up any imperfections nor even out skintone, it basically just preps your skin so that the foundation adheres better. Given the thin layer that you spread onto the face, I seriously don't think it can provide the spf as claimed.

I went through 2 containers of this before venturing out to P&J primer. After running out of my trusted P&J primer, I received this in a deluxe sized sample as a GWP and decided to use it. Big mistake. For some reason, this broke me out big-time. Initially I thought it was due to hormones (happened to be that time of the month) but when the breakout got worse after my menses, I knew something else was causing it, which highly could be this. In any case, even if its not this, for the price, many could do better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Primer/ Corrector products