NYX • Black • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(190 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DMlover on 11/24/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by DMlover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very pigmented true matte black color! I was impressed when I first used it. I use this all the time for smokey looks. It does fall out if you donít tap your brush before application. I tried to use it with a wet angled brush as an eyeliner but experienced too much fall out so I stick to just using it as an eyeshadow. Awesome will repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acutina on 8/22/2012 10:26:00 PM more reviews by acutina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been very happy with this eyeshadow. I use it to set my black eyeliner and it works very well. I haven't had the fallout problem that a lot of reviewers have mentioned. The color is a very dark black with no shimmer or sparkles. I had originally wanted to buy MAC Carbon, but decided to try this first and I'm glad I did. Much cheaper and does the job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyens on 8/5/2012 11:04:00 AM more reviews by cyens

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really love this eye shadow. I use it as a eyeliner, I use a really fine brush and draw a line right along the lash line. It doesn't fade, fall out or smudges by the end of the day, and I use it dry. It must be the most pigmented black eyeshadow I've tried.

Reading other's reviews, I think there is 2 or 3 batch of this eyeshadow. I'm happy I purchased the good batch.
Since I started to buy NYX, I noticed there is 5 generation. The first batch on the market was made in usa, the second was made in Korea, the newer shadows are now made in China ( p.r.o.c. ). My eye shadow is made in Korea. So if you want a good batch, look for ones made in Korea or usa?

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chellybean19 on 8/1/2012 5:09:00 PM more reviews by chellybean19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love this shadow. I line my eyes on a daily basis with black eye shadow and I was really hoping this shadow would become my daily product. I had heard about this shadow and its greatness from several of my friends but I was disappointed. I don't know if I got a bad shadow but its extremely powdery. When I dip a brush into it, it flakes and there's a great amount of fall out. It has a weird texture. Not happy at all even though the pigmentation and colour are great

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* euroasian on 7/30/2012 9:43:00 PM more reviews by euroasian

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to love this, especially since it was so difficult for me to find a store that sells NYX in Toronto. Yes, it is the darkest, most pigmented black eyeshadow I've ever used, and it applies smoothly to boot. Unfortunately it has the most insane amount of fallout; I have tried various primers under it, including UDPP and TFSI, and I still get black specks of eyeshadow all over my cheeks by the end of the day. It has more fallout than some of my chunky glitter eyeshadows, and those are notorious for ending up on my face. A shame.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jnbaisden on 7/22/2012 7:18:00 PM more reviews by jnbaisden

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Black was my first shadow from this brand, and its smooth texture combined with rich, pigmented color started my love affair with NYX Single Eyeshadows. Black is my most used shade, as I used it to fill in my brows and to create smokey eye looks. It will last a long time because it is so pigmented, you only need a little bit. I don't wear eyeshadow regularly, and I refuse to spend big bucks on high end colors that will get little use, so the quality for the price is perfect for me. I have been collecting more of these and will continue to do so. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mrshaim on 7/12/2012 4:11:00 PM more reviews by mrshaim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: I have since purchased this same eyeshadow 3 more times hoping it would be the same as what I remembered, but all of them left me disappointed. I have since moved on the Makeup Geek's Corrupt black eyeshadow and suggest that to anyone else who is in the same boat as me.

This WAS my HG black eyeshadow. I have probably purchased it 5 times in the past. It was always a heavily pigmented matte black. The black eyeshadow I got this time is not nearly as pigmented and has sparkles in it. It is absolutely not what I wanted. I hope this is just a fluke and that NYX didn't reformulate it. If it continues to be this way I will probably switch back to MAC's Carbon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DivaDeLosMuertos on 6/30/2012 8:42:00 PM more reviews by DivaDeLosMuertos

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Love it!! Theres not much to say about it, it's a very pigmented matte black with a great texture and color payoff, with or without primer and its dirt cheap....Definately would repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilblacksky on 6/20/2012 6:46:00 PM more reviews by lilblacksky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

What the hell? Did I get a fluke? This was number one on my quest for HG black e/s after hearing all the rave reviews about it. I don't know if I just got a bad one or something (I ordered direct from amazon, not a random seller on amazon), but all I can say is FAIL... One of the most unpigmented eyeshadows I've owned, PERIOD. Very hard, rock-dry, but somehow still manages to have a lot of fine dusty fall out. It is buildable to a decent black (that is, for an eyeshadow - I don't by any means expect eyeshadows to look as black as my cream/gel eyeliners without some kind of base first) with at least FIFTY or so careful brushstrokes. I am severely disappoint. I would return immediately if I hadn't used up so much of the product just trying to get a nice black (when you swipe fifty times each time, it gets used up pretty fast) I picked up WnW Panther soon afterwards and it is much better quality, kind of what I hoped NYX Black e/s would be like but at half the price. It took Panther 2-3 swipes to get to an equivalent of 20-50 swipes of NYX black. I highly recommend WnW Panther over this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 A314159P on 5/3/2012 5:43:00 PM more reviews by A314159P

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

amazing black! one of the best out there - reminds me of charcoal, especially willow charcoal because of the feel of the powder and the way it looks when blended out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products