A/G • Recoil Curl Activator • Styling Products

rated 4.2(89 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 brio815 on 2/5/2013 10:30:00 AM more reviews by brio815

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I returned this to Ulta. Nothing special about it. Didn't change my hair (make it look better). I tried it alone. I tried it with a serum. My hair felt & looked the same.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chessablue on 2/5/2013 12:49:00 AM more reviews by chessablue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is so good! It wakes up my fine, curly hair and stops it from going too frizzy. It took me ages to figure out how to use it best for my hair. I like to mix it with a pump of the Klorane papyrus leave-in conditioner and put it in my hair immediately after i get out of the shower, before towel-drying. Then I wrap it in a towel for a bit and let it dry in the air on my commute, scrunching up the curls when they are dry to break up any stiffness. If I put it in when it isn't still soaking wet, it gets too sticky. Mixing with the leave-in conditioner makes it softer and shinier, and cuts the cocoa butter smell of this stuff, which I don't like.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 12/6/2012 1:17:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this curl activator! I can't believe I waited so long to try it (2-3 yrs). It does everything I want in a curl product & is worth the $16 I spent for 6 oz.


This product turns my 2A lazy-waves (plus frizz) chin-length bob into wonderful 2B/2C curls that I love - the curl pattern holds all day without any extra styling product, allowing my hair to remain soft & springy. The 1st time I used it, I got lots of compliments on my (rare) curls. I get better results doing almost nothing using just this product alone than I did working hard to create the same look using several products in the past. With Re:Coil I can leave my hair natural & bouncy or finish it w/a little holding gel or hairspray to fine-tune the overall shape. I only need a pea-size dollop for curl activation & my hair feels natural & light (as well as moisturized! - my hair is damaged & dry from highlights) - it ends up neither crunchy nor stiff nor sticky nor coated nor heavy. It's better to start out small & increase as needed to figure out the right amt for your hair.


I love that it contains both a lot of glycerin (for moisture) & a little bit of magnesium sulfate (epsom salt) to encourage curl. I use home-made epsom salt spray in the summer for bedhead beach waves, but that tends to be drying for both my hair & skin. For me (so far) this a miracle product & am loving my miracle hair. It's the bowling ball that knocked down all the pins in the alley. What the heck took me so long to try it? I'm tempted now to add the matching shampoo & conditioner to my routine, but I'll try to wait till I finish what I'm currently using.





2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loveydove on 10/10/2012 9:47:00 PM more reviews by loveydove

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Hallelujah! I have finally found a styling product for my wavy-curly hair. No more gels, foams, mousses, sprays, etc! It only took me 25 years to find the right product. A/G's Recoil Curl Activator was recommended to me by my co-worker who also happens to be a stylist. She also has naturally curly hair and she gave me a couple of suggestions for styling products (for curly hair) and one of them was Recoil. What a great product! The product is creme-like. I use about a nickle-sized amount (sometimes a bit more as I have long hair) but not much more than that. If you use too much your curls become a bit crunchy. If you use the right amount your curls are soft. You have to play with the amount a bit. I will say that once you start touching your hair throughout the day the product starts to release your curls. So, don't touch your hair! Also, in Canada this product is about $20 and you can purchase in select salons. The tube lasts a long time. If you have curly hair, I highly recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ginger37 on 9/18/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by Ginger37

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This product really is fantastic! I've been using it for a few years now. I try new products when they come out, searching for something just as good at a cheaper price, but to no fruition; I always come back to recoil. My hair without this product would be one big frizzball mess! Using 'recoil' I have beautiful defined curls, that people comment on all the time, with no frizz. It's easy to use, and easy to touch up. If I need a bit more curl, if I have pulled my hair straight, all I do is add water and touch up. This is really my HG for curly hair!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Orientexpress on 8/19/2012 9:21:00 PM more reviews by Orientexpress

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Green    

My results after using this product are wild! I have 2c/3a fine curls that spring in ringlests around my face and at my nape, but tend to fall flat at the crown and throughout the canopy. I used this today after cleansing with plain ol suave in preparation to go CG. I thought I'd try it on squeaky clean hair for sh*ts n grins...and I was amazed. At the moment, I have springy, uniform 3a curls all over--even at the roots! I can't wait to see how my hair responds after using a CG cleansing routine. It's as if my texture has changed completely already. I used a tiny blob and was surprised at how well it emulsified. A tiny bit went a long way. I have a chin length bob and I used a slightly larger than pea sized smear. The smell is creamy and citrusy--not at all offensive. I'm impressed. This great first impression had eased the sticker shock somewhat.I will update if my enthusiasm wanes. So far, this is well worth the splurge.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Beautyandhealth on 8/19/2012 3:07:00 PM more reviews by Beautyandhealth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I naturally have wavy hair and after using this product, my hair became thick, greasy and it started to fall straight. yes that's right STRAIGHT.
Not a fan of this product and will not rebuy, normally AG is great, but I was very dissapointed with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PinkCarnations on 5/26/2012 3:03:00 PM more reviews by PinkCarnations

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have fine, 2b hair. I use this after I apply a bit of mousse. I really haven't noticed an increase in waves since I started using this. Also, it offers hardly any holding power. I need something with a bit more grip to it in order to hold onto my waves. That is why I need to use mousse and/or TIGI Catwalk Curl Booster in addition to this. It just doesn't do the job on it it's own. I will not repurchase this but I will use up what I have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Suil on 3/18/2012 11:40:00 PM more reviews by Suil

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This didn't do much except make my hair softer. I have a good amount of fine-textured wavy to curly hair that I air dry. An SA told me this was one of their top sellers for people with my kind of hair. It didn't help with frizz, and there wasn't much hold. Maybe it works better if mixed with another product or on dry hair? Having better luck with a Giovanni frizz product first, followed by Alba Botanical soft hold styling cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Frenchchick76 on 3/12/2012 9:22:00 PM more reviews by Frenchchick76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product. Been using it for a few years now.
You do not need a lot of product to make it work. I tend to use a small amount and diffuse my hair. Let my hair air dry and gives it a beachy look.

It is pricey but it lasts me about 6 months and i use about a pea size amount and its good for my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More A/G products

More Styling Products products