AG Hair Cosmetics Recoil Curl Activator

4.2

93 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/aqua/eau, Polyquaternium-55, Hydroxypropyl Starch, Cetylalcohol, Stearalkonium Chloride, Stearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Corn Starch Modified, Cetrimonium Chloride, Salvia Officinalis (sage) Leaf Extract, Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Melissaofficinalis Leaf Extract, Achillea Millefolium Extract, Prunus Serotina (Wild Cherry) Bark Extract, Cymbopogonschoenanthus Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Sodium PCA, Polyquaternium-10, Magnesium Sulfate, Silk Amino Acids, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzedkeratin, Panthenol, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Tetrasodiumedta, Parfum/ Fragrance, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.


on 3/30/2013 10:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is awesome sauce! I have naturally curly hair but when it air dries the bottom layer under most of my hair, dries with spiral-y curls and the top layer is just flat and theres a random kink in it. It's really awkward. When my hair is still wet it has these beautiful curls and I always wanted to enhance them cause I hate having to straighten my hair all the time and blow dry it straight or else it has this weird wave to it.
I've tried a few products but this one really stands out. First of all, I love AG hair products. I agree with the reviewer below saying that they are easily overlooked, they really are. I've been visiting ULTA ever since I moved to the US, almost 9 years ago, and never knew about AG until about 10 months ago and now thats exclusively what I use. If people on the hair board wouldn't constantly recommend the fast food leave in ( a holy grail of mine as well) I would have never known what AG hair was! Also a bonus, all products are cruelty free!
Anyways, this product smells amazing, like the rest of the AG products- sweet and like candy but you can't smell it on your hair after you put them on so it's not overpowering at all. It's a very thick cream that kind of took me by surprise at first- I thought it was going to be more of a gel but its a really thick cream. My hair goes a few inches past my shoulders and I need about a dime size, so this will last me forever. I scrunch my hair with this when its about half dry almost, and it gives it enough hold to actually keep the waves/curls- which no other product was able to do. It keeps the curls on the top layer of my hair, which usually gets weighed down and straight. Also, its really moisturizing so my hair is not crunchy and super soft! This is a really great product! I use it maybe once or twice a week, especially when I don't feel like torturing my hair with straightening. I will most definitely repurchase...IF I ever finish the ginormous tube!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/27/2013 6:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A/G is an amazing line and I think they're packaging makes it sooo easy to be over looked. in my cosmo store the a/g display is in the way back in the corner where no one walks and I think it deserves a lot more attention!!! I have thick porous out of control curl hair that is a wavy mess if it's not properly styled. This is the first product that actually tightens the curl and reduces frizz for me. It smells wonderful and rinses out smooth like rich conditioner. I would definitely suggest making over the packaging with ads that are geared towards younger professionals. emphasize the quality without cruelty and women changing the world with some bright colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2013 5:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My hair has a very slight natural wave. I rarely take the time to blow-dry, and prefer to enhance my hair's wavy-ness so I can just wash and go in the morning.

Until now, I hadn't really found any products that effectively enhanced my waves at all. Those that made any difference tended to leave my hair very crunchy and my hair almost always ended up limp by late afternoon.

AG recoil is by far the best curl enhancer I've tried so far. It does leave my hair a bit crunchy until it dries completely, and since I don't blow-dry this can take hours. However, once dry, it typically leaves my hair soft and natural looking. It isn't a miracle worker, but definitely does leave me with considerably more waves than I would have otherwise. Overall, I really like the product a lot and will be re-stocking when I run out!

It is very slightly scented. I prefer unscented products, but the smell is nice enough and pretty subtle.

The bottle is pretty small, making the product relatively expensive - in line with other salon products though. After 2-3 months of almost daily use, I'm still on my first bottle, and I expect it'll last another 1-2 months.

If you're going for natural-looking waves or curls and are willing to spend a bit more money for salon products, I'd definitely recommend this product!


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Gave me curl, but curls were crunchy. (And, yes, I used very little product) Leaves a white residue in spots - doesn't dry clear. I'm also having a terrible problem with white flakes, but I'm not sure if I can attribute that to this product or not. Given white residue issues, I have to wonder . . .


on 2/5/2013 10:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I returned this to Ulta. Nothing special about it. Didn't change my hair (make it look better). I tried it alone. I tried it with a serum. My hair felt & looked the same.


on 2/5/2013 12:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is so good! It wakes up my fine, curly hair and stops it from going too frizzy. It took me ages to figure out how to use it best for my hair. I like to mix it with a pump of the Klorane papyrus leave-in conditioner and put it in my hair immediately after i get out of the shower, before towel-drying. Then I wrap it in a towel for a bit and let it dry in the air on my commute, scrunching up the curls when they are dry to break up any stiffness. If I put it in when it isn't still soaking wet, it gets too sticky. Mixing with the leave-in conditioner makes it softer and shinier, and cuts the cocoa butter smell of this stuff, which I don't like.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2012 1:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this curl activator! I can't believe I waited so long to try it (2-3 yrs). It does everything I want in a curl product & is worth the $16 I spent for 6 oz.


This product turns my 2A lazy-waves (plus frizz) chin-length bob into wonderful 2B/2C curls that I love - the curl pattern holds all day without any extra styling product, allowing my hair to remain soft & springy. The 1st time I used it, I got lots of compliments on my (rare) curls. I get better results doing almost nothing using just this product alone than I did working hard to create the same look using several products in the past. With Re:Coil I can leave my hair natural & bouncy or finish it w/a little holding gel or hairspray to fine-tune the overall shape. I only need a pea-size dollop for curl activation & my hair feels natural & light (as well as moisturized! - my hair is damaged & dry from highlights) - it ends up neither crunchy nor stiff nor sticky nor coated nor heavy. It's better to start out small & increase as needed to figure out the right amt for your hair.


I love that it contains both a lot of glycerin (for moisture) & a little bit of magnesium sulfate (epsom salt) to encourage curl. I use home-made epsom salt spray in the summer for bedhead beach waves, but that tends to be drying for both my hair & skin. For me (so far) this a miracle product & am loving my miracle hair. It's the bowling ball that knocked down all the pins in the alley. What the heck took me so long to try it? I'm tempted now to add the matching shampoo & conditioner to my routine, but I'll try to wait till I finish what I'm currently using.





2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/10/2012 9:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Hallelujah! I have finally found a styling product for my wavy-curly hair. No more gels, foams, mousses, sprays, etc! It only took me 25 years to find the right product. A/G's Recoil Curl Activator was recommended to me by my co-worker who also happens to be a stylist. She also has naturally curly hair and she gave me a couple of suggestions for styling products (for curly hair) and one of them was Recoil. What a great product! The product is creme-like. I use about a nickle-sized amount (sometimes a bit more as I have long hair) but not much more than that. If you use too much your curls become a bit crunchy. If you use the right amount your curls are soft. You have to play with the amount a bit. I will say that once you start touching your hair throughout the day the product starts to release your curls. So, don't touch your hair! Also, in Canada this product is about $20 and you can purchase in select salons. The tube lasts a long time. If you have curly hair, I highly recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2012 5:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product really is fantastic! I've been using it for a few years now. I try new products when they come out, searching for something just as good at a cheaper price, but to no fruition; I always come back to recoil. My hair without this product would be one big frizzball mess! Using 'recoil' I have beautiful defined curls, that people comment on all the time, with no frizz. It's easy to use, and easy to touch up. If I need a bit more curl, if I have pulled my hair straight, all I do is add water and touch up. This is really my HG for curly hair!!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Green

My results after using this product are wild! I have 2c/3a fine curls that spring in ringlests around my face and at my nape, but tend to fall flat at the crown and throughout the canopy. I used this today after cleansing with plain ol suave in preparation to go CG. I thought I'd try it on squeaky clean hair for sh*ts n grins...and I was amazed. At the moment, I have springy, uniform 3a curls all over--even at the roots! I can't wait to see how my hair responds after using a CG cleansing routine. It's as if my texture has changed completely already. I used a tiny blob and was surprised at how well it emulsified. A tiny bit went a long way. I have a chin length bob and I used a slightly larger than pea sized smear. The smell is creamy and citrusy--not at all offensive. I'm impressed. This great first impression had eased the sticker shock somewhat.I will update if my enthusiasm wanes. So far, this is well worth the splurge.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated AG Hair Cosmetics Products

Back to Top