MAC All eyeshadows

4.4

97 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/14/2011 10:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Good quality and variety. There are many beautiful options, but i think they are verrrrry overpriced, esp when u get such a small amount. I think MAC has a cult following, for good reason, but they really milk it with regArds to pricing. people love it like a deity, and they get away with being overpriced, often the quality isn't the best either. Lasting power isn't the best. Pigmentation varies, MAC is inconsistent with this. Overall, as a whole, these are good, but i HAVE used better!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.



on 8/30/2011 7:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love Mac eye shadows!! I've tried to buy dupes for Mac to save money, but it doesn't work. The dupes only work if you spend the money on a good primer. I'd rather just buy the real thing. Even with the Mac shadows that have little pigmentation..era being one, they stay on all day.


on 12/27/2010 2:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love MAC shadows. They have nearly every color imaginable. You can't tell the true nature of the colors online-- especially those that are close in color. They have varying degrees of color payoff and texture. You really need to try before you buy.

I purchased a 15 pan and buy the pan refills. So far, I have:
Shroom (doesn't have a good payoff)
Orb
Naked lunch
Concrete (staple crease color)
Folie
Haux
Fringe (DC)
Temper
Digit
Expensive Pink
Cork
Blanc Type
Brule

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2010 10:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

MAC eyeshadows are really hit or miss. They have some good ones, but most of them are sheer, chalky, or hard to blend. I guess they are OK for the price, but there really are better brands out there, such as Urban Decay. Even the drugstore brand NYX is better! I think there is a lot of hype with MAC. That and the fact that it is so accessible is why so many people love it. When I was 15, I thought MAC was amazing. Then, after I tried more brands, I realized that MAC is not really all that.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2010 1:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

MAC has a lot to offer when it comes to cosmetics, and I think their eyeshadows are some of their best. They offer a large array of textures and finishes, from the very matte shadows to extremely shimmery ones and everything in between. Their shade range is impressive, with what seems like every possible colour on the spectrum. They have an extensive array of neutrals for the more work friendly looks or conservative makeup wearers, as well as having every colour of the rainbow - colours of every shade, from light to dark, blues, pinks, greens, purples, even yellows, the blackest black and the whitest white - all available in different finishes too. Don't like shimmery purples? There's likely a more matte, similar purple shade available!


I don't think any other department store brand carries so many varieties and options. Some customers may be overwhelmed by the choices, but for makeup addicts, those who love to experiment, or even just those who like variety to choose from, it's like heaven. There have been a few bad apples, but overall, the pigmentation, blending ability, and lasting power (even without a base) of MAC eyeshadows are very good. Their shades often apply just as they appear in the pan. Whether you love or hate the fact that they have a dozen+ limited edition collection releases a year, there is always something new at MAC which keeps things interesting.


At a decently affordable price with attractive, practical packaging (and the choice at free-standing stores to purchase without the plastic pot), MAC eyeshadows are pretty awesome. Great for all ages and all skin tones - there really is something for everyone, and for the most part, they're all good too.


on 12/4/2010 10:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I have come to the conclusion that MAC has the best eyeshadows. I'm saying this because I have tried many brands and different E/S and I always seem to want to go back to MAC to purchase more eyeshadows to try. For the longest time, I have been a die hard NYX eyeshadow addict- I adore the brand so much, not only for E/S but other items as well. Recently though, I have been testing out my NYX eyeshadows more & more- and I find that some of them are very lacklustre. For example, I tend to go for matte colors in the crease (only dark brown, dark blacks & grays) as I find its more my style. On my lid though, I like any eyeshadow color ranging from bright to neutral depending on my mood. Most of my NYX shadows only apply rich if a sticky base is used (think the Jumbo Pencils) without a base, some of them are awful =/ (some NYX shadows barely show up on the crease) with every single MAC eyeshadow I have, they all apply pigmented and rich without a base (even though I still use one for the lasting factor) .... I found that at the end of the day, my MAC shadows never, ever crease or lose that vibrancy- with some of my NYX shadows I find the vibrancy fades throughout the hours.

I'm not saying that all of MAC's eyeshadow are winners, I have tried some duds and the same applies to NYX....I have a few set NYX eyeshadow that are amazing (NYX Black, Golden Amber, Luxor, Brown, & a few more) ......but I also find that I hit pan on my NYX eyeshadow much faster then MAC, as some of them do need some extra layering. At the end of the day, I don't mind spending money on a MAC Pro Pan eyeshadow to fit into my 15 pan palette- another great innovation which saves space. I have 15 NYX singles, and they take up quite bit of space & it can be annoying sifting through them all at times. I would say that NYX & MAC are close in the competition, but for me MAC takes the cake, only becasue I feel I'm getting more time and use out of them. However, the NYX 'I Dream' collection has amazing pigmentation that rivals MAC- so if I would suggest anything from NYX it would be the 'I Dream' palettes, and of course some of the single E/S


on 11/3/2010 2:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

MAC is the brand to go to if you want a unique color. I love their Starflash formulas and their shimmers in general (Frost, Veluxe Pearle) but for some reason, certain finishes such as Satin is not very good. The Frost goes on sooo smoothly that if they all went on like that, I honestly wouldn't buy any other eye shadows. But I've tried a few Satin/Matte finishes and they are disappointing. I don't get why there is a difference in texture just because it's a different finish but the Satin/Matte are chalky and don't apply smoothly in my opinion. With the Frost, I can just sweep it all over my lids easily and with the Satin I have to blend, blend, blend because otherwise it ends up looking patchy on my lids. Yeah, not cute. Anyways, if you go for the ones with shimmer then MAC is the best. I also think they really should make their shadows a little bigger, the little pots are a joke with the price you pay.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I own 4 Mac eyeshadow. Currently:
Retrospeck (lustre)
Trax (Satin)
All that glitters (Veluxe Pearl)
Style Snob (Starflash)

I like mac eyeshadows, for the most part the veluxe pearls and staflash formulas are the most pigmented for me at least. Mac has a good selections of colors and formulations which make their eyeshadows different from the rest which is nice. However, they aren't the most pigmented eyeshadows I own. Urban decay eyeshadows are so much more pigmented. Starflashes are probably the only comparable formulation to urban decay and eyeshadows of that formulation are only limited editon. Yes allthatglitters is nice and has pretty good payoff, I just believe that it's payoff is not comparable to the buttery smooth urban decay eyeshadows. My mac shadows do last just as long as any other shadow though. I just think sometimes people get caught up in a MAC craze and don't realize that there are some drugstore and other brands that have better quality eyeshadows for much cheaper.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2010 1:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The colors I want to write a review on are: Texture (Velvet), Cosmic (LE-Veluxe Pearl), All That Glitters (Veluxe Pearl), Electra (Frost), Lucky Green (Veluxe Pearl), Woodwinked (Veluxe Pearl), Sumptous Olive (Veluxe Pearl), Expresso (Matte), & Folie (Satin).
These colors are BEAUTIFUL!!!! Texture is a coffee brownish color with some shimmer in it. It's so nice!!! If your looking for a medium coffee color, this is for you. Cosmic is also a beautiful color. It's a Veluxe Pearl so it's going to be shiny. It is a golden/light brown color and it's lovely!!! All That Glitters is also a great color to have. It's shimmery and comes off like a peachy/pink color. It's great to have!!! Electra is a beautiful silvery color which I think everyone should have in their eyeshadow collection/palette. Lucky Green is great for those light green shimmery finishes. It's a mix of green and light yellow with shimmer in it- but more on the green side. It's a light green, which I love!!! Woodwinked is a WONDERFUL color. It's a light/medium brown color with shimmer in it. Beautiful!!! Sumptous Olive is a dark green than Lucky green. It's more a rich darker green color. Definitely a must have. Expresso is a matte dark dark brown. Always good to have this color in your palette. And lastly, Folie is a rich chocolatey brown color that comes off light. It's a great outer corner color as well. I hope this review helps.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

ALL PROS: The veluxe, matte 2, and satin have wonderful, smooth textures. The matte is okay for that. They last quite well on my eye and in the package (had my same two colors for years.) Always good amount of pigment.


CONS: The mattes are not that blendable, compared to, say, Bobbi Brown. But the more blendable, the more they move on me during the day.


****There's a review for this under the name "Eye Shadow > MAC > Eye Shadow." There's a lot more reviews under that one.****




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top