MAC • Frost - Parfait Amour • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(234 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 paradoxia1234 on 1/25/2012 4:49:00 PM more reviews by paradoxia1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I used to dislike this till I applied it wet and now I'm so glad I didn't swap it ! Applied dry it seems too sheer and bleh for me, sort of like a bad drugstore eyeshadow. However I've been applying it wet and its AMAZING , Its one of my fav Mac shadows now. I wear it alone all around my eye with lots of black kohl and mascara. It looks a lot like UD's Ransom if you're looking for a dupe.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XxPRINCESSAxX on 1/14/2012 3:04:00 PM more reviews by XxPRINCESSAxX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

COLOR: the MAC website describes 'Parfait Amour' as "Blue-violet with shimmer (frost)." That description is accurate, but it appears a lot darker in real life than the swatch on the website. I would say it's a mix of royal blue and royal purple with shimmer (not glitter!). Basically it's a multidimensional indigo.
_____________________________________________________________
TEXTURE: I find this to be more like a cross between a frost and a veluxe pearl. It's like a veluxe pearl because of how smooth and multidimensional it is - but it's a frost because of the finish, it shows up a lot lighter when you apply it than it appears in the pan. So if you are intimidated since it looks too dark in the pan - it actually goes on a bit lighter!
_____________________________________________________________
There is, however, a reason why I gave this 4 instead of 5. It is a gorgeous, deep, blue-violet/indigo color, but it was not dark enough. My sister wanted this for her prom since it was the color of her dress - I blended this on the outer corner with 'Seedy Pearl' on the inner corner. Obviously I knew I would have to use at least one other shadow to finish off the look, but I had to use another dark blue shade (Prussian) and dark purple shade (Fertile) to get it to look right. It took a lot more work than I expected, and I am not new to MAC eyeshadows, blending colors, or creating different/colorful looks. All in all it's a beautiful and unique shade, and it was worth the extra work.
_____________________________________________________________
I selected would not repurchase because I don't use this often and probably won't need to buy another one.

Just bear in mind that it's lighter and smokier than it seems.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gracyy on 1/11/2012 4:48:00 PM more reviews by gracyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this color! MAC often has 'hits and miss' and this one is certainly a hit, especially for women of color. It is a gorgeous purple/blue pearlescent color; so it reflects light beautifully! and looks even better and more vivid over a purple or lavender base.
It has a satin finish, so it allows a smooth application on the lid.
A MUST HAVE!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AudgePodgeBup on 10/19/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by AudgePodgeBup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color. It's a slight duochrome purple and it is soooo flattering on my light warm brown eyes. They pop right out of my head when I wear this. I like to use the Blackground Paint Pot as a base and use this over it. It gives it a beautiful smoky mysterious look. :) I like to wear club in my outer V and Parfait Amour on my mid and inner lid and then blend up into my brow bone with Vex. It's soooo pretty and glowy and kind of like peacock feathers! :) I definitely suggest using a good base underneath it for vibrancy. So far I think I've only used it over Blackground. Lovin' this color and if I ever run out I will repurchase. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 9/17/2011 12:54:00 AM more reviews by nola80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love purples but MAC sadly does not have great the greatest pigmentation with their purples!!! So glad I found Parfait Amour, blends smoothly and very pigmented on me. I just use Smolder on my outer V and pat this over and it's my go to quick purple smoky eye. I will always repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hamstershell on 9/8/2011 9:25:00 AM more reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Pigmentation could be stronger. Comes out too sheer for my taste. Color is still nice, just need more work packing this on. I think Urban Decay's Fishnet is similar and better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 8/2/2011 9:58:00 AM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I originally bought this color when looking for a purple eye shadow that leaned a little more blue than plain purple or pink. It swatched on my arm the beautiful blue violet color with shimmer the same way it looked in the pot so I snatched it up. Once I was home I immediately put it on my eye and thought it was too close to the color flash by urban decay which I already own and did not lean as close to blue as I wanted so I actually thought about taking it back. Now I am soo glad I didn't because after pairing it with different eye shadows I have been able to see what a chammeleon it is. It can almost look duochrome if paired with the right shadow. When I put it with stars n rockets it looks more of a true purple and a slight hint of pink shimmer shows up. When I pair it with a blue like freshwater it looks more like a deep violet blue indigo color. I love putting freshwater on the lid with parfait amour in the crease. It really makes my brown eyes stand out and picks up the color nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mellye on 7/10/2011 12:19:00 AM more reviews by mellye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a sucker for purple eyeshadows, so I picked this up right away when I saw it.

I can't say I really like it that much. There is nothing special about the colour and I have an overall hard time pairing it with other shadows where I can pair other purples from MAC, such as Stars N Rockets, much easier and the look won't be awkwardly intense for the daytime.

The quality is good. Nothing wrong with it, just not my style. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vayalios on 3/31/2011 3:44:00 PM more reviews by vayalios

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I went to the store to try this shade. I was deceived by colour payoff, then I was offered the Mac Peacocky Violet eyeshadow that looks just like it but with better pay off. I came home and did a swatch of the Sleek Original violet purple shade and it was an exact dupe with much better colour pay off for Parfait Amour (or Peacocky one, since they look the same). I just wanted to share, since Sleek palets are SO cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MSEMR2010 on 3/31/2011 3:28:00 PM more reviews by MSEMR2010

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Parfait Amour is a pretty color, I'm just not sure that I would repurchase. I use it whenever I want a purple smokey eye, with Shadowy Lady in the crease, but I can't help but think that there is a cheaper alternative out there somewhere. I will continue to use it, but I doubt that I will buy another.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products