John Frieda • Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock Leave-on Perfecting Glosser • Styling Products

rated 4.1(279 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 6/27/2011 1:43:00 PM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am still experimenting on how much of this product I should be using, I think I have been using too much each time, because although my hair is super soft, it has sort of that clung together stringy look, kinda looks overconditioned. I have to admit, I am a blonde, and I think although it might work better for brunettes, it still provides a shine no matter what your hair color is. I really like the smell and I really like how smooth my hair feels afterward. I wouldn't use this everyday but this is a really good shiny glosser product. Because of the silicones I would only use it if I want a straight style for the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz48170 on 5/28/2011 10:24:00 PM more reviews by liz48170

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Use all the time. Great for fly aways

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TryHonesty on 5/28/2011 9:23:00 PM more reviews by TryHonesty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Left my hair nice and shiny and soft but i noticed it left a little buildup...?
I'll try it again and come back to re-edit. I got this on sale at shoppers cheap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mindlips on 5/11/2011 11:09:00 PM more reviews by mindlips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

John Frieda's Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock leave-on perfecting glosser is a fantastic product! I purchased this hair glosser because I wanted to fix my (although minor) hair flyways. When you first wash your hair, and when your hair is a bit damp, that's when you use the glosser. After several uses, I've learned that the effects (gloss, closing of split ends and overall smoothness) depends on how FAIRLY damp your hair is (not too wet or too dry), as well as your shampoo + conditioner + whatever else you use. Personally, I think it's best used if you are suffering with overall crappy hair products after a shower/bath. That way, your hair is rescued and the effects are comparatively visible. Also, if you have poofy hair, your hair may be noticeably flatter.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melissa101 on 5/5/2011 9:30:00 PM more reviews by melissa101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this in set from from target about a week ago, it came with the Brilliant Brunette Shampoo and Conditioner + Shine Shock all for about $11-ish. I walked in Target originally just for conditioner but I seen this and I heard great reviews about this so I thought why not just purchase the set....so anyways back to the Shine Shock. LOVE IT!
Makes my hair so soft and shiny, and I love the smell. It gives me the shine of a serum, but without weighing my hair done & making it oily. I can almost feel it being absorbed into the hair, i cant really explain it lol....but it makes my hair so soft also esp at the ends...the consistency is almost like a gel-ish conditioner. I would definitely repurchase...and for reference I have chocolate brown wavy/curly layered hair just beneath my shoulders. =)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 3/27/2011 9:11:00 PM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was just okay, not worth buying again. did not make my hair very shiny nor stand out in any way to me. I read some decent reviews and hoped it would work for me, but my hair is very dry and using this didn't look different than using any other shin spray for ex. Given the name I was expecting more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misscurlylocks on 3/15/2011 7:56:00 AM more reviews by misscurlylocks

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love thiS. I purchased upon reading a review and I have a brownish red colurant and my hair is dry and dull and frizzy and I wanted some shine but didnt want a serum per se hence I purchased this. I have got this lovely travel sized product to shove in my hand bag and save my dry hair from looking dull..I like that this isnt greasy as so many products are. Whatever your hair colour this will give it some gloss and vibrancy. If you want extra vibrancy then use it on damp hair becuase after ablowdry you will get a reflective look which is certainly more evident in my dark hair. Its a good high street price and certainly matches up to those expensive brands by a mile. Will buy again and the packaging makes it stand out so its easy to buy when in a rush...Its a must have product and adds shine with a polished nono greasy look and helps slightly tame flyaway hairs and frizz when I dab it on dry hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 musiclives on 3/4/2011 6:48:00 PM more reviews by musiclives

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. I don't use this on wet hair, instead I wash my hair at night and apply this in the morning after straightening my hair. I use a pea sized amount and rub it onto the ends first, then apply the rest. Definitely avoid the scalp area because this does weigh your hair down a little. This product can make your hair goopy and heavy if you do not use in conjunction with a good anti-residue shampoo once a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karriwhel on 3/2/2011 10:21:00 AM more reviews by karriwhel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have a huge problem with products weighing my hair down & making it sticky, unfortunately this one was no different. Perhaps I just have not found a happy medium on amount to use because either I have weighted down hair or no results at all, so not sure. I do know it has no glossing or shine properties for my hair. Won't purchase again, pretty boring.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anotherpartofme on 3/1/2011 9:30:00 AM more reviews by anotherpartofme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like using a small amount before blow drying my hair because it makes my hair less fluffy. I had high expectations for this product because it has such a great ratings here but my dark brown hair isn't much shinier after using this and! Shine shock?? LOL! It's a good product but it nothing special for me really. I'd buy it again but it cost me 9 euros and I'm not sure if it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Styling Products products