John Frieda • Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock Leave-on Perfecting Glosser • Styling Products

rated 4.1(282 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Remykat on 9/11/2011 3:29:00 PM more reviews by Remykat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is one of my favorite glossing creams. It works nearly as well as the Fekkai, but at a fraction of the cost. Smells fine, needs only a bit to work, and doesn't leave day-after-greasies. I usually add it on after flat-ironing, but sometimes I put it on the ends before and let the heat melt it in. Also nice on curly/wavy hair (doesn't disrupt the pattern by adding weight). Buy again, and again, and again. I don't know why I bother with anything else :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rock89 on 8/28/2011 6:07:00 AM more reviews by rock89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

ive only used it once but i decided to write a review. This product is a clear gel that contain little glitters (glitters arnt visible when in hair). I used it as the instructions said, dime size in to soaking wet hair, then i slightly towel dried it and then blow dried my hair. results? verrry smooth hair, i think ive never felt my hair this soft BUT there was still some frizz, and shine wise... i didnt see that much shine, but then again i dunno if anything could make my hair shine. Overall, its a good product, im happy with it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 claudia1408 on 8/18/2011 4:12:00 AM more reviews by claudia1408

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this because i love all of the brilliany brunette range and i wanted to try this. It's best to apply it to your hair when it's damp and don't apple it straight to the roots. It left my hair super shiny and i like the little bits of glitter in it! It doesn't leave any build up for me and my hair feels softer too! Very happy with this and will be buying again!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 6/27/2011 1:43:00 PM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am still experimenting on how much of this product I should be using, I think I have been using too much each time, because although my hair is super soft, it has sort of that clung together stringy look, kinda looks overconditioned. I have to admit, I am a blonde, and I think although it might work better for brunettes, it still provides a shine no matter what your hair color is. I really like the smell and I really like how smooth my hair feels afterward. I wouldn't use this everyday but this is a really good shiny glosser product. Because of the silicones I would only use it if I want a straight style for the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz48170 on 5/28/2011 10:24:00 PM more reviews by liz48170

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Use all the time. Great for fly aways

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TryHonesty on 5/28/2011 9:23:00 PM more reviews by TryHonesty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Left my hair nice and shiny and soft but i noticed it left a little buildup...?
I'll try it again and come back to re-edit. I got this on sale at shoppers cheap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mindlips on 5/11/2011 11:09:00 PM more reviews by mindlips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

John Frieda's Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock leave-on perfecting glosser is a fantastic product! I purchased this hair glosser because I wanted to fix my (although minor) hair flyways. When you first wash your hair, and when your hair is a bit damp, that's when you use the glosser. After several uses, I've learned that the effects (gloss, closing of split ends and overall smoothness) depends on how FAIRLY damp your hair is (not too wet or too dry), as well as your shampoo + conditioner + whatever else you use. Personally, I think it's best used if you are suffering with overall crappy hair products after a shower/bath. That way, your hair is rescued and the effects are comparatively visible. Also, if you have poofy hair, your hair may be noticeably flatter.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melissa101 on 5/5/2011 9:30:00 PM more reviews by melissa101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this in set from from target about a week ago, it came with the Brilliant Brunette Shampoo and Conditioner + Shine Shock all for about $11-ish. I walked in Target originally just for conditioner but I seen this and I heard great reviews about this so I thought why not just purchase the set....so anyways back to the Shine Shock. LOVE IT!
Makes my hair so soft and shiny, and I love the smell. It gives me the shine of a serum, but without weighing my hair done & making it oily. I can almost feel it being absorbed into the hair, i cant really explain it lol....but it makes my hair so soft also esp at the ends...the consistency is almost like a gel-ish conditioner. I would definitely repurchase...and for reference I have chocolate brown wavy/curly layered hair just beneath my shoulders. =)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 3/27/2011 9:11:00 PM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was just okay, not worth buying again. did not make my hair very shiny nor stand out in any way to me. I read some decent reviews and hoped it would work for me, but my hair is very dry and using this didn't look different than using any other shin spray for ex. Given the name I was expecting more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misscurlylocks on 3/15/2011 7:56:00 AM more reviews by misscurlylocks

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love thiS. I purchased upon reading a review and I have a brownish red colurant and my hair is dry and dull and frizzy and I wanted some shine but didnt want a serum per se hence I purchased this. I have got this lovely travel sized product to shove in my hand bag and save my dry hair from looking dull..I like that this isnt greasy as so many products are. Whatever your hair colour this will give it some gloss and vibrancy. If you want extra vibrancy then use it on damp hair becuase after ablowdry you will get a reflective look which is certainly more evident in my dark hair. Its a good high street price and certainly matches up to those expensive brands by a mile. Will buy again and the packaging makes it stand out so its easy to buy when in a rush...Its a must have product and adds shine with a polished nono greasy look and helps slightly tame flyaway hairs and frizz when I dab it on dry hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Styling Products products