John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock Leave-on Perfecting Glosser

4.1

283 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Propylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Phenyltrimethicone, Hexylene Glycol, Dimethiconol, Polyacrylamide, Ethylhexylmethoxycinnamate, Laureth 7, C13 14 Isoparaffin, Titanium Dioxide, Tin Oxide, Fragrance, Mica, Caramel


on 12/6/2011 12:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used this product about 2 times so far, and I'am kind of torn on whether I like it or not. What I like about it is that it feels like it would be heavy and weigh your hair down, but after it dries and you straighten or style your hair, it is touchably soft and doesn't make your hair stiff. That is a big plus because most glossers weigh hair down and create oilyness. This one did not. There is some shine, but to be honest, I didn't notice any more shine in my hair than there usually is. So, for the "shine shock" effect this product claims to have...I don't think it delivers up to its name. This glossing gel makes your hair pretty flat, which I personally don't mind since I have thick hair that I straighten. But, if your not looking for a neccesarily "flat" look, I wouldn't use too much of this, especially not near the upper half of your hair. Another thing that bothered me about this product, is that it costs about $5-$6, & you get a small tube of product. It goes fast, so it can get kind of expensive. I mean, I liked this glosser, it works nicely. But, it did not give me that "wow" factor, as if my hair wouldn't look as great without this. That is why I don't think I will repurchase this when I run out. It works alright, but for the price, amount of product you get, & the fact that my hair pretty much looks the same with or without this...I don't think it's that amazing as people are claiming. So overall, I can survive without this:)


**UPDATE:** I've found an even better use for this gel. Whenever I curl or wave my hair, This gel takes away all the fly aways & helps keep my hair in place instantly. It's amazing. Although this didn't work for me as a glosser when I straighten my hair, I will repurchase to use it when I curl & wave my hair. It's soooo amazing for that purpose. I'm now absoloutley impressed by this:)



on 9/11/2011 3:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is one of my favorite glossing creams. It works nearly as well as the Fekkai, but at a fraction of the cost. Smells fine, needs only a bit to work, and doesn't leave day-after-greasies. I usually add it on after flat-ironing, but sometimes I put it on the ends before and let the heat melt it in. Also nice on curly/wavy hair (doesn't disrupt the pattern by adding weight). Buy again, and again, and again. I don't know why I bother with anything else :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2011 6:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

ive only used it once but i decided to write a review. This product is a clear gel that contain little glitters (glitters arnt visible when in hair). I used it as the instructions said, dime size in to soaking wet hair, then i slightly towel dried it and then blow dried my hair. results? verrry smooth hair, i think ive never felt my hair this soft BUT there was still some frizz, and shine wise... i didnt see that much shine, but then again i dunno if anything could make my hair shine. Overall, its a good product, im happy with it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2011 4:12:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got this because i love all of the brilliany brunette range and i wanted to try this. It's best to apply it to your hair when it's damp and don't apple it straight to the roots. It left my hair super shiny and i like the little bits of glitter in it! It doesn't leave any build up for me and my hair feels softer too! Very happy with this and will be buying again!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2011 1:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am still experimenting on how much of this product I should be using, I think I have been using too much each time, because although my hair is super soft, it has sort of that clung together stringy look, kinda looks overconditioned. I have to admit, I am a blonde, and I think although it might work better for brunettes, it still provides a shine no matter what your hair color is. I really like the smell and I really like how smooth my hair feels afterward. I wouldn't use this everyday but this is a really good shiny glosser product. Because of the silicones I would only use it if I want a straight style for the day.


on 5/28/2011 10:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Use all the time. Great for fly aways


on 5/28/2011 9:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Left my hair nice and shiny and soft but i noticed it left a little buildup...?
I'll try it again and come back to re-edit. I got this on sale at shoppers cheap!


on 5/11/2011 11:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

John Frieda's Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock leave-on perfecting glosser is a fantastic product! I purchased this hair glosser because I wanted to fix my (although minor) hair flyways. When you first wash your hair, and when your hair is a bit damp, that's when you use the glosser. After several uses, I've learned that the effects (gloss, closing of split ends and overall smoothness) depends on how FAIRLY damp your hair is (not too wet or too dry), as well as your shampoo + conditioner + whatever else you use. Personally, I think it's best used if you are suffering with overall crappy hair products after a shower/bath. That way, your hair is rescued and the effects are comparatively visible. Also, if you have poofy hair, your hair may be noticeably flatter.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2011 9:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this in set from from target about a week ago, it came with the Brilliant Brunette Shampoo and Conditioner + Shine Shock all for about $11-ish. I walked in Target originally just for conditioner but I seen this and I heard great reviews about this so I thought why not just purchase the set....so anyways back to the Shine Shock. LOVE IT!
Makes my hair so soft and shiny, and I love the smell. It gives me the shine of a serum, but without weighing my hair done & making it oily. I can almost feel it being absorbed into the hair, i cant really explain it lol....but it makes my hair so soft also esp at the ends...the consistency is almost like a gel-ish conditioner. I would definitely repurchase...and for reference I have chocolate brown wavy/curly layered hair just beneath my shoulders. =)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/27/2011 9:11:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was just okay, not worth buying again. did not make my hair very shiny nor stand out in any way to me. I read some decent reviews and hoped it would work for me, but my hair is very dry and using this didn't look different than using any other shin spray for ex. Given the name I was expecting more.


Back to Top