MAC • Satin - Smut • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(133 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 2/1/2013 1:07:00 AM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I thought about getting rid of this beauty. Smut was made for me. I have worn a smokey eye pretty much every day since I was 14. Smut makes the prettiest smokey eye that isn't as harsh as black. In fact it's so much prettier than a black smokey eye- it's grey with a tinge of purple. It brings out my brown eyes and makes them glow. It's so quick and easy: I pat smut on my lid and lower lashline, smudge lots of liner, and blend out any harsh lines with MAC haux. Perfect smokey eye. Photographs beautifully too! I'm so glad I kept smut.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shgirl2 on 8/29/2012 10:52:00 AM more reviews by shgirl2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This does what I was beginning to think was impossible-gives me a sultry eye look with out being flat. Black is just plain too harsh for me and greys/charcoals leave me washed out. I use this with haux in the crease and this in the corners and around my lash line. I never would have found this with out the MUA reviews. Thanks!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whereismymind59 on 7/3/2012 7:58:00 PM more reviews by whereismymind59

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this colour to use as an alternative to the black smokey eye. It is a lovely rich shade. It is also Multi-purpose, after talking to a MAC MUA she suggested I try it out on my brows since I have black hair and brows and finding the perfect toned brow colour is pretty hard. Most browns have to much red, or are to chocolatey for black hair and using black shadow looks awful. This however works great on my brows, it has just the right amount of ash and cool tones and looks matte on the skin (even though it appears more like a satin in the pan)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jewels64 on 6/5/2012 1:45:00 PM more reviews by jewels64

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have had Smut for awhile but it mostly sat unappreciated in a drawer until I depotted it and put it in a 15-pan palette. It is now one of my most loved MAC shades. It is a beautiful gray with hints of brownish and purplish tones that I wear on the lid for a simple smoky eye. I have since promoted it to a spot in my "go-to travel" quad along with Femme Fi, Satin Taupe, and Brun.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jake54 on 5/23/2012 9:30:00 PM more reviews by Jake54

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow and use it almost everyday as an eyeliner. It's perfect! Gives my eyes a depth and mysteriousness. I've even used it for my eyebrows! I will layer it dry with the smudge brush end of my Stila #30 over my dark brown eyeliner. Then take what's left on the brush to give a little shading under my eyes, just the outer third. Then add some Cork to finish the look. Couldn't live without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KatieFMakeup on 12/29/2011 5:58:00 PM more reviews by KatieFMakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I like Smut. Suposively MAC created Smut as an alternative of a smokey eye without it being to black and was inspired by Kate Moss. Just a good colour on the lid or crease blends effortlessly! It's like a mix between brown, grey and black. Looks a bit purpley in the pan aswell. <3

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Allyxx on 12/20/2011 6:45:00 AM more reviews by Allyxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like smut because it is dark without being as harsh as carbon. I usually line my eyes with urban decay's brown pencil liner, apply smut on top (for extra staying power) and to also to give it a less harsh line usually smudging it out. I highly recommend this as a great neutral! It also looks fab with a smokey eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MeMe16 on 8/7/2011 8:38:00 PM more reviews by MeMe16

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased Smut eye shadow and I am SUPER pleased with this color. I've been searching for a color to create the smokey eye look and this one exceeded my expectation. Smut gave me a beautiful smokey eye. I use it all the time whether alone or blended with other colors. I definitely recommend everyone to have this color in their collection! I believe this color is only available at the Pro Store. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bettyl0u on 3/19/2011 7:19:00 AM more reviews by bettyl0u

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in the pro pan from the MAC store, which makes it so easy to pop into my 15 pan palette. Smut is a shadow I use in the corner of my eyes almost everyday. You can add just a touch for a neutral smokey-ish eye or add a lot for a night time smokey eye. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 crumblepie on 3/5/2011 8:02:00 PM more reviews by crumblepie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm rather confused by the rave reviews, as Smut turned out to be nothing like I hoped it would. In the pan, it is a rich, beautiful dark brownish-black colour with almost a plummy sheen to it.On my lids, however, it is nothing more than a sheer greyish brown with a bit of shimmer. It's also not the most blendable eyeshadow I've worked with, and I find that it can look a bit splotchy at times. I've resorted to using this to smudge my eyeliner, but overall, I wouldn't repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products