Alberto Vo5 • Extra Body Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.2(59 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 happycanary on 10/9/2010 4:55:00 PM more reviews by happycanary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
1. DIRT cheap
2. Boosts volume
3. Volumizing shampoos tend to dry hair out, but this one doesn't do it as badly as other I have tried

Cons:
1. Smell is a bit strange, however, it doesn't linger so I'm ok with that.

Great quality at an incredible price. I'm sticking with this one for the forseeable future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dralim on 10/2/2010 4:34:00 AM more reviews by dralim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Positives - cleans hair well, gives hair some volume, great price.
Negatives - I find it makes my roots oilier than normal (compared to other shampoos) by the second day and I REALLY need to wash it by then, which is not normal for me. It gives hair volume but at the expense of drying out the ends, and my hair became really static-ky (sp??). Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* newyork00 on 5/26/2010 12:11:00 AM more reviews by newyork00

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for 77 cents, I was not even willing to pay the usual 99 cents because I was so skeptical. This makes your hair so full, I got a compliment as soon as I stepped into work. I don't like the orange color and you need a moisturizing conditioner afterwards but otherwise it is fantastic.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* happylynngilmer on 10/19/2009 2:58:00 PM more reviews by happylynngilmer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

2a/m/i hair, henndigoed black. Waist length.

I like to use this in a rotation, because if I use it every wash, it can be be drying, like a clarifiying shampoo, and irritate my sensitive scalp (and bleed my indigo). The smell is almost herbally. It doesn't linger. I need just a little bit because this junk lathers like its going out of style!
One bottle lasts me about 2 months when used in rotation. Rite Aid has sales on this a lot for as low as .69 cents a bottle. Even at normal price, I spend .50 a month on shampoo. Not bad at all!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 six30 on 10/11/2009 8:49:00 AM more reviews by six30

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I live in Toronto, Canada and have typical Asian (Chinese) hair. I've had not a lot of success in finding the right shampoo to keep my hair moisturized but not heavy and greasy by the end of the day.

In Toronto the product is known as "Alberto VO5 Volume Boost Shampoo". I'm genuinely pleased with how manageable and smooth my hair is since I've been using it almost daily! I can't say that it added much volume, but for such a inexpensive (about $5.50 CDN) and excellent product, I will definitely repurchase. I'm currently not using it with the matching conditioner, but may consider doing so now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ascorbic on 9/26/2009 3:46:00 PM more reviews by ascorbic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This shampoo and matching conditioner did amazing things for my limp fine super-long hair. It made it really full, giving the illusion of more hair. The problem is it has the side effect for me of way more tangles, especially while I sleep. So I was combing tangles out for days, since I don't wash every day.

It also may look slightly less shiny when this shampoo is in effect, not sure.

Because of the tangle problem, I will only use this now and then when I have an outing where I want my hair to look fuller. Then I will probably wash it out right away to prevent breakage from the ordeal of removing tangles.

Not sure if I'll buy again because of the tangle problem. I'll say 'No' since there is no 'Maybe' here.

By the way, I'm glad they don't put formaldehyde in this product anymore! That made me stop and think years ago when I used it as a teen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dottiedogood on 8/24/2009 11:42:00 PM more reviews by dottiedogood

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff blows my mind! It's the cheapest shampoo/conditioner you can find (even if you look in dollar stores!), and it is bar none the BEST i have EVER used! And I (like most people on this site I'm sure!) have a serious cosmetics obsession, so I've tried everything in my local drug store and then a few premium brands as well (KMS, Joico, Abba, Aveda, Sebastien).
Within one day of using it, my hair is notably bouncier and shinier- and within TWO days of using it, I noticed that when I caught a tangle on a brush, it had the elasticity to resist breaking/snapping [and I haven't cut my hair in months, not to mention I dye it constantly (three days ago!) so it should be brittle and ridiculous]. Anyway. This shampoo is great. Yay!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 7/2/2009 10:39:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I was having a cheap day when I picked this up for 99. I thought that it would just be a basic shampoo, nothing special, not really giving any extra volume. How wrong I was! This has left my hair bouncy, shiny and healthy looking, more so than far more expensive shampoos. I used this last night with no conditioner, and my hair is so full of volume that I am having trouble making it lie flat! My hair is very fine and to try and get it to stop laying flat is a nightmare. I will be buying this again!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Linda013 on 4/8/2009 11:41:00 AM more reviews by Linda013

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Light and fresh smelling, gentle cleaning, no flyaways....a keeper. Makes my fine hair bouncy and soft. I don't know why I try any other shampoos, because I always come back to this. Recently, I think they changed the formula, because biotin is now at the bottom of the ingredient list where it used to be in the middle and the bottle is slightly different too. I hope it continues to deliver!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nkruythoff on 3/29/2009 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Nkruythoff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Great stuff. Can't believe it's only a buck. I alternate with the Passion Fruit Smoothie because I have fine hair with oily roots and dry ends. I love it. I will definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alberto Vo5 products

More Shampoo products