Alberto Vo5 Extra Body Shampoo

4.1

61 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 12/2/2010 11:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I need a volumizing shampoo for my oily-at-the-roots, dry-at-the-ends, thick, coarse, shoulder length hair, and this was so-so. I wash my hair every other hair...this does provide minimal volume by it also seems to dry out my hair at the ends while making it sticky and a little greasy at the roots/in my bangs. (To be fair, I use a Suave strengthening shampoo mixed with this, and then diluted Suave Clarifying shampoo as well. When I use the strengthening shampoo alone, followed by the clarifying shampoo, I don't have the same squeakiness in my hair.)

EDIT: When I use this by itself, it's...ugh. When I use this, without the strengthening shampoo, it still seems to make my bangs greasy.

It might just be me--I have dry ends and oily roots after a day or so, but this was just "meh" to me. I'll use it up, but I doubt I'll repurchase.

I've used this without the clarifying shampoo as a follow-up and this still made my hair squeaky clean and harder to comb.

This is cheap, it isn't awful if you condition your hair and wash regularly, but there are probably better volumizing shampoos out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/4/2010 10:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

A dirt cheap shampoo that actually does what it says! Smells wonderful to me and leaves my hair clean, and full of body! Only costs me 84 cents! I love the conditioner too! Will always repurchase. Sometimes we get so caught up in the hype of really expensive hair products and then for some reason decide to go back to basics, only to find we've been wasting money all this time on products that are way too expensive and may or may not work. Simplify!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/9/2010 4:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
1. DIRT cheap
2. Boosts volume
3. Volumizing shampoos tend to dry hair out, but this one doesn't do it as badly as other I have tried

Cons:
1. Smell is a bit strange, however, it doesn't linger so I'm ok with that.

Great quality at an incredible price. I'm sticking with this one for the forseeable future.


on 10/2/2010 4:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Positives - cleans hair well, gives hair some volume, great price.
Negatives - I find it makes my roots oilier than normal (compared to other shampoos) by the second day and I REALLY need to wash it by then, which is not normal for me. It gives hair volume but at the expense of drying out the ends, and my hair became really static-ky (sp??). Would not repurchase.


on 5/26/2010 12:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this for 77 cents, I was not even willing to pay the usual 99 cents because I was so skeptical. This makes your hair so full, I got a compliment as soon as I stepped into work. I don't like the orange color and you need a moisturizing conditioner afterwards but otherwise it is fantastic.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

2a/m/i hair, henndigoed black. Waist length.

I like to use this in a rotation, because if I use it every wash, it can be be drying, like a clarifiying shampoo, and irritate my sensitive scalp (and bleed my indigo). The smell is almost herbally. It doesn't linger. I need just a little bit because this junk lathers like its going out of style!
One bottle lasts me about 2 months when used in rotation. Rite Aid has sales on this a lot for as low as .69 cents a bottle. Even at normal price, I spend .50 a month on shampoo. Not bad at all!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2009 8:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I live in Toronto, Canada and have typical Asian (Chinese) hair. I've had not a lot of success in finding the right shampoo to keep my hair moisturized but not heavy and greasy by the end of the day.

In Toronto the product is known as "Alberto VO5 Volume Boost Shampoo". I'm genuinely pleased with how manageable and smooth my hair is since I've been using it almost daily! I can't say that it added much volume, but for such a inexpensive (about $5.50 CDN) and excellent product, I will definitely repurchase. I'm currently not using it with the matching conditioner, but may consider doing so now.


on 9/26/2009 3:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This shampoo and matching conditioner did amazing things for my limp fine super-long hair. It made it really full, giving the illusion of more hair. The problem is it has the side effect for me of way more tangles, especially while I sleep. So I was combing tangles out for days, since I don't wash every day.

It also may look slightly less shiny when this shampoo is in effect, not sure.

Because of the tangle problem, I will only use this now and then when I have an outing where I want my hair to look fuller. Then I will probably wash it out right away to prevent breakage from the ordeal of removing tangles.

Not sure if I'll buy again because of the tangle problem. I'll say 'No' since there is no 'Maybe' here.

By the way, I'm glad they don't put formaldehyde in this product anymore! That made me stop and think years ago when I used it as a teen.


on 8/24/2009 11:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff blows my mind! It's the cheapest shampoo/conditioner you can find (even if you look in dollar stores!), and it is bar none the BEST i have EVER used! And I (like most people on this site I'm sure!) have a serious cosmetics obsession, so I've tried everything in my local drug store and then a few premium brands as well (KMS, Joico, Abba, Aveda, Sebastien).
Within one day of using it, my hair is notably bouncier and shinier- and within TWO days of using it, I noticed that when I caught a tangle on a brush, it had the elasticity to resist breaking/snapping [and I haven't cut my hair in months, not to mention I dye it constantly (three days ago!) so it should be brittle and ridiculous]. Anyway. This shampoo is great. Yay!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2009 10:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was having a cheap day when I picked this up for 99. I thought that it would just be a basic shampoo, nothing special, not really giving any extra volume. How wrong I was! This has left my hair bouncy, shiny and healthy looking, more so than far more expensive shampoos. I used this last night with no conditioner, and my hair is so full of volume that I am having trouble making it lie flat! My hair is very fine and to try and get it to stop laying flat is a nightmare. I will be buying this again!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top