Clinique • Almost Makeup [DISCONTINUED] • Liquid

rated 3.6(317 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 makeuplover66 on 11/22/2010 10:37:00 AM more reviews by makeuplover66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation a while ago and I loved it for the first couple of days! But as the day goes on with this foundation my face turns into a GREESEBALL! It was horrible!
Pros:
Packaging is nice
Cons:
Thick as heck
Oily
Smells terrible
Oxidizes

Overall- bad foundation will not repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xoxAllyxox on 11/9/2010 12:08:00 PM more reviews by xoxAllyxox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to like this. The coverage was light, the price was right and they had a shade to match me. HOWEVER there's this weird odor that lingers...I can't get past it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovecoma on 11/6/2010 5:00:00 PM more reviews by lovecoma

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this last week and have been using it for several days. For me and my sensitive skin, it usually only takes a day or less to know if I'm going to have problems. I tried the powder version first as liquids seem to give me cysts on my chin. The powder version had reflectors that made me itch so it had to go back.


I like this alot. The coverage treads the line between a tinted moisturizer and a foundation. It's sheer. It's very similar to the coverage Tarte's Smooth Operator - which also had to go back due to reflectors that cause me to itch. I have pretty good skin so I really only look for something even out my tone. It leaves my skin, which is getting quite dry with the change of season, feeling smooth and soft all day.


My only complaint is that the shades are still a bit dark. I can get away with Fair 001 but to me it's not quite a match. The SA who was testing me wanted to try the next shade up and I was wondering if she was nuts but then she tried Fair first and conceded I couldn't go darker. I did see only they have what appears to be a lighter shade "Fair Neutral" and might ask to try it after I use up this one.


All in all, I will rebuy and even though it's more than I usually pay for makeup (I'm typically a drugstore girl) I believe it's worth it and my sensitive skin seems to agree.


ETA: Stopped using because after 2 weeks use I had 2 zits on my cheeks and 1 under my eye - places I never break out. Oil free or not, I think my skin just can't handle liquid. I am saving this for special occasions though.


ETA2: Tried it again and am switching off every other day or so with my Almay Smart Shade Smart balance (which by the way, does have similar coverage and feel, if you're looking for a cheaper alternative) and my skin's doing better. I'm also using less and applying with a cosmetic wedge. I had been using my fingers and maybe to much for my skin to handle. I'm now only using about pea sized amount. If I ever manage to finish this, I would probably buy again. But I think I might try the Laura Mercier oil free TM first, if I can get past the HUGE price tag.


ETA3: This is now my TM of preference. I did buy the Laura Mercier oil free and don't care for it. I switch off between it and this and MUCH prefer the feel of this. The coverage isn't that different between the 2 with the LM being maybe slightly more. And I just read a review that says they might be DCing it! Urg!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 speedymouse on 11/2/2010 11:56:00 AM more reviews by speedymouse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

**EDIT** I've determined that it breaks me out in little white bumps all over. My skin has improved so much since I stopped using it. :(

I think I've found my HG foundation! I have it in neutral fair, and it matches my fair, yellow-toned skin well. It doesn't provide much coverage, but I use concealer over blemishes and acne marks. I'm still on the fence as to whether it breaks me out or not, but I'm leaning towards that it doesn't.
Pros:
- goes on smoothly, with no tugging
- looks and feels like a second skin
- even if I blot, it lasts all day, through workouts and rain
- sanitary packaging
- doesn't accentuate dry spots
- leaves a nice natural, dewy finish
Cons:
- price
- I wish it had higher spf

I'm not really a make-up person, so the fact that this wears like iron and I can't notice that I'm wearing it is a HUGE plus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsSexyDivine on 10/9/2010 4:52:00 PM more reviews by MsSexyDivine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

This tends to be my go to for my face, most foundations look really unnatural & cakey on me, plus I can almost never find the right shade no matter what brand I use. The sales lady at Clinique showed me this & this has been HG ever since, this product is a miracle for me, without this I'd probably have never found anything for my face.

For me this is not oily at all, but my skin is somewhat dry. If oiliness is a problem then I'd skimp a little on my moisturizer before applying this.

Overall it's a great product, it covers without being too heavy. I'm going to continue buying this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 angel411 on 10/7/2010 5:23:00 PM more reviews by angel411

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Nothing great about this foundation. You need pretty flawless skin because it's very sheer. I have oily skin and found that this did nothing to control it, and left me looking super shiny at the end of the day. Maybe if you're 13 and have a perfect face this will be good for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annetick on 9/29/2010 10:01:00 AM more reviews by annetick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my go-to products. I don't like to use heavy coverage foundations as they don't look natural and (fortunately) at my age, aren't really necessary. I do have some acne scars and freckles that could use some evening-out, however. This is a great product for keeping things light and fresh, while still providing some coverage. I also like that it is oil free and contains SPF, so it keeps me from breaking out and protects me from the sun. The light texture also makes it great for summer time.

I usually use Almost Makeup under the Clinique loose powder and it gives me a nice, smooth look that still lets me look young and fresh. I can't speak for older women who might have more wrinkles or discoloration, but I have found this to be quite an effective product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CitizenQuinn on 9/6/2010 4:56:00 PM more reviews by CitizenQuinn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

Might work for people with dry skin. This goes on unnecessarily thick while offering no coverage. Some drug store brands offer the same type of formula for much less price. As much as I love Clinique, this is a no go for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hype22 on 8/29/2010 12:14:00 AM more reviews by hype22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This could be my HG!!!! I've got oily t-zone, normal/dry cheeks, lots of acne scars and some active pimples, asian yellow undertone, big pores, uneven skin tone and small 'craters'. Got it in the shade Light and matches OK, a little bit light but I mix some yellow physicians formula concealer and use a darker powder as bronzer. I use this as a foundation because i feel like this is too much coverage to use just as a moisturizer.

Pros:
-light/medium coverage (not really medium but definitely not sheer)
-evens out skin tone very well so you only need a little concealer after and I LOVE THAT!!!
-lasts 6-8hours, one blot/powder in between
-last 4-6hours if you're doing lots of activities
-love the packaging (tube with a very small opening so you can really control how much product comes out and doesn't get messy)
-natural finish, not dewy in my opinion
-moisturizes dry areas and controls my oiliness just the sliiiightest bit
-no weird smells
-you can apply with brushes or fingers (i use fingers to apply and brushes to blend)
-only $27 at Sephora!!!!! (great price for 45mL since most foundations are 30mL and around $30-45)
-i feel like it makes my pores look smaller

Cons:
-When I first apply it looks too light on my skin but after 10-15 minutes and some bronzer, it matches my skin ok
-can get too thick quickly on skin so apply in thin layers... it will look greasy, not dewy if you apply too much
-i don't like that I have to mix it with other makeup... next shade up was too dark and pinkish (gave one less lippy for this)

This is probably one of the best everyday foundation I've ever used... HG I THINK =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rawcus on 8/19/2010 8:05:00 AM more reviews by rawcus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is what I turn to when I'm having a good skin day. I apply with my Clinique foundation brush (this makes it look way better than when I put it on with my fingers), and it gives me a dewy glow that lasts.

No, the coverage isn't heavy, but that's why it's a tinted moisturiser, not a foundation! I wouldn't use it to cover up blemishes, I use it solely to add a bit of lustre to my complexion. It is especially lovely over a good moisturiser. It blends easily, just remember to shake well before applying as it does separate. Love that it has an SPF, too! Yes it's pricey (all Clinique products are) bt it's good value for money - I've had mine over a year!

I am a BIG fan of dewy though...this isn't got anyone looking for a matte finish. Would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products