Pro Activ • Proactiv Repairing Lotion • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.3(281 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 badwolf42 on 6/12/2013 8:55:00 PM more reviews by badwolf42

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

For some reason we have an abundance of this product at my house (not the whole 3 step system, just this) I love it. I use this to spot treat breakouts and it is great. Works really quickly. Sometimes I use higher BP, but this most of the time works great. I would never use it as a lotion, my skin is not that bad and would dry out like crazy. But for the miscellaneous blemish, this is great. We have a little set up at the mall where I live, so I never have had to order it online, but like I said we have like 5 packages both normal and travel sizes. The smell is bad, but I don't care. What works works, and this works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HailiyeiWilson on 6/4/2013 7:25:00 PM more reviews by HailiyeiWilson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Reparing Treatment BURNS. Do not use too much, you will turn into a lobster and/or your face will feel like it is melting off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dsmith16 on 4/18/2013 10:33:00 AM more reviews by dsmith16

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This product works somewhat. However, their customer service is the worst in the world. They are the most incompetent people I have ever dealt with. I have tried to change my address with them for 6 months because. I call all the time and they reassure me they have changed it but to no avail. I moved, and they still send products to the the old address. I then, talked to some random representative that said my account was inactive. Once I spoke to a supervisor he told me that was done in error. They need more training and I am so surprised how poor their service is. I have canceled my account due to the customer service. You must have a lot of patience if you are going to order and have an account with them.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupAddictedArtist on 4/16/2013 10:33:00 PM more reviews by MakeupAddictedArtist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I do not use the entire 3-step system but I do use this alone on my chin and its the ONLY product that has completely stopped my chin break-outs. Love it!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kimouna on 4/9/2013 3:11:00 PM more reviews by Kimouna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

WHILE THE PRODUCT ITSELF IS GREAT (IN MY EXPERIENCE), THE COMPANY IS HORRIBLE AND THEY WILL TRY TO SCAM YOU, SO BE WARE!!

I first bought Proactiv in a kiosk and really enjoyed the product. But then when I purchased another set of products online, I started to receive all kinds of products (and be charged for them) that I never ordered.

When I called them to ask how this could be done without my authorization, they told me that when I purchased the initial product online, the web site informed me that I had to become a member (which costs over $70 and includes periodic deliveries). I am positive that I would not have signed up if I was informed of this.

It took me forever to even reach someone on the phone because there were always technical difficulties when I tried to inquire by email. And often their web page wouldn't even work. Just google it and you'll finds TONS of other reviews just like this one, of bad customer service, unauthorized charges, etc.

I am very disappointed in this company's deceptive ways, especially since I really liked the product itself. I'll never buy it again and will dissuade anyone who asks me from ever supporting them in the future. It's too bad because they probably would do just fine by selling the product in an honest way, because it actually works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JuliaK on 4/2/2013 12:28:00 AM more reviews by JuliaK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I am 32 years old and using proactive on and off for 12 years now. 

One note about Proactiv ingredients. These products contain parabens, added fragrance, petrochemicals and an ingredient called benzoyl peroxide that kills bacteria and increases cell turnover by PEELING  the top layer of skin. Benzoyl peroxide is the ingredient causing the frustrating bleaching of towels.


 So....here you go. Dry and peeling skin is  A SIDE EFFECT of using ANY product with Benzoyl peroxide ..

I stopped  using Proactive 2 years ago , as i was tired of dealing with flaking skin every single day .  But my acne came back in most horrible way . I tried everything , spent A LOT of money on dermatologist ...results were less then perfect .  About 3 month ago , I went back to Proactive . And just like that ...clear skin ....peeling and dry .....but acne free .

If you want to keep your acne under control ....you just have to deal with dryness and peeling of the skin ......it is medicated product and it has it's own side effects . Period. 


This time around I decided to use only 2 products in my regiment instead of all 3 ...Toner and repairing treatment ....it is all that I need.  I do not use the cleaner as I found it to be too harsh for my skin . I use good oil free moisturizer and sunscreen to keep up with flaky skin ....and yes , I will keep using Proactive as long as my skin needs benzoyl peroxide .  


Overall....It is not a miracle product ....it will not work for everyone ...it does have side effects , BUT....if you are suffering with acne , please give it a try . What do you have to lose ? If it doesn't work ....stop using it . Just know it works for some of us ;)  

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sarah1325 on 3/7/2013 11:08:00 AM more reviews by Sarah1325

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had no reaction to it. But I also think it hasn't done anything at all. I now use benzaclin (prescription). Using this on its own hasn't shown results but when used with the other steps its okay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sealight on 3/5/2013 1:13:00 PM more reviews by sealight

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

It's a decent product. I'm not sure why it's causing a burning sensation on other reviewers but I never had that problem.
It works (well the whole system) really well on my older brother who has/had severe acne. And i used this guy every time I have pimples and acne problems and it worked for me as well. But it wasn't a life saver (this I attribute to Proactiv's Sulfur mask, oil control mask and Accutane)

I did notice with regular use that my skin was getting darker though. But I didn't start using SS until very recently.

So overall, if you want to give it a try, go for it. I believe it does work but does lose it's potency over time(keep an eye on the expiration). And everyone is different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sam3215 on 1/29/2013 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Sam3215

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

It burns so bad! I immediatly have to wash it off. It makes my face all red. Its full of chemicals that cause aging. Not at all good for your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rachel03 on 1/25/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by rachel03

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It buuuuuuuuuuurns your face. Sort of helps with breakouts but the difference is pretty insignificant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Treatments (Face) products