Pro Activ Proactiv Repairing Lotion

3.3

282 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: benzoyl peroxide 2.5%. Inactive Ingredients: water (aqua), cyclomethicone, ethoxydiglycol, propylene glycol, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, cetearyl alcohol, dimethicone, panthenol, allantoin, carbomer, ceteareth-20, xanthan gum, triethanolamine, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).


on 8/4/2013 7:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i bought the cleanser, toner, mask, lotion. cost me about $40 CAD . i didnt buy the full sized ones, thank god. this ruined my skin. it made my skin worse. dried out my skin. ripped all the natural oils of my skin, making it oily after i stopped using it. this caused MORE pimples. didnt prevent or diminish any acne at all. do not buy this. its a waste of money.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have been suffering from pimples since i was a teenager....and im 39 now so one can imagine the irritation.... what i had was not really acne or a cluster of pimples, but just the one to three odd breakouts across the face that would leave a black scar for over 2 months before fading out....i infact had to grow a stubble to cover all the black scars...

being in dubai during summers can play havoc with your skin...it makes it unbearably oily which results in more breakouts...in the summer months i would dread waking up and seeing one new big red pimple somewhere on my face... my cupboard was full of acne treating products from Clearasil to Retino A and many others... all just helped in drying out the pimple, but i was getting nowhere in stopping new ones from emerging...

i walked into a boots store one day to pick up something and i accidentally came across the proactiv system that i had seen on tv...i picked up the 1 month treatment with a lot of skepticism...

this review is just 2 weeks into the product so i hope what im saying holds good for longer :)

i see an unbelievable change in my pimples suddenly....new ones have stopped almost 95% and the ones that are still coming are only very small ones that vanish in a day....i have been religiously following the 3 step regimen and i find the toner particularly good - i use a lot of other toner brands but the proactiv toner has an amazing effect. even after scrubbing my skin clean with the proactiv facewash, the toner gets the cotton pad dark after rubbing it...this makes me feel that the proactiv toner works better cleansing deep into the pores

the sulfur mask is also amazing...i use it 3 times a week atleast and it has a superb drying effect on my oily skin...my pores look really refined and small now and i have been shaving everyday as all my pimples have vanished....pray to god that this continues...

having lived with zits for so many years, i can feel the real difference with this product... im off to boots again today to buy the 3 month pack.....the damn thing is really expensive, but if it helps me knock off my zits i would not mind paying..though i may shift the brand after my acne issue is solved....

the product works wonders for me... i guess it really works for those who have oily skin....i have been seeing a lot of reviews on how it dries skin...this is perfect for me!!!!

the bottomline is that it is perhaps important to do the 3 step process without fail and use the sulfur mask a few times each week. i really dunno which part of the 3 step process is working for me, hence i have decided to put aside those 10 valuable minutes twice each day :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2013 8:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Green

For some reason we have an abundance of this product at my house (not the whole 3 step system, just this) I love it. I use this to spot treat breakouts and it is great. Works really quickly. Sometimes I use higher BP, but this most of the time works great. I would never use it as a lotion, my skin is not that bad and would dry out like crazy. But for the miscellaneous blemish, this is great. We have a little set up at the mall where I live, so I never have had to order it online, but like I said we have like 5 packages both normal and travel sizes. The smell is bad, but I don't care. What works works, and this works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The Reparing Treatment BURNS. Do not use too much, you will turn into a lobster and/or your face will feel like it is melting off.


on 4/18/2013 10:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product works somewhat. However, their customer service is the worst in the world. They are the most incompetent people I have ever dealt with. I have tried to change my address with them for 6 months because. I call all the time and they reassure me they have changed it but to no avail. I moved, and they still send products to the the old address. I then, talked to some random representative that said my account was inactive. Once I spoke to a supervisor he told me that was done in error. They need more training and I am so surprised how poor their service is. I have canceled my account due to the customer service. You must have a lot of patience if you are going to order and have an account with them.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2013 3:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

WHILE THE PRODUCT ITSELF IS GREAT (IN MY EXPERIENCE), THE COMPANY IS HORRIBLE AND THEY WILL TRY TO SCAM YOU, SO BE WARE!!

I first bought Proactiv in a kiosk and really enjoyed the product. But then when I purchased another set of products online, I started to receive all kinds of products (and be charged for them) that I never ordered.

When I called them to ask how this could be done without my authorization, they told me that when I purchased the initial product online, the web site informed me that I had to become a member (which costs over $70 and includes periodic deliveries). I am positive that I would not have signed up if I was informed of this.

It took me forever to even reach someone on the phone because there were always technical difficulties when I tried to inquire by email. And often their web page wouldn't even work. Just google it and you'll finds TONS of other reviews just like this one, of bad customer service, unauthorized charges, etc.

I am very disappointed in this company's deceptive ways, especially since I really liked the product itself. I'll never buy it again and will dissuade anyone who asks me from ever supporting them in the future. It's too bad because they probably would do just fine by selling the product in an honest way, because it actually works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2013 12:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I am 32 years old and using proactive on and off for 12 years now. 

One note about Proactiv ingredients. These products contain parabens, added fragrance, petrochemicals and an ingredient called benzoyl peroxide that kills bacteria and increases cell turnover by PEELING  the top layer of skin. Benzoyl peroxide is the ingredient causing the frustrating bleaching of towels.


 So....here you go. Dry and peeling skin is  A SIDE EFFECT of using ANY product with Benzoyl peroxide ..

I stopped  using Proactive 2 years ago , as i was tired of dealing with flaking skin every single day .  But my acne came back in most horrible way . I tried everything , spent A LOT of money on dermatologist ...results were less then perfect .  About 3 month ago , I went back to Proactive . And just like that ...clear skin ....peeling and dry .....but acne free .

If you want to keep your acne under control ....you just have to deal with dryness and peeling of the skin ......it is medicated product and it has it's own side effects . Period. 


This time around I decided to use only 2 products in my regiment instead of all 3 ...Toner and repairing treatment ....it is all that I need.  I do not use the cleaner as I found it to be too harsh for my skin . I use good oil free moisturizer and sunscreen to keep up with flaky skin ....and yes , I will keep using Proactive as long as my skin needs benzoyl peroxide .  


Overall....It is not a miracle product ....it will not work for everyone ...it does have side effects , BUT....if you are suffering with acne , please give it a try . What do you have to lose ? If it doesn't work ....stop using it . Just know it works for some of us ;)  

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2013 11:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've had no reaction to it. But I also think it hasn't done anything at all. I now use benzaclin (prescription). Using this on its own hasn't shown results but when used with the other steps its okay.


on 3/5/2013 1:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's a decent product. I'm not sure why it's causing a burning sensation on other reviewers but I never had that problem.
It works (well the whole system) really well on my older brother who has/had severe acne. And i used this guy every time I have pimples and acne problems and it worked for me as well. But it wasn't a life saver (this I attribute to Proactiv's Sulfur mask, oil control mask and Accutane)

I did notice with regular use that my skin was getting darker though. But I didn't start using SS until very recently.

So overall, if you want to give it a try, go for it. I believe it does work but does lose it's potency over time(keep an eye on the expiration). And everyone is different.


on 1/29/2013 10:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It burns so bad! I immediatly have to wash it off. It makes my face all red. Its full of chemicals that cause aging. Not at all good for your skin.


Top Rated Treatments (Face)

Back to Top