Pro Activ • Proactiv Repairing Lotion • Treatments

rated 3.3(278 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MakeupAddictedArtist on 4/16/2013 10:33:00 PM more reviews by MakeupAddictedArtist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I do not use the entire 3-step system but I do use this alone on my chin and its the ONLY product that has completely stopped my chin break-outs. Love it!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kimouna on 4/9/2013 3:11:00 PM more reviews by Kimouna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

WHILE THE PRODUCT ITSELF IS GREAT (IN MY EXPERIENCE), THE COMPANY IS HORRIBLE AND THEY WILL TRY TO SCAM YOU, SO BE WARE!!

I first bought Proactiv in a kiosk and really enjoyed the product. But then when I purchased another set of products online, I started to receive all kinds of products (and be charged for them) that I never ordered.

When I called them to ask how this could be done without my authorization, they told me that when I purchased the initial product online, the web site informed me that I had to become a member (which costs over $70 and includes periodic deliveries). I am positive that I would not have signed up if I was informed of this.

It took me forever to even reach someone on the phone because there were always technical difficulties when I tried to inquire by email. And often their web page wouldn't even work. Just google it and you'll finds TONS of other reviews just like this one, of bad customer service, unauthorized charges, etc.

I am very disappointed in this company's deceptive ways, especially since I really liked the product itself. I'll never buy it again and will dissuade anyone who asks me from ever supporting them in the future. It's too bad because they probably would do just fine by selling the product in an honest way, because it actually works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JuliaK on 4/2/2013 12:28:00 AM more reviews by JuliaK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I am 32 years old and using proactive on and off for 12 years now. 

One note about Proactiv ingredients. These products contain parabens, added fragrance, petrochemicals and an ingredient called benzoyl peroxide that kills bacteria and increases cell turnover by PEELING  the top layer of skin. Benzoyl peroxide is the ingredient causing the frustrating bleaching of towels.


 So....here you go. Dry and peeling skin is  A SIDE EFFECT of using ANY product with Benzoyl peroxide ..

I stopped  using Proactive 2 years ago , as i was tired of dealing with flaking skin every single day .  But my acne came back in most horrible way . I tried everything , spent A LOT of money on dermatologist ...results were less then perfect .  About 3 month ago , I went back to Proactive . And just like that ...clear skin ....peeling and dry .....but acne free .

If you want to keep your acne under control ....you just have to deal with dryness and peeling of the skin ......it is medicated product and it has it's own side effects . Period. 


This time around I decided to use only 2 products in my regiment instead of all 3 ...Toner and repairing treatment ....it is all that I need.  I do not use the cleaner as I found it to be too harsh for my skin . I use good oil free moisturizer and sunscreen to keep up with flaky skin ....and yes , I will keep using Proactive as long as my skin needs benzoyl peroxide .  


Overall....It is not a miracle product ....it will not work for everyone ...it does have side effects , BUT....if you are suffering with acne , please give it a try . What do you have to lose ? If it doesn't work ....stop using it . Just know it works for some of us ;)  

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sarah1325 on 3/7/2013 11:08:00 AM more reviews by Sarah1325

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had no reaction to it. But I also think it hasn't done anything at all. I now use benzaclin (prescription). Using this on its own hasn't shown results but when used with the other steps its okay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sealight on 3/5/2013 1:13:00 PM more reviews by sealight

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

It's a decent product. I'm not sure why it's causing a burning sensation on other reviewers but I never had that problem.
It works (well the whole system) really well on my older brother who has/had severe acne. And i used this guy every time I have pimples and acne problems and it worked for me as well. But it wasn't a life saver (this I attribute to Proactiv's Sulfur mask, oil control mask and Accutane)

I did notice with regular use that my skin was getting darker though. But I didn't start using SS until very recently.

So overall, if you want to give it a try, go for it. I believe it does work but does lose it's potency over time(keep an eye on the expiration). And everyone is different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sam3215 on 1/29/2013 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Sam3215

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

It burns so bad! I immediatly have to wash it off. It makes my face all red. Its full of chemicals that cause aging. Not at all good for your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rachel03 on 1/25/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by rachel03

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It buuuuuuuuuuurns your face. Sort of helps with breakouts but the difference is pretty insignificant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tearbag1969 on 1/13/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Tearbag1969

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Nothing special about thus product. It is no different than lotions you can buy at the drugstore. Also (and most importantly) the company that sells Proactiv engages in deceptive and fraudulent practices. If you order from them, you are automatically enrolled in a membership and will be charged $ 30 or more monthly. They make it next to impossible to cancel. Search the web and you will find hundreds if complaints from consumers who continued to be charged for months or years after they cancelled. Very few people were issued a refund when they sent products back. Take my advice and stay away from anything distributed by Guthy Renker (proactive, wen, sheer cover to name a few)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 missidek on 1/11/2013 12:41:00 AM more reviews by missidek

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have to agree with everyone on this product. Overpriced for what it is and I'm a little concerned with the long-term effects. I'm actually in the process of weaning myself off of this for good (if you stop cold-turkey, be ready for massive breakouts like everyone else has mentioned. I tried once before and panicked when I broke out so I was forced to start using it again.)
I actually have never had terrible skin but way back when, I decided that I would try this to take care of the odd blemish. Big mistake because I believe what happens is that the BP/repairing lotion almost becomes an addiction for your skin and disrupts the natural detoxification your body needs to go through. As a result, cysts have begun to appear instead of that odd blemish. Now, in all fairness, I don't know if I can blame Proactiv completely (since I have also read about hormones/stress being a possible cause) but at the same time, I have to say that I do find it strange that more than one person has claimed the same thing after using Proactiv for more than a year. (I've been using it for 5 years!) Interesting that we all have come to the same conclusion in time. Another issue for me is the dryness/redness it causes. If only I could turn back time and tell my younger self not to buy this. Anyway, I do not recommend this for anyone. I suppose Benzoyl Peroxide does help control oil to some extent but overall I think Proactiv causes more harm than good and in no way is it the be all and end all of clear skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alrynlds on 11/30/2012 11:07:00 PM more reviews by alrynlds

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Over counter works just as good and for a lot less. I would not recommend nor buy this product or their vitamins again..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Treatments products