NARS Bali

4.7

35 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/20/2011 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this for my brows! Really natural on girls with dark brown to black hair! It's also pretty decent as a wet liner or just to give the eyes some depth without going smokey-eye. Would definitely recommend but not buy again since I don't think I'll be running out of this any time soon...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 4/18/2011 9:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A girl at the NARS counter recommended this for my eyebrows. She applied it for me, and I was sold. It was a perfect color match for me, but more importantly for a review; it looked natural and blended easily. I apply it with a eyeliner brush. Sometimes I also use it as a liner or shadow. It's not cheap, but I think this will last me a year!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2011 3:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I use this to cover my grey when I am overdue for colour. My hairdresser told me about it - and she works on top celebrities in NYC. I have ashy brown hair which is highlighted. I use a contour brush and it looks fantastic.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2011 8:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the shadow I go back to again and again. I like to use it as a daytime tightliner, smudged into the crease, with either Edie or Abyssinia. It is gorgeous and subtle.


on 11/20/2009 9:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I haven't been a fan in the past of NARS shadows, but after shopping around a bit I bought several of them recently and am very pleased. Bali is a matte dark neutral/cool brown which looks great in the crease. I wear very neutral makeup and was looking for something polished but conservative for work. I wound up with all about eve all over, cairo on the lid (also great) and bali in the crease. I also wet a brush and use bali as a liner. The shadow looks great on skin. Other brands can look chalky, or too thick/unnatural (MAC is like this on me). For such a dark color, it blends so well and really enhances my dark brown eyes. I am glad I have revisited this brand. The shadows are so much better than I remember that I am wondering if there has been a change in formula since I tried them last. Only negative is the packaging which gets dingy looking quickly and feels cheap when opening/closing. But, who cares when it looks so pretty on?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2009 4:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am japanese so my eyebrows grow out black but my hair is dyed dark brown. I thought an eyebrow pencil was the way to go..but when I went to the NARS counter, the lady recommended me THIS product instead. According to her, all I needed was something to color in my eyebrows and give it more of a defined look. I was skeptical at first just because of the price..but I ended up buying it anyways.

I am so happy I picked this up! It makes a huge difference in photos and it stays put all day!

I would recommend this as an eyebrow liner :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2009 9:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this in my crease with almost every neutral look I do. I always like to have a deepened crease, but without looking over done. It seems to go with every color from greys, browns, peaches, beiges, taupes, greens and even some pinks and purples. I use this every single day.

However, I discovered that MAC Concrete is a near exact dupe of this, for a fraction of the cost. I own both now, and I see no difference in texture, blendability (blends smoothly seamlessly), and lasting power.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2009 9:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my most used Nars eyeshadow. Its described on the Nars website as a neutral taupe which i think is quite accurate. The colour is a dark greyish brown. I use this to line my eyes when I don't want the harshness of black especially during the day. It is also one of my favourite crease colours and as an added bonus its also a great brow colour. I think some Nars shadows are a bit of a disappointment but this one is a winner in my opinon. Oh and I love the packaging of the Nars Singles - too cute!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2008 4:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this shadow! Bali is a dark gray with possible some brown tones. Definitely cool-toned, and I find it works great smudged around eyes as liner that is smokey but not over the top. Many people like this with a full on grey or smokey eye look, but I actually like to combine it with a bronzey or gold wash shade for a striking look (like UD Toasted or Kalahari I). I have this in the Nars Best palette. The Nars eyeshadow singles are sort of pricey, so I was glad I got the chance to try this in a palette before buying. It also works well as a brow color.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2008 3:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

this is one of my favorite neutral shadows... i was looking for a matte greyish brown to use in a smokey eye for my best friends wedding, and this shadow turned out to be exactly what i was looking for... my dress was a dark truffle brown and i didnt exactly want my makeup to match... i paired it with just a hint of brown (matte as well) and a nice shimmery olive green..


like one of the previous reviewers, i also like to use this over a black eyeliner to get that smoked out/smudged effect for everyday neutral looks... it softens out that harsh edge the black would have by itself, but its just dark enough to blend well with it... if youre into smokey eyes this is a must have in your makeup it... it adds great dimension to flat and harsh blacks

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
image

Exhibit A

358 reviews
Back to Top