MAC • Satin - Shale • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(331 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 8/25/2012 6:21:00 AM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Shale is not a very common color, a mixture of lavender purple, gray and a tad silver. I like it on it's own as a lid color, safe but not boring. You can add some purple or gray eye liner to play with the color, very flattering for green/hazel eyes.
Just keep in mind: use a primer underneath and apply with a dense brush to avoid pigmentation issues!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 songbirdie on 8/17/2012 12:50:00 PM more reviews by songbirdie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I first saw this colour on a Pixiwoo tutorial and knew I had to have it. After reading the other reviews about it having terrible pigmentation and a chalky consistency, I almost changed my mind. Personally, I find colour pay off is very, very good and the shadow is very silky. The only thing I would suggest is that if you have Satin Taupe, compare the two side by side before purchasing Shale - I have them both and they are really almost identical, especially if you have a smaller collection of eyeshadows like myself!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 summerlightnights on 8/12/2012 8:02:00 PM more reviews by summerlightnights

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up at my local counter today after a MUA on MAC's live chat recommended this to me. At first I was skeptical about getting it because every time I swatch it in the store there is hardly any color payoff. I ended up getting it anyways knowing I could return/exchange it. So I swatched it a few minutes after I got it and the pigmentation was excellent! The texture is so smooth and buttery. It's a medium plummy, lavender taupe color on my NC30 skin. I put this in my crease and paired it with all that glitters on the lid, handwritten on my outer v and lash line, and orb as a highlight. Handwritten looks so gorgeous with it because the warm undertones brings out shale's cool undertones. Also, if you have brown eyes then this is a must have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellokittybrock on 7/29/2012 1:56:00 AM more reviews by hellokittybrock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I returned my LE es Performance Art to Mac bcos it turned moldy. In return i exchanged for Shale and couldnt been more pleased. I have been thinking of getting Shale for the longest time and was tempted of getting an LE due to its rarity. I was wrong! Shale is pigmented and such a nice blending color. Creates a nice smoky eye and I def recommend getting this. It has a purplish tone to it and some might think of it as bruise. LOL It is more of a crease than a lid color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BizzyBunny on 5/10/2012 6:24:00 PM more reviews by BizzyBunny

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Shale. Its a pro type of shade. Its not glamerous, in your face eyeshadow but it does enhance hazel eyes and sophistocated color choice. I will say mine is fine to apply but sometimes you can get an old one and then theyre tough to get on evenly. If that happens to you RETURN it immediately.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gojiberry on 3/31/2012 3:19:00 AM more reviews by gojiberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

One of my favorite eyeshadows. I'm surprised by the negative reviews here. I have had 0 issues with the texture of Shale. Mine is pigmented and applies smoothly to the eyelid as a taupe with plum undertones with slight shimmer. Great for day or night wear. I give it 4/5 because it does not provide the multidimension of the similarly colored shadow in the Dior Crush Glow quad. That one has a creamier and silkier, more multidimensional quality. Shale is decent though and the color emphasizes the green in my hazel eyes. I like Shale as a crease color but my favorite way to wear it is over the entire lid with black winged out liner and mascara. Pretty, easy look.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Spurklie on 3/15/2012 1:36:00 PM more reviews by Spurklie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to love Shale. The colour is great, a very wearable cool-toned lilac purple, but it is one of the most difficult shadows to work with from MAC that I own.


It does not blend. Like, at all. It needs a *lot* of work with the 217 and a good transition colour like Wedge to make the crease look at all respectable. And I always need to reapply colour on the lid as it looks really patchy no matter how well I pat it on. Considering this is a Satin e/s it should really perform better than this. I do wear it, because the colour is very pretty, but I just don't like the effort that it requires for the payoff.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Olivine on 1/24/2012 1:14:00 PM more reviews by Olivine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Shale is (unfortunately) one of theose eyeshadow shades that looks super pretty in the pot but doesn't look so good on the eyes. The colour is super pretty; a soft, medium plum with taupe undertones and a bit of shimmer to spice it up a bit. I thought it would be a great everyday colour as while the shade is in the purple family it's very subtle. Great idea to perk up brown eyes instead of boring brown neutrals right? Wrong. Sadly, Shale just doesn't work on me. The shadow applies very chalky on me and the purple tones in it faded away into a dull, gray mess as I blended it. It looked like a splotchy bruise on my eyelid and it flaked on me too. I wouldn't recommend this nor would I repurchase it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cmalone29 on 1/14/2012 9:26:00 PM more reviews by cmalone29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I had such high hopes for this eye shadow, it looked like the perfect everyday purple I could use to enhance my green eyes.
I first applied this over UDPP and then later over bare study paint pot and could not get the color to show up. I read that some people had to scrape off the top layer of the shadow to get it to work, and two scrapings later still nothing! The color was lacking in pigment and when I could get some color payoff it would fade within the hour.
This was the first product I ever returned to MAC... I would not recomend this shadow to anyone!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 1/3/2012 12:09:00 AM more reviews by nola80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I could like this color but it just won't show up on me! for ref I'm NC42 and even with a light base under it's still very sheer. I have to really pack this on and the payoff is still so so. I love purples and or purple undertone eyeshadows but MAC just can't seem to get purples right in my opinion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products