MAC Satin - Shale

4.2

335 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, coconut oil, beeswax, hydrogenated castor oil, tocopheryl acetate, vitamin E


on 5/31/2013 8:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is probably one of my top 10 MAC eyeshadows, after purchasing saddle and being greatly disappointed I decided to give shale a try. A unique colour, a browny ashy purple goes on the lid and crease would definitely buy again worth every $

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/20/2013 7:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My fav mac eyeshadow gorgeous dark purpleish shade I would deft repurchase HG staus!!!!


on 3/27/2013 11:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great neutral to have on hand. On my brown eyes, pale ivory skin, it is a nice smoky brownish purple. APplication is great, it goes where I want it and stays. Nice for work because it isnt a bold color or sparkly. Also could smoke it up for nighttime. Great for crease color and corner V for me.


on 11/5/2012 2:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

After coming to grips that MAC discontinued my favorite shade of eyeshadow called Velour, I was on the hunt to find a greyish/brownish purple and this was as close as I came. I think on my green eyes its very flattering. Its not Velour but its close!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2012 3:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Applies patchy and has a chalky appearance. Not worth purchasing.


on 8/25/2012 6:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Shale is not a very common color, a mixture of lavender purple, gray and a tad silver. I like it on it's own as a lid color, safe but not boring. You can add some purple or gray eye liner to play with the color, very flattering for green/hazel eyes.
Just keep in mind: use a primer underneath and apply with a dense brush to avoid pigmentation issues!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2012 12:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I first saw this colour on a Pixiwoo tutorial and knew I had to have it. After reading the other reviews about it having terrible pigmentation and a chalky consistency, I almost changed my mind. Personally, I find colour pay off is very, very good and the shadow is very silky. The only thing I would suggest is that if you have Satin Taupe, compare the two side by side before purchasing Shale - I have them both and they are really almost identical, especially if you have a smaller collection of eyeshadows like myself!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I picked this up at my local counter today after a MUA on MAC's live chat recommended this to me. At first I was skeptical about getting it because every time I swatch it in the store there is hardly any color payoff. I ended up getting it anyways knowing I could return/exchange it. So I swatched it a few minutes after I got it and the pigmentation was excellent! The texture is so smooth and buttery. It's a medium plummy, lavender taupe color on my NC30 skin. I put this in my crease and paired it with all that glitters on the lid, handwritten on my outer v and lash line, and orb as a highlight. Handwritten looks so gorgeous with it because the warm undertones brings out shale's cool undertones. Also, if you have brown eyes then this is a must have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I returned my LE es Performance Art to Mac bcos it turned moldy. In return i exchanged for Shale and couldnt been more pleased. I have been thinking of getting Shale for the longest time and was tempted of getting an LE due to its rarity. I was wrong! Shale is pigmented and such a nice blending color. Creates a nice smoky eye and I def recommend getting this. It has a purplish tone to it and some might think of it as bruise. LOL It is more of a crease than a lid color.


on 5/10/2012 6:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Shale. Its a pro type of shade. Its not glamerous, in your face eyeshadow but it does enhance hazel eyes and sophistocated color choice. I will say mine is fine to apply but sometimes you can get an old one and then theyre tough to get on evenly. If that happens to you RETURN it immediately.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top