Dr. Hauschka Cleansing Clay Mask

4.0

81 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Loess (Clay), Tropaeolum Majus (Indian Cress/Nasturtium) Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch 5/29/09


on 12/19/2011 2:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The best mask I have ever used for my oily, acne-prone skin. And I am a pretty lazy person when it comes to weekly routine like masks -- can never remember or even when I do can't be bothered. But Dr H's clay mask's makes my skin feel so good after applying that I will go through the trouble a few times a week just to make my skin happy! Skin feels clean, purified and calmed/soothed. I can imagine my skin thanking me for the extra effort.
On my 2nd refill. The heavy jar actually keeps the powder sterile. Can sometimes be tricky to add the right amount of water to achieve the right consistency.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/7/2011 10:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am skeptical of facial masks in terms of results, but I like Dr. H, so I decided to give this one a shot. I like this mask better than most, but I am still skeptical. It feels really nice (and I suppose that is part of the point) but afterward didn't notice much difference. I would probably buy it again when I am feeling a mask mode again.


on 12/4/2011 10:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm on my second jar now, and I really like this mask. It removes excess oil without dehydrating my skin. I use it straight after I scrubbed myself in the shower, I've never tried to steam before use. But it works wonders any way! My face feels smooth and matte after use. It doesn't itch or burn either, so I'm happy!


on 10/6/2011 1:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am on my second refill. For this to really work you NEED to steam your face before applying. Prepare the mask mixture before steeming so you can put it right on.

Mask is not meant to dry. You can re-wet it if you want an extra good cleaning.

I do it like this: Cleanse face with the cleansing cream, steam face (with regular boiled water poured in a glass boil, with a tiwel over my head) for at least 15 minutes (you feel when face is ready).
Apply the already prepared clay mask, wait ten minutes, re-wet, wait five then wash off. HELLO CLEAN FACE!

Nothing has ever worked for my many blackheads on nose but this helps me keep them few, small and in periods unnoticeable. You can't ask for more than that.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 7/23/2011 10:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This mask does wonders for my oily skin. I didn't look up reviews and thought it was a paste mask so I had no idea what to do after I realized it was powder. This was expensive already and I didn't want to invest in the Facial Steam Bath recommended in the directions but I read some reviews and saw that you can a few drops of water or toner. I've been using it 3x a week (it's summertime), and my oily skin actually feels normal! I'm not sure on how well it's cleaning the pores, but I love that it balances out my oilyness without drying out skin, calms down redness and makes my skin feels soft and clean. I'm very impressed!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have no other clay mask experience to compare it with, but it does its job wonderfully for oily and acne-prone skins.

I use it once a week, usually before shower and let it sit for 10 minutes. I always find it funny how it makes my face all stiff after a few minutes and how I avoid to laugh when I have it on, ah ah! I have been trying it with and without the facial steam bath before but haven't noticed any major differences.

Immediate results, however, are pretty impressive. The skin feels deeply purified and the pores are less visible (especially on my nose), which means significantly reduced. I believe the facial steam bath adds a little oomph to the mask, but it's just too much of a hassle for me. Again, I'm lazy and I hate to stay still so I'm no reference.

The product is expensive but it's fairly covered by its luxurious packaging (heavy ceramic jar), the "ecolonomic" refill system and its efficiency. Would repurchase for sure.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been using the Dr. Hauschka daily moisturizer and it's been absolutely perfect, so I thought I'd give this clay mask a try. I've used various clay masks - from the cheap Queen Helene to NARS, etc. NARS was my favorite, but I am loving the Dr. Hauschka.

It comes in a heavy ceramic jar as powder and you have to measure out and mix it with water (putting a small amount of toner in the mixture is also fabulous). It is a bit annoying to mix it, but its a sacrifice worth making as the mask is fantastic. I have normal skin, dry in the winter, and I leave on the mask for about 10 minutes. It exfoliates and removes all impurities. I have no had any breakouts from using this, but I can see how some people who are not used to intense clay masks can have some purging. I normally slather some La Mer on as my night cream after using this as it can leave my skin dry.

This mask, the daily Dr Haushka moisturizer, and the La Mer in combination has given me the best skin of my life. I would give this a 5 but it is pretty expensive and slightly inconvenient as you have to mix it up.


on 2/9/2011 5:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like the instant result i get after the mask but may not purchase again as I think product is over-priced. I use this mask after facial steam bath, prep the mask in advance by mixing with water. The mask can be messy upon application (use a brush for easier application) and rinsing off, but reveal instant result with my complexion appearing fairer and radiance which last for less than a day. It's not a convenient to use product in my opinion (comparing to Queen Helene mask in a tube) I find it a hassle that i need to get a mask bowl & brush, get the product out (in powder form), mix with liquid to combine into paste.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2010 3:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This mask works nicely as a light exfoliator but that's about it. It comes as powder and you mix a bit of water and toner in it to form a paste. In my opinion, the mask isn't all that special and you can buy similar clay masks for a lot cheaper from other organic brands. Not very special, over-priced but exfoliates gently.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/10/2010 10:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been a big fan of Dr Hauschka for some time however this, the steam bath & the rose light day cream are my absolute fav's of their range.

This clay mask is the best for general rejuvenation & removal of stubborn dirt, black heads, white heads etc. It really does work really well especially when combined with the steam bath heated up slightly. I use a facial steam with a teaspoon of steam bath in the water & then after the steaming for 5 minutes I use the remaining water mixed in with the clay mask & leave this on for a further 5 or so minutes. MAGIC !!! Clear, radiant skin!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4237 Reviews
Back to Top