Biologique Recherche Lotion P50

4.4

107 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Purified water (Aqua), Glycerin, Lactic Acid, Usnic Acid, Witch Hazel extract (Hamamelis Virginiana), Myrrh extract (Commiphora Myrrha), Myrtle extract (Mytrus Communis), Onion extract (Allium Cepa), Sage extract (Salvia Hispanica), Ascorbic Acid, Niacinamide, Polysorbate 80 (&) Sulphur, Phenol (banned in some countries so absent in the product there).


on 4/7/2015 7:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought a bottle of this a few months ago(P50W) and it has had a huge affect on the appearance of my skin. I do suffer from acne breakouts(mainly on my chin area). Since using this product i have only had about 4/5 spots over the last 5 months. My skin is very clear, i have no problem going out in public with a bare face as my natural skin is beautiful.
I never taught i had a problem with enlarged pores, but it is still amazing the affect this has had on my skin(non problem areas) and the brightening affect, i've been able to change my foundation and wear sheer formulas. My skin is better now than when i was 20.
Only negative i can think of is the smell, but that disappears straight away and is actually comforting in that you know your not getting a product bleached and perfumed.
Since i am using the P50W i don't find it has much of a tingle/burn. Next bottle i will probably try the P50 as i believe the P50W is for more sensitive skin/first time users. I bought my bottle in the Biologique Recherche on the Champs Eyleese and this is what they recommended to me for first time use.
I don't see myself demoting this from my skin care routine probably ever. I'm totally converted to acid exfoliators.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/5/2015 6:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to hate this product. It's ridiculously expensive, smells terrible, hard to find online...but it's my HG and I'm in love.

I have super acne-prone, sensitive skin, and I've battled breakouts since I was 12 years old. For the past year, my skin freaked out and tons of little clogged pores and huge cysts would appear every day. I tried EVERYTHING - benzoyl peroxide, salicylic acid, AHA, BHA, lactic acid, peels, masks, completely changed my diet...but none worked and kept my skin happy. Until I found Biologique Recherche Lotion P50 (I buy the original with phenol).

It's been almost 4 months now, and my skin has never been clearer - this product went WAY above my expectations and I can't imagine ever going without it ever again. Yeah, the price hurts (a lot), but I have never found a product that has even come close to helping my skin like this one has. The glycerin in it even helps me moisturize my skin too - it used to be so dehydrated and flaky from using so many harsh products, but now I barely even need to use moisturizer at night. I am completely addicted. Will repurchase forever!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2015 1:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an HG product for me. I started using it in October at the recommendation of my esthetician and it has completely changed and rebalanced my skin. I hardly break out anymore, I get fewer blackheads, and my skin glows. I use it in combination with the Lait U cleanser and the Hydravit moisturizer, as well as the Complex Iribiol Serum. I love this line! It stinks, it's expensive, and the packaging leaves a great deal to be desired, but it is the BEST skincare line I've ever used. I did recently switch to the P50 W because the full strength P50 was starting to burn a bit too much for my liking. Still works great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2015 4:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It works like a charm. Here is how I acclimatized my skin to this product as it is strong. I got the 1970 version with phenol.

Week 1 Ė 2: A lot of users found that their skin broke out when they started using this and this is actually a sign that the product is working. The product actually pushes out the congestion trapped underneath your skin and within the first 3 or 4 days they would be gone and never to return again. At least in my case. It was suggested to me to dilute the product half P50 and half distilled or cooled boiled water for the first 2 weeks to reduce the impact of breakouts and slowly ease my skin to full strength. I still did breakout, but it wasn't bad at all. If you were to use it full strength in the beginning, be prepared to face breakouts. It is better to know what youíre getting into ahead of time :)

Results by the end of week 2: Clear and brighter skin. I got P50 because I was interested in the BR Dermapore serum to help with enlarged pores. In order for the serum to be effective, I needed clean pores and this is where P50 steps in. With the notion of breakouts, P50 also pushed the blackheads out and controlled sebum production. I have noticed a reduction in pore size, NOTE reduction not gone. It will take a long time but at least things are going in the right direction now.

Week 3 and counting: Iím on full strength now and after a month of use, it is the best. It smells of course but it will go away quick enough my husband doesn't notice it anymore. I also feel my skin is good enough that I donít even wear foundation or BB cream on a daily basis at anymore.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2015 8:34:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My facialist turned me on to this. She uses the one with phenol but for daily use I use the one without. I am very leery of using anything banned by the EU and with a slew of web info available about the danger . I used to use AHA soaked pads. I like this product as an exfoliator better. It's actually more economical. I was skeptical about using a product with salicylic acid since my skin is normal and my main complexion concern is aging, not oily skin.

The proof is in the results. I think it exfoliates nicely without drying my skin. My routine is a bit complicated. I don't use it in the evening after cleansing because most evenings, I apply a Px tretinoin cream and I think the combination of the P50 and the tretinoin may be too harsh. In the AM, I spritz with Avene spring water spray. Once it dries, I apply the P50. I wait at least 1/2 hour before I apply a C serum. Retired now, so I have the luxury of this much time most mornings. If I'm in a rush, I just skip the P50 and move on to the C, but that is pretty rare.

This is just one product. But, I have not noticed any new wrinkles and I have noticed that my skin feels incredibly firm for my age, 65, with the combination of the P50, the Px tretinoin and the C serum.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2015 12:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

UPDATE: February 28, 2015,
The original P50 1970 with Phenol really is THE BEST product I have ever bought for my skin. Yes, "Crack in a bottle" may sound a bit strange but while I was waiting for the 8 ounce bottle my skin did go into withdrawl. I am addicted to the smell, the tingle and of course the result. Yes, I am using too much, but I also use it as a moisturizer after I use it as a toner. Once my skin is dry I then take some and apply it directly to my face and massage it in.
I'm VERY sensitive to any AHA's etc but P50 doesn't give me any problems with flaking, instead feels very moisturizing. I also ordered another Bioogique Recherche cleanser, this time the last E.V. and after the P50. I ordered from http://www.vickimorav.com and the customer service as and super fast shipping is fantastic. She send me ten samples of other BR products ( tried a few cremes), but weirdly enough my face does better just with the milk and P50. If your not sure just order the small bottle for 28 dollars, your face will thank you.


I read about P50 accidentally somewhere and ordered the small size thinking it would be way too strong for me...Well, it burns a bit and the first day my face turned beet red but just three days after my complexion is perfect. I washed with Erno Laszlo oil and soap and then just put the P50 on WITHOUT a moisturizer afterwards. I have very dry skin but somehow the P50 is taking care of this and I'm not dry or flakey.
I just ordered the cleanser and a serum and hope my complexion will stay this way.
I thought this product was just hyped up but it is truly a miracle product.
Highly recommended.
Update: All I can say is that P50 is "crack for your skin". I went though two small bottles in less than two weeks and just ordered the huge size, maybe that will last me a month.
I'm still using the P50 without a cream or serum and my skin is great; When I used it with the BR serum my skin didn't look as good in the am. I'm hooked for life.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2015 9:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

**See if you can get to a spa that offers the range and book a facial! Remember the P50's are offered in THREE sizes ask before you buy, try and get the 1.07 oz to try first. 1.07 oz / 5.1 oz./ 8.5 oz.
Places that carry Biologique product know it's very hard to find and will sell you the largest size first & in most cases may only carry 5.1 oz. or 8.5 oz.

I have the P50 - original (new formula WITHOUT phenol)

If this is your first time using an acid product, this maybe very irritating and your skin would need to adjust, or look into the other versions! I wouldn't give up on it as I've tried many 'acid' toners and even peels. I think Biologique have their formula spot on - I'd like to think my skin is very tough and durable (I'm combination/oily so it's also temperamental).

The original formula WITH phenol is said to be a little bit stronger, however; pH in the 1970-original is 3.5, the pH in the new formula WITHOUT phenol is 3.0.

For an acid product I'm so pleased, after a total of 5 uses (morning/evening for 2 days and a morning application) I noticed an immediate clarity, smoothness and healthy look to my skin. Dryness has dramatically reduced - this formula really sets the skin surface for serum and moisturizer. Seems to also control sebum production

SMELL: This has vinegar, you smell it immediately, with my nose the scent goes away after a few minutes and an application of moisturizer **Some say the original 1970 with phenol has a stronger smell.

TEXTURE: Very liquidy, will need a cotton pad, Pat and hold onto skin, DO NOT rub or apply loads of pressure in wiping. This is acid = tingle, cool burning...

FEEL: ...cool burn a bit stingy for a few seconds depending on what my skin is going through or what cleanser I use before hand. Let it sit on your skin for 5-10 minutes, let the product work before next steps.

Hopefully I'll be able to reduce usage to a couple of times a week, I do feel this is a product my skin will get dependent on because the formulation is so effective,

PRICE: Expensive, whether you pay dollars, pounds, or euros. I paid £50 or so, there was no conversion reduction as this retails for around $57-59, welp.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2015 11:08:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use the original Lotion P50 1970 with phenol, a controversial ingredient that I read has now been banned in Europe and the UK. Since the US hasn't banned this formula yet, I decided to plunge on in; after all, it was the original formula that earned this product its cult following. I ordered the smallest bottle available from Rescue Spa to try it out. Here's my breakdown:

Cons: Really, really stinks. Smells like burning rubber to me, and I'm not usually sensitive to odors. And the smell doesn't dissipate quickly, I can catch whiffs of it for up to an hour after I put it on.

It's expensive. Granted, there are some products out there that are in the $300+ range, but still expensive. I paid $27.00 for 1.7 ounces. The largest bottle, 8.5 fluid ounces, was $94.00. Pretty heft price for what is basically a toner.

It's hard to find. I ordered online at Rescuespa.com

The packaging looks cheap even to me, and I'm really not into packaging. No one will see this bottle on your sink and think that it is a beauty secret!

PROS
It works. That simple. It does what it says it will do. At least for me. I had only used this 2 nights and I could tell the difference in my skin. I have mature, very congested skin. I use retin-a 3X a week for anti-aging treatment, and it does help some with the clogged pores. But not much. Nothing ever has. Not even extraction, because the pores become congested again almost as soon as they have been extracted. I have been fighting a losing battle for a long time.

My pores are cleaning out. I can tell the difference. Any foundation or CC cream that I use looks better because my skin is smoother and clearer. I am so happy with this that I ordered the Creme Dermopurifiante and Lait U cleanser. I think these additional products complement my routine, but the Lotion P50 1970 is the real workhorse of the 3 products. I intend to order a serum once I can afford it.

I have no idea why this product works. I've looked at the unimpressive ingredients and if I were to base my decision on that alone, I never would have purchased this stuff. But I went by the reviews, at MUA and elsewhere on the internet and took the chance, and I am now a believer (with a considerably lighter wallet).

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2014 9:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've drunk the Kool-Aid. This is great stuff. Yes, it smells like vinegar and it stings but it's a game-changer. I use it at night for two reasons. One, it's a little harsh for me twice a day and it's expensive so I use a less expensive toner in the morning and save P50 for nighttime use. I've been following the Caroline Hirons double cleansing regime including P50 for about 4 months and I cannot believe the difference it's made. The overall texture of my skin has improved dramatically. I just bought my second bottle of P50.


on 11/24/2014 12:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for several years now, and I believe it has contributed to beautiful skin! I get hormonal breakouts (still!) but that means one or two blemishes around my nose or mouth. Yes, it burns mildly at first, but I've come to enjoy the sensation. My skin is more smooth and more clean than I think it would be otherwise. FWIW, I use a retinol night cream and do home microdermabrasion also. Overall, my skin looks and feels great!




Top Rated Biologique Recherche Products

image

Lotion P50

107 reviews
Back to Top