Biologique Recherche • Lotion P50 • Toners

rated 4.2(88 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 szack on 6/16/2014 11:14:00 PM more reviews by szack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is amazing. Granted, the smell is awful but my skin looks amazingly better after using consistently for one month. Pores measurably smaller and skin glowing. A definite must for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ametrine on 4/25/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by ametrine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love it. Miracle product. I don't care if i have to save up monthly for it to keep re- purchasing it forever and ever.
(this is the formula without phenol btw, I live in canada and the original formula is outlawed here or something)

For reference, I'm 30 with pcos so i've struggled with comedonal acne since age 12.
used retin-a for a long time but it made my skin too sensitive. tried various salicylic acid/benzoyl peroxide concoctions over the years but they also dried me out and were counter productive in the end. Eventually i stopped it all, no exfoliation, and my skin just looked blah.

I've decided to take control of my skin now since my wedding is in three months so...knowing a bit about this company i took the plunge.

I'm on bcp now so the breakouts overall aren't as bad..but, soon coming off that and expect things to get much worse as they always do when i stop the pill.

Ive also tried clarisonic, glycolic acids of various strengths, as high as 15%, and various scrubs but for some reason the oily/acne factor in my skin also makes it sensitive to anything abrasive. I'll always break out more the week following a glycolic treatment or scrub so i've stopped using them.

Amazingly i never had the purge with this product. (And i know all about those, my two month nightmare purge from retin-a will haunt me forever)
I spray a cotton pad with avene thermal water and started off with 2-3 drops a night. Now i'm up to 5-6.
It's only been 3 weeks or so but my skin looks and feels completely different.
it's actually soft to the touch.. its more uniform looking. the pores are smaller. complexion looks brighter. less dull.
Yes, i still breakout but, if i leave the blemish alone, it will go away in less than half the time and like others mentioned, its like it almost comes out on its own and theres barely a mark left behind indicating that anything was there.

if i knew lactic acid was so effective i would have used this stuff years ago.

I had tried BR creme dermopurifiante a few years back but it wasn't in conjuction with this and i felt that it clogged my pores. Maybe the trick is to stick with this line only.. i may try it again with the p50.

For now i use this at night and the creme VIP O2 (i wish i had looked at the price tag before i agreed to buy it...$180, people...that's right.. no typos there)
That creme is also great, i use it in the morning and it keeps my face comfortable, less oily. i've tried a lot of different moisturizers and they either feel too heavy for my oil production factory or they moisturize my cheeks but around my nose and lips still feels tight and dry.
That creme just works the way a creme is supposed to..
I also bought the masque vivant yesterday and tried it today and boy, was it ever stinky. they weren't lying..
but i digress..
anyway, if regular scrubs haven't worked for you or you just want nicer looking skin, use this people.
i only leave reviews for things that i feel people should know about because they're that great.
A+.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vintagenests on 4/20/2014 6:54:00 PM more reviews by vintagenests

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is the queen of exfoliating toners and priced accordingly. I believe I paid 95 USD for my bottle. That said, I have used it daily for six weeks and it is about one-fifth gone. This should easily last me six months or more, so I can justify the price. It is indeed strong - I actually feel an uncomfortable burning sensation depending on my skin's condition - and it does the job I need it to do. It has been the most significant addition to my skincare regimen ever because I can actually see a noticeable difference from using it. I use it after my second cleansing in the evening - once a day. The smell is hideous - an awful, sour smell that makes you want to seal the used cotton pad in a Baggie before tossing it - but it doesn't deter me from giving it five lippies. This is my HG toner/exfoliator.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glimmermoon on 3/18/2014 12:17:00 AM more reviews by glimmermoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product is AMAZING! I cannot say enough about it. I have been using this along with the other Biologique Recherche products for a year now and my skin has been completely transformed! I suffer from mild acne along with sensitivity, so it is extremely hard for me to find products that help with the acne that my skin can tolerate, but this is amazing and I will never use anything else again!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Polo123 on 2/11/2014 7:51:00 AM more reviews by Polo123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I bought it reading the reviews, it's my 5th day today. It has not done anything for me. Did I just receive bad product or wt? It made my skin lil red for initial one or two min. After application but did not exfoliate at all; well may be because I have been using Retin A for last 7 to 8 months. My skin is acne prone, n I stopped having acne since I started using clarisonic but I have 3 new active breakouts since I started using p50 lotion. I didn't use my retin a with p50 first 3 days as it says not to use retinoic acid products with it but last two days I used retin a after. P50 n it even didn't exfoliate or irritate. It didn't dry out my skin at all in fact I felt little oily after application. Does this happen to anyone? Does any one have any suggestion for me? I really wanted this product to work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zombie_candy on 1/23/2014 11:26:00 AM more reviews by zombie_candy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had originally decided to wait 3-4 months before posting a review but kept putting it off and now it's about 7 months--which is not a bad thing. Please note that I use the old P50 formula. This has been nothing short of a miracle for my skin, which has always been dominated by monthly cystic acne, clogged pores and small/medium acne all around. I remember taking a picture of my face with foundation in natural sunlight a month before I started. The texture of my skin was so rough looking. Endlessly bad skin is something I've been working my entire life to get past and I'm almost 30. When I got my hands on P50, I tried keeping in mind that there may be a "purging" phase--a concept that I'm on the fence about subscribing to. I started slowly because the forumla was strong. Maybe every 3 days for the first week, the 2nd week I did every other day. By the third week I had 2 new cysts on my cheek. At this time, I had also switched my foam cleanser to a milk cleanser and started using a flannel to wipe it off. I stopped using scrubbing products altogether. I also had switched my BC pill. I would say the "purge" period lasted about 2 months. By the third month it was clearing up. I encountered less and less monthly cysts around my period (I'm also sure the change in BC helped as well). My skin became so smooth, it was like I was looking at someone else's face in the mirror. Since I'm tan, I have so much acne pigmentation--those take a really long time to go away--and scaring on my chin from all the cystic abuse over the last 12 years. In fact, the pigmentation of the first 2 cysts on my cheek from when I started P50 are still there--more faint--but still there and it's 7 months later. I had also started incorporating more of BR's products. I also use the Lait VIP 02 cleanser, the Serum Placenta, Masque Vivant (at least 3 times a week) and Creme Dermopurifiante. I honestly cannot live without this stuff. I've been lazy once or twice for a day or two and I immediately see a difference. I don't mind the smell or the way it tingles, as long as it's keeping my awful skin at bay, it's all good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sejoseph110 on 12/26/2013 6:07:00 PM more reviews by sejoseph110

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I cannot begin to tell you how much this product has saved my face. I have been using this for about 8 years now. I used to get at least five new breakouts a day. I went to the dermatologist, but whatever the doc gave me made it so much worse. I didn't think that was even possible! My face just plain hurt it was so awful. Eventually, my mom suggested I get a facial. I was a little hesitant because of the cost. Now I think facials are the best, and I got so much more information from that experience than I ever did with the stupid dermatologist. With this product, I finally have clear skin. I do use other products that I was recommended, but I really do feel like P50 is the clear reason why my skin looks so great. It's not cheap, but I think it's worth it's weight in gold. Please, please try it, but do make sure you ease yourself into it.

I only wish I had tried it earlier.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hermanspottypants on 12/1/2013 4:39:00 PM more reviews by Hermanspottypants

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Theres been a lot of discussion about exfoliating acid toners in the beauty blogs lately. I only wish I'd been in the know eons ago.
Caroline Hirons thank you!

This is really one of those products that I wish I'd had access to when I was a teenager. I had such oily, thick, bumpy skin that made me feel self conscious and awkward. Its a product range I wish more people knew about and could afford and have access to.

I now have combination skin and have been around the block and back trying so many brands of skin care.
P50 is all that it is hyped up to be. It is a majestic wonder product. It is frighteningly scary how rapid the results are. 2 days? really? yeah. Not even a full skin cycle of 28-30 days. Just 2 days.
Disbelief. Regrets that I didn't find it sooner. Annoyance. I've been paying a lot of money for underperforming skin care the last 28 years. I feel very hard done by.
I do not have the '1970' as apparently the phenols are banned in the EU.
P 50 does not smell very bad relative to other products in the BR line. It smells a bit like tangy raw onion mixed with hydrochloric acid and pickle water. The smell does not last on the skin.

I felt a slight tingle but no sting- I was surprised that my cheeks which can be sensitive did not complain. I did not need to use the pre P50 version as my facialist tried the P50 during a mini facial session and I was OK.
My skin goals are: to reduce the size of my pores, to reduce the amount of blackheads, to have less bumpy thick looking skin on face and neck, and to reduce shine in the T zone.

My shine initially increased but everything else is improving rapidly. I am using a BR cleanser, moisturizer and mask as well as P50.

****October 2014- 9 months after using BR range- Update.....
The salons now have a Skin Instant Analysis Machine that assesses 1) Moisture, 2) elasticity, 3) Lipidic shield, 4) Pigmentation, 5) Skin oil/sebum. You get product recommendations based on this analysis and the facialist's observations. What could be better?
They recommend getting your skin analysed every 4 months.
My skin has really changed for the better since January. So I will be transitioning into some different products in the range and Im pleased to say they do not smell so strong!

I know there is a lot of praise for P50 which on its own does wonders. But I really recommend taking the time to get a consult and consider using the entire range for maximal effect. Get the mini facial and samples and see for yourself......




7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tayloryepp on 10/31/2013 11:45:00 PM more reviews by tayloryepp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

P50 along with other Bioloogique products really helped my acne-prone, unbalanced skin.

A little about me - 19 years old, mild acne since 13, tried all drugstore brands, was on antibiotics + topical creams, nothing worked for me. My acne is all hormonal and I have yet to find something that takes it all away

I went to Rescue Spa in Philadelphia for a consultation and the lady there referred me to Biologique products, one being P50. At first, this stuff BURNED my skin and left it beat red.

However, it's been 6 weeks since then, and my bottle is almost out.. needless to say, once my next paycheck comes, I will be repurchasing.

This stuff cleared my bumpy forehead. I still get acne on my cheeks, but I believe it was the Biologique skin care (P50, Cleanser, and the Mask) that have really helped. My skin is also smoother, more balanced, and (when I don't pick, bad me!) less red and more even.

The only thing I hate is the price- but in my opinion, it's a great product, and it does last 7-9 weeks according to what the lady at the spa said.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* colorcat on 8/26/2013 5:49:00 PM more reviews by colorcat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have extremely sensitive and very dry mature skin (I'm 46). In addition, my skin is quite prone to blackheads and clogged pores, it breaks out once a month, and I get deep red cystic/hormonal acne a few times a year, which takes months to resolve. Yes, great skin.

I began using P50 about 2 months ago and the results have been so good that I now feel like I've got someone else's skin. My pores are very clear, more so than ever in my life. My complexion is radiant, as others have said. And I haven't broken out in 2 months--which is 2 fewer (big) break outs than I would usually have had during this time period. P50 doesn't seem to dry out my skin, but then I use a LOT of moisturizers morning and night (moisturizing toner after P50, then hyaluronic acid/glycerin product, then oil serum, then moisturizer).

I chose the P50 rather than the P50V or P50W despite my very sensitive skin because people seemed to believe it's the formulation to use, that the others don't work. But I was really frightened to use it on my skin because I react to EVERYTHING. So here's what I did: for the first two weeks, I followed directions and online advice to use a damp cotton ball with only a few drops (2-3) of P50. I only used P50 twice a week. After 2 weeks, and no problems--but noticeably more radiant skin--I began using it every day (evening only), still using a damp cotton ball but maybe 4 little drops of P50. I did that for 2 more weeks. Then I began alternating the damp cotton ball with a dry cotton ball. (I could really feel the difference when I used the product "straight" vs on damp cotton, not always in a happy way.) Now, two months since I started, I use a dry cotton ball most days but find that if I do so for too many days in a row my skin gets slightly irritated. Not terribly, but I'm aware of it all day, as if I got a little product burn. (It still looks lovely, glowy, radiant, and soft.)

All that said, I've found that for my sensitive skin this product is fantastic but I have to be careful with it. I sometimes use it straight (on dry cotton), other times use a damp cotton ball, and only use it once a day. With that approach it's brilliant for me and my skin has never, ever looked so good. (I don't even like to wear tinted moisturizers, let alone foundation, these days because I want to "show off" my skin!) Anyone else thinking of using this on sensitive skin, I suggest you start slow. You'll still get the results (and I didn't get purging, by the way, perhaps because I went so slowly with it) but won't get the irritation.

It's magic. My only regret is I didn't find out about it sooner.

UPDATE Sept 2 2014: It's a little over a year later, and I just wanted to say that I still adore this product. If I had to give up everything else I use, I'd keep this. I always use a dry cotton ball to apply it now (with no irritation) and use it morning and night. At night, I use the P50 "original 1970" lotion (US version with poison, er, phenol). In the morning, I use the P50 EU version (no phenol). The EU version is definitely less strong, at least on my skin. I do think my great results are due to the phenol (or due to the US version, anyway). So, as I said, I love this. My skin never breaks out. Not ever. I may get the occasional tiny red mark at the end of a day of wearing lots of heavy sunscreen or makeup, but it's gone by morning. My fears about putting a new product on my face--will it cause a huge cyst or angry pimple??--are completely gone. I feel insanely lucky to have found this and hope it works as well for everyone else. We deserve peace of mind about our skin.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Biologique Recherche products

More Toners products