Biologique Recherche Lotion P50

4.3

103 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Purified water (Aqua), Glycerin, Lactic Acid, Usnic Acid, Witch Hazel extract (Hamamelis Virginiana), Myrrh extract (Commiphora Myrrha), Myrtle extract (Mytrus Communis), Onion extract (Allium Cepa), Sage extract (Salvia Hispanica), Ascorbic Acid, Niacinamide, Polysorbate 80 (&) Sulphur, Phenol (banned in some countries so absent in the product there).


on 2/12/2015 12:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

UPDATE: February 28, 2015,
The original P50 1970 with Phenol really is THE BEST product I have ever bought for my skin. Yes, "Crack in a bottle" may sound a bit strange but while I was waiting for the 8 ounce bottle my skin did go into withdrawl. I am addicted to the smell, the tingle and of course the result. Yes, I am using too much, but I also use it as a moisturizer after I use it as a toner. Once my skin is dry I then take some and apply it directly to my face and massage it in.
I'm VERY sensitive to any AHA's etc but P50 doesn't give me any problems with flaking, instead feels very moisturizing. I also ordered another Bioogique Recherche cleanser, this time the last E.V. and after the P50. I ordered from http://www.vickimorav.com and the customer service as and super fast shipping is fantastic. She send me ten samples of other BR products ( tried a few cremes), but weirdly enough my face does better just with the milk and P50. If your not sure just order the small bottle for 28 dollars, your face will thank you.


I read about P50 accidentally somewhere and ordered the small size thinking it would be way too strong for me...Well, it burns a bit and the first day my face turned beet red but just three days after my complexion is perfect. I washed with Erno Laszlo oil and soap and then just put the P50 on WITHOUT a moisturizer afterwards. I have very dry skin but somehow the P50 is taking care of this and I'm not dry or flakey.
I just ordered the cleanser and a serum and hope my complexion will stay this way.
I thought this product was just hyped up but it is truly a miracle product.
Highly recommended.
Update: All I can say is that P50 is "crack for your skin". I went though two small bottles in less than two weeks and just ordered the huge size, maybe that will last me a month.
I'm still using the P50 without a cream or serum and my skin is great; When I used it with the BR serum my skin didn't look as good in the am. I'm hooked for life.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 2/10/2015 9:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

**See if you can get to a spa that offers the range and book a facial! Remember the P50's are offered in THREE sizes ask before you buy, try and get the 1.07 oz to try first. 1.07 oz / 5.1 oz./ 8.5 oz.
Places that carry Biologique product know it's very hard to find and will sell you the largest size first & in most cases may only carry 5.1 oz. or 8.5 oz.

I have the P50 - original (new formula WITHOUT phenol)

If this is your first time using an acid product, this maybe very irritating and your skin would need to adjust, or look into the other versions! I wouldn't give up on it as I've tried many 'acid' toners and even peels. I think Biologique have their formula spot on - I'd like to think my skin is very tough and durable (I'm combination/oily so it's also temperamental).

The original formula WITH phenol is said to be a little bit stronger, however; pH in the 1970-original is 3.5, the pH in the new formula WITHOUT phenol is 3.0.

For an acid product I'm so pleased, after a total of 5 uses (morning/evening for 2 days and a morning application) I noticed an immediate clarity, smoothness and healthy look to my skin. Dryness has dramatically reduced - this formula really sets the skin surface for serum and moisturizer. Seems to also control sebum production

SMELL: This has vinegar, you smell it immediately, with my nose the scent goes away after a few minutes and an application of moisturizer **Some say the original 1970 with phenol has a stronger smell.

TEXTURE: Very liquidy, will need a cotton pad, Pat and hold onto skin, DO NOT rub or apply loads of pressure in wiping. This is acid = tingle, cool burning...

FEEL: ...cool burn a bit stingy for a few seconds depending on what my skin is going through or what cleanser I use before hand. Let it sit on your skin for 5-10 minutes, let the product work before next steps.

Hopefully I'll be able to reduce usage to a couple of times a week, I do feel this is a product my skin will get dependent on because the formulation is so effective,

PRICE: Expensive, whether you pay dollars, pounds, or euros. I paid £50 or so, there was no conversion reduction as this retails for around $57-59, welp.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2015 11:08:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use the original Lotion P50 1970 with phenol, a controversial ingredient that I read has now been banned in Europe and the UK. Since the US hasn't banned this formula yet, I decided to plunge on in; after all, it was the original formula that earned this product its cult following. I ordered the smallest bottle available from Rescue Spa to try it out. Here's my breakdown:

Cons: Really, really stinks. Smells like burning rubber to me, and I'm not usually sensitive to odors. And the smell doesn't dissipate quickly, I can catch whiffs of it for up to an hour after I put it on.

It's expensive. Granted, there are some products out there that are in the $300+ range, but still expensive. I paid $27.00 for 1.7 ounces. The largest bottle, 8.5 fluid ounces, was $94.00. Pretty heft price for what is basically a toner.

It's hard to find. I ordered online at Rescuespa.com

The packaging looks cheap even to me, and I'm really not into packaging. No one will see this bottle on your sink and think that it is a beauty secret!

PROS
It works. That simple. It does what it says it will do. At least for me. I had only used this 2 nights and I could tell the difference in my skin. I have mature, very congested skin. I use retin-a 3X a week for anti-aging treatment, and it does help some with the clogged pores. But not much. Nothing ever has. Not even extraction, because the pores become congested again almost as soon as they have been extracted. I have been fighting a losing battle for a long time.

My pores are cleaning out. I can tell the difference. Any foundation or CC cream that I use looks better because my skin is smoother and clearer. I am so happy with this that I ordered the Creme Dermopurifiante and Lait U cleanser. I think these additional products complement my routine, but the Lotion P50 1970 is the real workhorse of the 3 products. I intend to order a serum once I can afford it.

I have no idea why this product works. I've looked at the unimpressive ingredients and if I were to base my decision on that alone, I never would have purchased this stuff. But I went by the reviews, at MUA and elsewhere on the internet and took the chance, and I am now a believer (with a considerably lighter wallet).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2014 9:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've drunk the Kool-Aid. This is great stuff. Yes, it smells like vinegar and it stings but it's a game-changer. I use it at night for two reasons. One, it's a little harsh for me twice a day and it's expensive so I use a less expensive toner in the morning and save P50 for nighttime use. I've been following the Caroline Hirons double cleansing regime including P50 for about 4 months and I cannot believe the difference it's made. The overall texture of my skin has improved dramatically. I just bought my second bottle of P50.


on 11/24/2014 12:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for several years now, and I believe it has contributed to beautiful skin! I get hormonal breakouts (still!) but that means one or two blemishes around my nose or mouth. Yes, it burns mildly at first, but I've come to enjoy the sensation. My skin is more smooth and more clean than I think it would be otherwise. FWIW, I use a retinol night cream and do home microdermabrasion also. Overall, my skin looks and feels great!


on 11/18/2014 1:37:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This review is for "P50 1970" - the formulation with phenol. A friend recommended this as an "insider's secret." All I can say is, Wow. Why didn't anyone tell me about this sooner? I have had rough skin with acne and now that I am in my 40s, sebaceous hyperplasia. This is refining and smoothing my skin. I have only been using it for over a week, but I saw a difference immediately. I use 2-3 drops on a wet cotton ball with the water squeezed out, twice a day. I am continuing to use Retin A Micro and Paula's Choice BHA 9 for the sebaceous hyperplasia, all with no peeling or redness. AMAZING!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2014 8:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I want to hate this because of the chemicals but when I stop using it I see the difference within a week and it's not pretty. So I've used it for years with no plans on stopping. It stinks. It sometimes burns. It works. I see less overall redness and my mid thirties hormonal breakouts are less than they are without my hg p50. I only use it at night and the small bottle lasts me 5 months. I only put about 5 drops on a cotton pad and press (the woman at rescue where I buy it says NOT to wipe) firmly into my skin avoiding my eye area.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2014 11:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried. I tried. Oh did I try to like this product since it seemed like everyone else did. But everytime I used it, within a few days, I'd break out in cystic acne. Now, I had both the phenol and phenol free versions, both stung and made my skin itchy. In short, I learned my lesson the hard way that even if it works like a miracle for 99.9% people out there, there's still a chance I might be the 0.1% who is just THAT lucky for it not to work.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2014 3:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is my HG exfoliating toner! I can never imagine myself without this product! It makes my skin look better 10x before i started using this beauty in a bottle. Aghh! I cant express the love for this toner.... It makes my skin GLOW! A forever stAple in my skincare routine;) worth every penny! (Make sure to get the p50 1970 formula) .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/25/2014 1:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this recently on Caroline Hiron's recommendation. I think I had the standard P50 and after telling the BR sales lady about my skin type she recommended this one. I then used it two nights in a row (as recommended- tapping rather than wiping), and also tried out a BR mask. My skin is now peeling and flaking like crazy and, worse, about four huge cystic spots came up immediately after. To be fair I have just moved house and have been under a fair amount of stress so this may have contributed (atleast to the spots appearing). However I am now terrified to use it again as I'm pretty sure that at the very least the flaking was due to the strong acids. I might try it again at some point (perhaps on my neck/décolletage instead of my face. I've used glycolic prodcts before so I think that goes to show just how strong this stuff is. Beware- clearly this doesn't work for everyone.




Top Rated Biologique Recherche Products

image

Lotion P50

103 reviews
Back to Top