Estee Lauder • Futurist Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.2(130 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DaniDeelish on 12/7/2012 10:22:00 PM more reviews by DaniDeelish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

****ABOUT MY SKIN****
-I have normal-dry skin. Dry around my chin, nose and mouth, pretty much normal everywhere else.
-I donít really have acne (just a few acne scars), but I have horrible hyper-pigmentation and redness on my cheeks (which requires a medium-full coverage foundation to cover it up).
****SHADE REFERENCE****
-I am a MAC "NW15", and a "Gobi Light 3" in NARS Sheer Glow. I have very pink undertones.
-I have this foundation in the shade 'Beech 20', which is the lightest shade available in Australia
-The foundation is a little too dark for me once it dries and settles on the skin (about NW). That's not my biggest minus with the foundation shade. This shade is very pink toned, and on my very pink toned skin, even though the coverage and finish of the foundation look flawless on my skin throughout the day, it makes my face look very pink.
****FOUNDATION CONSISTENCY****
-This foundation is pretty runny and liquidy, which makes it pretty easy to work with. Not thick or goopy at all.
****FOUNDATION FINISH****
-This foundation has a definite glowy/dewy finish (not SPARKLY or GREASY, just GLOWY/DEWY). Beautiful if you want that dewy look to the skin.
-This foundation probably isn't the best for oily skins (as it has no oil controlling properties and is quite hydrating on the skin)
****APPLICATION****
I have tried many ways of applying this foundation, all of which worked fine. This isn't a difficult foundation to work with and blend. It works fine with a brush, sponge or your fingers. The way I prefer applying it, and the way I apply pretty much all of my foundations, is to start off working it in with my fingers (the warmth in your fingers helps melt the product better in to your skin and give you a more natural finish). Then I always use a damp beauty blender sponge to blend out any streaks that my fingers left, and to make the foundation look flawless and non-cakey.
****PROS****
-This foundation has medium-full coverage, so it cover practically everything you need it to cover! Acne, scars and redness, freckles; this foundation covers all of my flaws and makes my skin look flawless!
-This foundation doesn't look cakey or heavy on the skin. It looks beautiful and flawless, despite its high coverage.
-I love the beautiful glowy/dewy look that this foundation gives my skin. It makes you look fresh and youthful and beautiful, without looking greasy or oily :)
-This foundation has pretty good lasting power. It's not 24 hour wear, but I'd give it a good 8-10 hours before it starts looking not its best. And for a foundation that doesn't claim to be long lasting, this is pretty impressive.
-Has an SPF of 15, which is nice for everyday wear (can be a con, see below)
-Doesn't settle into fine lines as much as most foundations do. For me, no matter what foundation I use, it settles in to fine lines a little (all foundations will at least a little). But this is about as good as it gets for that.
-This stuff is fairly hydrating! Not drying at all, which is great for people with dry skin like me!
-Has a GREAT pump, which makes it easy to control how much product comes out (not like some pumps where you can't control the amount of product that comes out, with this it's very easy to control). One pump is the perfect amount to cover my whole face!
****CONS****
-If you have oily skin, or you don't like a dewy glowy look, this is not the foundation for you (has no oil controlling properties and has a definite glowy look)
-The SPF 15 in this product means it's not going to look good in flash photography (will flash back with a white cast)
-This foundation doesn't withstand heat or sweat that great. It won't run all over your face if you sweat, but the foundation won't look that great if you sweat in it a lot - will cake up)
-Can oxidize a little (nothing major, but a little). Wear a primer under it to stop it from oxidizing as much :)
-The glass bottle makes it not very practical for traveling (as I'm scared it will break)
-This foundation doesn't have an exact colour match for me. The lightest shade is a little too dark (the lightest shade in Australia, that is).
-This stuff is HELLA expensive in Australia. I paid a whopping $75 for a 30ml/1fl.oz bottle of this stuff! Ridiculous! More than Chanel and YSL costs in the states :(
****BOTTOM LINE****
This is my favourite WINTER foundation! Hydrating and beautifully glowy :) If you have dry skin, or want a nice foundation with a dewy glow (especially for Winter, as it is now in America), try this foundation! I tend to not use this that much in summer (as like I said it doesn't withstand heat and sweat that well). For summer I use my Shiseido Sun Protection Liquid Foundation (I have a review on that, you can check it out if you want :) I will definitely repurchase this Estee Lauder foundation, despite its high cost. Hope this helps :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 purpldy on 11/30/2012 11:32:00 AM more reviews by purpldy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Overall, I'd say this is an "okay" foundation. Did not hate it, but didn't love it either. Was a little moisturizing, but not quite enough for my dry skin. A little glow, but then again, not really enough. Wear was not great, about 4-5 hours, and the color turned muddy very quickly. Overall, the color change I think is more a problem with getting a good match than the formula itself. On my very pink NW20 skin, the lightest P shade was way too light, and the next shade was too dark. Very disappointed as I had heard a lot of good things about this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ssilva27 on 10/27/2012 5:04:00 PM more reviews by ssilva27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought the futurist foundatin today and I LOVE LOVE LOVE It! I've been searching for so long for a foundation that would work well with my super dry skin. Every time I applied my foundation in the past I always felt like It made me look older then before I applied. I'm 32 and when I go out with no make-up people always think Im in my 20's but when I'm wearing foundation that's settles in all my little fine lines that are not normally even visible it really ages me. Not the case with the futurist this foundation goes on so smooth and instantly gives me that flawless dewy look that I've always wanted!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klhoward on 7/10/2012 8:40:00 PM more reviews by klhoward

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

HG foundation. Good medium coverage (but does not feel heavy) foundation for dry skin. Great colour options - I use blonde and that works great to hide a little redness and goes with my slightly cool skin tone. Most foundations are usually just a little pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shuppet88 on 6/27/2012 4:21:00 AM more reviews by shuppet88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So this is my absolute HG winter foundation during the drier months. Or for when I want a dewy look really. It's very natural and yet covers. It's so smooth and a dream to apply. The color in 2w1 cameo is a perfect match since it's a nice light yellow when I'm much paler in the winter. I probably can use it now, but I want to save it for winter because it's so moisturizing and I think it's a waste (it's a bit pricey). Anyone with normal to rather dry skin can probably wear this anytime of the year and can appreciate the luxurious, softening moisture it provides. I am 24 and I love this. Don't sleep on Estee Lauder foundations. Hurry and try some of this, younger girls.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maca01 on 3/31/2012 10:35:00 AM more reviews by Maca01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this foundation. I think its great for winter use. The only problem is it oxidizes a little, try a shade lighter or cool tone, they don't have neutral in some shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melabella on 2/15/2012 6:58:00 PM more reviews by melabella

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been shopping for a foundation for ageing skin for months now, I don't have loads of wrinkles, mainly just the under eye ones, and some small ones around the mouth/cheeks, not bad but they all seem to make wrinkles appear worse!
I've tried all the Revlon and Maybelline ones, no good.
I read some reviews on this one, and bought it last week, and I love it! The finish is just beautiful, I don't like matt, I was looking for a dewy/luminous one and this is perfect. I've worn it a couple of times now, and each time I do, people tell me I look great, and have a healthy glow. It's one thing if I look in the mirror and like it, the proof is in other people noticing there's something different and commenting on it!
The only concern I had was the shade, the consultant at the store suggested Fawn was the right match, in the store I was a little uncertain, it looked a tiny bit bit darker than I wanted, but once I got outside it was perfect. Maybe it took a few minutes to settle in, but it is the perfect shade for me.
I love love love it. I might try some of the other recommended ones down the track, but for now, I've found the right one for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bassetmomma on 1/28/2012 9:16:00 PM more reviews by bassetmomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Pros: Easy to blend, good coverage, makes my skin look more even, color (Porcelain) is neither yellow nor pink, dries to a matte finish, neither greasy nor drying, has a pump, reasonably priced for a department store foundation.

Cons: not particularly moisturizing even though it is supposedly for dry skin; the finish is more matte than "luminous"; SPF is not full spectrum - no UVA protection

Final Verdict: a keeper - really pleased with how well it covered redness and acne scars.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shangconti on 8/25/2011 6:05:00 AM more reviews by shangconti

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've not written a review at MUA for longer than I can remember but this Futurist has prompted me to do so without delay. Since I've become a natural skincare convert, I've stopped purchasing synthetic skincare items but most natural or organic foundations often fail to deliver the flawless finish as I desire for the perfection of a not-so-perfect face. My age makes my skin drier and more dehydrated, and all previous high-end foundations like La Mer, Dior Prestige, etc give me dry patches as early as in the afternoon. Since I am now pro natural, I am pickier about everything I use. I look at Futurist ingredients and feel more comfortable as it does not contain parabens (some foundations do) or other known harmful substances and better off, it is non-acnegenic ...



Actually I bought Double Wear Stay-in-Place after watching a YouTube video trying to get the same flawless look, but DW is too dry for me and it really stays put not easy to remove. I went back to EL counter and was introduced to Futurist - the best advice that they have given.



I just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this foundation. Feel comfortable all day long with enough, not over, moisture level to my dry but partly combination skin. It does make my skin glow with good coverage and I look revitalized and in turn younger without those disturbing dry patches. Very happy with this and I hope my search is over. The best way for me to apply is to use a brush with a generous amount (1.5 pumps) right after a moisturized face, and it melts into my skin very naturally and comfortably. Using sunscreen or primer between is no good (for me) as this extra barrier can thicken the look and make this foundation more moisturizing than I can handle. I've found that my makeup stays better this way toward the end of the day.



I've tried many many other brands including Giogio Armani, Cle de Peau, Chanel, Shiseido, Shu Uemura and even EL ReNutriv! IMO, Futurist outshines ReNutriv even under the EL umbrella and it is very affordable in terms of pricing but more remarkable by performance.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jensen2027 on 6/17/2011 2:07:00 PM more reviews by jensen2027

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Right now this is my HG foundation!! I do have dry/somewhat sensitive skin and this makeup goes on like velvet and hydrates my skin all day long! I don't feel like I am wearing it and it looks a bit dewy at first, but never shiny/oily. I have used this foundation for 4 months and no breakouts! Great coverage and shade matches very well!! Recently I tried another foundation with good ratings and I was so dry all day and then I broke out! This is a very good foundation for medium+ coverage and dryer skin types. Probably would be ok for normal skin but probably not for oily skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products