Estee Lauder • Futurist Foundation [DISCONTINUED] • Liquid

rated 4.2(132 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 spicedchaiprincess on 2/25/2013 6:16:00 PM more reviews by spicedchaiprincess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I could give this foundation 10 stars. It has to be my favorite foundation and I have tried lots of expensive foundations! This foundation is what I wanted all my other foundations to be. This foundation deserves a lot more attention than it gets!

First off let me start by saying that I have oily skin. I get dry patches sometimes thanks to acne products but throughout the day my skin gets oily and most foundations fade away or get patchy on my oily skin.Not this baby :)
Also, I am young so I don't need anti aging makeup but this stuff is too amazing to resist.

FUTURIST: This is a medium coverage foundation though I can see it being buildable if you want more coverage. It is hydrating and has a luminous/dewy finish. It is great for any skin type in my opinion. Anyone who wants a dewy finish foundation should try this. I have oily skin but I personally love a dewy finish. For dry skin types this will be amazing to moisturize. Oily girls - I dont find that it makes me more oily but do keep in mind it has a dewy finish!

The foundation feels so smooth on your skin and looks practically invisible. It doesn't cake up which I love. I moisturise and apply a good primer (Smashbox) and it lasts me 8 hours or more. After 8 hours with my primer, it looks as good as when I applied it even on my oily skin. LOVE THAT :)

It looks so natural and pretty/luminous. Its incredible! It manages to cover up my redness and most of my acne. With one pump, it didnt cover my two huge zits I currently have so I went over that with concealer but for all my other blemishes it covered them up!

I am a NC 25-30 (more on the 30 side) and I got this in 2 shades. 2W1 Cameo is close to my skin tone but I find it too orange. (The color gets less orange as the day goes on) I mix Cameo with 1W1 Beech. Beech on its own is way too light but mixed with Cameo gives the perfect yellow toned shade. Some people said it oxidized.. as long as you wear a primer you wont have that problem.

Overall, I highly recommend Futurist, my new fav foundation :) Ask for a sample at the EL counter because they give 10 day samples and you can see if you like it. Great medium coverage, dewy, natural looking, lasting foundation. HG.

NOTE: This is not oil free. It contains olive oil. However, I have very acne prond skin and it didnt break me out! Just take your makeup off properly and you should be ok. In fact it helped to balance out my skin in the dry areas. This foundation is like skincare because of the nourishing ingredients!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 catanna on 1/15/2013 3:20:00 AM more reviews by catanna

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like the look and feel of Futurist foundation, especially if I apply it right after moisturizing. But that Yes is conditional... I would buy again in a heartbeat if Estee added an even lighter color than IC. The color I bought is fine in the summer but I need it in winter when my skin is dryest... and, unfortunately, pale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DaniDeelish on 12/7/2012 10:22:00 PM more reviews by DaniDeelish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

****ABOUT MY SKIN****
-I have normal-dry skin. Dry around my chin, nose and mouth, pretty much normal everywhere else.
-I donít really have acne (just a few acne scars), but I have horrible hyper-pigmentation and redness on my cheeks (which requires a medium-full coverage foundation to cover it up).
****SHADE REFERENCE****
-I am a MAC "NW15", and a "Gobi Light 3" in NARS Sheer Glow. I have very pink undertones.
-I have this foundation in the shade 'Beech 20', which is the lightest shade available in Australia
-The foundation is a little too dark for me once it dries and settles on the skin (about NW). That's not my biggest minus with the foundation shade. This shade is very pink toned, and on my very pink toned skin, even though the coverage and finish of the foundation look flawless on my skin throughout the day, it makes my face look very pink.
****FOUNDATION CONSISTENCY****
-This foundation is pretty runny and liquidy, which makes it pretty easy to work with. Not thick or goopy at all.
****FOUNDATION FINISH****
-This foundation has a definite glowy/dewy finish (not SPARKLY or GREASY, just GLOWY/DEWY). Beautiful if you want that dewy look to the skin.
-This foundation probably isn't the best for oily skins (as it has no oil controlling properties and is quite hydrating on the skin)
****APPLICATION****
I have tried many ways of applying this foundation, all of which worked fine. This isn't a difficult foundation to work with and blend. It works fine with a brush, sponge or your fingers. The way I prefer applying it, and the way I apply pretty much all of my foundations, is to start off working it in with my fingers (the warmth in your fingers helps melt the product better in to your skin and give you a more natural finish). Then I always use a damp beauty blender sponge to blend out any streaks that my fingers left, and to make the foundation look flawless and non-cakey.
****PROS****
-This foundation has medium-full coverage, so it cover practically everything you need it to cover! Acne, scars and redness, freckles; this foundation covers all of my flaws and makes my skin look flawless!
-This foundation doesn't look cakey or heavy on the skin. It looks beautiful and flawless, despite its high coverage.
-I love the beautiful glowy/dewy look that this foundation gives my skin. It makes you look fresh and youthful and beautiful, without looking greasy or oily :)
-This foundation has pretty good lasting power. It's not 24 hour wear, but I'd give it a good 8-10 hours before it starts looking not its best. And for a foundation that doesn't claim to be long lasting, this is pretty impressive.
-Has an SPF of 15, which is nice for everyday wear (can be a con, see below)
-Doesn't settle into fine lines as much as most foundations do. For me, no matter what foundation I use, it settles in to fine lines a little (all foundations will at least a little). But this is about as good as it gets for that.
-This stuff is fairly hydrating! Not drying at all, which is great for people with dry skin like me!
-Has a GREAT pump, which makes it easy to control how much product comes out (not like some pumps where you can't control the amount of product that comes out, with this it's very easy to control). One pump is the perfect amount to cover my whole face!
****CONS****
-If you have oily skin, or you don't like a dewy glowy look, this is not the foundation for you (has no oil controlling properties and has a definite glowy look)
-The SPF 15 in this product means it's not going to look good in flash photography (will flash back with a white cast)
-This foundation doesn't withstand heat or sweat that great. It won't run all over your face if you sweat, but the foundation won't look that great if you sweat in it a lot - will cake up)
-Can oxidize a little (nothing major, but a little). Wear a primer under it to stop it from oxidizing as much :)
-The glass bottle makes it not very practical for traveling (as I'm scared it will break)
-This foundation doesn't have an exact colour match for me. The lightest shade is a little too dark (the lightest shade in Australia, that is).
-This stuff is HELLA expensive in Australia. I paid a whopping $75 for a 30ml/1fl.oz bottle of this stuff! Ridiculous! More than Chanel and YSL costs in the states :(
****BOTTOM LINE****
This is my favourite WINTER foundation! Hydrating and beautifully glowy :) If you have dry skin, or want a nice foundation with a dewy glow (especially for Winter, as it is now in America), try this foundation! I tend to not use this that much in summer (as like I said it doesn't withstand heat and sweat that well). For summer I use my Shiseido Sun Protection Liquid Foundation (I have a review on that, you can check it out if you want :) I will definitely repurchase this Estee Lauder foundation, despite its high cost. Hope this helps :)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 purpldy on 11/30/2012 11:32:00 AM more reviews by purpldy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Overall, I'd say this is an "okay" foundation. Did not hate it, but didn't love it either. Was a little moisturizing, but not quite enough for my dry skin. A little glow, but then again, not really enough. Wear was not great, about 4-5 hours, and the color turned muddy very quickly. Overall, the color change I think is more a problem with getting a good match than the formula itself. On my very pink NW20 skin, the lightest P shade was way too light, and the next shade was too dark. Very disappointed as I had heard a lot of good things about this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ssilva27 on 10/27/2012 5:04:00 PM more reviews by ssilva27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought the futurist foundatin today and I LOVE LOVE LOVE It! I've been searching for so long for a foundation that would work well with my super dry skin. Every time I applied my foundation in the past I always felt like It made me look older then before I applied. I'm 32 and when I go out with no make-up people always think Im in my 20's but when I'm wearing foundation that's settles in all my little fine lines that are not normally even visible it really ages me. Not the case with the futurist this foundation goes on so smooth and instantly gives me that flawless dewy look that I've always wanted!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klhoward on 7/10/2012 8:40:00 PM more reviews by klhoward

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

HG foundation. Good medium coverage (but does not feel heavy) foundation for dry skin. Great colour options - I use blonde and that works great to hide a little redness and goes with my slightly cool skin tone. Most foundations are usually just a little pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shuppet88 on 6/27/2012 4:21:00 AM more reviews by shuppet88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So this is my absolute HG winter foundation during the drier months. Or for when I want a dewy look really. It's very natural and yet covers. It's so smooth and a dream to apply. The color in 2w1 cameo is a perfect match since it's a nice light yellow when I'm much paler in the winter. I probably can use it now, but I want to save it for winter because it's so moisturizing and I think it's a waste (it's a bit pricey). Anyone with normal to rather dry skin can probably wear this anytime of the year and can appreciate the luxurious, softening moisture it provides. I am 24 and I love this. Don't sleep on Estee Lauder foundations. Hurry and try some of this, younger girls.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maca01 on 3/31/2012 10:35:00 AM more reviews by Maca01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this foundation. I think its great for winter use. The only problem is it oxidizes a little, try a shade lighter or cool tone, they don't have neutral in some shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melabella on 2/15/2012 6:58:00 PM more reviews by melabella

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been shopping for a foundation for ageing skin for months now, I don't have loads of wrinkles, mainly just the under eye ones, and some small ones around the mouth/cheeks, not bad but they all seem to make wrinkles appear worse!
I've tried all the Revlon and Maybelline ones, no good.
I read some reviews on this one, and bought it last week, and I love it! The finish is just beautiful, I don't like matt, I was looking for a dewy/luminous one and this is perfect. I've worn it a couple of times now, and each time I do, people tell me I look great, and have a healthy glow. It's one thing if I look in the mirror and like it, the proof is in other people noticing there's something different and commenting on it!
The only concern I had was the shade, the consultant at the store suggested Fawn was the right match, in the store I was a little uncertain, it looked a tiny bit bit darker than I wanted, but once I got outside it was perfect. Maybe it took a few minutes to settle in, but it is the perfect shade for me.
I love love love it. I might try some of the other recommended ones down the track, but for now, I've found the right one for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bassetmomma on 1/28/2012 9:16:00 PM more reviews by bassetmomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Pros: Easy to blend, good coverage, makes my skin look more even, color (Porcelain) is neither yellow nor pink, dries to a matte finish, neither greasy nor drying, has a pump, reasonably priced for a department store foundation.

Cons: not particularly moisturizing even though it is supposedly for dry skin; the finish is more matte than "luminous"; SPF is not full spectrum - no UVA protection

Final Verdict: a keeper - really pleased with how well it covered redness and acne scars.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products