L'Oreal Colour Riche Lipstick in British Red

4.3

50 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/18/2012 7:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a lovely red. It's bright, it has some orangey tones that make it warm, and you can build up the color. Perfect for a flawless skin pin up look, or a fierce nighttime look with bold eyeliner.

The finish is just the tiniest bit glossy, good to wear on its own, and good if you want to amp up the fierceness with more gloss. I can see how this would look good on both fair and dark-skinned girls, especially if they have warm undertones. Brunettes with fair skin would look AMAZING with this, a subtle brown smokey eye, and loose curls. Oh my!

ANYWAY. It has a very makeup-y scent. I don't mind it, but I understand how it might put off some people. Some people say that this has a very nasty taste too, but I have never ever noticed that in any of the Colour Riche lipsticks. *shrugs*

The texture is creamy and light. It is a liiiiiittle bit sticky, but it's all right. The packaging is cute, it doesn't feel very luxurious (dare I say it feels a bit cheap plasticky to the touch?), but for the price, I'll take it gladly. I like the fact that it snaps close and it won't randomly open inside your makeup bag.

Lasting power is all right, it won't last through a meal, but it won't disappear completely. It does leave a red hue on your lips, almost like a soft stain. Again, I don't mind this because I just apply more red, but some people may not like this. Oh, and this has the tendency to rub off on my teeth. I have to be really careful, as it's such a bright color!

All in all, there are better lipsticks out there, but for the price, this one's awesome. And the color is lovely (I just can't get over it!) I wouldn't have a problem repurchasing, or even getting different shades just for fun. :) I recommend this is you want a reliable, bold lipstick that has a good texture and finish, and you don't want to break the bank.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 5/5/2012 9:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Perfection red if you are blonde, blue eyed and have a slight tan or self tan...this will make you look pulled together, less tired and ready to go. There is nothing bright about this l/s unless you glob it on, don't do that, it's not a good look no matter what. I'm taking a lippie off due to the fact that I hate the smell and taste of L'Oreal lippie's, I throw this on though in a pinch. Worth having in your bag to look sophisticated without looking overly made up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2012 2:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I saw this advertised as an editors favorite and once I got it I could see why. It is the classic go to red. It is a gorgeous shade that is intense, but not really dark. It just has a rich classic feel and is very flattering. The lipstick is soft and hydrating for a matte. Doesn't come off easily.


on 1/21/2012 10:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Most beautiful red from a drug store brand. So perfect!
But... makes my lips itch and then swell on first use. I gave it to my mum. Had to get steroid cream perscription because of this.
NOT suitable for people with sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2012 9:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this tomato red. Straight tomato red. I detect a little bit of orange but not too orange. Lovely color and formula.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2012 10:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is an orange-red that despite all my best efforts, makes my teeth look horrid yellow (and I used creststrips!). It's a great quality lipstick, but just not an ideal colour. I use this lipstick as a cream blush only.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love bright red and this lipstick definitely delivers! The color isn't very natural though, but if you want it to look more natural, just apply small dabs and smear it with your fingers. Keep in mind that this lipstick does clump, but not as badly as some other brands. A plus about this line of lipsticks is that it is very moisturizing. A good way to prevent drying would be to apply chapstick over your lips every now and then. Applying too many layers may result in a more clumped up effect later on, so I just apply one layer at most. The color is so vibrant it doesn't need to be reapplied that frequently in my opinion. I would buy this again just because it's hard to find such a nice, true red color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2011 11:18:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been trying to find a red lipstick i can wear off and on since 1967. Rarely have i found a red that i think looks OK on me. I had frequently read that L'Oreal British Red is an excellent true red that looks good on many skin tones. So i decided to give it a try.
.
I generally like L'Oreal Colour Riche lipsticks, and own quite a few. I find them smooth and easy to apply, comfortable and moisturizing on the lips. They come in a wide range of excellent colors, and they're relatively inexpensive. They come in a reasonably attractive square-ish matte gold plastic tube with metallic gold trim; the cap has to go on one particular way and there's a little plastic guide to help it close firmly. The lipstick twists up smoothly - i have some that are 15 years old and the mechanisms still work well. They're scented with a mild, not unpleasant, old-fashioned makeup floral fragrance that evokes vintage glamor, unlike the tweeny foody scents (vanilla, chocolate, fruit, mint) of so many today.
.
And British Red certainly is RED !!! Really really RED !!! The red and my skin color were not exactly enemies. But once again, i think red lipstick makes me look, well, dowdy.
.
If you like to wear red lipstick, this may be for you. It is intensely red, not too blue and not too orange, so it does seem to work with many skin tones. The color lasts quite a long time, even stained my lips. I'm not going to buy it again, because i think real red just isn't flattering on me, but this is an excellent red and a very good lipstick. And at such a reasonable price it is definitely worth adding to your lipstick palette.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/1/2011 5:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is another one of those lipsticks who's color is hard to describe against my skin tone. I agree with the reviewer who noted that this lipstick can pull either cool or warm...it almost kind of looks like someone had taken a blue based red and added in just the slightest drop of orange. The undertones don't really cancel each other out but shine through and give this medium tomato red some really wonderful dimension. When I'm in broad daylight this leans more cool on me than it does when I'm inside or surrounded by soft electric lighting but I'd never describe it as being an orange-red or even ever appearing to be very noticeably orange at all.
This color doesn't have any yellow tone to it at all the way that some tomato reds do, which I think makes it much easier to pull off. I have another tomato red by Revlon (Ravish Me Red) and because of the slight yellow tone thrown in, I have to wear blush to keep the color from looking flat and washing me out a little. When I first really tried British Red on, it brightened my face instantly. I didn't need any blush to put some color back into my face and it made my teeth look pearly white. I suppose British Red could be described as a neutral shade but the color isn't devoid of undertones completely or disappointingly drab.
I quite the sleek gloss that L'Oreal Colour Riche lipsticks have. They're pretty thick in consistency but glide across the lips almost effortlessly. I've had experiences with these bleeding a little bit if I don't line my lips prior to putting them on. They stain your skin horrifically as a result of smearing or bleeding, which is frustrating to clean up too. As other people have mentioned, these have a very baby powder-esque scent which I particularly despise. I'm almost hesitant to buy L'Oreal lipsticks because of the scent but it only really bothers me during application.
While British Red isn't bold enough to be garish or obnoxious, it does a wonderful job as a pick-me-up color that can freshen my complexion beautifully.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

British red is an opulent, brilliant, sensual orange red that goes on dreamy smooth and is long lasting. Think British phone booth red, looks funky worn with jeans and chandilier earrings or a little black vintage dress and red heels. I agree with one of the other reviewers that this would also look great with a matte finish, but I find that if I blot it a little with tissue it creates a semi-matte finish while still being very moisturizing. Great formulation, truly fabulous lipstick for a great price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
186 Reviews
Provocalips
60 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top