L'Oreal • Colour Riche Lipstick in British Red • Lipstick

rated 4.3(47 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 vuvie on 1/21/2012 10:28:00 AM more reviews by vuvie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Most beautiful red from a drug store brand. So perfect!
But... makes my lips itch and then swell on first use. I gave it to my mum. Had to get steroid cream perscription because of this.
NOT suitable for people with sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jesse30 on 1/14/2012 9:36:00 AM more reviews by Jesse30

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this tomato red. Straight tomato red. I detect a little bit of orange but not too orange. Lovely color and formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SkylarJ on 1/13/2012 10:55:00 PM more reviews by SkylarJ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an orange-red that despite all my best efforts, makes my teeth look horrid yellow (and I used creststrips!). It's a great quality lipstick, but just not an ideal colour. I use this lipstick as a cream blush only.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 russianunicorn on 12/4/2011 7:59:00 PM more reviews by russianunicorn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love bright red and this lipstick definitely delivers! The color isn't very natural though, but if you want it to look more natural, just apply small dabs and smear it with your fingers. Keep in mind that this lipstick does clump, but not as badly as some other brands. A plus about this line of lipsticks is that it is very moisturizing. A good way to prevent drying would be to apply chapstick over your lips every now and then. Applying too many layers may result in a more clumped up effect later on, so I just apply one layer at most. The color is so vibrant it doesn't need to be reapplied that frequently in my opinion. I would buy this again just because it's hard to find such a nice, true red color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilinah on 9/28/2011 11:18:00 AM more reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been trying to find a red lipstick i can wear off and on since 1967. Rarely have i found a red that i think looks OK on me. I had frequently read that L'Oreal British Red is an excellent true red that looks good on many skin tones. So i decided to give it a try.
.
I generally like L'Oreal Colour Riche lipsticks, and own quite a few. I find them smooth and easy to apply, comfortable and moisturizing on the lips. They come in a wide range of excellent colors, and they're relatively inexpensive. They come in a reasonably attractive square-ish matte gold plastic tube with metallic gold trim; the cap has to go on one particular way and there's a little plastic guide to help it close firmly. The lipstick twists up smoothly - i have some that are 15 years old and the mechanisms still work well. They're scented with a mild, not unpleasant, old-fashioned makeup floral fragrance that evokes vintage glamor, unlike the tweeny foody scents (vanilla, chocolate, fruit, mint) of so many today.
.
And British Red certainly is RED !!! Really really RED !!! The red and my skin color were not exactly enemies. But once again, i think red lipstick makes me look, well, dowdy.
.
If you like to wear red lipstick, this may be for you. It is intensely red, not too blue and not too orange, so it does seem to work with many skin tones. The color lasts quite a long time, even stained my lips. I'm not going to buy it again, because i think real red just isn't flattering on me, but this is an excellent red and a very good lipstick. And at such a reasonable price it is definitely worth adding to your lipstick palette.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RustGospel on 9/1/2011 5:14:00 PM more reviews by RustGospel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is another one of those lipsticks who's color is hard to describe against my skin tone. I agree with the reviewer who noted that this lipstick can pull either cool or warm...it almost kind of looks like someone had taken a blue based red and added in just the slightest drop of orange. The undertones don't really cancel each other out but shine through and give this medium tomato red some really wonderful dimension. When I'm in broad daylight this leans more cool on me than it does when I'm inside or surrounded by soft electric lighting but I'd never describe it as being an orange-red or even ever appearing to be very noticeably orange at all.
This color doesn't have any yellow tone to it at all the way that some tomato reds do, which I think makes it much easier to pull off. I have another tomato red by Revlon (Ravish Me Red) and because of the slight yellow tone thrown in, I have to wear blush to keep the color from looking flat and washing me out a little. When I first really tried British Red on, it brightened my face instantly. I didn't need any blush to put some color back into my face and it made my teeth look pearly white. I suppose British Red could be described as a neutral shade but the color isn't devoid of undertones completely or disappointingly drab.
I quite the sleek gloss that L'Oreal Colour Riche lipsticks have. They're pretty thick in consistency but glide across the lips almost effortlessly. I've had experiences with these bleeding a little bit if I don't line my lips prior to putting them on. They stain your skin horrifically as a result of smearing or bleeding, which is frustrating to clean up too. As other people have mentioned, these have a very baby powder-esque scent which I particularly despise. I'm almost hesitant to buy L'Oreal lipsticks because of the scent but it only really bothers me during application.
While British Red isn't bold enough to be garish or obnoxious, it does a wonderful job as a pick-me-up color that can freshen my complexion beautifully.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* singwritenow on 4/3/2011 2:37:00 AM more reviews by singwritenow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

British red is an opulent, brilliant, sensual orange red that goes on dreamy smooth and is long lasting. Think British phone booth red, looks funky worn with jeans and chandilier earrings or a little black vintage dress and red heels. I agree with one of the other reviewers that this would also look great with a matte finish, but I find that if I blot it a little with tissue it creates a semi-matte finish while still being very moisturizing. Great formulation, truly fabulous lipstick for a great price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WantonWonton on 2/12/2011 10:44:00 AM more reviews by WantonWonton

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's a great, long lasting bright, orange-red. It goes on really smooth and doesn't chap my lips (though I always put on a layer of blistex underneath first). I like that the cap snaps tight, and I really do like the classy look of the tube. However, the plastic used is the same as most other plastic lipstick tubes. The lipstick works best layered. It does transfer really easily and is easy to come off, but keeps its pigmentation after transfer..

This lipstick made me decide that I shouldn't do bright reds, by no fault of its own, but rather of my own complexion and teeth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 curseofsarcasm on 2/4/2011 11:45:00 PM more reviews by curseofsarcasm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for L'Oreal Colour Riche lipstick in shade 350 British Red. The product is very well formulated, creamy and pigmented. The colour is a slightly warm red, and opacity is buildable but it looks best with full coverage. The finish is satin, and longevity is good. Packaging is a gold rectangular tube with a concave side for the thumb. It is easy to hold and apply accurately. Two issues: the sticker swatch on the base appears to be a blue-based red, so it is not a good match; the twist-up mechanism is slightly slow. The price is reasonable. I would buy this again.

For reference: cool-toned PPP, image included.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 12/24/2010 11:24:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love the scent, love the vivid true color, love the texture. I just wish they would make a matte version, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Lipstick products