L'Oreal Colour Riche Lipstick in British Red

4.3

49 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/5/2012 9:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Perfection red if you are blonde, blue eyed and have a slight tan or self tan...this will make you look pulled together, less tired and ready to go. There is nothing bright about this l/s unless you glob it on, don't do that, it's not a good look no matter what. I'm taking a lippie off due to the fact that I hate the smell and taste of L'Oreal lippie's, I throw this on though in a pinch. Worth having in your bag to look sophisticated without looking overly made up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/19/2012 2:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I saw this advertised as an editors favorite and once I got it I could see why. It is the classic go to red. It is a gorgeous shade that is intense, but not really dark. It just has a rich classic feel and is very flattering. The lipstick is soft and hydrating for a matte. Doesn't come off easily.


on 1/21/2012 10:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Most beautiful red from a drug store brand. So perfect!
But... makes my lips itch and then swell on first use. I gave it to my mum. Had to get steroid cream perscription because of this.
NOT suitable for people with sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2012 9:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this tomato red. Straight tomato red. I detect a little bit of orange but not too orange. Lovely color and formula.


on 1/13/2012 10:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is an orange-red that despite all my best efforts, makes my teeth look horrid yellow (and I used creststrips!). It's a great quality lipstick, but just not an ideal colour. I use this lipstick as a cream blush only.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love bright red and this lipstick definitely delivers! The color isn't very natural though, but if you want it to look more natural, just apply small dabs and smear it with your fingers. Keep in mind that this lipstick does clump, but not as badly as some other brands. A plus about this line of lipsticks is that it is very moisturizing. A good way to prevent drying would be to apply chapstick over your lips every now and then. Applying too many layers may result in a more clumped up effect later on, so I just apply one layer at most. The color is so vibrant it doesn't need to be reapplied that frequently in my opinion. I would buy this again just because it's hard to find such a nice, true red color.


on 9/28/2011 11:18:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been trying to find a red lipstick i can wear off and on since 1967. Rarely have i found a red that i think looks OK on me. I had frequently read that L'Oreal British Red is an excellent true red that looks good on many skin tones. So i decided to give it a try.
.
I generally like L'Oreal Colour Riche lipsticks, and own quite a few. I find them smooth and easy to apply, comfortable and moisturizing on the lips. They come in a wide range of excellent colors, and they're relatively inexpensive. They come in a reasonably attractive square-ish matte gold plastic tube with metallic gold trim; the cap has to go on one particular way and there's a little plastic guide to help it close firmly. The lipstick twists up smoothly - i have some that are 15 years old and the mechanisms still work well. They're scented with a mild, not unpleasant, old-fashioned makeup floral fragrance that evokes vintage glamor, unlike the tweeny foody scents (vanilla, chocolate, fruit, mint) of so many today.
.
And British Red certainly is RED !!! Really really RED !!! The red and my skin color were not exactly enemies. But once again, i think red lipstick makes me look, well, dowdy.
.
If you like to wear red lipstick, this may be for you. It is intensely red, not too blue and not too orange, so it does seem to work with many skin tones. The color lasts quite a long time, even stained my lips. I'm not going to buy it again, because i think real red just isn't flattering on me, but this is an excellent red and a very good lipstick. And at such a reasonable price it is definitely worth adding to your lipstick palette.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/1/2011 5:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is another one of those lipsticks who's color is hard to describe against my skin tone. I agree with the reviewer who noted that this lipstick can pull either cool or warm...it almost kind of looks like someone had taken a blue based red and added in just the slightest drop of orange. The undertones don't really cancel each other out but shine through and give this medium tomato red some really wonderful dimension. When I'm in broad daylight this leans more cool on me than it does when I'm inside or surrounded by soft electric lighting but I'd never describe it as being an orange-red or even ever appearing to be very noticeably orange at all.
This color doesn't have any yellow tone to it at all the way that some tomato reds do, which I think makes it much easier to pull off. I have another tomato red by Revlon (Ravish Me Red) and because of the slight yellow tone thrown in, I have to wear blush to keep the color from looking flat and washing me out a little. When I first really tried British Red on, it brightened my face instantly. I didn't need any blush to put some color back into my face and it made my teeth look pearly white. I suppose British Red could be described as a neutral shade but the color isn't devoid of undertones completely or disappointingly drab.
I quite the sleek gloss that L'Oreal Colour Riche lipsticks have. They're pretty thick in consistency but glide across the lips almost effortlessly. I've had experiences with these bleeding a little bit if I don't line my lips prior to putting them on. They stain your skin horrifically as a result of smearing or bleeding, which is frustrating to clean up too. As other people have mentioned, these have a very baby powder-esque scent which I particularly despise. I'm almost hesitant to buy L'Oreal lipsticks because of the scent but it only really bothers me during application.
While British Red isn't bold enough to be garish or obnoxious, it does a wonderful job as a pick-me-up color that can freshen my complexion beautifully.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

British red is an opulent, brilliant, sensual orange red that goes on dreamy smooth and is long lasting. Think British phone booth red, looks funky worn with jeans and chandilier earrings or a little black vintage dress and red heels. I agree with one of the other reviewers that this would also look great with a matte finish, but I find that if I blot it a little with tissue it creates a semi-matte finish while still being very moisturizing. Great formulation, truly fabulous lipstick for a great price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2011 10:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's a great, long lasting bright, orange-red. It goes on really smooth and doesn't chap my lips (though I always put on a layer of blistex underneath first). I like that the cap snaps tight, and I really do like the classy look of the tube. However, the plastic used is the same as most other plastic lipstick tubes. The lipstick works best layered. It does transfer really easily and is easy to come off, but keeps its pigmentation after transfer..

This lipstick made me decide that I shouldn't do bright reds, by no fault of its own, but rather of my own complexion and teeth.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
178 Reviews
provocalips
41 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top