Elizabeth Arden • Blue Grass • Fragrances

rated 3.7(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dascha on 7/26/2008 5:50:00 PM more reviews by dascha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is another my mother wore and that I've revisited. I can't say I ever really liked this scent when she wore it, but for some reason I like the idea of it and the name very much. For my mother, it evokes the fresh sweet smell of Iowa cornfields in summer. She used to spritz herself with it, post-shower after a long day detassling corn. To my nose, the topnotes are rather unpleasantly indole-ic, probably from jasmine, and there is a mustiness there too that make me not like it much in the beginning. However, it dries down to a nice dusty floral soapiness. It is far more interesting than most of the new scents out there, and on some people it might be great. Not bad at all, but maybe just not for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckylouie on 3/2/2008 4:50:00 AM more reviews by luckylouie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am reviewing this for my mother, not for me. This is a lovely dry finished herbaceous floral, a sophisticated rendering of a summers evening walking through a field of new mown hay towards a garden of night opening flowers. Perfect for wearing with tailored, but somewhat casual clothes, lovely for daytime, not so good for evenings. On my mum it smells divine, on me it smells dusty. Try before you buy and don't be put off by the fact that it is relatively cheap and available in chemists.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youdroppedabalmonme on 3/2/2008 3:20:00 AM more reviews by youdroppedabalmonme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Was at the EA spa today and sampled this one. With its light-blue packaging and vintage logo, I was hopeful that it would be a classic and powdery scent, like Je Reviens. Augh... no. There is something so utterly nauseating about this scent to me; it reminds me of that stuff that school janitors sprinkle about when a kid throws up. No offense to Blue Grass lovers, this is just how it hits my nose for some reason. A very distinctive scent that you'll either love or hate. Lotsa heady florals in this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rosbergs3 on 2/27/2008 7:42:00 PM more reviews by rosbergs3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Today was my first full wearing of this and i found it to be a quite enchanting scent. This is going to sound strange but i kept thinking i was smelling a giant stick of soft salted butter made the old fashioned way....with a butter churner. Imagine running through beautiful airy hills in Kentucky with the wind blowing, green grass fluttering,the wheat swaying softly, herbs are growing and swaying in the breeze as well. There are quite a few hay bales too. Theres is something else in the air too. It smells creamey, soft, butterey. In the distance you see a small run-down shack and decide to go see if anyone is there. When you get in view of the front porch you see two delightful old ladies laughing and carrying on and churning butter the old fashioned way and they couldnt be happier. You then realize that the creamey, soft, butterey scent you noticed back in the field was coming from this tiny little house. This is Blue Grass.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CecileCecile on 11/6/2007 8:41:00 PM more reviews by CecileCecile

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This smells to me like an actual whiff of wild herbs and flowers, not an idealized, sweetened-up floral. It is a very dry floral/herbal with definite character. Almost like a spicy/peppery potpourri, this stands out and is easily identifiable. Casually, I can see this going perfectly with tweed or calico or other traditional 'country' attire. Formally, this would be great with a pantsuit, it's not a prissy girly scent. There is a lady at my workplace who wears this at least once a week and I've grown to appreciate the honesty of this scent. I don't think that I would currently buy this because my Je Reviens, which I prefer, is so close to this IMO, only softened with a little powder which makes it a little more suitable for my style (I don't get powder in Blue Grass like others do). I will not rule out a future purchase, and I would highly recommend Blue Grass to anyone looking for something natural and outdoorsy and not the least bit sweet.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sherrie11 on 10/26/2006 6:40:00 PM more reviews by Sherrie11

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Blue Grass was absolutely awful on me. Synthetic smelling, cheesey, cloying, nausea inducing. A real scrubber for me, and that doesn't happen often - there aren't many perfumes I can't find something to love about. The appeal of this one completely mystifies me. Maybe I got my hands on a bad bottle, or maybe I got hold of a reformulation. ??? :-/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* syltetyta on 8/14/2006 3:34:00 PM more reviews by syltetyta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I remember this from childhood holidays, I was always stunned by the beautiful scent and gorgeous bottle the previous reviewer mentioned.
The new bottle is blah and doesn't speak the fragrances personality imo.
If you come across this scent, try it. I really is a forgotten woody and flowery classic.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starchild1166 on 8/14/2006 12:12:00 PM more reviews by starchild1166

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have loved this scent since my Mom wore it on Summer nights in the 70s. The bottle was thick frosted glass with etchings of horses on it and I remember thinking what a gorgeous bottle it was. Today, the scent is there, but not quite. Something seems to be missing, but I still buy it again and again. It still is perfect for Summer nights, too, not overpowering at all. Just spray and walk into the mist. It has a light powdery scent, delicate; I get compliments all the time when I wear this.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Moondeva on 7/22/2006 12:32:00 PM more reviews by Moondeva

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Blue Grass - An absolute masterpiece, and sadly much underrated. Like a walk a fragrant herbaceous garden at dawn, with the sun just rising and the dew thick upon the leaves. Fresh floral but not flowery. Cool lavender dominates subtly before jasmine, carnation, rose and narcissus softly emerge in the heart notes. dry down is smooth clean woods with a subtle touch of spice. Airy throughout. Similar to L'Air du Temps in expression. Great for the office / professional wear. Also great when playing sports. A hidden Classic.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 denningm on 5/6/2006 12:06:00 PM more reviews by denningm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Green    

As a general comment on Blue Grass, back in the 60's and 70's the bottle was beautiful. Frosted glass with etched reliefs of galloping horses. It would be great if Arden did an "Anniversary" edition and brought back that packaging even for a limited time. Possibly make it refillable.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products