The Body Shop • Shimmer Cubes • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Samarachelle on 12/24/2009 2:26:00 AM more reviews by Samarachelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I adore these eyeshadows, I really do. They are gorgeous. I own three sets and I definitely use them for special occasions as well as for a boost; if applied wet they give off a beautiful metallic shimmer (my favourite kind of finish), which makes your eyes look... radiant. :) Also, what's amazing is the amount of product you get in just one of the four little tubs--magic cubes that don't develop dents no matter how much you use them?! Haha. They'll last you forever. Seriously, try these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 babyfratelli on 7/26/2009 7:46:00 AM more reviews by babyfratelli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the shimmer cubes Duty Free. I have used the dark brown every day for over a month, and it looks like I have not used it at all - so I know it will last a long time! Well worth the money. The four colours I got was a dark brown, slightly lighter brown, burnt copper colour and a pale gold. I use the dark brown almost daily as it gives a nice dark smokey eye, with a hint of shimmer that lasts most of the day. I also use the light gold almost daily on the inner corner of my eye and on the brow bone. The light gold is good for wearing alone, or with a black liquid liner.
I find I have less use for the other two colours however. With all colours, at the end of the day they are still visible, but tend to have disappeared a bit. However it does not smudge onto my face. They apply dark and evenly, with colour depositing where I want it and not ending up on the rest of my face. I wet a body shop angled eyeshadow brush and lined my lower lashes with the dark brown as well, and when the product is wet it comes out much brighter and darker. I really love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MissRalux on 5/8/2009 1:22:00 PM more reviews by MissRalux

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the shimmering cubes - deadly night shade- I love the colours but unfortunately it doesn't stay on for too long...i have to keep reapply which is a little inconvenient... I will look for something that stays on so definitley won't buy this one

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 thekeeg on 3/22/2009 1:48:00 AM more reviews by thekeeg

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

These shadows are a nice palette and you get a very large amount of product! I don't like the silver color as it's just way too glittery, bright, and false looking. The grey-purple is great for lining and the crease. The peachy and coppery tones are excellent. They are not very pigmented and really could use less glitter and more color, but they make for a decent good day look. The glitter interferes with them being appropriate for business though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* modestyblaise78 on 2/28/2009 2:07:00 PM more reviews by modestyblaise78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I always buy these on TBS sales...
But - I don't think that their color pay off is good, and I don't like to open the package, than to open another one, than one more...
They are cute though, and some of the palettes are really nice - so I guess that some more of these cubes are going to attract my attention in the future...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 h7georgia on 11/22/2008 2:35:00 AM more reviews by h7georgia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love shimmer cubes! Some people have said about them being sheer, I find they work really well when using a primer underneath (such as Urban Decay Primer Potion). But then again I do not like really dark high pigmented eyeshadow on me, I love it on other people but it just does not suit me (or I am useless at applying it!!)

I would recommend these and would purchase again but I don't think I will need to as I have been using mine for years and they barely look touched!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sour on 11/11/2008 9:23:00 AM more reviews by Sour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am not a big fan of the shimmer cubes as I think their staying power is really poor. The colors are really nice though, but I still wonít repurchase because of the staying power. There are similar products out there that have better lasting power. So far, Iím not too impressed with the quality of The Body Shopís make up products. They should stick to what they do best, skin care products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunshowers on 10/31/2008 10:19:00 PM more reviews by sunshowers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

These Shimmer Cubes palettes are just about the best value around for eye shadow. I've had the same box of cubes for six years and even with very frequent use I have hardly made a dent in any of the cubes. I can hardly believe it myself - maybe it's a little gross that I'm still using them, but I can't bring myself to throw them out when they're still perfectly good and I have so much left. The colors are gorgeous, though as others have said the color can be a bit sheer and it doesn't last as long as it could. I found that applying the shadow wet intensifies the color dramatically.


UPDATE:
I finally bought a new palette to try some new colors (palette number 16) and I am really disappointed. I don't know if TBS has changed their formula or if this is just a bad pallette, but the new cubes are nothing like the ones I bought 7 years ago (palette number 06).


While I can still get great color payoff from my old shimmer cubes, these new ones are so sheer and full of huge flaky glitter (eeww) that every shade looks almost exactly the same. The pale peach and rosy pink might as well be the same shade, shimmer and glitter with a tiny hint of pink. The snowy white doesn't even deposit a color, it just leaves the big flakes of glitter that end up falling off my lids. Even the shade that is supposed to be a shimmery deep black comes out looking like a medium silver. The most surprising thing of all is that these cubes aren't even that shimmery! I have ultra-cheap Presige eyeshadows that leave far more shimmer on my lids.


The last straw? The weird smell of these cubes. The marula oil that they use as a binding agent must be the culprit for the strange odor emanating from the cubes. I have never had an eyeshadow give off such a strong smell.


I believe I will try to take these back to the store. I am not at all happy with them, I still left a 2 lippy rating since I don't know yet if the other palettes are this crappy. I hope it's still this one, because I really should replace my 7-year-old set of shimmer cubes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sselougha on 6/9/2008 4:33:00 PM more reviews by sselougha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Lve these little cubes. Never had a problem with sheerness, blendibility and are easy to apply. I do suggest using an eye primer which will enhance the colour and effect of the shadows. The packaging is cute and the amount given is generous. I personally would not use them for daily wear since there is a lot of glitter but i dont find this is a problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Zoffe on 6/9/2008 8:18:00 AM more reviews by Zoffe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

While the colors are pretty they are way too sheer!
I like to use them on top of black e/s in smoky looks to add some shimmer but I don't think they're pigmented enough to even use as a brow bone highlight!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Eye Shadow products