Manic Panic • Temporary Hair dye • Hair Color

rated 3.5(175 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Geuliet on 8/5/2013 9:26:00 PM more reviews by Geuliet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Manic panic is pretty great. Since I'm vegetarian, of corse I LUV the fact it's a vegan formula. I've dyed my hair twice with manic panic so far. The first time I had faded pink hair and dyed electric banana over it making an amazing orange color. It literally lasted FOREVER, so long in fact that I decided to dye shocking blue over the slightly faded orange. It actually covered up pretty well. It showed up a bit greenish but I think it's only because I dyed it over orange hair. The blue didn't last too long though, but it was blue during the summer and the pool was open so i swam almost everyday. considering that it lasted long, I mean at least it faded to a lighter blue rather then icy green or grey. the product smells ok to, it's not all chemically smelling. It doesn't exactly smell like a spring flower though! but it left my hair soft and manageable with very little damage. So defiantly buy this product, it is expensive though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cmacintyre100 on 5/30/2013 1:10:00 PM more reviews by cmacintyre100

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Manic Panic isn't terrible, but not great either. Was lovely and conditioning for my hair, not drying and didn't have any harsh scents. Another pro is that the color does not bleed much at all. I managed to rinse clear after the first wash and had little to no bleeding on pillow cases, clothes or my hands when styling my hair. The problem was that the color doesn't last. I wash my hair in cold water maybe twice a week max, and used heat when processing and it faded terribly within the first week. I used up the rest of my jar mixed with a splat color, but I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kaicg on 4/9/2013 8:18:00 PM more reviews by kaicg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really do love manic panic; the colours are vibrant! There are no harmful chemicals so switching up colours frequently wont damage your hair, and you can mix up colours to create unique shades. On the downside this can be a high maintenance product, and some places it's around 12-14$ (Canada) which adds up quickly especially with medium to long hair and you have to buy 2 at a time.

I've found that to get the best results I'll apply it at night (after shampooing and drying my hair first, don't condition) cover it with a shower cap and leave over night. I wash my hair with a colour safe and sulfate free shampoo/conditioner in cool water. I recently used a blue that is infamous for fading to green within 1-2 washes, it's been over a week and my hair is still looking great.

It is important to note that manic panic looks most vibrant on blonde hair, but darker colours will still have a tint from the manic panic.

Also it lasts longer the less you wash it, I'm lucky enough that I have dryer hair so I only need to wash it 3 times a week. I wear a shower cap to keep it dry on the other days in the shower. So oilier hair types should keep this in mind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ellenodegaard on 3/29/2013 11:37:00 PM more reviews by ellenodegaard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Color your hair the day of an event or w/e you want your hair temporarily colored for. After a few days it will wash out.
I have blonde hair that is bleached professionally.
My bright pink lasted about 4 washes, but faded drastically after the first wash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ariax on 3/29/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by ariax

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

honestly, i'm genuinely surprised with how good the reviews are for this product.

i went to a professional to get my hair done, i only died the tips for an ombre/dip dye effect. my hair is brown so i got the ends bleached. i mixed the two colors atomic turquoise and voodoo blue so get a really turquoisy color that didn't have green in it. at first, it came out perfect. after just 3 washes (i wash my hair every other day) it was just a very awkward green color. i jused color-stay shampoo/conditioner, but that didn't help. it immediately faded after one wash, not to mention the blue color of the turquoise coming out in the shower and staining my bathtub.

i called and asked about why that happened, and they told me i should try to redye it and leave it in for a long time, up to 2 hours. so i re-dyed it myself only voodoo blue to avoid a greenish color, followed the directions, and 3 days later washed my hair again and HUGE amounts of blue came out in the shower. i'm writing this review as my hair dries, so i'm not sure how much came out, but i know for a fact it will definitely be a significant amount of shades lighter.

the colors are great, and i love the way it looked at first, but i really am disappointed in how awesome the product seemed by the reviews and came out within 3 washes for me. and not only did it just fade, it changed color completely. i'm upset.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dstew017 on 3/25/2013 12:28:00 AM more reviews by Dstew017

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

So I just recently used manic panic hair dye for the 1st time to brighten my badly faded Chi colored red hair. I chose manic panic because after dyeing my hair red the 1st time with chi hair color it soon faded, I redyed it again to brighten it, and fried my hair! I guess I had colored it to soon, and my hair had not healed enough. Anyways my hair texture was now mushy, and stretchy when wet. I was to scared to redye it when it faded AGAIN after a month because I didnt want to risk the damage, so I just walked around with my faded red for a few months. My sister who is a stylist recommended I use manic panic Vampire Red to touch up my hair if I didnt mind that it was going to be a pain. She said permanent color would be to damaging on my now fragile, over processed hair. She said that manic panic is semi permanent, would not lift my hair, and wouldnt cause damage because it is only temporary and is coating my hair, not penetrating the cortex. I used it, washed it out, blow dryed it straight, and It looked awesome! It was a beautiful rich bright burgundy looking red. My hair felt a little rough afterward but it was pretty much in the same condition it was before I used the manic panic. No side effects I thought. The next day I decided I wanted to give my hair a moisturizing deep conditioning treatement. I found a recipe online using olive oil, avacados, mayonaise and an egg an put it on my hair. I thought everything was fine until I went to wash the treatment out. CHUNKS OF MELTED PIECES OF MY HAIR BEGAN TO FALL OUT INTO THE TUB!!! Needless to say I was freaking out, I called my sister and she was in shock and at a loss for words, she had just told me that manic panic was safe, and it would probably make my hair feel and look healthier.....I guess it was only a couple sections that had melted off because I washed the treatment off, conditioned the hell out of my hair, and brushed it until all the melted pieces had fallen away. My hair now looks and feel normal again. Has anyone else ever experienced or heard of this happening?!?! My sister is convinced that it wasnt the manic panic, she thinks that the manic panic and the treatment together had a freak crazy adverse reaction when I put the treatment on my freshly MANICKED hair, causing pieces of my hair to melt. She keeps telling me its not possible that it was the manic panice because its a coating not a lifting permanent dye. She also suggested that I may be over conditioning my hair, she really doent know. I....on the other hand am not so convinced that it wasnt the manic panics doing...Im not sure it was though because it was fine when I washed it the 1st time! I really dont know what to think! I may use again, but only after doing a strand test AND talking to another professional stylist about what happened so I can figure out what caused my hair to react like that. If anyone has experieced or heard of this before please comment! I really want to know what caused that to happen to my hair!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SupaMaria on 3/16/2013 7:43:00 PM more reviews by SupaMaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

A couple of months ago, I decided to dye my hair red but didn't want to commit to it for long so I went for the manic panic range and I tried it in three different reds, and here it goes!
Wildfire: lightest of the reds I tried, is a very bright fiery red with orange undertones. This faded in about a week and into an orange, nevertheless it was a nice red.
Vampire red: ah the infamous vampire red, love it! It was such a deep red it reminded me of the little mermaid. :) it didn't fade as quickly as wildfire and it was more of a pink based red. Got lots of compliments on it.
Infra red: similar to vampire red, but it appeared a bit darker to me. Nevertheless it was lovely and a truer red than vampire red. It was also the one that bled the most!
So to sum it up: vampire red my favorite of all three although they where all very pretty. :) they stain a lot so careful, and wear gloves because my mint colored nails often turned lavender lol! Avoid washing your hair often and also when you do use cold water, the usual precautions. As for getting rid of it, it was actually a bit hard I bleached it twice and I still have a bit of a peach twinge on my bangs but not complains it gives my blonde dimension I say. :) so if you're looking for a semi perm red definitely give manic panic a chance chances are its easier to get rid of than splat. (oh god that was a tough one!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 callieinterrupted on 2/15/2013 6:13:00 PM more reviews by callieinterrupted

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Manic Panic is saddening.
Ever since I started dying my hair, Manic Panic was all that I used. No doubt it faded over time regardless, but I found Vampire Red would last a long time and just fade to scarlet at the worst.

Over the years (5) that I've used it, there's definitely been a downgrade in the formula some way. Vampire red, as of 2012, rinses out a deep pink and stains my body and shower. It never used to do that beyond some pink lather. It literally rains pink now, even if I don't use shampoo.

I have no idea what happened to their formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 2/15/2013 3:28:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm gaga over Manic Panic!! My hair is dry and chemically treated with blonde highlights, I dye the underside layers with MP to mix things up! It's not damaging to the hair and there's zero mixing required. I do suggest wearing gloves due to the fact that it will stain your hands and nails. The fun part of this hair color is that it gradually fades out and the color transitions from dark to light. Fave color is voodoo blue and atomic turquoise. I'd skip out on cotton candy pink because it literally has no pigment unless your hair is bleached. It doesn't improve the condition of hair by any means, but it doesn't damage or dry it out like box dyes- no harsh chemicals and vegan:) will repurchase again & again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 2/7/2013 10:43:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Fun, funky-punky colors that wash out. A cool way to experiment with color. I am partial to the HOT hot pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Manic Panic products

More Hair Color products