Avalon Organics Botanicals • Vitamin C Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(118 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 6/23/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My combo acne prone sensitive skin is loving this cleanser this summer!! Use it at night after removing makeup and sometimes in mornings. Very happy I tried this and that it's fairly natural .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nanou2 on 3/1/2013 6:10:00 PM more reviews by Nanou2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Such a great wash! I first remove my eye makeup with olive oil followed by a warm washcloth then I wash with this. It creates such a soft lather.

The scent is very refreshing and I presume natural after looking over the ingredients.

I'm no chemist but these ingredients look much better than leading brand cleansers (which I can't even pronounce never mind know).

Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice(1), Aqua (Water), Decyl Glucoside, Sorbitol, Coco-Glucoside, Xanthan Gum, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Arnica Montana Flower Extract(1), Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract(1), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract(1), Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Extract*, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract(1), Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract(1), Ascorbyl Glucoside, Bisabolol, Citric Acid, Glycerin, Glyceryl Oleate, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alcohol(1), Benzyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Limonene

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NatashaR on 2/22/2013 12:48:00 AM more reviews by NatashaR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was hesitant to try this product at first, because my crazy oily, acne-prone, and acne-scarred skin breaks out SO easily. I've also had a few bad experiences with natural cleansers in the past. Anyways, I'm so glad I gave this cleanser a chance. I'm probably on my fifth bottle of this stuff. Seems to help control my oil buildup, removes all my makeup (if I'm wearing a heavy foundation I use olive oil to help remove makeup, too), and it is extremely refreshing and brightening! Best cleanser I've found yet, highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 underdreamskies on 11/24/2012 4:22:00 PM more reviews by underdreamskies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

(This review is for the Refreshing Cleansing Gel. Just making this clear as there's also a cleansing milk under this line.)

For my very oily skin and the climate I live in -- year round average temperatures of 85 F and humidity above 70% and usually very sunny days -- this is outstanding as an AM cleanser, to refresh my skin and prep it to face the environment without being too drying or making me anymore oily than normal. I love the scent, it smells like fresh cut oranges, really makes you wake up in the morning! There are no synthetic fragrances or colors, or parabens or phthalates or sulfates, which is so important for me, especially the no sulfate part as I also have occassional acne and have noticed that sulfates in products irritate my skin. Despite there being no sulfates, this cleanser does produce a little bit of lather, enough to give you that feeling of cleansing the skin (not like oil cleansing). The product is dispensed through a pump which is very nice, so the packaging is purely practical. I purchased this at a Walmart, it can be found online and the price is very reasonable.

I only use this in the morning because I am not sure it would do a good job at removing make-up at the end of the day, I prefer for my night cleansers to both remove make-up and cleanse the skin all at once. From other reviews it seems that this product is definitely not for someone with dry skin, those with combo should be careful, but it would be perfect for someone with oily skin who wants something that will help control oil with the added benefits of the antioxidants and no sulfates to further irritate the skin/produce more oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jubilee on 9/13/2012 4:08:00 PM more reviews by Jubilee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I just tried a sample of this, but my skin loved it! After just one day of usage, my skin looked brighter. And it felt like silk going on! I may have to break down and buy a full-size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ohtokio on 9/9/2012 2:52:00 AM more reviews by ohtokio

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried this facial cleanser twice. Both products resulted in some kind of chemical burn/allergic reaction after about a week to two weeks. I really liked it in the first week; my existing breakouts went down, and although it was too drying for my skin, my complexion was bright. My usage of the product coincided with the introduction of another facial product, so I attributed the chemical burn to a full on revolution by my skin, but my second go-around with this product made me realize it's just too harsh for my skin (which is combination -- a healthy amount of oil but prone to dryness).

The chemical burn was exactly like what everyone else is describing; dry, scaly whitehead-like bumps with lots of itching and redness.

I have a friend who uses this nightly and really likes it, but her skin veers toward the oily side of the spectrum. I can see why this would be a good cleanser for some people, but it's definitely not for everyone. I've tried multiple products by this brand and have been disappointed by all of them.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 megieroo on 4/19/2012 9:56:00 PM more reviews by megieroo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this this cleanser at first. But it wasn't the best choicce for my sensitive skin. This cleanser made my skin dry and it really irritated my cheeks. Otherwise this cleanser was amazing. It cleaned beautifully, made my skin radiant and glowing. It was just too over drying. I really wish it wasnt.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 luv4strawberry on 3/21/2012 10:08:00 PM more reviews by luv4strawberry

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Well i have dry skin and no i'm not a dumb a** i know the bottle says for normal to oily skin but i was having a hard time getting off all my long wearing makeup and been wanting to try this.
Yes it is to drying for someone like me who already has dry skin, however it breaks up longwear foundation better than anything i've used (granted no i haven't tried the expensive makeup removers which i'm sure work really well but i'll be damned if i'm paying 30-40 to take off my 30-40 $$ makeup).
Really i use maybe a pea size drop not a full pump that's overkill it really lathers up very quickly without having to use a lot of product.
If you have dry skin and decide to use this i'd recommend using it at night and to make sure you use a good moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* J_cool on 2/28/2012 5:43:00 PM more reviews by J_cool

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Initially, I was using FANCL's Washing Powder, and although it was excellent, it was on the pricey side. What attracted me to Avalon's Vitamin C Gel Cleanser was that it was sulfate-free and had a good concentration of Vitamin C which helps to boost collagen production and banish skins marks. After a 1/3 of product used, I can say that Avalon Organics Botanicals Vitamin C Cleanser is one of the better products I implemented into my skin care in the last couple years.

For some one with sensitive skin prone to both oiliness and dryness, most cleansers on the market are harsh and often irritatating to my face. I look for mild, "sulfate-free" formulations. I also have moderate acne on my cheeks.

After a week of using Avalon, my skin felt more softer and looked much clearer. My previous facial powder cleanser didn't do much for my acne, but Avalon's cleanser help to brighten and clear my complexion. The lather was wonderfully rich and foaming and smoothed nicely over my face. It rinsed clean, left zero residue and left my skin feeling great. And the scent was magical, like creamy-orange deliciousness! It smells so good, you can almost taste it!

I use it in conjuction with a facial cleansing oil from Origins, which removes my makeup and sunscreen. I can't say that this cleanser, alone, is strong enough to remove the "12-hour" foundation I wear, but it doesn't leave my skin parched, tight, uncomfortable, and/or irritated. So I can safely assume that this cleanser is, most definitely, mild.

If you're looking for a solid, basic, calming cleanser with high-grade ingrendients that addresses problematic and/or sensitive skin issues, try Avalon's Vitamin C. It is truly a mild formulation. Has extracts of green tea and chamomile and Allantoin to further soothe and comfort your skin. NO artificial scents/fragrances or colors.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 uteraldecay on 1/24/2012 6:43:00 PM more reviews by uteraldecay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!

I thought that something natural would be better then my usual spectro gel. Spectro gel smells harsh and chemical but This cleanser gave me something that seems like a chemical burn. Itchy red and dry skin...with PATCHES of tiny whiteheads. Then came the dryness. It's been 4 days without using it and even after exfoliating it still feels like sandpaper around my jaw and cheeks.

I don't even think i would inflict this stuff on anyone. Absolute worst cleanser i have ever used and i thought natural would be gentler..EEK.

One plus is that it smells nice... deceiving. lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Cleansers products