Origins • The Great Pretender • Self Tanners

rated 4.3(38 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Miau on 6/10/2009 7:14:00 PM more reviews by Miau

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this self-tanner. It gives great lasting natural results. I also like the little sparkles in it. Origin changed their ingredients this year, and took out parabens, phthalates, propylene, mineral oil etc... I put it on after my shower and scrub, two times a week, and that really keeps it from blotching and fading. I also like the way it smells, kind of minty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ThisGirl0 on 3/10/2009 11:52:00 PM more reviews by ThisGirl0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I like this product very much, but it is just too expensive. I read a few good reviews on another site and decided to try it.
I like that it is tinted and smells very minty, but at the end of the day you will still smell like any other self-tanner. It minty smell goes away and is followed by that strange scent. It comes off after a quick shower so it's not a problem. It creates good results like most self-tanners when applied properly. It is best to exfoliate really well, dry skin and apply a thin layer of a regular lotion. Let that dry and than apply the self-tanner evenly. If done correctly you will look fine - no streaks or blotches.

This product is way too expensive in my opinion since it produces the same results as L'Oreal Sublime Glow, and even has those sparkles that make skin glow (which I love, by the way). Just like any other self-tanner, this product contains dihydroxyacetone which chemically turns skin brown. There is nothing extre special about this product that makes it worth the $20, especially for the 5oz tube that lasts maybe 3 or 4 applications (if applied over the entire body). L'Oreal Sublime Glow comes in a 8oz tube and costs about $8. Much more reasonable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brittanyannb on 1/30/2009 12:37:00 AM more reviews by brittanyannb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I like this product a lot. I am a big fan of the Mystic Tans at my local tanning salon but they can get a bit expensive so I went and picked up this product. I used it last night and woke up today with a nice natural looking tan. It wasn't fake looking or orange. This product also did not streak which I have had problems with in the past. It gives only a lit bit of color which is good and bad, It can give you more of a gradual color instead of a heavy fake looking color. I would reccomend this to anyone who wants a natural looking tan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candiceliz1980 on 5/14/2008 11:34:00 PM more reviews by candiceliz1980

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good self tanner. I am uber-white, the same color as my one-year-old who has never had a drop of sun! This tanner does not streak and because it is tinted it gives instant color. The color is gradual which is good for me because if I miss a spot I can go over it and have it look believable. The color is not orange or brown it is a peach-tan which is more believable to me then orange for sure! I would recommend this product and I have purchased it twice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RV2000 on 4/25/2008 2:03:00 AM more reviews by RV2000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the best self tanner I have ever tried. I have fair skin and like many other's have had a hard time finding a self tanner that doesn't look orangy. Well I finally found it with this product! I put this on at night and the next morning I wake up with the most beautiful natural looking tan. I agree with everyone else regarding the packaging, it does tend to spill everywhere. I actually transfer this product into a basic plastic pump bottle, so no more spillage!

I would highly recommend this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lincra on 3/24/2008 9:45:00 PM more reviews by lincra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am very fair and have used this self tanner for years and it always provides the most natural looking tan. Nothing fake or orangey looking here. I also like how I don't have to be afraid to put too much on because you have to layer it to get the results you want. I suppose this can be a negative, but I always worried with other tanners about using too much, so it's good for me. The peppermint smell is great as well. The only thing I hate is the squeeze bottle. I always seem to get the tanner everywhere! It just spills out so easily and gets on my counters, floor, etc. I wish they would change it to a pump bottle or something.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FeeFee34 on 7/11/2007 10:33:00 PM more reviews by FeeFee34

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The Good:
-pretty color for a bottle
-smells divine
-sparkles show you where you've already applied it

The Bad:
-you have to wait hours before the tan shows up
-which usually just causes you to make random parts too tan and random parts too pale
-no matter how hard I try, I always end up with yellow ankles and knees
-somehow it WILL end up all over your counter, floor, and the container itself
-I suppose this could also be a pro, but it washes off very easily

Basically, it's a decent self-tanner, but I won't repurchase because I always either use too much or too little, and when I should happen to get the perfect amount (not often), it all just washes down the shower drain after one day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eeb01 on 7/2/2007 6:38:00 PM more reviews by eeb01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Best self-tanner I have ever used. I am sure I will repurchase when I go through my first tube. I bought this b/c I've spent lots of money on drug store brands of self tanner over the years, and none have ever impressed me. Most I would use one time, and then try to swap or just throw away. None ever looked natural on me. But, the Great Pretender has made me happy! The color is brown on my naturally very white skin, not orange or yellow. It smells great going on, although after a few hours I do note the distict self tanner smell. It's a small price to pay though for the excellent color it delivers. Be careful when applying to not to use too much. My first application I was overly anxious, applied it thick, and it took me a long time to dry. After that, I kept it light and it dried in a more timely fashion. The staying power seems good to me, too. Glad I didn't give up on self tanners and found this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lyss11 on 6/30/2006 2:08:00 PM more reviews by lyss11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Used to love it. Went thru tubes. It used to last from summer to summer (if I didn't use it in the winter). I went to apply this morning and weird black flakey things landed on my leg. Ick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cmhwi on 8/6/2005 4:32:00 PM more reviews by cmhwi

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the fence about this one. I love the scent! The color is almost non-existent and fades in a day. It makes my skin look a bit too yellow. I wish they could achieve the level of color that Estee Lauder Go-Bronze has without the EL perfumey scent. The Origins face tanner version they have is awesome.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Origins products

More Self Tanners products