Origins The Great Pretender

4.2

37 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: aqueous infusion, mentha piperita (peppermint) leaf, cyclopentasiloxane, glycerin, dihydroxyacetone, essential oils (olea), mentha arvensis (field mind), citrus aurantium dulcis (orange), mentha viridis (spearmint), limonene and rosmarinus offinalis (rosemary), tocopheryl (vitamin e) acetate, panthenine, dimethicone, cetyl peg/ppg-10/1 dimethicone, sodium chloride, peg/ppg-18-18 dimethicone, polysilicone-7, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone corsspolymer, sodium phosphate, alumina, triethoxycaprylylsilane, benzoid acid, chlophenesin, phenoxyethanold, methylparaben, mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides.


on 6/10/2009 7:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this self-tanner. It gives great lasting natural results. I also like the little sparkles in it. Origin changed their ingredients this year, and took out parabens, phthalates, propylene, mineral oil etc... I put it on after my shower and scrub, two times a week, and that really keeps it from blotching and fading. I also like the way it smells, kind of minty.



on 3/10/2009 11:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I like this product very much, but it is just too expensive. I read a few good reviews on another site and decided to try it.
I like that it is tinted and smells very minty, but at the end of the day you will still smell like any other self-tanner. It minty smell goes away and is followed by that strange scent. It comes off after a quick shower so it's not a problem. It creates good results like most self-tanners when applied properly. It is best to exfoliate really well, dry skin and apply a thin layer of a regular lotion. Let that dry and than apply the self-tanner evenly. If done correctly you will look fine - no streaks or blotches.

This product is way too expensive in my opinion since it produces the same results as L'Oreal Sublime Glow, and even has those sparkles that make skin glow (which I love, by the way). Just like any other self-tanner, this product contains dihydroxyacetone which chemically turns skin brown. There is nothing extre special about this product that makes it worth the $20, especially for the 5oz tube that lasts maybe 3 or 4 applications (if applied over the entire body). L'Oreal Sublime Glow comes in a 8oz tube and costs about $8. Much more reasonable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2009 12:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like this product a lot. I am a big fan of the Mystic Tans at my local tanning salon but they can get a bit expensive so I went and picked up this product. I used it last night and woke up today with a nice natural looking tan. It wasn't fake looking or orange. This product also did not streak which I have had problems with in the past. It gives only a lit bit of color which is good and bad, It can give you more of a gradual color instead of a heavy fake looking color. I would reccomend this to anyone who wants a natural looking tan.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a very good self tanner. I am uber-white, the same color as my one-year-old who has never had a drop of sun! This tanner does not streak and because it is tinted it gives instant color. The color is gradual which is good for me because if I miss a spot I can go over it and have it look believable. The color is not orange or brown it is a peach-tan which is more believable to me then orange for sure! I would recommend this product and I have purchased it twice.


on 3/24/2008 9:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am very fair and have used this self tanner for years and it always provides the most natural looking tan. Nothing fake or orangey looking here. I also like how I don't have to be afraid to put too much on because you have to layer it to get the results you want. I suppose this can be a negative, but I always worried with other tanners about using too much, so it's good for me. The peppermint smell is great as well. The only thing I hate is the squeeze bottle. I always seem to get the tanner everywhere! It just spills out so easily and gets on my counters, floor, etc. I wish they would change it to a pump bottle or something.


on 7/11/2007 10:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The Good:
-pretty color for a bottle
-smells divine
-sparkles show you where you've already applied it

The Bad:
-you have to wait hours before the tan shows up
-which usually just causes you to make random parts too tan and random parts too pale
-no matter how hard I try, I always end up with yellow ankles and knees
-somehow it WILL end up all over your counter, floor, and the container itself
-I suppose this could also be a pro, but it washes off very easily

Basically, it's a decent self-tanner, but I won't repurchase because I always either use too much or too little, and when I should happen to get the perfect amount (not often), it all just washes down the shower drain after one day.


on 7/2/2007 6:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Best self-tanner I have ever used. I am sure I will repurchase when I go through my first tube. I bought this b/c I've spent lots of money on drug store brands of self tanner over the years, and none have ever impressed me. Most I would use one time, and then try to swap or just throw away. None ever looked natural on me. But, the Great Pretender has made me happy! The color is brown on my naturally very white skin, not orange or yellow. It smells great going on, although after a few hours I do note the distict self tanner smell. It's a small price to pay though for the excellent color it delivers. Be careful when applying to not to use too much. My first application I was overly anxious, applied it thick, and it took me a long time to dry. After that, I kept it light and it dried in a more timely fashion. The staying power seems good to me, too. Glad I didn't give up on self tanners and found this one!


on 6/30/2006 2:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Used to love it. Went thru tubes. It used to last from summer to summer (if I didn't use it in the winter). I went to apply this morning and weird black flakey things landed on my leg. Ick!


on 8/6/2005 4:32:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm on the fence about this one. I love the scent! The color is almost non-existent and fades in a day. It makes my skin look a bit too yellow. I wish they could achieve the level of color that Estee Lauder Go-Bronze has without the EL perfumey scent. The Origins face tanner version they have is awesome.


on 6/9/2005 1:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used this last night on my legs for the first time after exfoliating (concentrating especially on my knees and ankles) and using a light moisturizer. This self-tanner is tinted which makes it easy to blend into the skin. It dried quickly so I was able to go to bed not too long after applying. I woke up this morning to tanned, streak-free legs. An excellent tan for this otherwise PPP.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Origins Products

image

Ginger Essence

172 reviews
Back to Top