MAC • Frost - Nocturnelle • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(155 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rabumentos on 6/23/2012 1:19:00 AM more reviews by rabumentos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I'm an absolute sucker for purple because it's my favorite color, but Nocturnelle went above and beyond the call of duty. It is, to date, my favorite purple MAC eyeshadow. Now, as much as I love this gorgeous red-based purple, it can be a little difficult to work with, as other reviewers have mentioned. It took me some practice to get the best color payoff, so I took off a lippie because getting that payoff was more challenging than it should have been. Getting good color payoff shouldn't require a learning curve.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 juillet4paris on 5/30/2012 4:49:00 PM more reviews by juillet4paris

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought this upon a make over that I had that used this, expensive pink & wood winked at the time the look looked soft and when used together I like it. However on it's own its very difficult to use without looking like a clown. This could be because I'm more understated when it comes to eye colors but I just had more hopes for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lizziesmith21 on 2/5/2012 3:24:00 AM more reviews by lizziesmith21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful colour, had high expectations for it however pigment is useless, doesnt show up on my fair skin at all, even sent back and asked for another as I was sure I had a dodgy one! Looks a gorgeous dark purple in tha pan does not transfer at all, unless I really pack it on and even still its not good. Save ya money ladies....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertwaya on 10/20/2011 10:52:00 PM more reviews by desertwaya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Not happy with this shadow :( Its a lovely color & looks great with my brown eyes but i have to pack it on to get the color i want & by the end of the day half of its gone & its creased (yes this is with primer). Maybe i can use it for the outter V's or maybe ill swap it, not sure yet but i do know i won't buy this shade again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tygerlilee84 on 9/7/2011 1:58:00 AM more reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have been on the search for the perfect purple eyeshadow for a long time. This isn't it, just so you know. For me, the perfect purple eyeshadow is a reddish purple (not pink/fuschia) and for some reason eyeshadows always turn either very cool purple or very fuschia (not flattering on me at all) or very sheer. So, I finally had to acknowledge that I will have to create my own perfect purple. I discovered that if I use this first on the lid and layer Star Violet (which is very sheer on me-I hate it on it's own even though it looks so gorgeous in a swatch) THEN I have the perfect purple. So if anyone layers these two and knows of a single color that looks like that matte or shimmer LET ME KNOW!! Anway, LOVE LOVE LOVE that eyeshadow combination and am extremely happy with it. It's harder to do in the crease, but on the lid it's a great, work appropriate purple look. I just use a skin colored shadow to soften the top edge.
As for using this shadow on it's own, on me it's a cool, but not blue, shimmery purple. I do enjoy this shadow when I'm looking for that shade of purple. It's not very dark at all. I had Fig1 which can almost look black at times and online these two look like a matte and shimmery version of the same shade, but they're not. Nocturnelle is cooler and lighter/mid toned and a little shimmery, Fig 1 is neutral and darker and totally matte. I do see what some people say about Nocturnelle being sheer-it does take a bit of layering and blending to get it just right but I didn't find it too difficult to get right. It's not quite as dark as I like for a crease color. It's definitely more of a lid color for me.
Anyway, if you're looking for a fairly versitle midtoned purple and don't mind a little shimmer, it's a good one to have.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nmhidi on 8/25/2011 11:16:00 PM more reviews by nmhidi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this color. I had been lemming this for quite some time, I am very happy I finally picked it up. I feel like this unique purple really compliments my brown eyes and brown hair. I use this most often with Beautiful Iris on the lid and Nocturnelle in the crease. Has great color payoff and blends nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 8/17/2011 1:30:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Just lovely. Beautiful color, warm purple with pink sheen, extremely flattering for green eyes!
I mostly use it as a crease along with shale on the lid and beautiful iris under the brow for a simple yet feminine look or with woodwinked on the lid and seedy pearl as a highlighter- very glamorous!
Will repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wildflower85 on 8/17/2011 12:34:00 PM more reviews by wildflower85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Nocturnelle is a fabulous red-based purple that works great with green eyes. I tend to use this one as a crease or brow highlighter over my two go-to eyeshadow colors: Expensive Pink and Motif. It gives depth and really makes my eyes stand out without giving off that "bruised" look. Though, if you're into that, Nocturnelle would be a good color for it.
I have this in pro-pan form because it's in my daily repetoire, and I will likely purchase it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lucylucyhh on 6/15/2011 10:58:00 AM more reviews by lucylucyhh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am a big fan of MAC, don't get me wrong, but this eyeshadow is a big disappointment for me.

Nocturnelle is a pink based purple in a frost finish. It doesn't look pink in the pan but when applied it definitely is pink tinged; which is a little annoying as I hoped it'd be as plummy and smokey as in the pan. I think i'm going to try plum dressing instead.

My main dislike for this product is the pigmentation. It is awful; worse than cheapy drugstore makeup. The first time I swatched it barely anything showed up on my skin. I have to use this colour wet and even then it's not pigmented enough for me. It's not what I expected from MAC and it's simply not good enough; all of their other eyeshadows i've ever tried are pigmented, but with this shadow I have to use so much of it just to get decent payoff that it seems a waste of my money

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jilliterate on 4/5/2011 5:02:00 PM more reviews by Jilliterate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Nocturnelle is a lovely plummy colour with a sheen to it that faintly suggests blue. I'm fairly pale, with neutral-to-warm toned skin (Close to NC15, by my guesstimate), and this colour looks great on me. As many people have noted, this colour really rocks a purple smokey eye.


The pigmentation for this colour is disappointing, particularly since I paid $13 ($CAD) for it. With some work, I can build it up to a respectable colour, but it just doesn't compare to the amazing one-swipe pigmentation of some of the other MAC shades.


The quality of the shadow in the pan was extremely poor. It's dry, hard-packed, and has some odd bumps in it. I'm not sure if this is a constant problem for Nocturnelle, or something odd happened to mine, but it's definitely a turn-off. I waffled on whether to give this a 2 or a 3 -- there's a lot of problems with this shadow that I paid a lot for, but in the end, I do have a fairly nice colour. I think giving this shadow a 3 is being generous.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products