MAC • Matte Blush - Frankly Scarlet • Blush

rated 4.5(107 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Cgibbons on 2/3/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by Cgibbons

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Hey peeps.
Had this since may 2012 and its now feb 2013 and its barely touched! You dont need much at all as its very pigmented.
Such a flattering colour and as others have said the first red-pink matte blush ive found! I love this shade because its similar to the colour you naturally blush so i love that type of colour.
You can build it up for quite a striking look but for everyday you just sweep a bit on your apples of your cheeks and it makes me look healthy and nice!
The only thing that puts me off using it is that its kind of sometimes hard to get it evenly on the brush? its not smooth its kinda hard.
Maybe thats just me but i would buy this again because its right up my street, xo

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SickSexFix on 1/4/2013 1:32:00 PM more reviews by SickSexFix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I love this blush. It's the first red blush I'd ever seen so of course I bought it. There's no brown and no shimmer - it's a primary red color. It doesn't pull pink on me which is kind of odd? since if you look at the swatches, it looks like a pinky red!
It's sooo gorgeous in the pan. I planned to wear this with a vintage red lip and black eyeliner.
It's very easy to go overboard with this so blending properly is a must - unless you want to look blotchy and sick. I'm thrilled that it's a matte blush, I really like the formula. I think MAC is overpriced in general and I have a few of their blushes. Maybe this one would be better in a sheertone formula (I hate those, btw) since it's so pigmented.
I still have not figured out how to wear this without looking too overdone so it's only been used a few times for evening, which is a shame since I gaze longingly at it in my blush palette (LOL). I want to try to wear it in the day time to work so if anyone has any ideas - let me know!
I'm an NC 35-40 for reference and it's bang on for my skin tone. Those with even darker skin tones will benefit from this blush.
I unfortunately dropped my palette on the floor and this was the only one that totally crumbled. I was heartbroken and pressed it back together (doesn't look nice anymore though).
I won't buy this again only because NYX and Mehron have blushes in this color now for much cheaper.

If my review helped you, click yes below!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Arielle91 on 11/2/2012 1:22:00 AM more reviews by Arielle91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Had this blush for nearly two and a half years and it still looks brand new. Bought it on a whim, &have only used it at the most four times, comes off very bright red if you apply it with a heavy hand --but if it is applied with a light hand it gives a natural flushed look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bbleu7856 on 10/27/2012 5:54:00 PM more reviews by bbleu7856

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this blush. All you need is one light swipe with your blush brush to get a pretty flushed, doll-like look-- applying any more than that and it can look extremely garish and unnatural on your skin. (Like you took strawberries and smeared them on your cheeks! lol) Less is definitely more with this blush. Because of this, I doubt I will ever run out of it and need to purchase more, so this is an excellent buy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StupidUserNames on 10/23/2012 12:24:00 AM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Frankly Scarlet is so pretty in the pan. It's very bright red but all you need is a light hand and any old brush will do the trick. The best part is that you can apply it to build the color up to your liking. At first it can be pretty intimidating to wear such a bright red but really the results can range from subtle to dramatic and not in the best way either! Oh and the matte finish is amazing I like it but I won't be repurchasing because even though I've had mine for nearly two years it still looks brand new.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NaijaNYC on 9/27/2012 8:58:00 PM more reviews by NaijaNYC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This color provides me with the perfectly "flushed" look.
Also, what's really great about this blush is that you can wear it either very lightly or as intense as you desire, depending of course on the makeup tool you utilize. M.A.C. does it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OhhhDarling on 8/28/2012 11:16:00 AM more reviews by OhhhDarling

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Oooh I love this blush! It is a very intense red color in the pan, but with a light hand, on the cheeks it comes off as a natural flush of color. It is quite pigmented and a little goes a long way. It is easy to overdo it, so be careful! The texture is very smooth and is easily blendable. Its quickly become one of my favorite blushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kloud04 on 8/26/2012 4:52:00 PM more reviews by kloud04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

ok, so I got this a few days ago. Took the advice of the MUA board and bought this even though I own Exhibit A. Exhibit A is beautiful but not even close to Frankly Scarlet. FS shows up (at least on me) the exact same color as Nars Cactus flower. I adored cactus flower until I got to the bottom of the pan and it was all shimmer. It began to show up on my skin and highlighting pores I didn't even know I had. Frankly Scarlet is soooo pigmented, I lightly dab my Nars Yachiyo in the pan and wipe with a tissue or you look like a clown. This is the most pigmented blush I own hands down. Exhibit A is not even this easy to overdo on my skin. This will last me a lifetime.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Prazzie on 6/7/2012 1:49:00 PM more reviews by Prazzie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Frankly Scarlet is a very bright red that creates a natural flush on the cheeks. Once applied on my fair skin, it looks pinker than it does in the pan. It is highly pigmented and a little goes a long way. I have added a photo to the gallery above to show what it looks like unblended on fair skin. It can be worn sheer, or even used as a bright red eyeshadow.


To use it, I lightly touch my blush brush to the pan, then press the excess off against my arm, before applying it to my cheeks. I press it where I want the most colour, then blend it out. It does look very natural if you use very little.


As much as I like this blush, I had to take off a point because it's so easy to overdo it. You have to use such a light hand and even so, I have still needed to lighten my cheeks with powder on occasion. Despite not being a quick slap on and go blush, I would repurchase this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bernsie on 6/2/2012 1:01:00 PM more reviews by bernsie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

It is nearly impossible to find a more true, vibrant red than this powder blush. It is best applied with one of MAC's Squirrel brushes as this hair is very long and extra soft so it never over deposits, but instead doses the skin with just the right amount of color payoff. This will brighten any complexion as the color just "pops." It's long wearing (especially this color as it has such an abundance of pigment it can leave a stain behind after the powder wears off.) It applies smoothly never streaking which can happen with a lesser quality manufacture process and pigment. You use so little of this it will virtually last forever before the need to repurchase. Highly Recommended!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Blush products