Ouidad Climate Control Gel

3.7

116 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/13/2013 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I keep coming back to this, even though it's more than I like to pay for hair gel. With my curls, I like using a lighter hold gel underneath a stronger. This is great as that bottom product. It makes my hair very smooth and gives great slip. I saturate my hair with this product after applying leave in conditioner, then apply Nexxus gel over top for that stronger hold. I really like how soft my curls feel using this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

While I don't mind crunchiness at all if it preserves curls all day.. what I don't like about this product is, that I don't find anything unique about it at all. It's consistency is thinner than your average drug store, yet, it's got the exact same thinness to it as Sebastian "Wet" for instance. So, basically it's a very expenisve gel, with a thin, slick feel to it. I didn't find any extra benefit to it all. I will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2012 9:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This review is for the original formuation. I haven't yet tried the current one.
I think this product is incredible. It's not a typical "gel" - it's more like a serum, which is probably why it works on my dry hair. It keeps out arid weather and it seals in moisture while enhancing my curls like never before. When this dries it does have a little bit of crispiness, especially on my ends, but it scrunches out easily without any poofing. I definitely feel the elasticity from this gel during scrunching, and even when I use my Q-Redew hair steamer I get spiral curls and no frizz. Climate Control Gel is just wonderful - I buy it again and again and there's nothing else like it. It's so concentrated it's not as expensive as it seems. Like all Ouidad's products, a little goes a long way. Climate Control gel is a life-changing product!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2012 1:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I mainly use this product to add incredible shine and medium hold and frizz control to my hair. Coupled with my fav foam/mousse, it gives me amazing results. Here's how I use it:-

I section my hair into 4 parts. Saturate my hair with PM soft sculpting foam with 4 pumps and then leave it for 2 min. I again section my hair(now small so 7-8), then apply Ouidad Heat and Humidity Climate Control Gel. I then finger comb my entire head to distribute the products). Here is the most imp part- starting from the nape of my head I roughly take 1'' section n start twisting my hair. I keep on twisting untill my hair length is fully covered(I have long, thick hair). I keep working up each section till my head is covered. Now I keep my head upside down and blow dry it with a diffuser. I airdry if time is not an issue. Both produce same results.


on 7/19/2012 12:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This made my wavy/curly hair hard and crunchy. And in places where it didn't quite cover, the frizz popped right through. I tried so hard to like this and make it work but no thanks. I'll pass on this one.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Made my hair hard as a brick, dry and crunchy. Off to toss this mess in the trash. It also has parabens in it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2012 6:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this product is unhelpful. i find that instead of enhancing my "curls," it makes them flat. i don't have super curly hair, it's more of the wavy hair that can easily be transformed into curls with the right products, but i think this product, in a way, goes against my curls. maybe i am using it wrong, who knows. as far as "frizzziness" goes, i don't see an improvement, either. i will continue to experiment this product but so far i am disappointed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2012 9:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This product is nothing more than an expensive hair gel. It doesn't even do half as well as a hair gel. The rake-and-shake technique is hopeless. The product sticks to my hand more than it does to my hair when I try to apply it. Gives you a half-assed semi-hold that holds down all the long strands and heavy locks, but the tiny baby hairs still stick up and out after a few hours. If you scrunch up your curls with this product, and run your fingers through it after it dries, you'll notice your fingers get stuck somewhere halfway down. Much like a hair gel, really. Nothing different here.

If you STILL want to try this product, for heaven's sake get the travel-sized pack. It comes with a travel sized shampoo, conditioner and botanical boost (which I use as a detangler). The rest of the products mentioned aren't too bad for use when travelling for short periods of time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2012 11:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I got a deluxe sample of this from Sephora, I'd heard so much about it that my expectations were mixed. I have very long, naturally wavy hair that tends to go flat on top when I let it dry into its natural texture. I used this before blow drying and unlike most gels, it left virtually no residue and seemed to make a difference in the overall smoothness. When I used it in combination with a serum and let my hair dry naturally, it didn't leave it stiff or crunchy. I am going to get another bottle when my sample runs out since I need something I can use in the summer, I rarely use heat styling when it's that hot out. The gel is pretty thin so I'm not the biggest fan of the packaging, its pretty hard to get out of the bottle for me. Since this doesn't seem to provide much hold or structure it's unlike most gels, it probably isn't enough on its own for very thick or coarse hair. Still, it's worth trying if you're looking for a way to make friends with your naturally curly or wavy hair.


on 12/23/2011 5:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this as part of a sephora combination pack, with the leave in conditioner and the botanical boost for $35. I love all three products, especially the gel. It works so well in combination with the leave in. I apply it to my hair right when I get out of the shower, and even when I only air dry, it forms perfect curls with just a little bit of scrunching and doesn't leave my hair sticky or dry frizzy. I love it!


Popular Styling Products


Comb Thru
Comb Thru
31 Reviews
Str8
Str8
75 Reviews


Back to Top