Aussie • Instant Freeze spray • Styling Products

rated 4.2(96 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Dauntlless on 11/20/2012 1:00:00 PM more reviews by Dauntlless

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this product! I love how it doesn't use an aerosol pump so its better for our environment ;)

It smells amazing! Like a fresh floral-fruit explosion. But it isn't an overpowering smell

It holds hair fairly well in place too

Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arabellaxox on 11/12/2012 7:31:00 PM more reviews by arabellaxox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Awesome product! I'm an Air Cadet, so I have to make sure that my bun and any flyaway locks of hair in place. This hairspray does the trick, and smells nice too! My hair does not budge even after 5 hours.

Will definitely be purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprilpinkbeauty on 11/3/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Want your hair to stay in place all day? You need to buy this product like yesterday. I have been using Aussie products for a long time and never tried their hairspray. I picked this up one day when I ran out of my usual hairspray and thought I'd give it a shot. I wear my hair up in a sock bun almost every day at work (I work with kids and lice are often plentiful) and I spray my bun with hairspray so it will stay in place. My old hairspray worked for half of the day but this works until I go to bed. I have my sock bun in for 16 hours and it doesn't budge with this product!! I also find it amazing for spraying down my baby hairs and frizz (I just spray and quickly use a comb or old toothbrush) and it keeps them down all day!

As for loose curls (wearing my hair down) I don't like using this product. Its just a personal preference - I like my curls to be soft and flexible and I have a hairpsray that I use for that type of hairstyle. The freeze spray definitely keeps the curl in for longer but the curls are stiff and sticky. I would use freeze spray on any type of curly updo that I needed to keep in all day though!

The downside to this product is getting it out. Makes my hair clump into a big ball and its extremely sticky. I comb it very lightly using a wide tooth comb and let my conditioner get out the rest when I wash my hair. Don't force this stuff or you will pull your hair out!

This product is cheap at $3 a can and it lasts me a good long while (even using it almost every day!). I would recommend this if you're looking for a good hold hairspray for a great price (I know some salon sprays can get pricey). It smells amazing too and I love the matte finish of the can!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peaches1027 on 9/25/2012 2:36:00 PM more reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Not sure how I overlooked this for so long. This is a great freeze spray. It holds the style in my straight, fine hair all day. I spray this at the roots before I dry my hair, and then style with the dryer. When I've combed my hair into place I spray again, and my hair doesn't budge. The trick to using this is to hold the can at least a foot away from your head. If you hold it too close you're going to get a crunchy, streaky mess. Move the can quickly over your style. If you spray in one place too long you are going to get a crunchy mess too. I don't have good results when I use this with backcombing. It's too heavy for it, so I use a lighter spray to hold my backcombing. Used properly, this is a dream come true for fine hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BeautifulConverse on 9/11/2012 6:34:00 PM more reviews by BeautifulConverse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

First off this is for the MAXIMUM HOLD HAIR SPRAY. Not the regular Instant Freeze (Extreme Hold). The one I'm talking about it the one with a spray bottle packaging, not the classic hair spray bottle.

I agree so much with the previous reviewer, a ''Look but don't touch'' kind of hairspray. This DOES make your hair crunchy which i do dislike a little but the hold is amazing. This makes curls hold extremely well. After about 3 hours my curls fall flat (I obviously mean I curl my hair) but with this hair spray my curls lasted a good 10 hours (After that I put my hair up so I can't comment after that).

Now, the dreadful part. The packaging. Gosh this is HORRIBLE. Like I said before the one I purchased this in a spray bottle packaging and the nozzel SUCKS. So i thought it might just be a first time thing, the spray comes out in a thin stream that literally goes across the room if my hand isn't in back of my hair to stop the spray. I thought if I added some water (I would have to spill out and waste some product because this occured numerous times) to thin the formula/liquid. Nothing different. I heard bad things about Aussie's packaging but thought maybe some people just got a bad batch. I never write 3 paragraph reviews (Sometimes not even 3 sentences!) & I hate writing long reviews but my point had to get across. *Sigh*. I might give Aussie's Instant Freeze Extreme but Aussie's Instand Freeze Maximum is just a no on a repurchase. It's a shame because I'd repurchase if the packaging wasn't so awful (Maybe the formula just needs to be thinned out?)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Beautlfy on 7/31/2012 6:16:00 PM more reviews by Beautlfy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This hairspray is for the "you can look but don't touch" hair. It will honestly lock your hair into place. It is tough like glue, and deff not the type of product that will make your hair soft and touchable. its one of those rock hard hairsprays, but it really does work. It'll freeze your hair right into place and defy gravity. The only con about it (and reason I only rated it 4 stars) is that at the end of the day, if you try to run a brush through your hair, it'll be like trying to brush hair thats covered in glue. It knots my hair pretty badly after awhile. But I will purchase this product again because if I ever need to go to a photoshoot, or to class and want to look my absolute best in the rain, humidity, any weather, I know for a fact this hairspray is reliable and will not budge. It'll totally preserve your hair like its art and its inexpensive too.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swimmerkoki on 7/13/2012 4:20:00 PM more reviews by swimmerkoki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this product is great for dance! Does exactly what it says it will do= freezes your style. keep in mind this IS the extreme hold spray so if thats what you're looking for purchase this!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 glamified on 3/20/2012 11:28:00 PM more reviews by glamified

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: Does what its meant to do--"freeze" your hair into place with a nice strong hold
Cons: Made my hair crunchy and flaky

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 11/8/2011 10:04:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I work as a waitress, and I have long, fine hair that needs to be put up for work. I bought this because my hair is so long and thin that it doesn't stay put for 4-8 hours of running around on the job, and I was sick of having to go into the bathroom every hour to redo my bun or add extra bobby pins.
Anyway, I'm definitely glad I picked this up! Less than a minute after spraying, your hair is frozen in place. And I really mean frozen. Wind, rain, and hours of serving can't make my hair budge! It used to take about 20 bobby pins (sometimes even more!) just to hold my simple messy bun in place. With this, I don't need any bobby pins, or any other product for that matter. I can just spray and go!
The price is amazing. I like Bed Head's Hard Head hairspray, but as a poor college student, I don't always have $16 to shell out on a hair product. This cost me $3.50, and the bottle lasted me about 5 months. Can't beat that! Also, the smell isn't that of your typical hairspray. It's a little bit fruity and not nearly as strong or offensive as others, which I love.
As others have stated, it does leave your hair crunchy and allows for no movement, but that's the point! I never had an issue brushing this out, though. On days when I used a little much and my hair was tangled after taking out my bun, I just sprayed a little bit of a children's detangling spray into my hair and the brushed the hairspray right out with no tangles.
Definitely try this out if you have thin hair that won't stay up -- you'll love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 breaktheattraction on 10/23/2011 3:15:00 PM more reviews by breaktheattraction

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Well, when i first bought this hairspray, it bought it because 1) It was on sale for 1.99 and 2) it was a huge can.

But when I started to use this hairspray, I found that my hair was crunchy, stiff, and tangled. My bangs looked sick- they stayed all day! But my hair appeared greasy and looked like it was going to break off. I would only use this hairspray if you seriously tease the crap out of your hair.

Stays all day, nice price- But makes you hair crunchy and untouchable!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aussie products

More Styling Products products