Chanel Gel Purete

4.0

33 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/17/2011 7:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have combination/oily skin (T-zone shine) but I normally do not use cleansers for combination/oily skin. I use cleansers for normal skin and then everything I use after that (toner, moisturizer) is for combo/oily skin. I don't use cleansers for combo/oily skin because it's been my experience that they are all over-drying, all of them without exception, even though my forehead actually gets super shiny. This was no exception. It is overly drying. I like it otherwise, I just can't use it morning and night without worrying about getting too dry and flakey. I wanted to try it to see if it could actually be gentle but it is not. When I do use it I try to remember to use half a pump.

So for those of you who, like me, have experienced that cleansers for combo/oily skin have been too drying for you, then this one will be too drying too. Like, flakey drying. This might be a hit for people with very oily skin, however. Either way, it is pleasant to use, smells fresh, and will leave your face squeaky clean if you're in the mood for that. Some days I don't mind washing my face squeaky clean. Just not every day. So I won't be buying it again.

Oh and the bottle should last a long time cause it's relatively large and the gel is quite concentrated. One pump is all I ever use. And it's that one pump (or less) that is overly drying. And to be fair, it is purifying, and it does clean very deeply. Not bad at removing light foundation.

But to be even fairer I must say that I noticed some of my eye lashes falling when I've washed around my eyes with this. NOT good. If anybody else has noticed this, PLEASE post. Because I could be wrong but it's never happened before and it only happens when I use this to wash off light eye make-up.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

Average cleanser. Way too gentle for me. Doesn't get makeup off. I have to wash 3x with this product. Even then, I pick up alot of dirt from my toner. Smells good though.


on 11/8/2010 3:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have rebought this several times. It is a nice very concentrated gel cleanser. In fact I haven't come across another cleanser as concentrated as this. What i mean is that you really do only need like a teardrop amount for it to foam like crazy. I found this ends up being the same price as a drugstore cleanser in the long run, because I can use about 3 or four drugstore bottles compared to one bottle of this! It cleanses well, leaves skin nice and soft. It is a little drying, and the Chanel girls at work cannot use this to clean their brushes because they said it dries out the brushes! This doesn't control oil or anything (no cleanser can) but it is a nice product.


on 9/23/2010 4:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

This cleanser is a clear gel with a nice mild scent and foams up easily with water. I've been using this cleanser for a few years now. I've noticed that my face breaks out more when I run out of this and switch to other cleansers. It cleanses well, but I don't think it is meant to take off a lot of makeup - I put on a full face most days so I always use a makeup remover first. This does remove whatever makeup and oil residue left on my face, and leaves me feeling fresh. It doesn't give me a tight sensation like their discontinued/reformulated scrub cleanser under the same Purete line. The Purete line, by the way, is for acne-prone/oily skin and helps "eliminate excess sebum and control surface oils". This lasts me around 4 months (1 pump is enough for the whole face, and I use this twice a day) so it is worth the price. The packaging looks nice but the press-nozzle comes off easily if you drop the bottle. It can be reattached, though.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! I've always been weird with cleansers, they either dried me out or left me feeling like I didn't wash my face well enough. This cleanser has been perfect! My face always feels clean and never feels super dry afterward. I've been using the same bottle for 5 months and I still have at least another month's use out of it. So yes, it's expensive but it lasts a long time! I also like the way it's packaged. Some cleansers get gross at the the tip end but this is always clean and the top pops off easily and tightens securely when I'm done. I use Chanel's cleanser, toner, serum and moisturizer and I have never had so many comments on how great my skin looks. Today I had to buy a new bottle of moisturizer and I cringed when the lady rang it up but at the same time, I want to have pretty skin when I get older so I look at it as an investment :) If you haven't tried this cleanser, I highly recommend it.


on 7/14/2010 6:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

General: Average cleanser, that smells lovely and is easily applied from the pump dispenser.
Packaging: Perfect, classic and luxurious looking - as expected from the wonderful Chanel.
Effectiveness of Product: To begin with this product had the WOW factor and continued use for a month or two allowed it to hold this position as it left my skin looking clear and feeling purged of daily dirt and debris. However, continued use did not yield the same results, my skin began to get tight and dry and I suffered continuous breakouts.
VFM: Not great value for money, since half way through a 3 month period adverse results were experienced - this time I feel it's a product of style over substance.
Overall: Nice packaging and lovely product to begin with but my sensitive combination skin decided enough was enough in less than 3 month's, so a re-purchase this is not - despite my love for all things Chanel :o(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2010 6:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this cleanser after trying on the cleansing water from Chanel. I don't know whether to like this product or to express my true opinion :) The cleanser is just OK. I've been using it for about 6-7 months now, but it doesn't lather all that well with hard water. After using this cleanser, when I tone my face with the purete toner, I find that my face does have some dirt, which should've been removed by the cleanser, right?

It also dries my combination skin completely, and toning after using this cleanser is a MUST. I do not like the packaging either, the lid is a little hard to remove once closed completely. There are definitely very good quality foam cleansers out there, but this is not one of them. I would not repurchase this cleanser. Go for the cleansing water instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/26/2008 10:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have finicky combo skin that tends to go between dry and shiny/oily. I kept getting breakouts no matter what I tried. Then I tried this. WOWIEEE!! Ok, so the second week I used it, my skin went haywire and broke out all over. It's funny because it was everything that had been trapped being sucked out. All of the blemishes were where blackheads and clogged pores were. They cleared right up though and I can't remember a time when my skin was so clear. It doesn't dry me out as long as I moisturize. The smell is lovely, as is the packaging. It doesn't lather quite as well as I'd like, but it does lather and it does remove EVERYTHING...although the creamy ones are better with waterproof mascara/eyeliner. I use this twice a day and can't forsee buying anything else unless something goes wrong. In the morning, I use one pump, and at night when I'm all makeup'ed, I use 2.5 - 3, just to work up a good enough lather to take everything off. Anyhoo - LOVE IT!!! UPDATE 2/3/09:: while i still appreciate the deep cleansing of this, it did dry me out with continued use. the lack of thickness of the lather also really got on my nerves, as i'd end up with it running down to my elbows EVERY time i washed my face in the sink. it also really doesn't remove waterproof mascara so i was ending up with mascara flakes in my eyes a lot. i've gone back to my murad renewing cleansing cream and will keep this around for occasional deep cleansing relief.


on 8/31/2008 11:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this as an everyday cleanser. I use it as part of my nightly skin care ritual and it removes all of my make up with no issues. It doesn't make my skin feel tight and doesn't dry me out. I use a lot of Chanel's skincare products and I have to say I have not experienced a single breakout since switching to chanel.

I used to use Oil of olay warming poor cleanser but still got the random breakout.


on 7/28/2008 10:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think I like this product more than the origional cream-foam cleaner. It seems like with this I can cleanse my face 3x a day (because of the heat) and not have oilies at all. Of course that's a day without makeup. The jury is still out to see if that does better under makeup.
EDIT: Even only washing my face 2x a day with this has gotten drying. I've switched to Boscia and I think its better.


Back to Top