Cover Girl • Cover Girl CG Smoothers Tinted Moisturizer SPF 15 • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.9(154 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 pattycake9 on 9/28/2010 6:43:00 PM more reviews by pattycake9

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

For reference, I am 46 years old and have normal-to-dry fair skin, blue eyes and light brunette hair. My skin is pretty good, with not much coverage needed, just some evening out of the tone. I picked this product up in the fair-to-light shade.

I really love this product. I use two layers, the first applied when I first exit the shower and the second during the my normal makeup application, about ten minutes later. I find this formula to be very velvety and luxurious with none of the chalky whiteness I have found with other products that contain sunscreen. While I am not particularly prone to breakouts, some products will cause them for me. This one has not.

This product does not have heavy coverage, but again, that is not what I am looking for so it works very well for me. I would strongly recommend it for this purpose.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 azgotboys on 9/20/2010 12:20:00 PM more reviews by azgotboys

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a FABULOUS product at a wonderful price point. I rarely wear foundation but as I age I need a little coverage. I've tried several tinted moisturizers: Lancome, Clinique, Sonia Kashuk, and Laura Mercier. This is by far the best one of them all and it's the cheapest. I have combination skin and this does not look shiney or make my oily areas oilier.

Here's what I love about this product: slight coverage with SPF 15, blends in wonderfully (I use the light to medium--if in doubt go darker), dries to a very natural finish, fairly moisturizing for a TM, and no icky sunscreen smell.

This is probably my one true HG in my makeup drawer and I use it almost daily with just a light dusting of finishing powder. I even use it on days when I wouldn't normally wear any makeup at all because it is the best form of facial sunscreen I've found.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kiwikiwidragon on 6/14/2010 12:10:00 AM more reviews by kiwikiwidragon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have to say this is one of the better products I have used in forever it seems. I have uber sensitive skin and most products give me a reaction, burn, or dermatitis. While I don't find it to be perfect, its a far cry better than all the physician formula ones that are just too dark for me. It has spf 15 which dosen't have the dreaded sunscreen smell, so that's a bonus and you can generally find it BOGO 1/2 off at either drugstore.com or CVS. The tube it comes in is hard to get all product out, but it could be worse. Hats off considering it's a covergirl product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 margueritee on 6/11/2010 11:36:00 PM more reviews by margueritee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Finally, a great tinted moisturizer that does not leave me with that guilty feeling of having bought a small tube of makeup with my life savings. This product is honestly put, FANTASTIC. It stays true to what is written on the back, it does not clog my pores, does not break me out, and it keeps my skin protected and looking amazing throughout the day. (Although I do wear Physician's Formula loose powder on top, but still, its pretty darn good) I use a double bristle brush to put it on and it covers all of my blemishes, imperfections, and the small but still there uneven coloring on my cheeks. It is a really great product so I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 madgesmith on 4/14/2010 12:03:00 AM more reviews by madgesmith

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

you can't beat this for the price! great coverage and spf. the color matches my very fair skin, and in the summer i use light to medium, and mix fair to light and light to medium together for the in between.

when i tried olay definity TM it was a bit too dark or orange for my fair skin compared to this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 4/7/2010 11:21:00 PM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The lightest shade is, as others have mentioned, too pink for my warm-toned skin, but as the product is very sheer it still looks good on me (at least during the part of the year when I don't have a suntan). Doesn't cover acne marks or freckles, but I'm not going for complete coverage, just "my skin but better." It's tricky to blend in because it goes on chalky, but if I blend it in quickly and thoroughly and watch for streaks it comes out looking OK. It doesn't look nearly as nice as my favorite tinted sunscreen (Belli), but the Cover Girl costs less than a third as much. I've been using it daily for two weeks, and it doesn't make me break out (at 42 I am still prone to occasional breakouts). Best of all, it doesn't have that stinky sunscreen smell. So long as the recession is pinching my pocketbook I'll be repurchasing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vwterry on 1/29/2010 3:25:00 PM more reviews by vwterry

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Too light/sheer, and color is way too pink. Cover Girl is one of the worst at assuming anyone who has light skin also has pink undertones.

Worked ok when blended with the lighter shade of Aveeno tinted moisturizer, which is too dark for me. (I think the Aveeno, which has much better coverage, has been discontinued.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparrowoftheroses on 1/9/2010 12:35:00 AM more reviews by sparrowoftheroses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this product! Got this because of the reviewers here saying it was a good drugstore buy for PPP skin. When so few shades are light enough for me, I have a hard time shelling out $$$ for something that is still too dark (Prescriptives, I'm looking at you). Finish is dewy without looking too shiny, although it takes a few minutes to set on your skin. I usually set it with a translucent powder to give just a little more coverage. It darkens a touch on my skin when it sets, so if it seems a bit too light give it a little time. Doesn't turn me orange though. Also love the SPF.


It did break me out the first time I wore it, but I also didn't wash my face at night two days in a row. Since then I've been better at taking my makeup off before I go to sleep, and my skin is clear again. If this breaks you out make sure you don't sleep in it, that could be the problem.


One thing that really surprised me about this product was the quality of the packaging. While it doesn't look fancy (Cover Girl needs to work on this in general), the tube opening is small enough that I can easily control how much product I squeeze out. This is much appreciated.


Update: I was wearing this when a makeup artist asked me if it was Laura Mercier!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 liz508 on 12/13/2009 9:57:00 PM more reviews by liz508

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Decent product for the price- this doesn't really compare to any of the higher-end tinted moisturizers that I've tried, but it's still worth a mention. The coverage, imo, is zilch, but the moisturizing aspect does serve its purpose. This would be a great product for someone who wants a little something on their skin, but doesn't need or want anything too thick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 theprincessyessi on 12/13/2009 12:09:00 AM more reviews by theprincessyessi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

by it's self i dont really like. i really love it when i put mix it with just a drop of my mac studio fix fluid ,to give it more of a yellow tint since im really yellow,and also so that it can give a little more coverage .and after ,instead of using powder i use my bare escentuals mineral veil .
it all together looks really nice :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Tinted Moisturizer products