Nexxus • Humectress Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.7(397 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slidingdoors on 5/1/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by slidingdoors

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am trying to find a replacement for the old formulation of Redken All Soft shampoo and conditioner, which Redken changed last year (the new formula of that is terrible).

I have tried many product lines already, from cheap to expensive, but I haven't found anything even halfway as good as the All Soft used to be for my particular kind of hair.

About 20 years ago, for about one year, I used Nexxus Therappe Shampoo and the companion Nexxus Humectress conditioner. It was pretty good for my hair, but not great, and I moved on to other product lines. I have not used this brand since then, so last week I decided to give it a whirl.

Unfortunately, it was not good for my hair. Worse than it I remember it having been 20 years ago.

My chin-length dark blonde hair is "virgin" hair (not color treated, not chemically treated, not even been subjected to a hairdryer or heated styling tools in the last 2 years!)

The Nexxus made my hair:
-darker in color
-brittle and straw-like
-frizzy, rough-feeling
-dull in the light

I then looked up customer reviews of Nexxus Therappe and Humectress on Amazon, and I learned that Nexxus REFORMULATED this product line last year. Apparently the old formula, which was superior, had a grey bottle cap and the new, inferior formula has a black bottle cap.

Unfortunately, so many consumer goods companies are reformulating their products to make them cheaper to produce and cheaper in price. It's a shame, because the quality is taking a nosedive. And so many companies are doing this at the same time, which leaves few good product lines left for disappointed customers to migrate to.

If anyone knows of a good shampoo/conditioner product line that matches the effects of the OLD Redken All Soft line (before it was reformulated at the beginning of 2012), please send me a message via this site.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Emabo on 2/8/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by Emabo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I hate it. I've used this for about a three weeks, and at first I really liked it. I started to notice my hair looking flatter, stringier, and if I were to lean a bit to let my hair fall you could see through strands. I thought maybe I was losing hair, because I've been really stressed out. A few days ago I washed my hair with another shampoo/conditioner, and I thought my hair looked much better. Maybe it was a problem on my side, but I think it was this conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MrsPehl on 1/29/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by MrsPehl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My hair tends to get very dry because of highlighting, however, I think this conditioner made my hair worse. My hair after using this product is frizzy and snarly. When applying the conditioner I noticed it felt like a weird film covered my hands. Weighs hair down and does not moisturize.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 9/5/2012 2:33:00 PM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have nooooo idea where all these terrible reviews are coming from? 2 years ago I decided to stop using crappy shampoo (Dove, Panteen) and take my hair care up a notch. Ive never looked back. When i used the other brands, it kind of lived up to its expectations, but essentially they are all the same. Since using this conditioner (with the therapee shampoo) I have noticed over time my hair is stronger, softer, more manageable, holds style better, etc etc... IDK, everyone is different I suppose. I love my Nexxus and Im never going back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jmvanity on 8/21/2012 12:29:00 AM more reviews by jmvanity

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Feels nice when applying, also smells very good too. Unfortunately you can tell this product is crap as soon as you wash it out. It made my hair feel heavy and... just plain gross. I won't be using this product ever again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 obsess1beauty on 6/30/2012 10:59:00 PM more reviews by obsess1beauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Just terrible...!

This is yet another product so bad that I have to leave a review, or rather a 'warning'.
The first few days that I used this, my hair felt like it was done in salon heaven. A couple days later, I went about my usual styling tasks after washing/conditioning with this humectress pair and my hair felt crunchy and dry. No problem, I assumed´┐Ż maybe I needed to deep condition and apply a hot oil treatmeant since I did wash my hair a couple times that week. Well after treating my hair with hot oil, while still using this conditioner and its matching shampoo, matters got WORSE. My hair suddenly took on a greasy tumbleweed texture full of flyaway pieces of hair. I had to use a hard water 'chelating' shampoo to remove the scum this conditioner left behind.

After going back and scanning the ingredients, I can say that it is littered with -xanes and -cones (all of which can cause build-up). Also, fragrance is near the top of the ingredient list and I've heard that this can dry out already parched hair. This stuff has so much going against it that it's almost criminal to even think about buying it.

Now, I am only co-washing my hair and cannot use any shampoo for a while as it will cause my tresses to dry up even further and essentially break off.

Nexxus isn't what it used to be.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 STheart on 5/7/2012 6:47:00 PM more reviews by STheart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I feel like I need to bump this product's rating back up, because it was a dream - before it got reformulated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kuchka on 2/18/2012 11:03:00 PM more reviews by kuchka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

HG Conditioner! Very moisturizing, makes hair soft and shiny! I actually feel it keeps my hair healthy to help it grow faster.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 manitoban3 on 1/19/2012 12:17:00 AM more reviews by manitoban3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had been dying to try this conditioner, and I finally found it in a tiny travel size so I bought it.
Nothing special. Would not repurchase. Not moisturizing in the least, in fact I would even say that it is drying. And the Therappe shampoo is no better. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Rokmelon on 1/18/2012 11:48:00 PM more reviews by Rokmelon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really hate this conditioner. For the price you would think it would do wonders but it really doesn't do anything, my hair NEVER looks or feels great after using this. What a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nexxus products

More Conditioner products