Clinique • Superbalanced Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(698 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 DecembersWoe9895 on 6/6/2014 11:00:00 AM more reviews by DecembersWoe9895

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Clinique Superbalanced Makeup is overall a decent foundation, but not the right one for me. You see, this is marketed for, and I quote, "dry combination to combination oily" with me having the latter. I got this foundation on my very first trip to Sephora for about $23 USD becuase of the mainly positive reviews here and becuase Superbalanced gives you a bit more product for a tad smaller price than other Clinique foundations. I have had this foundation for about three months, so I believe I've gathered more than enough information on it to share my opinion. Without further ado, here is my review.

The closest shade to my skin tone is 34 Nude Beige (think Kim K) which is a tad too yellowish for my rosier hue, but suffices. Superbalanced Makeup has a thin, liquidity consistency making it fairly easy to spread with a sponge. I find that fingers and brushes only make it go on streakier. However, I cannot see anybody getting more than light coverage out if this as this seems impossible to layer without it caking up or seeping deeper into pores/fine lines. Oh, and don't even think about not priming your face before this foundation! Any uneven surfaces on your skin, whether it be a blemish or dry patch, etc. will cause this to seriously cake.

The lasting power is pretty adequate, even slightly impressive for the high Florida heat and humidity. On average, I can get about six hours of wear before this starts looking even more unnatural and some redeness starts peeking through. I find that finishing powders helps prolong it by an hour or so, but my goodness, I look like I've severely overpowdered myslef. What an inconvenience!

Speaking of inconveniences, the packaging doesn't have a pump! Having a liquid foundation in pumpless bottles is like having loose powder in packaging without a filter. It's going to get everywhere! In addition, if you have a tendency to have butterfingers you should pass up on this becuase it comes in a glass bottle. I get nervous just holding it!

Like I said, Superbalanced Makeup is decent overall. It lacks in buildability, packaging, coverage, and having natural finish. It succeeds in color range, availability, lasting power, not breaking me out, and the ability to spread it. Like most liquid foundations, a little goes a long way. I cannot reccomend this due to the main problems I have with it such as it enlarging my pores, gathering around uneven surfaces, and not covering redness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aliciamarie61592 on 5/25/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by aliciamarie61592

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation. I am pretty picky when it comes to foundation but Clinique's foundation is my favorite by far. I spent $42 at Macy's and it is well worth the price. It matches my skin tone perfectly and lasts all day. I live in a hot and dry climate, so it's hard to find a foundation that doesn't melt off after a few hours. It's a lightweight foundation and feels great on my skin while covering up problem areas and evening my skin tone. I also noticed that after a few days of using it, I had a huge reduction of breakouts. I apply 2 layers of foundation and even with the 2 layers, it still feels natural and not caked on. The only downfall of this stuff is the bottle it comes in. It's kinda messy :/ but overall, I LOVE this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 A66x on 5/4/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by A66x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation. It provides a moderate coverage but can be built up to full coverage without looking cakey. It gives a natural dewy look and a little goes a long way. The staying power is quite impressive as I don't need to re apply it at all after an 8 hour busy shift at work. On nights where I would like a more matte finish or more coverage I use Clinique setting powder to finish it off and it is absolutely flawless! I have a dry forehead and cheeks and this foundation doesn't cling to those areas at all. It also stays well on my nose and chin where I do get a little more oily as the day goes on. Does not cause me to break out and feels great on the skin. Definitely my HG foundation, thank you Clinique!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 5/3/2014 3:40:00 PM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Maaaaaaaaaan. Im sure this foundation would be great for my combination skin (my mom had always used forever) but the lightest shade (breeze) is STILL about 2-3 shades too dark for me : ( : ( : ( :( This makes me so sad, now I have to go return it!

I dont know why clinique seems to only offer midshade ranges and nothing very porcelain and nothing very dark. I cant wear any of their foundations because of this issue.

Just for your info I am about NC5 in mac (if they had an nc5 haha) so if you are similar you might be too pale for this as well.

Also, with the bottle not having a pump I feel like it would waste alot of foundation once you get to the end of it as it wont pour out of the flat surfaces inside very well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lllovelyrita on 4/19/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by lllovelyrita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My new favourite foundation! I absolutely love how flawless it makes my face look! I will definitely be repurchasing this. The only thing I don't like about it is the bottle it's in doesn't make it easy access.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StrawberryHead on 3/13/2014 2:16:00 PM more reviews by StrawberryHead

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This foundation melts perfectly to the skin and leaves behind just a flawless look.
* Moisturising
* natural look

cons
* bottle without a pump
* price

Loving the product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rachulll on 2/7/2014 4:06:00 AM more reviews by Rachulll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I repurchased this foundation three times because I LOVE IT. If you can get a color match and have dry skin this is amaaazing. It makes skin feel like velvet, and the bottle lasts a long time (though you have to get the pump, otherwise it doesn't last nearly as well). I'd say medium coverage; I apply with a sponge though so that thins things a bit. Unfortunately (at least as far as this foundation goes), I've been much better about sunscreen in the year or so, and my already incredibly pale skin has gotten paler- so pale, in fact, that even the lightest shade is still too dark for me now. (mini rant- why is it so hard to find high end foundation if youre super pale?). Anyway, despite the fact I will no longer be repurchasing, I still definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 daisymay81 on 1/4/2014 3:48:00 PM more reviews by daisymay81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I wanted not to like this foundation. After all it is not one of the foundations with all that hype around it and how could this foundation possibly beat the much more expensive foundations I have tried. For the packaging I give it pretty high marks. You have to buy the pump but it is readily available and since the foundation is a good value I don't mind buying the pump. The price is not much higher than drugstore foundations.

I have dry skin and would suggest a good primer underneath of it and a setting spray. It makes a world of difference if you have dry skin. I got the LancĂ´me pro base primer for Christmas and it works like a charm underneath of this foundation. The Smashbox primer did not work with this foundation for me at least. I use Urban Decay's Chill makeup setting spray for it as well. Without these two steps I found that the foundation settled into my fine lines around my mouth. I gave it four stars because it does need these two steps or it is not workable for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rachel1234 on 1/3/2014 4:00:00 PM more reviews by Rachel1234

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Clinique has a lot of good shades in this foundation line. Many of Clinique's foundations don't go light enough, but Superbalanced does. I first tried the lightest shade, "Breeze", which I was very surprised to see was too light - I'd say Breeze is approximately NC/NW10. Very light and seems pretty neutral.

So I went up to the second lightest shade, "Alabaster", which matches me nicely. Alabaster is also neutral, and I'd say is about NC/NW15-18.

Superbalanced does not oxidise on me, unlike Clinique's Acne Solutions makeup which oxidized badly on me.

Also .... You can purchase a pump from Clinique that is designed especially for the Superbalanced foundation. What's nice is that it's a one-time purchase and then you can just transfer the pump each time you buy a new bottle.

Superbalanced seems to be medium coverage, but is very buildable, so you could build it up to almost full coverage .... Or you could easily sheer it out for lighter coverage.

What works for me: Starting with clean skin, I apply ...
(1) Clinique Repairwear Laser Focus, Smooths, Restores, Corrects Serum over entire face.
(2) Clinique Repairwear Uplifting Firming Cream spf15 on cheeks and around eyes.
(3) Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer spf15 over entire face.
(4) Clinique Superbalanced foundation on entire face.
(5) Clinique Loose Powder in Neutral on entire face.
(6) Revlon Colorstay pressed powder in fair on t-zone.

My skin is combo dry cheeks/eyes, and oily t-zone .... So I don't use moisturizer on my t-zone, just the serum. Plus I use the Revlon mattifying powder on my t-zone too. This routine works well for keeping my t-zone relatively matte, and the rest of my face balanced. I get spf in the moisturizer and the primer, so that's covered too.

My makeup looks nice all day, does not change color or get darker. These products seem to work well together. So I am pretty happy with this foundation. It feels lighter and more breathable on my skin than Estee Lauder Double Wear (which I like a lot, but reserve for when I need something really bulletproof, because DW feels a little heavy on my skin). And I am really pleasantly surprised at the large range of shades Clinique now has. Seems the powers that be at Clinique have been listening to all of us pale girls, and brought out some lighter colors! Yay for that! :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kluvsx on 12/28/2013 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Kluvsx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I always read reviews before buying makeup stuff, especially foundations. But this purchase was kind of on impulse (since I love Clinique products), and now I regret buying it.
I generally have oily skin and it doesn't depend on time of the year. But last summer after being a lot in the sun, my skin , especially my cheeks and forehead got really dry and even flaky. Since I was running out of my beloved Revlon colorstay foundation, I decided to get something more light wear.
This foundation is supposed to add moisture and absorb oil when and where needed. Well, you still have to moisturize your skin before application really good if you don't want your flaky skin look even worse. As for controlling oils...it is definitely not what you are looking for. Even in winter, when my skin is more normal than oily, I have to blot in two hours after application.
I wouldn't recommend it for someone with combination to oily skin (even thought it is supposed to work on you). But if you have normal or normal to dry skin (again, ladies with dry skin, it is not for you) you can try to give this foundation a go.
The coverage is medium, so if you have some acne you'd probably want to use a concealer with it. However, the foundation didn't break me out and I can give it one more star only for that.
I really wanted to love this product, but it just does not work for me. Very disappointing, Clinique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products